Huawei Honor 3C ___ Official Thread, Quad-core at $130, Rival of XiaoMi

joytest
post Apr 19 2014, 03:48 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

I was there too and had the opportunity to meet with a couple of more mods.

The 3C seems to exhibit a fantastic camera and it was pitted against the Note 3.

The 3C's macro shooting is better, and its front camera has a wider angle.

A pleasant surprise is that the back cover is removable and exposes the battery and dual sim slots. It's a long slim 2300mah unit, and all securing screws are exposed. Easy maintenance device.

Mediapad X1, IMHO, was the star of the show. Incredibly sexy piece of kit.

I will be watching out for it later this year.
joytest
post Apr 20 2014, 02:05 AM

13,188 posts

Well what do you know...someone posted a nice review of the 3C on reddit

http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comments/2...uawei_honor_3c/

He's generally positive about the phone vs Redmi and Moto G since they are both 1Gb RAM devices.

I didn't know that the 3C camera is f/2.0 !!!
joytest
post Apr 21 2014, 08:53 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Apr 21 2014, 07:02 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  is it having a very thin profile too?
QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 21 2014, 07:41 PM)
I think it is even slimmer than P6 . I don't know whether he showed this phone to the rest of the guests after I left
The P7 is one really sexy, powerful and affordable device. I had no desire for the P6, but the P7 did move me.
joytest
post Apr 23 2014, 09:53 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(meiyi @ Apr 23 2014, 07:46 PM)
Did they gift anything there? I saw bags of gifts given to the people. I was given the pass to go but couldn't attend it.  unsure.gif
QUOTE(meiyi @ Apr 23 2014, 09:37 PM)
Selling brand.  rclxms.gif  Did you go to the Huawei fansmeeting in KLCC there?  smile.gif
I went. So did eric.

They gave a free t shirt and droidbug (that android logo toy).
joytest
post Apr 27 2014, 01:50 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:34 PM)
Me using Lenovo A880, A880 cannot & & didn't know others can.
thanks for reply, can maintain 2 Whatsapp account?
If can,
Me would like to know if needed both to have 3G data to access Whatsapp or use either 1 telco data plan?
Whatsapp cannot run 2 accounts on 1 phone, likely due to limitations in the way it is coded.
joytest
post Apr 29 2014, 02:06 PM

13,188 posts

I thought it came only in a 2Gb version? RM499 for a 2Gb RAM dualsim phone, with 5" 720p is a seriously good deal. Good camera to boot.
joytest
post May 3 2014, 02:20 PM

13,188 posts

Well, looks like Huawei is upping the game for customer satisfaction. I hope they can keep this up. This will allow them to have a good foothold in the market and build mindshare in Malaysia.
joytest
post May 4 2014, 01:13 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ah_cheah @ May 4 2014, 12:55 AM)
anybody bought ultra-think 4800mhz powerbank from Vmall? is it good?
It is an incredibly slim and very nice looking piece of equipment. Premium feel, and charges a Note 2/Note 3 nicely.

Have only used it twice though but didn't run it down.
joytest
post May 5 2014, 11:00 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 5 2014, 10:49 PM)
Instead of flip cover, I would think an all corners wrapped up soft back casing made of TUP + tempered glass screen protector would offer better protection and ease of use while keeping the phone slimmer than one with flip cover.
TUP soft back casing provides shock absorption for four corners during accidental drops and tempered glass screen helps prevent shattered screen.
I completely agree that all-corner protection is a must. Aesthetes will pay for their folly upon the first drop.

BTW I believe the acronym is TPU instead of TUP.

This post has been edited by joytest: May 5 2014, 11:01 PM
joytest
post May 5 2014, 11:17 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ May 5 2014, 11:07 PM)
my english teacher! bravo.
Good to see you here too smile.gif
joytest
post May 5 2014, 11:39 PM

13,188 posts

LoL. It's a case of "good enough" vs "best". As technology progresses and Moore's Law takes effect, "good enough" can really be good enough for the vast majority.

At a session with Huawei last year, they are targeting the sub-RMB1000 market segment which is very important in China. Looks like they are replicating the strategy here. Hopefully they become successful at it here.
joytest
post May 6 2014, 12:02 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ May 6 2014, 12:01 AM)
+1

another person that scolds me and made my grammar improving biggrin.gif
You do not seem to have improved.
joytest
post May 6 2014, 12:30 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(earlgrey77 @ May 6 2014, 12:25 AM)
Hey thanks for the link  rclxms.gif
one question is it water proof ? i saw a video online but i cant tell if it's 3C because the description states hua wei honor 3 .
3C is not waterproof. I asked the Huawei team about upcoming phones being waterproof. They replied that currently they do not have an upcoming waterproof product lineup but it may change depending on the market.
joytest
post May 6 2014, 10:32 PM

13,188 posts

ericmaxman is trying to make the next 3C thread epic....good start.
joytest
post May 8 2014, 02:13 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ May 7 2014, 10:10 PM)
that bad?

I have not yet tested a better phone especially at this kind of price point.

My ideal test is to install 50 to 60 of my apps and then test out flipping pages in flipboard. Most recent lesser phones struggled but the 3c passed quite favourably not as butter smooth as the note 3 but that phone is nearly 4 times the price.

However with my old age my eyes need bigger fonts so sadly I had to put aside the 3c.
Well you could go for the Note 3 Neo, 5.7" with 720p (RM1499 I think), or some of the other 5.5+ inch China brands with FHD screen which are around 1k-1.3k.

ericmaxman nice review. You should be able to start your v2 thread in the morning. I guess bwin999 would not object.

This post has been edited by joytest: May 8 2014, 03:04 AM

0.0479sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:49 PM