[WTA] Overclockability drop with new PSU ?, War between my RM60, RM180 and RM475 PSU

e-jump
post Jun 28 2006, 12:17 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

probably the psu's are having weak rails
did u see any fluctuation of voltages when idle n on full load

i doubt those psu are having good ampere ratings on each rails, esp 12v rail
e-jump
post Jun 29 2006, 11:40 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

i wonder, what true power psu did u guys bought
is it well known brand like CM, Enermax, OCZ etc ?
or juz some random brand with "true power" tag
even branded like acbel have low end n mid/high end range..
dont expect low end to perform as great as mid/high end range

u get what u pay for wink.gif

e-jump
post Jun 29 2006, 12:44 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

i dont think u need a SLi certified psu to power up ur rig
from the problem u mention, looks like it got something to do with the saved voltage settings, probably bios prob/cold-boot issue
did u raise the voltage for the OC speed?
did google lead u to other user having same problem with mobo/bios?

----------
im not familiar with powerLogic
but even with low end acbel, CM etc, u'll have a very low A rate for 12v rail
with low A, the devices may stress up the rail till it become unstable
so, aside looking for brands when buying psu, do look the A rate for the rails. 22+A n above on 12v rail is a good one to start with [single rail psu]

This post has been edited by e-jump: Jun 29 2006, 12:46 PM
e-jump
post Jun 29 2006, 03:38 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

well, a protip in getting psu's
1. get the ones with wattage suitable to ur rig. the more W the better. for future device add in
2. at least got few reviews on particular psu, n user feedbacks
3. high Ampere on each rail, esp 12v rail [where proc n devices suck power most]
4. ..
5. profit

e-jump
post Jun 29 2006, 05:52 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

I had a good reply i read just now .. He claim that My Computer may had a cold Boot issue ... Just curious , does PSU really affect Booting ? But why not when i am Gaming ? or converting Movie ... Or PRIME test .... Or even Memtest , 3DMark , Sandra ....
usually cold boot issues r caused by the bios/mobo itself, as the psu only supply power, n trip it when sudden surge[protect], nothing else.
and the psu circuitry have nothing to do/connect to the mobo.
any bios update on ur particular mobo? or try reverting to older one n test
wink.gif
e-jump
post Jul 2 2006, 07:17 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

basically, the procs, hardisk n few devices use 12v rail
rams usually use 3.3v rails [epox uses 5v rail]
as for high end gc, it uses 12v rail too

for single rail psu's, try looking for ones with 12v rail w/ 24+Ampere
for multirails, at least 18A on any 12v rail
e-jump
post Jul 3 2006, 07:24 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

good stuff..
seems u know your thing..
how bout some pics of the test event, or maybe u can try follow how reviewers online test, rate n compare between psu's wink.gif
e-jump
post Jul 8 2006, 10:36 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

hmm.. cold boot...
if it goes like this, no point to get a higher end psu..
im thinking its the mobo/bios now..
btw, whats the A rate for the CM's 12v rails ?
on heavy load, which rail fluctuate the most? 12v or 3.3v ?
e-jump
post Jul 8 2006, 10:43 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

hmm... vcore fluctuate most...
how hot is the power phase mosfets(its near where u plug in the 20/24pin latch] when on load? any heatsink on em?
cooling it of will help stabilize the fluctuation of either vcore or 12v [i forgot]
abang sniper got comment?
e-jump
post Jul 8 2006, 11:35 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

well, goodluck in the selling
at least u did few test on those psu's which is not that bad for a decent user

as for me, my enermax have a weak 3.3v compared to my CM realpower..
while both r secent on 12v rail n vcore feeds
however, im lucky my epox uses 5v rail to feed my rams wink.gif

in the end, a good psu with a decent mobo is also a no go in OC doh.gif

p/s: my enermax came thru postage to my college when im in utm, n its 2.3kg wink.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Jul 8 2006, 01:10 PM

0.0180sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:26 PM