205 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

lightning69
post Nov 6 2022, 07:16 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 6 2022, 02:24 PM)
Used to run librelec then I built a Plex server and ever since been running plex off the tvs native app
I can't be bothered to keep updating the apps looking for latest seeds
Plex still need to download the mkv and setup your server. Too troublesome.

With CE there is no more download. Stream everything direct. Like I said I can stream 100gb files easily. All you need is Real Debrid account. Real Debrid cost RM70 for 6 months and that work out to RM12 per month. I share with 2 other users and that's RM4 per month.

There is no need to update the app at all. It can auto update. Works like a charm. I don't see anything can beat CE at the moment. No need expensive Nvidia shield. With a RM200 android tv box running CE can beat anything out there in terms of performance and convenience. It's the best kept secret! OPPS....I just exposed the secret.

If you are a Kodi user and not willing to shell out a few ringgit per mont for Real Debrid , then you are missing out on the best.
minano0001
post Nov 6 2022, 08:42 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 6 2022, 07:16 PM)
Plex still need to download the mkv and setup your server.  Too troublesome. 

With CE there is no more download.  Stream everything direct.  Like I said I can stream 100gb files easily.  All you need is Real Debrid account. Real Debrid cost RM70 for 6 months and that work out to RM12 per month. I share with 2 other users and that's RM4 per month. 

There is no need to update the app at all.  It can auto update.  Works like a charm.  I don't see anything can beat CE at the moment.  No need expensive Nvidia shield.  With a RM200 android tv box running CE can beat anything out there in terms of performance and convenience.  It's the best kept secret! OPPS....I just exposed the secret.

If you are a Kodi user and not willing to shell out a few ringgit  per mont for Real Debrid , then you are missing out on the best.
My server not only runs Plex. I backup files and family photos in it with raid. I can access it outside my house with my phone. So it's more of a family server to me. Anyway I have Netflix, svi and Plex for my tv needs no need to run Kodi or real debrid anymore. Thanks for the heads-up
lightning69
post Nov 6 2022, 10:57 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 6 2022, 08:42 PM)
My server not only runs Plex. I backup files and family photos in it with raid. I can access it outside my house with my phone. So it's more of a family server to me. Anyway I have Netflix, svi and Plex for my tv needs no need to run Kodi or real debrid anymore. Thanks for the heads-up
Good that Plex works great for you. I have NAS server too which I use it for my cloud storage. They are primarily for Photos backup for my family which works like Google photos. Besides photo, I use it for Flac and DTS music server. I use to buy many HDDs to store my movie collection but stop doing that since I can stream them directly and at bluray quality which is taking too much HDD space.
celciuz
post Nov 6 2022, 11:27 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 6 2022, 06:08 PM)
Nice
U can consider the new Xbox too
I heard Plex works great too for passthrough
Xbox can do TrueHD passthrough on Plex? Thanks, will check it out.
lightning69
post Nov 6 2022, 11:47 PM

2,298 posts

I'm doing this short video of how I set up my CE.

CoreElec
minano0001
post Nov 7 2022, 07:51 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 6 2022, 10:57 PM)
Good that Plex works great for you.  I have NAS server too which I use it for my cloud storage.  They are primarily for Photos backup for my family which works like Google photos.  Besides photo, I use it for Flac and DTS music server.  I use to buy many HDDs to store my movie collection but stop doing that since I can stream them directly and at bluray quality which is taking too much HDD space.
haha yea taking too much HDDs. just bought another 10tb HDD. anyway old shows i doubt will watch anymore. will slowly remove them from collection
SSJBen
post Nov 7 2022, 08:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 6 2022, 07:16 PM)
Plex still need to download the mkv and setup your server.  Too troublesome. 

With CE there is no more download.  Stream everything direct.  Like I said I can stream 100gb files easily.  All you need is Real Debrid account. Real Debrid cost RM70 for 6 months and that work out to RM12 per month. I share with 2 other users and that's RM4 per month. 

There is no need to update the app at all.  It can auto update.  Works like a charm.  I don't see anything can beat CE at the moment.  No need expensive Nvidia shield.  With a RM200 android tv box running CE can beat anything out there in terms of performance and convenience.  It's the best kept secret! OPPS....I just exposed the secret.

If you are a Kodi user and not willing to shell out a few ringgit  per mont for Real Debrid , then you are missing out on the best.
I tried CoreElec a long time ago, it is indeed very good. Extremely convenient and I think it's almost as user friendly as Plex (as long as the skin is easy on the eyes for non-tech savvy people).

The only flaw and really is the only flaw which haven't made me jump ship is support for Dolby Vision passthrough, unless they have changed that recently so correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 7 2022, 08:02 PM
lightning69
post Nov 8 2022, 08:14 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 7 2022, 08:01 PM)
I tried CoreElec a long time ago, it is indeed very good. Extremely convenient and I think it's almost as user friendly as Plex (as long as the skin is easy on the eyes for non-tech savvy people).

The only flaw and really is the only flaw which haven't made me jump ship is support for Dolby Vision passthrough, unless they have changed that recently so correct me if I'm wrong.
Yes, you're right. There is no DV support yet. Don't think CE will ever see DV support due to licensing so I have to live with other HDR format.
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2022, 12:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 8 2022, 08:14 AM)
Yes, you're right. There is no DV support yet.  Don't think CE will ever see DV support due to licensing so I have to live with other HDR format.
Doubt it's a licensing thing when Plex and Kodi supports them just fine. HDR10 is still fine for the most part, but more and more movies especially in the last 2 years are being released for home with DV and it just looks significantly better.

Also another thing I forgot that CE cannot do is passthrough Auro3D, so that's another no go for me.
minano0001
post Nov 8 2022, 04:03 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 8 2022, 12:29 PM)
Doubt it's a licensing thing when Plex and Kodi supports them just fine. HDR10 is still fine for the most part, but more and more movies especially in the last 2 years are being released for home with DV and it just looks significantly better.

Also another thing I forgot that CE cannot do is passthrough Auro3D, so that's another no go for me.
Technically Coreelec IS Kodi but a leaner form. why is it different?
so u are using plex and kodi now?
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2022, 04:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 8 2022, 04:03 PM)
Technically Coreelec IS Kodi but a leaner form. why is it different?
so u are using plex and kodi now?
You're right, CE is technically Kodi in Linux variant. But for whatever reason, I'm unsure why it hasn't ported DV passthrough from the Windows/Android builds over. I scoured the CE forum and can't seem to find a direct answer, do you know why?

Yeah I'm just using Plex now for the most part. Sometimes I would go back to my HTPC for lower quality content (720p or under) to utilize madvr's STILL industry leading upscaling ability.
minano0001
post Nov 9 2022, 08:59 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 8 2022, 04:08 PM)
You're right, CE is technically Kodi in Linux variant. But for whatever reason, I'm unsure why it hasn't ported DV passthrough from the Windows/Android builds over. I scoured the CE forum and can't seem to find a direct answer, do you know why?

Yeah I'm just using Plex now for the most part. Sometimes I would go back to my HTPC for lower quality content (720p or under) to utilize madvr's STILL industry leading upscaling ability.
I decommissioned my Kodi/libreelec long ago. didnt want to keep updating or tinkering with it. easier with netflix and plex. but thats just my opinion. no offense to those still using kodi.
i still think kodi/CE/LE is great if u have the time for it.
SSJBen
post Nov 9 2022, 12:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 9 2022, 08:59 AM)
I decommissioned my Kodi/libreelec long ago. didnt want to keep updating or tinkering with it. easier with netflix and plex. but thats just my opinion. no offense to those still using kodi.
i still think kodi/CE/LE is great if u have the time for it.
Well Plex is technically Kodi too... So, yeah.

In any case, if no DV then no switch for me.
lightning69
post Nov 11 2022, 07:56 AM

2,298 posts

Can plex support DV and passthrough of all the HD audio?
celciuz
post Nov 11 2022, 08:12 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 11 2022, 07:56 AM)
Depends on client, if using Nvidia Shield then yes it able to do TrueHD and DTS-HD MA. If using Sony XR TV Google TV, it does not do TrueHD.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2022, 03:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Nov 11 2022, 07:56 AM)
Plex has no issues with DV and bitstreaming all lossless HD audio, they've been supporting it for years.

It's the client that is important. Nvidia Shield Pro for example supports DV layer 5 and 8. But OTOH Apple TV4k although can theoretically support DV, due to Apple's ecosystem is not allowing users (unless you jailbreak of course) to playback local content, it's as good as no support anyways.

Other high-end Chinese android players like Zidoo Z1000Pro also has DV support locally and through Plex.
celciuz
post Nov 11 2022, 09:36 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2022, 03:50 PM)
Plex has no issues with DV and bitstreaming all lossless HD audio, they've been supporting it for years.

It's the client that is important. Nvidia Shield Pro for example supports DV layer 5 and 8. But OTOH Apple TV4k although can theoretically support DV, due to Apple's ecosystem is not allowing users (unless you jailbreak of course) to playback local content, it's as good as no support anyways.

Other high-end Chinese android players like Zidoo Z1000Pro also has DV support locally and through Plex.
Zidoo able to run Plex? hmm.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2022, 10:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 11 2022, 09:36 PM)
Zidoo able to run Plex?  hmm.gif
Yes but only for local playback, no streaming over local network.

http://forum.zidoo.tv/index.php?threads/pl...EF%BC%89.94140/
minano0001
post Nov 11 2022, 11:02 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 11 2022, 09:36 PM)
Zidoo able to run Plex?  hmm.gif
Most smart tv nowadays got built in Plex app. Just use it. If your tv support dv then it shouldn't be an issue
celciuz
post Nov 11 2022, 11:29 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Nov 11 2022, 11:02 PM)
Most smart tv nowadays got built in Plex app. Just use it. If your tv support dv then it shouldn't be an issue
Unfortunately TV can't passthrough TrueHD... so looking for better than Shield (if there is one...)

205 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:17 AM