The Nexus 5 Official Thread V3, The Google Flagship YO!

IwanAGP
post Dec 17 2013, 01:44 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Ken.shin- @ Dec 17 2013, 01:37 PM)
Regret placing an order for D820 from Dark Devon. Not because of the lack of LTE support as I don't think I'm going for LTE anytime soon, but due to the massive delay. Placed my order which I was already vaguely informed that it would arrive either by end of November or December. When December came, informed it would arrive in one to two weeks time. Two weeks later which leads to now, and I am informed it would only arrive after Christmas as there is some delay with the Customs due to holiday. Not sure if legit or bullshit.
I think the seller is legit. Can't ask for refund? Since you got delayed so long. I believe you have the right. Not sure...

Waiting for local release biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2013, 10:10 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Dec 18 2013, 09:39 AM)
question:
after moved to N5, I found out that certain apps I previously used in gnex or restore from, no longer eligible to install/update from PLAY to N5, any N5 users here know why?

steps to reproduce:
I signed out my account from PLAY, I can see those apps but I can't install/update after sign in, such as Facebook. N5 user please try the link or share if any finding found, thanks.
would it be the apps still not compatible with KK? but my old apk can install Facebook and running everyday without any issue. or only happen on me?
Try relink market link in Titanium Backup? I think is that Market Doctor thing.

Your apps probably just unlinked from Market so you need to link it back.
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2013, 10:55 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 18 2013, 10:51 AM)
Thanks guys, going to Satu Gadget soon. As for the display, is there a command for testing purposes like in the Samsung phones?

I hope there's Wi-Fi in the shop to download a display tester app LOL

Or probably transfer media from my tablet
Stock Android no command for testing. Just ask if you can download some app from store.
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2013, 12:06 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Dec 18 2013, 11:51 AM)
Can u tell me on the Nexus 5 home screen page, how many maximum screen pages of icons are allowed?
Coz Nexus 4 only allows max 5 screen pages.
If you're referring to Google Experience Launcher, it's limitless (or someone tried to max it out?). One reviewer on Youtube tried and had over XX pages and can continue to add more and more. I also tried with my friend Nexus 4 (Custom ROM with GEL), I basically placed every app in his phone 2 rounds, probably more than 100 pages yet it's not going to the end yet.

If you're referring to Google Stock Browser then yes, it's limited.
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2013, 05:14 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Dec 18 2013, 05:10 PM)
sigh, Maxis give me 2gb free data to use Astro On The Go
but the app is not compatible with Nexus 5.

Seems like they only support Samsung devices.

Edit:
got trick to do it but need root

http://www.howtogeek.com/138500/the-ultima...om-google-play/
You just need the APK. Ask someone who can download it to grab the APK from the data/app folder (need root) and let you install it. It may or may not work though.
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2013, 11:22 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(PedangGila @ Dec 18 2013, 11:18 PM)
So it's 3GB+. Pretty big. ty
It's not really big. Try to look at Samsung ones. 16GB with 11GB+- usable (depends on which model too)
IwanAGP
post Dec 19 2013, 09:30 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(barbar554 @ Dec 19 2013, 07:25 PM)
Dropbox and... BOX?
Do you use Google Drive, though? Surely you do, right? LOL.
I have ~30GB Dropbox and 50GB Box cloud storage to use. What's the problem? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(djlah @ Dec 19 2013, 07:32 PM)
Yes, also got Google Drive, SkyDrive, NortonZone and MediaFire. for photo, we got G+ photo and Flikr.
Do you have Baidu Pan? Speed is sometimes good sometimes rubbish (mostly rubbish) but you get I forget is 1TB or 2TB cloud storage doh.gif Hell a lot biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 20 2013, 08:37 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Dec 20 2013, 08:30 AM)
I am pretty sure he said he wants to port from DIGI to Umobile. Obvious reasons la.. digi's data coverage is horrible! and Umobile has LTE.

Guys, I think lte is coming to ipoh, especially my area at Canning Garden... Lte randomly pops up at 1 bar and its super fast. Not bad la..didn't even know Maxis was testing it out or something.
Actually, digi's data coverage has been good for me for the past year ("year", not years). I'm still on a 2 years contract with digi, device bundle, RM53 per month for 3GB quota (which I never even use 1/3 of it, got UniFi at home). Its coverage has improved a lot throughout 2013. However, I don't really need the 3GB quota. Will be porting to DiGi prepaid or U mobile or Hotlink. Any recommendations? (Only make few calls/SMS each month, mostly data. Around 500MB~750MB data will do)

Btw, why Nexus 5 wasn't released in M'sia yet doh.gif It's too slowwwwwwwwwww.
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 09:26 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 24 2013, 09:23 AM)
Z1 battery is "monstrous" hahaha.... sarcasm detected

the phone is a brick damn heavy.... decided to sell it after 2 days using
the pix is not any better than my then S4 (20mp is meh)
I thought Sony just updated Z1 firmware to fix it?
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 10:04 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 24 2013, 09:34 PM)
StormTrooper (Nexus 5-32 GB white) reported in. I'm replacing my nexus one.
Currently owned:-
a) nexus one
b) nexus 5
c) Nexus 7 (2012)
d) Nexus 7 (2013)
* All items above get from USA and ship from there directly to MY.
Just got my package from USA. Stuck at custom for 4 days. Getting worry as the status keep mentioning custom clearance (import permit, import license, etc) but finally received it today. No tax and no permit require. i'm must be the lucky one.
So far no problem as reported when testing nexus 5. Quite strange as i just ordered my one during black friday deal (USD394- no tax, free shipping. Total cost is RM1.2k++ for 32 GB) - getting 820 model. Don't need LTE as i'm using maxis LTE modem.
Ordered Ultra Hybrid from Spigen (USD8.97) -came with cover, screen protector and 2 back colorful image). Put in and fit very well. So far tested no issue.
Here is my speedtest result on maxis LTE (plus download 1GB of files -complete within 10 min)
1GB file? You must have a lot of quota to spare @.@

Maxis no block P2P? That's cool! Digi limit till totally no data can be transferred vmad.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 11:00 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tesh94 @ Dec 24 2013, 10:49 PM)
techbug.my is the D820 which is not compatible with malaysian LTE. I think i might jst ring up a pal of mine over there. RM1199 is just too tempting if it can last me for the 1st year without hiccups.
The most easily broken thing on a phone:
1) Display/Glass - which you can't claim warranty anyway
2) Water damage - which it will show up as a colour change in a water testing sticker in your phone, also can't claim warranty
3) Spoilt button - buttons normally lasts XXX,XXX presses. Even if it really get spoilt, it isn't expensive to be repaired
4) Spoilt USB Port - also not something too expensive to be repaired

Without warranty, there's only one thing you have to worry about, the motherboard. If anything happen to your motherboard, you're basically doomed biggrin.gif

Other problems less likely to happen: - faulty display/battery/wifi etc etc. Just hope they won't happen to you biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 11:06 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 24 2013, 10:56 PM)
Ya lor, lower price a bit then I might be interested tongue.gif
He takes on the responsibility saying that he will ensure every unit is working before sending out, I think that extra amount of money is reasonable. Maybe you should order yourself? tongue.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 24 2013, 10:59 PM)
I think a wireless charger would be useful because it reduces the usage of the USB port (constantly plugging in and out) and also reduces the rate of your phone battery deteriorating because faster charge rate would actually mean lower lifespan.

OK lah, watashiwa enlightened desu~ biggrin.gif
Using wireless charger however, is actually wasting energy over a long period of time. The efficiency is not as high as wired. That's why you need a larger input (2A) in order to supply 1A to your phone. Anyway, it's just a small amount of money. Say 10Wh (5V x 2A = 10W) for each hour of charging and it takes 3 hours to fully charge a phone, it's just 30Wh or 0.03kWh. Each kWh will be charged around 34 cents. 0.03*0.34 =RM0.0102 per day. A sum so small that most ppl won't even care biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 11:10 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(tesh94 @ Dec 24 2013, 11:06 PM)
I thought ap set covered by shop ?

BTW any link to an ap set for the nexus 5?
Shops offering AP warranty will normally be reluctant to honour your warranty claim. They will do it for you if it's small problem like button/usb etc but things like motherboard, it's very hard. They'll probably even ask your to cover the cost. Anyway it depends on the shop you buy from.

Google WTS Nexus 5, click the lelong link. Those written there 2 yrs warranty means AP set(shop warranty). Those without warranty means import set (they just import without providing warranty)
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2013, 11:22 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 24 2013, 11:10 PM)
Yeah that's good. But anyway, what is your personal opinion of a wireless charger, maybe that Nilkin one in particular. Are you getting one too?
Haha, yes it's covered by the shop but I've heard horror stories that some shops tend to give a lot of excuses and all not to send it back to the country of origin for a replacement /repair.
tongue.gif I actually just come here kacau one. Not owning any of new nexus-es. Still stuck with Galaxy Nexus which I think still serve me right (except that awful battery life and camera which trains you how to use your phone conservatively and to maximise what you can get from that camera biggrin.gif)

Will upgrade probably half year later?
IwanAGP
post Dec 25 2013, 02:09 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Dec 25 2013, 01:56 PM)
so pos laju is nt working for public holiday right? damn it... i checked the process stated my consignment arrived PPL kuching at 8.45am while my casing arrived a bit late at 10am (last night)

The problem is I received the casing but not the phone  cry.gif  so was hoping will get it by today, but forgot today is public holiday, what a nice Xmas gift doh.gif
biggrin.gif Stare at your casing and imagine your N5 enclosed in it. Time to use your imagination. biggrin.gif

yeah... Christmas not working. I'm also expecting a parcel to be delivered to me.

Where you ordered the phone? Price?
IwanAGP
post Dec 26 2013, 12:01 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 25 2013, 11:45 PM)

Interesting, now I feel like I need to replace my screen protector laugh.gif Is the nillkin glass screen protector as good as rhino shield? I see they only got for nexus 4, seems like they havent make for nexus 5 yet  hmm.gif
http://shopify.evolutivelabs.com/products/rhino-shield-phone

I see Nexus 5 in the list?? hmm.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 26 2013, 09:54 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 26 2013, 02:42 AM)
Oh alright, RM100 is kinda a lot for me as well just for a sp. Probably is around half the price of what it would take to repair a broken screen  hmm.gif

edit: my bad, seems like repairing a nexus 4 broken screen costs RM390 so I would expect the same or slightly more for nexus 5 (provided spare parts are here already)
Wow... You expect RM200 to fix N5 screen? biggrin.gif

FYI Galaxy Nexus screen costs RM530 to fix (maybe outdated price)
Nexus 4 one costs RM390 - LCD is cheaper than AMOLED and at same resolution, N4 one costs less
Nexus 5, just spare part from ebay already costs 170USD (RM550+). In comparison, N4 one costs 100USD (RM330+-), Galaxy Nexus one costs around 100USD too. It depends on quality though, whether it's full ori or what (hard to tell anyway).

One of the cons of having 1080p display on a phone doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 26 2013, 10:12 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Dec 26 2013, 10:01 AM)
I was expecting 200++ but yeah kinda expensive sad.gif should cost more than N4 I guess since ours are using IPS display  hmm.gif

If its around RM500 plus then its almost half the price of the phone already  laugh.gif  doh.gif
Erm... N4 is also IPS display FYI. It's that N5 uses a 1080p panel costs more than N4 768p panel biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 26 2013, 12:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Dec 26 2013, 12:34 PM)
[attachmentid=3786387]

24th, my parcel arrived the processing centre, ok so i assumed that i can get it by tuesday, but nope, fine
25th public holiday, fine
26th, again without any status update, still stucking at the process centre, dafuq ?!?! mad.gif

I'm trying to call the hotline but keep server busy, the worst case is IF i cant get it by tml, then i have to wait till next monday, OMG doh.gif  seriously waiting game really piss me off
I think you will receive today. I just received my parcel (not N5 though sad.gif ) even though the website wasn't updated. I think the website is outdated after yesterday's holiday. Not sure what poslaju is doing doh.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 26 2013, 02:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Dec 26 2013, 02:34 PM)
hi nexus 5 sifoo,

like to check. I am considering to buy a new phone and still considering.

i found out here http://www.satugadget.com.my/index.php/mob.../lg-nexus5.html

Few questions:-

a. is there better price than that in klang valley?
b. are they reliable for satu gadget?
c. if i buy that, if rosak, how? any local service centre?
d. i assume this phone can fight with galaxy s4. i used samsung and ios, i thinking of other brands. windows phone, i still thinking, but i more prefer android though.
e. if buy ap phone, is it dangerous and risky? anyway i not sure how come satu gadget can be that cheap? is that ap too?

any tips? Thanks.
http://www.lelong.com.my/kx/lg+nexus+5.htm

I'm not sure the one in your link is 16G or 32G version.

a. See link above

b. No comment

c. There's local service centre. But for the time being, all nexus 5 sold here is AP set so you can't send it to local LG service centre to claim warranty. You can send them to repair by bearing the cost though.

d. Raw performance wise, Nexus 5 has Snapdragon 800 as compared to Snapdragon 600 in S4. However, if you're used to heavily customized Android (Samsung/HTC/etc), you will find Nexus 5 "lacking". Many apps that you thought should be there is actually not there, need to install from Play Store biggrin.gif It also lacks those creative features like multiwindow/air gesture/etc etc that those manufacturers offer.

e. It depends on your luck. Some ppl buy AP, never encounter any serious problem with their phone over the warranty period, then it doesn't matter what set you buy right? Some ppl no luck, if broken within warranty period, it also depends on your luck whether the shop wants to fix for you. The quality of the phone itself is totally same, the problem is just the warranty. Actually that price is not cheap. Nexus 5 16GB costs RM1200 in Australia and Japan. Those shop bring in from those country to sell over here that's why it's sold at higher price. The original price (349USD) memang already lower than S4 (599USD) off contract. I'm referring to US price for the previous sentence smile.gif

0.0469sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:09 PM