yet another china made production
police story 2013, JC goes bourne mode hahahaha
Dec 16 2013, 04:20 PM, updated 12y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
11,244 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
yet another china made production |
Dec 16 2013, 04:53 PM
8,635 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Jeonju/Jeollabuk-do |
Aftning
Hope we won't see much of JC here. Otherwise he might end up looking like Steven Seagal; movies when Steve's old and fat Steven was slow here and there and camera shots were pathetic Unlike during his younger days JC's not fat, he's just old and slow Make no mistake, I like JC. It's just that his days are numbered. This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Dec 16 2013, 04:57 PM |
Dec 16 2013, 05:01 PM
608 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
kata jackie chan dont want to act in martial arts lagi, what happen?
Dec 16 2013, 05:41 PM
1,467 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: ✪Candy Land✪ |
Dec 16 2013, 09:25 PM
1,003 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Looks like this one will be more dark and serious. Not sure if that's a good thing. The previous Police Story movies were pretty fun to watch.
Dec 16 2013, 10:20 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
this one reboot or sequel?
Dec 17 2013, 07:32 AM
128 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Dec 17 2013, 10:19 AM
992 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Bolehland |
Dun have expectation from JC anymore. No more death defying stunt and comedy from his film anymore. CZ12 is quite horrible...
Dec 17 2013, 10:25 AM
592 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Dec 16 2013, 04:53 PM) Aftning dude...seriously?Hope we won't see much of JC here. Otherwise he might end up looking like Steven Seagal; movies when Steve's old and fat Steven was slow here and there and camera shots were pathetic Unlike during his younger days JC's not fat, he's just old and slow Make no mistake, I like JC. It's just that his days are numbered. don't compare JC with Stevie pls.. Stevie was boooringgg even in his younger days(well Fire Down Below was decent though) with all his undefeated/untouchable/untroubled against his opponent trait |
Dec 17 2013, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(noir7559 @ Dec 17 2013, 10:25 AM) dude...seriously? don't compare JC with Stevie pls.. Stevie was boooringgg even in his younger days(well Fire Down Below was decent though) with all his undefeated/untouchable/untroubled against his opponent trait Morning I recall that. Some did not know he once dared a stunt coordinator but end up passing out + crapping in his pants Me not a fan of Stevie either and his old movies were quite gruesome. Not to my liking. And the ponytail ![]() This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Dec 17 2013, 10:36 AM |
Dec 17 2013, 11:59 AM
1,844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom of Sarawak |
If it's HK production, then definitely I'm gonna go watch in cinema
but since it's a China production..... I'm gonna watch it on my tele |
Dec 17 2013, 12:24 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
is this a continuation or standalone story ?
Dec 17 2013, 01:08 PM
75 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Police story suppose is hongkong style police movie, but this one , mostly is china actor/actress, furthermore the trailer doesnt look attractive at all.
just like Die Hard, prefer previous one, latest one , no kick at all. |
Dec 17 2013, 04:14 PM
107 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Dec 17 2013, 08:34 PM
1,003 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
He has said that many times. CZ12 was supposed to be his last action movie. I really thought he was serious. But then again this is the type of promise that everyone is happy if he breaks it.
Dec 17 2013, 10:31 PM
12,000 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Banting, Puchong, KL |
Dec 19 2013, 10:41 AM
107 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
today read his news... he will continue to act...
Dec 19 2013, 05:48 PM
141 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I'm still loving JC Movies~~~~
Come on, that man is a legend. |
Dec 19 2013, 07:48 PM
616 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Watched last night.
This is China movie, not HK anymore, Jackie Chan is no longer a HK cop, instead China cop... That is only one HK actor and that is Jackie Chan... Actually this is "Story telling movie".... If you watch, you will know what I talking about.... Overall, this movie is ok, not good and not bad either... This post has been edited by Mickey C: Dec 19 2013, 07:48 PM |
Dec 24 2013, 04:40 AM
3,592 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Like it or not, hk is part of china d. And this is not jacky style buster Keaton action flick. It's a gritty character driven action movie that anyone can act. I have no problem imagining Andy lau or jet li in Jacky's s role.
This is a more "a day in life" kind of story, no big crime to bust. A refreshing change. Jacky s cop is still very much larger than life though. Having said that, the reveal is kind of illogical though. The baddie play so big, got some involved just for that? Lol... Suggest watch in mandarin if you can. The dubbing to Cantonese is very jarring. 3.5/5. Don't go in expecting a Jacky's movie. This post has been edited by lin00b: Dec 24 2013, 04:41 AM |
Dec 24 2013, 10:52 AM
699 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Dec 24 2013, 11:44 AM
161 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Dec 24 2013, 12:20 PM
Dec 25 2013, 01:30 AM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
save your $$ and skip this movie.... can fall asleep in cinema, no action, too much talking, can rename to "the negotiator" keep on talking and talking....
Dec 25 2013, 05:02 AM
191 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Dec 25 2013, 08:11 AM
1,153 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Coconut @ Dec 25 2013, 01:30 AM) save your $$ and skip this movie.... can fall asleep in cinema, no action, too much talking, can rename to "the negotiator" keep on talking and talking.... Thanks bro. i am waiting for a review like yours. Thinking of plunging my RM 9 on it yesterday. I guess the hobbit 2 it is then. |
Dec 25 2013, 12:23 PM
1,031 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
awesome
Dec 25 2013, 02:55 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 25 2013, 03:17 PM
26 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
This is the worst Jacky Chan movie I have ever watch. Sure profit taking movie. Based on the whole movie the production budget was little.
80% of the movie was Drama then 20% of the movie was action. Only one line in the movie which make you laugh (less then 10 second). Drama - Malaysia Local make drama was better than this. Imagine a father try convert his bad daughter to good daughter. Imagine a brother try to revenge for his sister death. So the whole drama was this and the talking also like this. If the talking was present in a good way then this is a good drama. But the talking was so grandmama language. Even my grandmama script was better then this. Action - Bollywood sidekick is better than this. Language - Dubbed from Mandarin to Cantonese. Money you can waste but don waste your time. This post has been edited by leawitt: Dec 25 2013, 03:19 PM |
Dec 25 2013, 04:39 PM
Dec 25 2013, 04:44 PM
Dec 25 2013, 04:45 PM
Dec 25 2013, 04:49 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Dec 26 2013, 11:30 AM
Alot of negative reviews here and from friends... guess gotta skip this.
Dec 26 2013, 11:39 AM
1,469 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Well we've already expect it'll suck considering it being a China production this time. Wonder if I should watch it just to review it
Dec 26 2013, 01:42 PM
3,055 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I just watched it and one thing everyone needs to realize is, this is not your typical Police Story movie. Don't expect cars driving down hills and non stop fighting and stunts.
Just remove the idea that this is a Police Story and this movie is actually decent. Not great, but ok. And yeah, China productions really lack something. |
Dec 26 2013, 01:44 PM
I think Stephen chow movie also china production but most of em were good.
Dec 26 2013, 02:28 PM
177 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: ManUtd... |
-.- Bored
3/10 for me .... |
Dec 26 2013, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Dec 26 2013, 01:42 PM) I just watched it and one thing everyone needs to realize is, this is not your typical Police Story movie. Don't expect cars driving down hills and non stop fighting and stunts. But some China production movie really good one...Just remove the idea that this is a Police Story and this movie is actually decent. Not great, but ok. And yeah, China productions really lack something. |
Dec 26 2013, 02:50 PM
19,318 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
This version has nothing got to do with the original HK Police Story. Even character also is different. More towards drama kind of movie
Dec 26 2013, 04:42 PM
6,549 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
mainland China production, too much bad experience ... i'll skip this until they screen it in TV .. thats it ..
Dec 26 2013, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Dec 26 2013, 02:36 PM) Sure there are some good ones. But they are the exception, rather than the norm.China still has a long way to go before they can even compare to Hong Kong, let alone internationally. FYI, I'm referring to real China productions. Not Columbia Pictures China, etc. |
Dec 27 2013, 01:20 PM
Just watched it last night, I thought it wasn't as bad as some of you say here. Can't expect a 60 year old man to still jump from buildings to buildings right? Despite its flaws, it's still a pretty intriguing film... but the Cantonese dubbing makes every scene sound so stupid lol
Dec 27 2013, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(tonYe @ Dec 27 2013, 01:20 PM) Just watched it last night, I thought it wasn't as bad as some of you say here. Can't expect a 60 year old man to still jump from buildings to buildings right? Despite its flaws, it's still a pretty intriguing film... but the Cantonese dubbing makes every scene sound so stupid lol Gotta agree. It's not shit. It's ok ok lar. The setting had some potential and they made a huge effort to try and paint the movie with shades of grey, rather than the lazy black and white so typical in chinese movies. (although I felt they over did it. And it really does feel like chinese government propaganda.)I think if the movie was titled "The Negotiator" or "Life of a Policeman" or "Vengeance" instead of Police Story, the reception would be much much better. People came in expecting Chan Ka Kui, lots of action, explosions, fighting, stunts and cars hurtling down hills and through buildings. Instead, they got totally different characters, less action and stunts and lots of talking. Hard to blame them. |
Dec 27 2013, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Dec 27 2013, 02:31 PM) Gotta agree. It's not shit. It's ok ok lar. The setting had some potential and they made a huge effort to try and paint the movie with shades of grey, rather than the lazy black and white so typical in chinese movies. (although I felt they over did it. And it really does feel like chinese government propaganda.) I think the idea was to "reboot" the franchise to a grittier path so that JC can still can lead in future sequels. Judging from the trailer, moviegoers should already expect that he won't be doing much of stunts or action in this instalment. In New Police Story, the previous one, it wasn't Chan Ka Kui as well but it still has plenty of action and jokes, and he was a few years younger.I think if the movie was titled "The Negotiator" or "Life of a Policeman" or "Vengeance" instead of Police Story, the reception would be much much better. People came in expecting Chan Ka Kui, lots of action, explosions, fighting, stunts and cars hurtling down hills and through buildings. Instead, they got totally different characters, less action and stunts and lots of talking. Hard to blame them. The title Police Story still fits the premise, but yeah, people would feel that they got tricked into watching something completely different. Maybe majority moviegoers want films to remain unchanged with cliches, cheesy unrealistic romance and loads of action, which is why movies like 47 Ronin can still top our local box office. |
Dec 27 2013, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(tonYe @ Dec 27 2013, 03:27 PM) I think the idea was to "reboot" the franchise to a grittier path so that JC can still can lead in future sequels. Judging from the trailer, moviegoers should already expect that he won't be doing much of stunts or action in this instalment. In New Police Story, the previous one, it wasn't Chan Ka Kui as well but it still has plenty of action and jokes, and he was a few years younger. I know what you mean. Don't get me started on our local box office. lol.The title Police Story still fits the premise, but yeah, people would feel that they got tricked into watching something completely different. Maybe majority moviegoers want films to remain unchanged with cliches, cheesy unrealistic romance and loads of action, which is why movies like 47 Ronin can still top our local box office. But I felt they missed a golden opportunity with "New Police Story". They could have built that into a succession vehicle for Nicholas Tze to inherit the title. He did so well in that movie I really felt like I was seeing Chan Ka Kui reborn. Sadly, it was not to be. JC has expressed a desire for more serious acting material the past few years, so I guess "Police Story 2013" should not be a surprise. It's not only darker and grittier, but more serious acting material for JC. Like Shinjuku Incident. |
Dec 27 2013, 04:24 PM
1,111 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: TaiPinG / Singapore |
watch it on xmas day...
it's really just an average movie...don't put so much hope eventhough it's JC... 5/10 from me only... |
Dec 27 2013, 05:42 PM
426 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
For me, the acting of JC in the show have more emotion in it compare to all the previous movie he had acted.
More character development and less action orientated for JC. A good movie but not the best one. The worst he had acted is still the "Tuxedo" movie. |
Dec 28 2013, 10:32 PM
19,318 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Not a bad movie really, watched it yesterday
Dec 28 2013, 11:02 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Watched it last Friday, not too bad but also nothing spectacular nor funny as normally you'd expect from JC action movies.
Dec 30 2013, 08:41 AM
699 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Entered the cinema with close to zero expectation after reading all the reviews here
Decided to give it go as well considering it's Jackie Chan For me, I kinda enjoyed it. The storyline is pretty interesting and suspense. Director did a very good with the scene to scene arrangement It's not your typical Police Story thing but nonetheless there is still a worthy scene fight. A scene fight where you can see Jackie put his heart in filming the scene - very realistically filmed and very touching as well For me i rate this movie 6.5/10 for it's storyline + acting + it's Jacking effing Chan |
Dec 30 2013, 12:25 PM
3,602 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Only 1 word for me, watchable
Dec 30 2013, 06:48 PM
174 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Gone the days of super cop helicopter hanging etc. For me the movie plot is weak.
Dec 30 2013, 08:08 PM
141 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
For some reason, I believed it gonna pretty good if it's wasn't dubbed. And the storyline is too predictable
Still love JC nonetheless! |
Jan 3 2014, 02:40 PM
Afternoon
Jackie Chan reigns supreme. ![]() 3 Jan – In Malaysia, the weekend box office for 27 to 29 December 2013 was a great way to end the year for Hong Kong and Hollywood superstar Jackie Chan as his film "Police Story 2013" managed to climb up all the way to the number one spot. The film beat the heavyweights like "47 Ronin", which fell to the second spot and "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug", which fell in third place. "Police Story 2013" is a 2013 Chinese-Hong Kong action crime film starring Jackie Chan about a mainland Chinese officer in search of his estranged daughter when he is captured by an unnamed assailant. In Singapore, however, Keanu Reeves' controversially discussed film "47 Ronin" still topped the charts in Singapore despite the very mixed reviews. It is then followed by "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug", "Walking with Dinosaurs" and "Frozen". Other new releases in Malaysia last week were "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty", "Chikaro", "Tokan", "Make Me Shudder", "12 Years A Slave" and "Mayday: Live In Live". Other new releases in Singapore last week were "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty", "Haute Cuisine", "Thanks for Sharing", "The House Of Magic", "American Hustle", "The Complex" and "Do Not Disturb". http://my.news.yahoo.com/photos/jackie-cha...-042200262.html This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jan 3 2014, 05:11 PM |
Jan 3 2014, 04:42 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Cheras |
No matter how sucks it get, Hong Kong film scene is still the best.
Jan 4 2014, 02:38 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,688 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Outer Space |
People still watching because got Jackie Chan in it. He's getting old.
Jan 5 2014, 07:44 PM
Jan 7 2014, 08:02 PM
1,031 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
worst
dislike the director handle the scene |
Jan 9 2014, 12:21 AM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
The new police story was great. When i first watch the trailer i said to my friend "we need to watch the 1st day it come out!". So we went. aaanndd... we are so disappointed. I guess JC doesn't make movies like he used to anymore.
Jan 9 2014, 02:24 PM
30 posts Joined: May 2006 |
This is the worst JC movie!
Jan 10 2014, 01:19 AM
haha so the moral of the story is dont ever watch china making movies because they are worst than the worst of hong kong movies today
Jan 10 2014, 02:36 PM
34 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
if u notice the camera shots all closeup shots where they could cut n paste.. not like last time full body shots where fights needs to be continuous in 1 long frame
Feb 7 2014, 02:31 PM
1,375 posts Joined: May 2010 |
terrible
bad boring |
| Change to: | 0.0403sec
5 queries