205 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

SUSjdgobio
post Apr 10 2017, 09:40 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Apr 9 2017, 12:23 PM)
Once you have atmos ceiling, you will really get addicted to it
Hahaha biggrin.gif That's good to know. Something to look forward to.
sonerin
post Apr 10 2017, 10:40 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Apr 10 2017, 09:40 AM)
Hahaha  biggrin.gif  That's good to know. Something to look forward to.
👍
@skyhawk@
post Apr 10 2017, 07:14 PM

447 posts

Hi there... can give recommendation for home theater setup for budget around rm1k.. value for money..already bought led tv 4k 65 inch.. planned to install it to 8 feet wide wall..
very noob in audiophiles world.. hehe
sivanathan04
post Apr 10 2017, 07:36 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Apr 10 2017, 07:14 PM)
Hi there... can give recommendation for home theater setup for budget around rm1k.. value for money..already bought led tv 4k 65 inch.. planned to install it to 8 feet wide wall..
very noob in audiophiles world.. hehe
Whole setup for 1k I think not possible...maybe with your 1k u can but a pair of bookshelf...no other choice u have to buy htib set if not increased your budget..
@skyhawk@
post Apr 10 2017, 08:20 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 10 2017, 07:36 PM)
Whole setup for 1k I think not possible...maybe with your 1k u can but a pair of bookshelf...no other choice u have to buy htib set if not increased your budget..
owh really? wat i mean actually rm1k solely for home theater set(not including shelf) sweat.gif sweat.gif

for example y DAV-DZ650K 5.1 DVD Home Theater System
jamesleetech
post Apr 10 2017, 08:56 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Apr 10 2017, 08:20 PM)
owh really? wat i mean actually rm1k solely for home theater set(not including shelf)  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

So you want an All-In-One Home Theatre system with "everything" that includes 5.1 speakers, player, AV amplifier.

No bluray ? Eventhough you don't play Bluray, its better to get one that can play bluray disc and it can also play DVD. Advisable to play bluray on a 65inch 4K TV because DVD will look mmm...you will know later.

Here's what I found in Lazada...

http://www.lazada.com.my/sony-bdv-e2100-bl...sat-746911.html

Do not mean get from Lazada... you can go to any AV shop to buy. Do compare prices.

It can play from USB. Support for AAC, DTS, LPCM, MP3, MPEG-2 AUDIO, WMA9.

Refer here for more info on Sony BDV-E2100 ...
http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/all-in-...stems/bdv-e2100

I cannot answer you whether Sony BDV-E2100 is good or not so don't make your decision just because I mention this one.

Remember... even the latest DVD also got Cinavia protection. When you play any *ah-hem" disc... sound muted after playing some time. Bluray also got cinavia. Not all discs have it so the problem only appear for those discs that they put in Cinavia. Of course, totally NO problem for genuine original discs.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 10 2017, 08:58 PM
sivanathan04
post Apr 10 2017, 09:20 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Apr 10 2017, 08:20 PM)
owh really? wat i mean actually rm1k solely for home theater set(not including shelf)  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Bro if u ask me I will suggest u to save up your money to buy better sound system..if u can save up money for 65 inch 4k tv sure u can do the same for sound system..at least save up money till 2k plus..htib speakers just will make your tv sound bigger nothing will improve there...good speaker will last u for long time...one of my relative bought cheap htib speaker brand Philips within a year the player is gone just wasting money if u ask me...if really hard to increased your budget follow brother James advised..
jamesleetech
post Apr 10 2017, 09:54 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 10 2017, 09:20 PM)
Bro if u ask me I will suggest u to save up your money to buy better sound system..if u can save up money for 65 inch 4k tv sure u can do the same for sound system..at least save up money till 2k plus..htib speakers just will make your tv sound bigger nothing will improve there...good speaker will last u for long time...one of my relative bought cheap htib speaker brand Philips within a year the player is gone just wasting money if u ask me...if really hard to increased your budget follow brother James advised..
When you replied "not possible" and suggested to increase his budget much more... his answer "owh really" made me guess that either he is not willing to "wait and save" or already decided not to spend much much more or have some other reason. I do actually know of friends who budget around RM 6K, then spent around RM 4.5 K on the 4K TV leaving around RM 1.5 K for the entire All-In-One HT system... even after my advice to increase budget.

I am very sure that 100% everyone who wants HT do dream of a full high end system but each person have his/her reasons for the budget. I think he already knows the quality that can be obtained with that low low budget so I avoided suggesting any reasonable quality system costing around RM 5K.

Well... maybe... he will change his decision and go for much much better budget. Only he can decide as its his money.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 10 2017, 09:56 PM
sivanathan04
post Apr 10 2017, 10:07 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 10 2017, 09:54 PM)
When you replied "not possible" and suggested to increase his budget much more... his answer "owh really" made me guess that either he is not willing to "wait and save" or already decided not to spend much much more or have some other reason. I do actually know of friends who budget around RM 6K, then spent around RM 4.5 K on the 4K TV leaving around RM 1.5 K for the entire All-In-One HT system... even after my advice to increase budget.

I am very sure that 100% everyone who wants HT do dream of a full high end system but each person have his/her reasons for the budget. I think he already knows the quality that can be obtained with that low low budget so I avoided suggesting any reasonable quality system costing around RM 5K.

Well... maybe... he will change his decision and go for much much better budget. Only he can decide as its his money.
Yup agree with u bro can't comment much still his money he have to decide...after spend about 1k for crap htib later within 1 year gone kinda waste of money actually..hehe still depends on buyer budget.. thumbup.gif
@skyhawk@
post Apr 10 2017, 11:19 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 10 2017, 09:20 PM)
QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 10 2017, 09:54 PM)

thanks for the reply though. appreciate dat. yeah.. i do understand the quality i will get later on with a such low budget..

So let say i can increase my budget(max 3k) what the setup u would recommend? like u said, good speaker last for long time.. could u suggest the value for money and worth setup?
sivanathan04
post Apr 11 2017, 12:28 AM

701 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Apr 10 2017, 11:19 PM)
thanks for the reply though. appreciate dat. yeah.. i do understand the quality i will get later on with a such low budget..

So let say i can increase my budget(max 3k) what the setup u would recommend? like u said, good speaker last for long time.. could u suggest the value for money and worth setup?
Yup good speaker should last u long..
http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs3 a pair should cost u 1.2k and yamaha rxv381 for 1.3k..this setup pretty decent last time with tight budget few sifu recommend me the same....later u can add a pair of bookshelf speaker when u have enough budget http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs5 RM699 a pair.speaker cable RM10 per meter..the floorstander should give u good bass https://youtu.be/SEqu74U5Wn4 just showing you how it looks ..other sifu will give u more idea...

This post has been edited by sivanathan04: Apr 11 2017, 01:03 AM
dirtrun
post Apr 12 2017, 09:44 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Apr 10 2017, 11:19 PM)

I'd go the 'used/pre-owned' route..
Electronics wise.. l'd suggest any avr on offer - sound across brands has less signature than speakers - at least for a newbie..
Speakers - look for in Hifi4sale site as got good gems tat come around.. go listen [ wif your new amp - if it matters to u..] and then decide.. if u like, its at least a 40% knock off from new prices - l mean itll open a bigger range to choose from - if from new..

My 2 cts
ktek
post Apr 12 2017, 10:52 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 10 2017, 08:56 PM)
Remember... even the latest DVD also got Cinavia protection. When you play any *ah-hem" disc... sound muted after playing some time. Bluray also got cinavia. Not all discs have it so the problem only appear for those discs that they put in Cinavia. Of course, totally NO problem for genuine original discs.
didnt know about dvd cinavia. i know can bypass using other language
jamesleetech
post Apr 12 2017, 03:31 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 12 2017, 10:52 AM)
didnt know about dvd cinavia. i know can bypass using other language
You did NOT know "about DVD Cinavia" which meant that you do not know that DVD also got Cinavia. And somehow... mmm... you know how to bypass it by changing the player setting to use a different "Language" ? AFAIK, changing this setting is only for Region Change of bluray for Oppo 103D/105D and maybe also the same for a few other brands of bluray player too.

For DVD players, there are 7 Regions from Region 0 to 6... and Region 0 is the "unofficial region free code". For DVD players, you can actually set it to Region 0 making it region free by using Superdisk. Insert this disc into player and switch off... then switch on and wait... the player will try to play disc and complain "invalid disc" and eject it... Remove disc and DONE... player can play ANY DVD Region discs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD_region_code

The Superdisk won't work for Bluray Region codes (A, B, C) so a different method is used such as "altering the player" firmware which is commonly called as "jailbreak firmware". For the method of "changing to other subtitle language", it can only be used for players with customised jailbreak firmware so (correct me if I am wrong) cannot be used on players with regular firmware.

I have been using DVD players since (more than 15 years ago) the time I had the Realmagic Hollywood Plus DVD PCI Card inserted into my computer and used software Region block. Then used Sony S360 and Panasonic (forgot Model) DVD players.. then bluray players... Denon DBP-2012UD, Pioneer BDP-450, Oppo BDP-93, Oppo BDP-95, Oppo 105D and Oppo UDP-203.

It actually happened to my nephew a few years ago when his friend lent him a DVD to play. He has the Samsung HD-E5550WK (All-in-One) Home Theatre system and called to ask me why got no sound when it showed "Audio outputs temporarily muted. Do not adjust the playback volume. The content being played is protected by Cinavia". He asked me about Cinavia. I explained to him that his DVD got Cinavia and what happened. Mmm... if I remember correctly, the DVD was "Wrath of the Titans".

By the way... people with older DVD or Bluray players manufactured before 2012 will not have Cinavia detection built into the player.

Here is a sample list of DVD's with Cinavia...

http://www.cinexhd2.com/cinavia-dvd-movies/

... so now you know, DVD also got Cinavia.

I am not sure but I do believe that Cinavia can only be "bypassed" in players with jailbreak firmware... using remote button combinations or changing player setting cannot be used for normal official firmwares. Even the Pioneer BDP-450 have to use HDSir (jailbreak) firmware to do it.

Cinavia is actually an audio watermark mixed into the audio track and the player will detect this. I think Jailbreak firmware will just disable the player from detecting cinavia, basically switching off such detection. Correct me if I am wrong in this, hehehe.

http://www.myce.com/article/cinavia-the-co...silenced-68001/

If you Google Search, you can actually find lots of info about Cinavia in DVDs.

More links which mention Cinavia in DVDs...

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/40876
Quote from link... "If you get a Cinavia error message when trying to play a DVD or Blu-ray disc you got from Netflix, it is typically due to the copyright protection on your DVD or Blu-ray player."

http://www.cinavia.com/languages/english/p...technology.html
Quote from link... "Movies that are released on Blu-ray Disc, DVD, or by authorized download services, can carry a different Cinavia code, indicating that these movies are intended for use by consumers, but with limitations regarding whether or how they can be copied."

Sorry for my long write-up.

Regards.

This post has been edited by jamesleetech: Apr 12 2017, 04:02 PM
ktek
post Apr 12 2017, 03:34 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

good info james smile.gif
i read them all
jamesleetech
post Apr 12 2017, 03:47 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 12 2017, 03:34 PM)
good info james smile.gif
i read them all
Hehehe... I just hope I did not confuse you with too much blah, blah, blah which can be boring.
SSJBen
post Apr 12 2017, 07:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Great info James.
And that's why... I continue to use a HTPC. Double click on file > watch movie.

Cinavia can kiss my ass.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Apr 12 2017, 07:23 PM
jamesleetech
post Apr 12 2017, 10:45 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 12 2017, 07:23 PM)
Great info James.
And that's why... I continue to use a HTPC. Double click on file > watch movie.

Cinavia can kiss my ass.
Which player software do you use in your HTPC? VLC, MPC-HC, PowerDVD, WinDVD, the outdated dead "ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre 6 Platinum", DVDFab Media Player, etc etc? Which media type do you use to play? Files such as M2TS, MKV, MP4, AVI, etc? Or you play full bluray by selecting Playlist MPLS file? AFAIK, there are 2 ways to bitstream DTSMA, DTSX, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, etc ... playing MKV containers with such audio or directly playing the bluray M2TS file. If the movie is broken into multiple files and mixed up in sequence numbers, then playing from the correct Playlist file is imperative.

The reason I asked is my curiosity got the better of me, hehehe.

I do use (rarely now) DVDFab Media Player 3 (genuine licensed purchase) to play bluray from computer so this player don't have Cinavia detection. Malaysia is bluray Region A so... if I want to play Region B or C discs, I need to use RedFox (previously Slysoft AnyDVD HYD) to prevent my pc bluray writer from locking at one particular region. I haven't tested but I think DVDFab player cannot bitstream Atmos/DTSX audio from MKV files. Anyway its irrelevant now as I don't use HTPC anymore. Already stopped doing some video editing work with HD and SD raw materials. Dah pencen loh. Hehe... where did I keep my ancient Pinnacle Studio PCI Video Encoder Card in my storeroom ?

I was mmm... lazy to test, so were your HT Amp able to identify Atmos/DTSX audio bitstreamed from HTPC for M2TS (or MKV) files ? Maybe some day I should test with my Intel NUC mini PC which I used primarily for DSD/FLAC audio playback to my external DAC.

I also have Netflix subscription and do video streaming from my PC and from my Samsung Smart TV with Netflix App but the quality is well below par with blurays.

SSJBen
post Apr 13 2017, 12:50 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Apr 12 2017, 10:45 PM)
Which player software do you use in your HTPC? VLC, MPC-HC, PowerDVD, WinDVD, the outdated dead "ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre 6 Platinum", DVDFab Media Player, etc etc? Which media type do you use to play? Files such as M2TS, MKV, MP4, AVI, etc? Or you play full bluray by selecting Playlist MPLS file? AFAIK, there are 2 ways to bitstream DTSMA, DTSX, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, etc ... playing MKV containers with such audio or directly playing the bluray M2TS file. If the movie is broken into multiple files and mixed up in sequence numbers, then playing from the correct Playlist file is imperative.

The reason I asked is my curiosity got the better of me, hehehe.

I do use (rarely now) DVDFab Media Player 3 (genuine licensed purchase) to play bluray from computer so this player don't have Cinavia detection. Malaysia is bluray Region A so... if I want to play Region B or C discs, I need to use RedFox (previously Slysoft AnyDVD HYD) to prevent my pc bluray writer from locking at one particular region. I haven't tested but I think DVDFab player cannot bitstream Atmos/DTSX audio from MKV files. Anyway its irrelevant now as I don't use HTPC anymore. Already stopped doing some video editing work with HD and SD raw materials. Dah pencen loh. Hehe... where did I keep my ancient Pinnacle Studio PCI Video Encoder Card in my storeroom ?

I was mmm... lazy to test, so were your HT Amp able to identify Atmos/DTSX audio bitstreamed from HTPC for M2TS (or MKV) files ? Maybe some day I should test with my Intel NUC mini PC which I used primarily for DSD/FLAC audio playback to my external DAC.

I also have Netflix subscription and do video streaming from my PC and from my Samsung Smart TV with Netflix App but the quality is well below par with blurays.

I'm using MPC-HC Black, with madvr + LAV filters. I focus on absolute quality, of which requires a pretty beefy GPU especially when upscaling 720p > 4k using madvr.

Most of my bluray discs, I remux them myself into .mkv container. I leave the lossless audio intact, deleting all the lossy ones and of course I do not touch the video portion at all. Also, since I remux - it is simple to just combine all separated .m2ts files into one file, so no playlist required. So far there's only one movie that has a minor issue being remuxed and that's Mad Max Fury Road, the black/white (chrome) edition.

As for 4k blu-ray discs, I still don't have a 4k blu-ray player yet as I'm waiting for the Oppo 203d - one with darbee. Right now, there exists ONE blu-ray 4k player for PC - but since HDCP 2.2 hasn't been cracked yet, it's difficult to rip and remux them. However, the scene releases are getting sort of close to breaking HDCP 2.2. Also, since madvr's next major release will support the proper passthrough of HDR10/HLG content, no issues on that front for me. Dolby Vision is another matter though but that's a problem to worry about like.. 2 years from now or something.

I'm not condoning piracy, but cinavia is stupid and region locking is idiotic. So ways of stripping off HDCP is a welcome thing in my book, even if it leads to piracy. At the end of the day, what's made by men can and will be broken by men. I don't know why both parties are running around in circles chasing their own tails.

Yeah, my receiver has no issues receiving Atmos/DTS:X bitstreamed from the HTPC with remux mkv files. All I need to do is right-click on the movie > audio > select Dolby TrueHD/Atmos/DTSMA/DTSX.
-oc-gassa
post Apr 14 2017, 05:23 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 7 2017, 01:51 PM)
If you can go Desa HT, they sell Monster cable EZstrip 16awg speaker cables. I think it's rm9 per meter iirc.

Other than that, maybe you can join bulk purchase of a 12awg Belden cable reel.
yup.. bought Belden Bulk purchase back then(6 years ago)... sound wise.. from FOC wire come with speaker..sound far better with this belden.. more detail sound.. thumbup.gif

205 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:55 AM