5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

hushymushy
post Aug 24 2016, 11:16 PM

1,708 posts

just curious....has anyone tried the Phono in at the AVR?? mostly support MM cartridge

anyone playing TT via their AVR as a pre?? not that it is recommended but at least for simplification on number of equipment
hushymushy
post Aug 25 2016, 02:32 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(kukendran @ Aug 25 2016, 02:04 PM)
Anybody know where to find Klipsch RP-150M in Malaysia? Can't seem to find them listed anywhere even on htkaki's product page.
sometimes retailers don't keep stock for every single model....please call some of the shops to enquire

like HTKAKI or Style Laser and a few more.....they can order for you
hushymushy
post Aug 26 2016, 11:53 PM

1,708 posts

my surrounds, rear and atmos speaker cables r probably not the same length at all although the physical speakers are installed symmetrical in the room

that sight small variance so far has not caused any delay issue.....also...as mentioned...the delay is between the speaker sound travelling to your ear.....

in reality....while i was running in my multi channel amps and speaker cables and wat not....i set my AVR to run all channel stereo mode....i would have thought the sound will have delays and create some messed up audio...but it turned out to be ok

hushymushy
post Aug 27 2016, 11:52 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 27 2016, 10:25 PM)
You have misunderstood. What I meant was the speaker can't handle the lower frequencies.
isn't most frequencies have a natural roll off on the low frequency???

even for a normal built bookshelves speakers, it will have a natural roll off.....

let's just say in a stereo setup....where there is no processor to do any xover....the bookshelve will have its own low frequency roll off....depending what frequency it starts to roll off and which order....

so my thoughts would be....even if you send all frequency to the speaker, it will have its own natural roll off....or am I totally wrong here???
hushymushy
post Aug 29 2016, 03:37 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 29 2016, 02:05 PM)
i got thx cert on speakers. its tuned different from usual england made spk. we expect it sound like cinema kind of excited eq but has strange voice.

normal avr will do eq correction away.

lately i discover avr with thx mode. the spk react become truly cinema feel. definitely must try.
now that you mention it...i will go back and try

i tried the upmix to DTS:X or Atmos.....quite good also
hushymushy
post Aug 29 2016, 04:49 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 29 2016, 04:39 PM)
ur lx88 or 89 ?
me lx76
hehehehe sudah migrate to Denon X7200WA
hushymushy
post Aug 30 2016, 12:57 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 29 2016, 10:11 PM)
just want to proof this thx is not a fancy logo. is extra function
my sub dont have thx input wer
hushymushy
post Sep 19 2016, 02:03 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Sep 16 2016, 10:28 AM)
Can any sifu commend on this, my previous system -cd player to int.amp to biwire n spk sound ok but now i change a few new items- new cd player to presmp to power amp SAME BIWIRE N SAME SPEAKER but problem now is its very very boomy bass. So sifu here can rectified any wrong connection or wrong setting.tq
pre and power basically unleashes more power....if your pre or power has gain setting, try lowering down the gain setting first...

also....due to more power....try to reposition you speakers....moving it away from the rear wall may help you to reduce boom....
hushymushy
post Sep 19 2016, 08:22 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Sep 19 2016, 06:40 PM)
My pre n power amp dont have gain setting except for pre there is cross over setting. I try the cross over setting but improve a bit. Maybe my spk cable need a change.
for music....i am assuming you are sending full frequency to your fronts....so having a high pass xover setting for your fronts will cut off the bottom bass...for music best to let the speaker roll off the bottom frequency naturally
hushymushy
post Sep 19 2016, 10:24 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Sep 19 2016, 09:40 PM)
Since i push out my spk the boomy bass is no more n i set my pre amp cross over setting to off. Its like miracle just extra 3 inches out n wahlow the boomy thingy is cure tqvm brother.
No probs bro...glad to hear problem solved....may i ask what pre n power amp did u buy?
hushymushy
post Sep 20 2016, 12:53 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Sep 19 2016, 11:08 PM)
Paiseh cheap one bro parasound P5 halo pre amp n Marantz power amp n marantz cd6006. Wonder is the marantz cd6006 ok.
Parasound where got cheap...hahahahahaha
well usually a better source is more important...

but at the end of the day...every factor counts....

hushymushy
post Sep 22 2016, 11:59 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Sep 22 2016, 10:21 AM)
Is it alright to output 3 type of different out to amp. ( interconnect, coaxial, n optical ). tq
don't quite understand the question...can elaborate further?
hushymushy
post Sep 26 2016, 04:10 PM

1,708 posts

here's my experience playing with variance type of amplifiers and their power ratings

my KEF Q900...which not any high end.....recommended 15watts to 200watts power...

i've tried powering it with AVRs and various power amps ranging from Bryston to Audio Research

now....with AVRs....typically it produces 125watts @ 8 ohms....it powers up the Q900 but lack of control....then again the AVR power section wont be as good as any external amp

with the bryston....i get 300watts per channel powering a 200watts speaker.....no problem at all....it gives the speaker alot of control, speed and timing....
the overall headroom improves

amp ratings abit fuzzy sometimes
example:

amp 1: 1v rms input = 150watts output

amp 2: 1.5v rms input = 200watts output

so in a standard 2v rms input = amp 1 produced better power

more like input signal gain factor which ultimately makes an amp sound more powerful

some amps have high gain and some have lower gain....
so apart from rated power outputs, gain factor and input sentivity plays a role in this too

I'm not too good in explaining this
hushymushy
post Oct 3 2016, 08:38 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Oct 1 2016, 08:45 PM)
Thanks bro for the reply  thumbup.gif  I did a custom in wall wiring 20 Meter from DB to my living hall. thumbup.gif
nice....not alot of people do that....actually that's the very basic fundamentals to good hifi playing regardless of the equipment

i have a separated phase for my room...separate DB with individual fuse per wall plate

but i don't use branded cable lar....i only use fajar 4mm multi stranded cables
hushymushy
post Oct 11 2016, 11:55 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(yen187 @ Oct 11 2016, 11:52 AM)
Sifu's,

need some advice.... is there a way to soundproof my AV room?
Currently using Yamaha speakers but I only have my sofa in there so the sound is bouncing from one wall to another maybe a little too much... thinking of putting a carpet but I need more....

any cheap and easy way to have it done?
you can start with some book cases....fill it up with some magazine and books
have some curtains
also....if it booms...then perhaps move the speakers away from the rear wall a little
hushymushy
post Oct 12 2016, 12:06 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Oct 11 2016, 06:34 PM)
From what I know, according to feedback from McIntosh, their MX122 Video Board is based on the same Marantz (Denon) board design, similar to the Marantz 8802A Video Board.

What is different (and very important for my choice) is that ALL other components of MX122 are McIntosh own proprietory design with their own AUDIO technology such as the internal DAC, Audio board, Power Supply, etc.

Denon and Marantz companies merged together to become D+M Group in 2002 so both their HT AVR products share almost similar design with the same "Setup Menus". I think Marantz licensed the Video Board design and technology to McIntosh so that's why the "Setup Menus" looks the same. However, the Video Board design is modified to make it compatible and work properly with McIntosh all other components, so this Video Board is manufactured in McIntosh factory with their own quality control.

Hehe... if its ALL the same as Marantz, I would NOT have bought the more expensive MX122 loh, and I would have save $$$ with the 8802A. After auditioning both McIntosh MX122 and Marantz 8802A, my own personal view and taste is that the MX122 AUDIO is much much better.

My MX122 supports Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D. Support for DTSX will come later when the MX122 new firmware upgrade is released.

Dolby Atmos, DTSX and Auro-3D are ALL AUDIO technologies built into the hardware codecs.

My MX122 also supports virtual audio emulation (not true audio channels) which changes the actual audio channels.

When I pressed my remote "Green" button, a menu pop out showing "Movie Sound" category. The different selections changes according to what audio is received.

When playing video with 5.1 audio channels, the pop out menu shows "Dolby Digital" already selected which is the actual sound. I can change this to "Auro-2D Surround" so the original Dolby 5.1 will be changed to emulated (not true) Auro 5.1 channels.

When playing video with (stereo) 2 audio channels, the pop out menu shows "Stereo" already selected which is the actual sound. I can change this to "Auro-2D Surround" so the original 2 channels will be changed to emulated (not true) Auro 5.1 channels, so the centre, surround and sub will ALSO have sound.

If I played bluray with Dolby True-Hd, this will appear as the original selected one. I don't have any Auro-3D bluray to test so I can only assume that the pop out will change to Auro-3D, NOT Auro-2D.

not saying d Denon X7200WA is of equivalent sound quality...but the Mcintosh MX122 shares a few bases with Denon X7200 WA and Marantz 8802A....not just the video card
but all 3 sound different side by side...and of coz the MC well known for their power supply and other stuffs

D&M Holdings owned Mcintosh and shared a few technologies together which brought Mcintosh more into HT....
hushymushy
post Oct 12 2016, 10:20 AM

1,708 posts

jamesleetech

I have auditted all 3 and they all sound different....

Thing is I hv my music on Audio Research gears hence I did not consider the Mcintosh processor due to its price

But again....there are too many variables in different setups and environments
hushymushy
post Oct 12 2016, 09:48 PM

1,708 posts

jamesleetech

I have owned both Mcintosh and Audio Research....i prefer Audio Research over Mcintosh over a few things

1. the micro details and micro dynamics are very well articulated
2. ARC has got more speed in their tube amps
3. they sound ultra natural with most speakers....
4. their cd player produces very wide big stage with superb imaging and accuracy and without a hint of digital glare

Mcintosh....what i like about them....their solid state is better than ARC....cd player sounded slightly more laid back....i had them in my car at one point driving Dynaudio

my dad had Mcintosh and Luxmans too....so yah...i've been listening to MCs for many years.....
hushymushy
post Oct 13 2016, 12:17 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Oct 12 2016, 11:27 PM)
Oh, when you said "I did not consider the Mcintosh processor due to its price", it was not because of affordability. This earlier simple sentence confused me. You have chosen Audio Research because it has a lower price with your preferred sonic qualities.

You were listening to McIntosh for many years. Which McIntosh and Luxman model were your dad using ? I assume your dad were using the McIntosh for the turntable so which turntable was used ? You said you  owned McIntosh before so which model did you own and if sold, what was the reason? Upgrade? Audio Research better all-round performer?
I did not go with Mcintosh processor due to its price...that is correct...I don't use my Denon for stereo music....the price comparison is between the Mcintosh processor vs Denon X7200WA for solely HT purpose
after all....i'm playing 7.2.4.....so I need an AVR like 7200 to power my Atmos speakers....while d 7 channel goes to my ARC and Medusa....

I did mention I hv ARC gears for music....my bad for assuming that you would know where ARC stands in the music and hifi world.....

I have a heavily moded LS17 pre and a Ref110 power from ARC at the moment...the Denon sends L&R to my LS17>bypass mode>Ref110 for HT.....
Audio Research is not cheaper than Mcintosh....in fact in every aspect....Audio Research gear is more expensive
Audio Research doesn't have any HT processor in its series....its a pure stereo producer
ARC entry CD6 player is going for 28k while MCD500 is roughly 20k...

old models like MC225, Luxman C1010.....he had a few TT....pioneer, Technics and also a Luxman TT
those days we had large pioneer speaker..CS-88A...there was Goodmans at one point...but I can't recall the model

i've had the MA6000...MCD301...i used to have the MCC404M in my car too...with Alpine F1 CDA-7990 player...

why i sold it....lack of musicality....after listening to ARC....the musicality is of different level...there's not much soul in Mcintosh....

I've played with VS110, Ref7 CD, CD5, CD6, LS27 Pre....DSi200....many more...

one of my friend has MC with Sonus Faber.....my previous setup was ARC with Sonus Faber....just a different preference

and since I ventured into HT.....i think i've mentioned b4....i'm trying to get best of both world in 1 single room

hushymushy
post Oct 13 2016, 11:23 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Oct 13 2016, 12:55 PM)
Bro Hushymushy,can i come to audition when your dual pb13 ready?And curious to hear the medusa too..
sure sure....but my tuning very low level....donno meet your standard or not....

the PB13U....aiissshhh still waiting...coz owners only releasing after they get the PB16

medusa....poor mans 7 channel.....the rest of the branded 7 channel goes into 20k range.....

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1183sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:06 AM