Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

Zot
post Sep 14 2015, 05:09 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Sep 14 2015, 05:05 PM)
Anyone can share which home theater system is the most affordable type? Currently, I'm looking for a surround system (don't have to be the top range but just a decent/basic will do) for my living size 16'x12'. Need advice from sifus here.. Thanks!
Normally the cheap one are bundled together with dvd player. What you already have? What is your budget? Perhaps that way many here can suggest.
Zot
post Sep 15 2015, 04:03 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Sep 15 2015, 03:46 PM)
That's lot of money man!! Hahahaha...
Don't have budget of 7k to spend on this.. I've spent 7k on the tv itself  tongue.gif
What's your recommendations for 3k budget?  biggrin.gif
You mentioned 5.1 but most soundbar is actually 2.1.

The cheapest to have 5.1 is to buy home theater system, which normally consist of DVD (or BD) player and surround speakers + sub-woofer.

They are about same price for same power rating. Price is related to power output and additional feature. If you want to buy separate system probably more than 3k for good one, but if you really do, just estimate that the speakers price take at least 50% of the budget
Zot
post Sep 15 2015, 04:23 PM

7,934 posts

The so called sound bar with 5.1 or even 7.1 has all the speakers sitting in front in front. It is more like creating pseudo surround system.

Advantage
Easy installation and connectivity
Minimal wires
Modern design

Disadvantage:
The placement of the soundbar creates specific “sweet spots” in your listening experience
Does not produce complete surround sound, especially in larger living environments

This Sony soundbar

http://www.sony.com.my/product/ht-st9

is priced at RM 3,399.00 (inclusive of GST). Shop price should be lower than that
Zot
post Sep 17 2015, 09:16 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Sep 17 2015, 09:05 AM)
Yes.. This is something what I'm looking for.. BD player + surround speaker + sub-woofer for entry level... Bro, any ideas which shop offers the reasonable/competitive price for those things?
I have no idea since I'm not in KL/Selangor area. You just have to compare around. Perhaps you can find out the shop that supply to smaller shop, they can sell cheaper. However, they will not undercut her retailer shops laugh.gif

Normally small shop you have to wait for reason "out of stock". Actually they never stock anything expensive, only get the unit once customer order. This can be your advantage also because you can actually ask for much lower price since they have no stocking cost, order and direct sell to customer. Their margin (not sure on audio/video stuff) perhaps 20~30% estimated wink.gif
Zot
post Sep 17 2015, 09:36 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Sep 17 2015, 09:29 AM)
Profit margin of 20-30% is a lot man!!  vmad.gif
Thanks bro.. Sure I'm gonna survey a few shops before buying  smile.gif
It is not big margin. Things like this is not like selling nasi lemak. For small shop in less dense population area, maybe one or two set each month. They need to pay workers, electricity, rental, etc. If you have change to look at the pricing table/chart, this is calculated by manufacturers/distributors.

This is why you can press for unbelievable low price if the shop has to order you unit nod.gif . Lower than crazy sales price wink.gif
Zot
post Sep 17 2015, 01:00 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(mharmdone @ Sep 17 2015, 11:09 AM)
hi sifu, i am not sure how to put this.

do u guys know where to purchase RCA Y splitter? not the RCA splitter to single 3.5mm audio jack but 2 RCA to single RCA splitter. this is for my subwoofer to connect to the AVR.
Most new AVR has LFE output (or sometimes refered to as plain 'sub-woofer'). So you use this as input to your sub-woofer. If there is no such output, use Left (or Right) output. You should not combined both signal as they might negate each other's signal. The sub-woofer is mono signal anyway.

Your sub-woofer has R and L input? So, do you have manual for your sub-woofer? Is your sub-woofer passive (means driven by external amplifier) or has its own power amplifier?. Self-amplified sub-woofer usually has RCA input. Another type of sub-woofer is dual coil type. Then you need to connect both L and R signals
Zot
post Sep 17 2015, 02:19 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(mharmdone @ Sep 17 2015, 01:23 PM)
my AVR has only 1 subwoofer input -  Yamaha AVR RXV571 (http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V571BL-Receiver-Discontinued-Manufacturer/dp/B004QQZKP4)

the sub has RCA like this http://www.ixbt.com/multimedia/sps-828/828-back.jpg

how do i connect them actually? is it just choose any one (red or white) and that's it? or i purchase a splitter?

Thanks btw
So, your sub-woofer is Svan Acoustic? Looks like this is more to 2.1 PC speakers. This unit just mix the R and L signal to create mono sub-woofer signal. I can even ggogle the schematic of the sub-woofer smile.gif

In this case you can just connect to sub-woofer to either R or L. No need to connect both, I believe.

Looks like you have good AVR. Need to buy good sub-woofer and surround speakers for this AVR wink.gif

Zot
post Jan 23 2024, 08:16 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jan 22 2024, 03:57 PM)
If primarily for home theatre, then look for speakers which also have a centre speaker in the family. Some suggestions will be the Dalis you have listed, Q Acoustics and SVS Prime or Ultra series.
KEF LS50 Meta and the B&W is more of a choice when your primary use is for music. They would need a better amp than an AVR to make them sing. I think it is important to have a good understanding of your use case in terms of music and HT. Also, how big is your space? The KEFs for example are smaller monitors that are more suited for small spaces. If big living room, should consider some bigger standmount speakers or floor standing ones. Whichever speakers you get, always best to also get a subwoofer as they make a big impact especially for HT.
There is no correct or wrong. Whichever you like is the best choice because you are buying for your listening, not others.

Even in recording studio, they adjust this equalize that to get the sound they think the best, but people but sound system that claimed to be the best reproduction of what in studio and purist would not even use equalizer. laugh.gif

0.0212sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:30 AM