18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

SSJBen
post Aug 2 2016, 06:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 2 2016, 03:15 PM)
I am sure there is a reason on the different of pricing. You pay for what you get
SVS isn't the best valued sub maker in the US unfortunately, even if they do have the best customer support. If you want pure power from an ID company, PSA takes the crown. Besides, the founder of PSA was also the co-founder for SVS.

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Aug 2 2016, 06:31 PM)
About price,i got my pb13u last 2 years with same price as fv15hp now..hehe

Yes,i read the data,thats why i want to give it a test..maybe it needs proper placement/tuning,i tested it for 2 days only
Before ringgit was shit, things were pretty. tongue.gif

But how come only tested for 2 days?

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 2 2016, 07:25 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 3 2016, 01:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Aug 2 2016, 07:46 PM)
Agreed with Ben here.For the same price as PB13u,one can get JTR S1,Captivator 1400,Seaton F18,Psa V3600,S3600 and Reaction Audio Gamma 21..and its outperformed PB13u in every hz for almost twice!
Oh man, Seaton. He makes some mind blowing and core rattling subs.

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 3 2016, 11:59 AM)
Dear HT sifu sifu....seeking some thoughts/opinions/ advise...

I have 2 SVS SB2000 subs....if i do level matching in terms of volume for all the speakers....should I make the volume level the same as the rest of the speakers??

I am using pioneer lx88 which has dual sub output....but not sure if they r left n right output coz they only label output 1 and 2.
In the MCACC...it does show which is left and right though

in MCACC speaker level, the test tone will play...and what I understand is that we should have each channel tuned to 75db based on spl meter....
When i did that to both subs individually...during playback time...the subs like overkilled and i hv to reduce the sub volume

The current xover setting is 100hz

Am i doing this right or wrong????
Okay few things.

1) It depends if you want to run your sub "hot" or not. Most people I know likes to run their subs 3-6db hot after calibration. If you don't, then yeah level matching your subs to your mains is preferable. However I actually run my dual SB2000s 3db lower than my mains due to how much room gain I get, so it definitely depends on your room as well.

2) Okay I'm not exactly sure if the LX88's sub out is a stereo sub out or basically just an internal Y-splitter as mono sub out (which are the majority of the receivers these days). If it's the latter, it doesn't actually matter which you connect to since the signal is just mono. Unless also you're trying to do a stereo sub setup, generally would suggest leaving it as it is now.

3) Before level matching, you want to turn the gain up on the SB2000 first. The general recommendation of 9-12 o'clock is actually not quite right. Jeff and Ed Mullen from SVS told me that they designed the digital sledge amps to work best around the 2-3 o'clock mark.
The idea is, you want MCACC (or any other auto PEQ) to report a negative level on the sub trim, preferably around the -5db mark. Most receivers I know will start distorting the signal after the 0db trim. A -5db mark gives you a 5db of play if you want your sub hot, without distorting the signal (however minor it may be).

4) Generally yes, the higher the crossover, the more the sub will do. Remember that crossover is just a bridge, not a stop-gate. The sub and speakers will play -3/+3db a couple of hz above and under the crossover set by the user.
Depending on the location of your subs, 100hz is entering the realm being able to localize where the subs are which in certain cases can cause a more noticeable fluctuation of volume between your speakers integration with the sub.
SSJBen
post Aug 3 2016, 11:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Aug 3 2016, 10:36 PM)
Guys does speaker cable have shelf live.tq
No. But some people will lead you to believe that even the connectors has shelf life.

Cables are not organic materials... seriously.
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2016, 12:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 4 2016, 09:13 AM)
Hmmmm good idea.....using a Y splitter...wont it change the lfe output impedance???
All connectors adds impedance, but like ktek said, rca is a low level input so the impedance added is so slight it doesn't make a difference. These aren't headphones, remember.

What you do get with a Y-splitter is a 3-6db gain boost because the sub will recognize the left and right input from a single cable. However, you achieve the same thing by simply turning up the gain knob.
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2016, 12:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Aug 4 2016, 07:43 AM)
I was told by one hifi outlet that speaker cable after 8-10years the sound quality will become flat. How true is it.
If it takes 10 years for a shop to sell some magical unicorn blood infused cable, then it just means people don't believe in cable myth bs. Not because the cable will detoriate.

If it does, then they just blew their own pants open isn't it? What with all those cryogenic welded cables or whatever. Cryo means it lasts forever lol. Or is that bullshit too? laugh.gif rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2016, 11:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Aug 4 2016, 01:41 PM)
SSJBen,why dont u join Home Theater and Hi Fi of Malaysia community in FB?We need more knowledgeable people like u there.
Thanks. Wasn't aware there was community like that on FB. Don't use it much. I'll check it out though.
SSJBen
post Aug 5 2016, 12:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 5 2016, 09:43 AM)
Bro,

Its snake oil.. so there is mysticism involved..
So dont try to even understand..
U either believe it or not..

D
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 5 2016, 11:16 AM)
Cryo...

means someting to do with lo temp.. I tink its de freezing ting tat supposedly does sumting to audio.. believers say it works for everyting, frozen cds also sound better..

I tried n I dont hear squat.. but hey.. wat do l know..
Hifi speakers are dying, unicorn cables are striving.

The major problem is that majority of people don't know jack about electrical engineering. Every single one of these mythical cables company does not even have the know how to back up their bullshit marketing with some actual scientific facts.

SSJBen
post Aug 5 2016, 02:42 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(skeelee @ Aug 5 2016, 01:39 PM)
I believe I had said the following before somewhere in this or other Lowyat forums.

The only palatable explanation for good audio cables I found is in The SuperCables Cookbook by Allen Wright. Allen passed away a few years ago.

In mid-90s, Octave Electronics brought Allen to Malaysia and had a presentation on the theory and DIY audio cables. Octave stocked the necessary materials for such DIY projects.

The book includes a technical paper detailing the science and maths behind good audio cables. Basically, the cables, both interconnects and speaker cables, should be single-core and as thin as possible. The connector materials should be as thin as possible too.

I don't think it catched on, maybe because you lose bragging right when you go for cheap DIY cables.

Sometimes, audiophile is very much about bragging.
Yes, I've browsed through that book before and yes there were some good explanations with actual, calculated facts and logic within it.

But you tell me how many of the super expensive cables on the market today actually even follow anything within that book?

The bragging rights lasts for like 20 seconds. Guests will just say, okay how does it sound? End of bragging stories. But hey, who are we to say right? I mean we have people buying $280,000 handbags. whistling.gif

Here's a fact: A cheap, well-engineered cable is sonically indistinguishable to an expensive, "well-engineered" cable. And yes, it doesn't cost much relatively to make good cables.

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 5 2016, 02:26 PM)
i was just browsing a couple of 'branded' cables....
wow now they even have 'signature' LAN cables.....wtf....hahahahahaha
this one i seriously can't brain lor....

anyone care to share thoughts on 'signature' branded LAN cable...apparently your streaming and connectivity can FLY!
I saw people buying a 1m USB 2.0 cable that costs RM800, just to connect to their phone. Apparently the audio out from the phone sounds better after that. Go figure. rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 8 2016, 12:06 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 7 2016, 11:26 AM)
[attachmentid=7267644][attachmentid=7267646]
Finally all is up
I thought you don't like monopole designs for surrounds?

Good speakers btw. thumbup.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 9 2016, 02:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Aug 9 2016, 07:39 AM)
Hi sifu, can i biamp my avr to an int. amp instead of bi amp to avr.tq
Are you trying to bridge or are you just passing the signal to the int.amp? What are you trying to do actually?

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Aug 9 2016, 09:46 AM)
any sifus can intro me a setup around 4k for a 2.1 setup + avr ?
You gave practically no info on what your usage situation would be like (room size for example, is critical), so it's hard to recommend exactly what you should look for.

For RM4k though, you can start looking at some ELAC Debut B5 + Yamaha RX-V379, which should set you back at around RM2.8k. Unfortunately, most subs at around the RM1k range are pretty mediocre.
Again, I don't know how big your room is, how it is shaped and how loud you plan to listen at. If you have space, I'd suggest even getting a floorstander like the ELAC Debut F5 instead and forget the sub altogether. Then save up until you have another 3-4k+ and get a good sub from SVS or equivalent later.
SSJBen
post Aug 10 2016, 02:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Aug 10 2016, 11:26 AM)
hi sifu,

i plan to put the setup in my home living room, its an open space and i think its around 400~500sqft.

btw just youtubed the ELAC Debut F5. damn sexy and nice. around how much is it?
About RM2.9k or so. Check out stylelaser, they sell them at one of the lowest prices in KL.
SSJBen
post Aug 10 2016, 05:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Aug 10 2016, 03:37 PM)
this setup is better for music or movie? i check out the youtube normally ppl are testing for music
People who only use movies to test speakers are the people who knows nothing about audio. That's why you mostly see music as being the preferred usage test for speakers.

As long as you have proper placement, bass management, some basic form of acoustic treatment, logic and common sense (by not buying into snake oil bs), most speakers will sound good already.
Then all that's left is whether you like that speaker's particular sound signature or not. If you don't, then it doesn't mean it's not good, it simply means you have a different preference.

The ELAC Debut series, to me... they're nice speakers for whatever I threw at them. Music, movies, games, it does everything well considering the price they are being sold at.
If I want to pick faults while ignoring the price, well I think they're not dynamic enough. I feel that they don't have enough air, they don't "disappear" either and the center channel does have lobing issues as well, which is annoying when sitting off axis. But again, given the price, there's not many other speakers around this price range that can match the ELAC Debuts.
SSJBen
post Aug 11 2016, 07:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 11 2016, 05:41 PM)
HT more complicated than audio??? Wait till you have full analog gears...
It depends.

If you're doing a setup like this - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-dedicated...ater-build.html

You can bet your entire savings that it is much more complex than analog gears.
SSJBen
post Aug 11 2016, 09:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 11 2016, 09:06 PM)
This is not complicated but just rather nice design.
Uh, read the thread and see how many subs he has in which locations as well as the multitude of speakers. That's just the surface.
SSJBen
post Aug 11 2016, 10:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 11 2016, 10:24 PM)
Obviously you don't know what is consider as complex.
Give me an example then.
SSJBen
post Aug 12 2016, 01:17 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 12 2016, 12:57 AM)
Well at least I know what is what. I won't just go blindly with just reading or listening to someone saying something
So you can't give me an example.... rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 12 2016, 11:48 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 12 2016, 02:45 AM)
Why should I ?
You said I obviously don't know what is complex what. So I'm asking you sifu, give me an example. Yet you can't.

Whatever man. rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 13 2016, 05:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Aug 13 2016, 02:31 PM)
What the heck is basic tuning. Most AVR plug and play also won't sound wrong.  Even without setting to 75db in movie is still surround sound. Loud is loud. What is good sound is not loud.
Wow and I thought spending the whole of yesterday night until this morning at the police station was stupid. But @bolded just made my day.

Yeah man, don't bass manage, don't check for polarity issues, forget crossovers, forget delays, leave everything at default, nothing will sound wrong indeed!

AAA advice as usual. rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 15 2016, 03:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(teop @ Aug 15 2016, 03:16 PM)
I might be replying completely in a different league here but I was kind of testing the above statement.

I was looking for some cables for my speakers and wanted to get something suitable (=bang for bucks). I did read a bit and asked a bit and it kind of left me with conflicting views. On one hand I 'know' that I'm suppose to get 12 AWG cables to reduce the effect of cables on sound quality, on the other hand I have a budget to balance. Then I was told by one of the shops that it the 16 AWG cables for RM7.5/m is okay for my purpose (25m run). He could have easily sold me his RM35/m stranded over solid core cables. Then I also read that most copper cable sold now (electrical or speakers, copper is copper right?) is of good quality (~OFC, the exception for me is that if it came from China).

So I kind of have the opportunity to test part of the theory out when someone come over to do wiring related to my main TNB meter. I got some 6mm wires for free and proceeded to change my front cables which came with my speakers (decent looking 4m pairs). This time I cut the length accordingly as required and since my AVR placement is to the right and I don't have enough cables, the cables don't have equal lengths (2m/0.6m). I ran YPAO and to my surprise it did a 2dB compensation on one side. Surprised mostly because most people would talk about sound quality but not loudness. Then it kind of hit me that having less cable resistance means it would be easier to drive the speakers.

I then proceeded to measure the resistance of the cables I had. The original at 4m is 0.6 ohms and the 6mm electrical cables at 2m is 0.3 ohms. So I guess the electrical cables is not 100% copper. I then proceeded to swap out the 6mm cables and cut the original to length since it is much thinner, easier to handle and have the same resistance per meter. My speakers are 6 ohms by the way.

While I could not say for sure sonically whether which cables is better since I'm sure my sound imaging memory wouldn't last the time it takes for the cables swap, I would say that it seems that the cut to length original cables does seems to sound more detailed.

Now I have the following question:
1) Does it matter if the speakers cable is not of equal length?
2) Does YPAO adjust for delays due to this difference?
3) While I think for this length of 2m vs 0.6m it would be impossible to hear the delays (if any), does this means that if I'm using Straight or PureDirect mode the compensation done by YPOA (delays and levels) will not be applied?
4) Also does having less resistance means saving electricity as well as putting less stress on the AVR?
5) For surround speakers, does it means that you can get away with thinner wires? I asks since most would ask whether the cables is for front or surround and that the original cables for the surround is much thinner than the fronts.

Cheers...
Cable voodoo out of the way, let's talk logic;

1) In theory, at least for home theater runs; no it does not matter. Electric travels at the speed of light, a difference of 1.4m isn't going to make a snort of a difference provided both runs are the exact same cable.

2) YPAO adjusts delay in relevance to where the mic is position at (MLP), not the cable.

3) If you were to use an oscillator and measure the conductance of 2 cables with different lengths and of different quality, then yes it is measurable that the difference in length can and will show a difference in conductance. Whether that is audible or not, well.. it shouldn't be, but we have people who can hear the difference between cheap tin solder vs rosin solder used on the cable end.
Straight uses YPAO processing and adjustments, Pure Direct doesn't. They're not relative to each other.

4) Again, if you were to take oscillator and measure; you will see a difference. But the difference is so minute that it doesn't actually matter.

5) Logically speaking, the farther your cables are from the amp/receiver, the thicker of a gauge you want for the cable. But we will reach a point (around 10 gauge) where any thicker doesn't provide any more benefit unless you have a room as big as Michael Bay's own home cinema.
People place all their cable budget on the main speakers (LCR) because apparently, the cables will make a huge difference because the mains are the important speakers. rolleyes.gif

Sidenote;
As to why YPAO set one side of your speaker louder than the other, there can be various factors.
Example;

- Difference in noise level within surrounding environment, are you absolutely sure that prior to the YPAO measurement after you switched cables that your environment's noise level was the SAME?
- Did you verify the SPL with an SPL meter at least, not just by going off the reading on the receiver?
- Was the mic in the exact same position before and after you change the cables?
SSJBen
post Aug 17 2016, 12:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Good DOES NOT mean expensive btw. Don't be a blind customer.

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1195sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:06 AM