Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

zeese
post Jul 11 2019, 04:22 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Jun 28 2019, 11:53 AM)
Dear all sifus,

I have an issue here with my HTiB system. Somehow recently my rear surround sound have no audio when process an output from TV via toslink. However, if i switch it to FM tuner, the audio came back.

Actually before this, I connect toslink from a media player and now because i bought new sharp android tv, i had to change this because media player not 4k compatible. Two days ago, I can't remember what i did and the surround speaker working but today no audio again. For info, from TV i use Kodi and passthrough option. In tv audio setting, i choose Dolby output.

UPDATE.

After did a detail checking, I notice the issue came from TV itself. I hook back my old AC Ryan media player and play the surround test video to check every chanel audio. It work fine on my Ac Ryan player. Both connect to HTiB by digital output. I don't know why TV cannot send a surround audio to my HTiB but my AC Ryan can. On tv, i try passthrough and also dolby but still no surround sound. Only left, right, center and subwoofer got the audio. I need to know whether this is tv hardware problem or android OS problem.

If any lowyat member here use Digital output as link to HT, may i know what player did you all have. Im afraid if i buy a 4k media player with android OS, the problem still there.
Older tv or non high end tv only outputs a stereo sound via toslink or hdmi.. The only way to get surround audio output from your tv is by buying new tv that supports surround output.
zeese
post Jun 21 2021, 02:27 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(dominus77 @ Jun 8 2021, 05:53 PM)
Hi, could I ask your room setup? Can the Q950A rear speakers be placed at the side of your sofa and still get the Atmos effects?

Reason I’m asking is cos my sofa is already backed up against wall, can’t position the rear speakers behind the sofa.

Appreciate your advice. Thank you
Actually, rear speakers should be placed on left and right sofa (5.1 setup).. Rear speakers are added for 7.1 setup. And for atmos effect, you need to add 2 or 4 speakers on the ceiling (or add a sound reflection from the ceiling by pointing the extra speakers upward).

0.1006sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:46 AM