Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

officeBoy
post Mar 27 2016, 12:43 AM

849 posts

Sifu,

If take Toyota Caldina car for wife to send kids to school, is it worth to get ? any comment on this car ?
officeBoy
post Mar 27 2016, 10:39 PM

849 posts

Thanks for reply !

I owned Altis which is sedan and thinking to get a car like mpv, Caldina look cool to me smile.gif, worry on maintenance cost confused.gif

Also thinking of Suzuki sx4 crossback , budget should not more than 50k smile.gif

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Mar 27 2016, 07:31 PM)
Just sending kid to school? Vios is better.
officeBoy
post Apr 1 2016, 12:06 PM

849 posts

Thanks Zenix, good insight !

Between, which car would you recommend for 2nd hand SUV or MPV ?

Requirement : my wife used it during weekday for near distance travel, may be weekend time occasionally change car for distance travel, currently i using Altis 1.8

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 31 2016, 04:23 PM)

Honda CRZ seems to be one that would tick your fancy.
It's small 1500cc engine would be cheap to maintain.
The automatic on the CRZ is a CVT which is good for fuel consumption but bad for fun, too much aggressive driving on them reduces it's lifespan. I'd recommend the manual. However, if it is more for relax and occasional speeding and posing around town then the auto would be just fine.
With that kind of budget I'd recommend you to wait a while as the new 10gen Civic is coming soon so you can either buy that for the budget allocated or grab a clear stock 9gen Civic.
If your purpose is just to get a stationwagon for your wife's soccermom duties then it is overkill.
If your purpose is to have a fun weekend turbo car but figure letting your wife use it during week days would be lower mileage than yourself (maybe salesman job) which requires you to travel alot thus clocking higher mileage and making maintenance cost hurt you. Then you've maybe got the right idea, however if it is just the former then there are cheaper and more reliable options out there.
2011 Nissan Latio 1.8 - would tick all the boxes for your needs, it has a decent 1800cc engine for your trips outstation and good fuel consumption for town driving. Of course you can choose the 1600cc engined variant as well but that one would be under powered for highway cruising. I've talked about this car before so you can read up on it from my other post needless to say it is a good balance between cheap price, year of make (youngness), performance, fuel consumption and maintenance cost.
Honda City = B-segment
Toyota Altis = C-segment
Mazda 6 = D-segment
for this example I am going to add Kancil = A-segment

Driving A-segment you can go to any workshop and pick the cheapest service package which is like RM40 onwards for cheap mineral engine oil, also since it is a smaller engine you probably don't need much of it.

Driving B-segment you can probably still get away with using mineral based engine oil but since it is a bigger engine (e.g. Kancil is 660cc and City is 1500cc) theoretically you need double, from my experience you'd need 2 bottles but you got maybe a little bit left in the second bottle or none depending if the car is 1400cc or 1600cc.

C-segment is where you can stop thinking about mineral based engine oils as most cars of this range require minimum semi-synthetic based engine oil, so engine oil is more expensive as it is a better grade plus you'd probably need more of it as C-segment engines start from 1600cc all the way to 2000cc nowadays.

D-segments can (in theory) run on semi-synthetic engine oils but most manufacturers would recommend fully synthetic, so again price up because engine oil grade higher and you'd need more of it as D-segment engines start from 1800cc to 3000cc.

The example above is generally speaking without taking into account other service parts, as you know spare parts prices depends on market demand, brand and how well that brand is established in Malaysia. e.g. Getting Alfa Romeo parts isn't easy as there isn't much demand for such items thus distributors won't keep them in stock except for the most common items and then you're at the mercy of them when it comes to price.
officeBoy
post Apr 1 2016, 12:35 PM

849 posts

Thanks, forgotten to mentioned, currently using my brother car - myVi, he is not using as working in oversea ..

I also plan to get a car which can help to carry some luggage for long distance, was thought of Susuzi SX4 before smile.gif

what is APV be the way ? Wish is high maintenance right?

currently with 2 kids, wife and myself

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 1 2016, 12:22 PM)
Depending your family size and needs.
If it is just yourself, wife and 2 kids (baby to teenagers) then something like a Myvi is good enough. (5 seater)
If it is just yourself, wife and 3 kids (baby to teenagers) then something like a Alza is good enough. (5+2 seater)
If it is yourself, wife, 2 kids (below 10yo), and one set of grandparents then Alza is still fine.

Anything above that you'd need to look at something which is designed to really carry 7 people like Avanza, APV, Livina, Wish, Stream are options ranging from basic to good. Going one step up would be bigger, more expensive and more luxurious MPV's like Estima, Serena, Odyssey.
officeBoy
post Apr 25 2016, 11:15 PM

849 posts

Hi Zenix,

Do you have review on Kia Sportage ? and Suzuki SX4 and Vitara ?

sportage -
http://www.mudah.my/2013+Kia+Sportage+2+0+...TY-45068246.htm

SX4-
http://www.mudah.my/2012+Suzuki+SX4+1+6+A+...on-44900908.htm

Vitara -
http://www.mudah.my/Suzuki+Grand+Vitara+2+...am-45388172.htm
officeBoy
post Apr 26 2016, 09:02 PM

849 posts

Thanks Zenix, I plan to get for 2nd car for my wife, asking for SUV is due to higher seated car easier for her to look around when coming to roundabout with crowded condition, besides, I having a sedan car - Altis.

i tried CX-5 last time when it launched, it was 2.0 but i feel the car is under power, and the price of CX-5 is over my budget too:)

Btw, what is pre-FL ?

I also thinking of previous model of CRV, if i go for sedan, may be a chance to get 1.8 Latio,just i think the sedan model doesn't look good smile.gif... btw, do you hv insight on Nissan Sentra 1.6 ?

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 26 2016, 09:41 AM)
*internet quota finish so no linking from other websites to save time*
I think one car that fits your budget and requirements would be a Nissan Latio 1.8, this is the top range version of the standard Latio. Usually it comes in a sedan body. Personally I always think it looks best in hatchback body with an Impul bodykit but those only have a 1.6cc engine option. As most Nissan's are assembled in Malaysia and have quite a big volume geting spares isn't a big issue, getting it from Tan Chong Motors isn't too expensive usually but there are many stockist and importers getting parts from overseas either original, oem, compatible, etc -- for a C-segment car it is one of the cheaper ones to maintain. Fuel consumption is fine, although the engine and gearbox don't have any fancy technology it is easier to repair and maintain that way -- not too complicated until you've always got to go back to the service center.
If you're looking for an SUV the SX4 isn't for you because it is nothing more than a glorified hatchback with crossover bodykit. SX4 isn't a bad car and would be a decent pick for someone with a smaller budget but is quite tall thus needing the headroom, however for the same reasons you can always consider a Nissan Latio it is cheaper to buy and easier to get parts for since it is locally made with high numbers on the road.

Vitara is a good car but the resale value isn't quite as good but luckily buying it used the first owner already took the brunt of the drop in value, however do expect it to drop from it's current value to 40-ish range within 5 years (the fastest period you can finish your loan) and since this is a 2013 car if you have any intention of changing car you'd better quickly trade-in as soon as the loan finishes as it is a 2013 car thus by the time you finish your 5 year loan buying it in 2016 it is an 8 year old car -- above 10 years old quite difficult to get a decent price because cash sale. The car itself is pretty good and well spec'ed however it must be a car you really like because if it is just a car you "settle" for then you're going to be disappointed because it does have a few issues, one of them is the obtaining of spare parts (you can always get from Suzuki 3s but it is expensive) outside stockist don't carry the full gamut thus be major items still have to be bought from the 3s, another issue is the fuel consumption as previously the 4WD version was considered a gas guzzler but the current model isn't that much better anyway.

The Sportage is a good car as it is feature packed, however it shares mostly the same issues with the Vitara. If slightly higher maintenance/parts purchase cost isn't an issue then these two are good choices as they're more feature pack than a typical Toyota/Honda SUV.

I think a Mazda CX5 is a good car and if you've got the budget go to any Mazda showroom to get the pre-FL at a huge discount, nearer to 100k  brows.gif
officeBoy
post Apr 28 2016, 12:02 AM

849 posts

my budget is 60k

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 27 2016, 10:05 AM)
I saw LSM's reply but here is my dua sen.
There is no Mercedes "black top" engine, it is probably the M271. sos

It has basically 4 variations:
1) 1.6 kompressor (super charger)
2) 1.8 kompressor (super charger)
3) 1.8 CGI (turbo)
4) 2.0 naturally aspirated

2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (W203) C 180 KOMPRESSOR, C 200 KOMPRESSOR, C 230 KOMPRESSOR

2007 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (W204) C 180 KOMPRESSOR, C 200 KOMPRESSOR
Just incase you're wondering....

There is no "2.0 kompressor" it is either one of the engines above. The difference between C180/C200/C230 is usually the additional accessories, features and tuning of the engine for more power -- basically the mechanicals are the same. I know some people going to feel short changed thinking their C230 is no better than a C180 but think about it the engine capacity doesn't matter to you driving it, what matters is the power when you press the pedal and enjoying the features/accessories in your car (everyone knows C180 is most basic). But the fact of the matter is having the same engine and gearbox means lower running cost as parts are common between many models. Plus when warranty is over just tune it to get more power  devil.gif
Unfortunately leaking engine and mitsubishi tak berpisah especially for the 80s & 90's era  ranting.gif
So what kind of budget you're looking at for your SUV/Crossover?

Pre-FL = before facelift

2015 Nissan X-Gear - i think this would fit you as it is within budget (67k), if you want to consider a new one wait around for promotions as the normal price is about 90k but usually promotion like the coming Raya sales you might see it drop to around 80-85k depending on their desperation. Nissan's usually practice this throw price policy that's why their cars resale value isn't as good because even if their normal price is 90k but if they always throw at 85k then it becomes a market normal thus people have a hard time selling used cars above 75k even a year old with warranty because too close to the new car price. Back to used cars, you can look around for the year and model you want, this particular advert seems to be advertising the full spec version with touch screen and leather seats -- don't expect too much from X-Gear it is not a luxury type car it is the cheapest C-segment in the Nissan range you can buy new (maybe other brands also dun have a c-segment at this price). The engine is cheap to maintain and capable but it is not very powerful, full load of luggage and passengers for a vacation might make the engine feel sluggish but for everyday soccer mom duty it is very capable and nippy. While not as high as a pick-up or SUV, the seating is higher than sedan cars. I think such a car strikes a good balance between price, maintenance cost, accessories, age of vehicle and requirements met.
officeBoy
post Apr 28 2016, 09:33 PM

849 posts

Thanks bro Zenix, first time i heard Dualis ...i like Murano actually, what is the different btw these two car? both need high maintenance ?

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 28 2016, 01:13 PM)
Ford Escape/Freelander = money pit
X-Trail/CR-V = probably the best two
RAV4 = smaller size than X-Trail/CRV
Tucson/Sportage = the newer ones are good but the older ones I wouldn't really recommend them.

You can read more about the XT/CRV below  laugh.gif
60k for a SUV?
What do you think about Nissan Dualis?  brows.gif
Read my reply to the guy below.
That's too bad, but a weekend SUV/MPV i presume would be converted into a full time soccer mom vehicle in the foreseeable future?

Mazda Premacy would be in the same category as Nissan Livina, it is a smaller MPV which is a cross between an actual MPV and Stationwagon, iinm the Premacy like the Livina is also built on a sedan car chassis which is why it has better handling and is lower to the ground (doesn't require steps to get in and out). The problem is of course space as it is basically a stationwagon/stretched sedan the last row of seats isn't too great for space. Legally wise you can ferry 7 people in the car as it has 7 seatbelts but physically the last row is meant mostly for small children, even small sized adults might find it uncomfortable for short trips like fetch colleagues to lunch.

2000 Toyota Ipsum - a car in the same ilk as the ones above except it might be a bit better or worst depending on your point of view. In terms of space it isn't that much better than Premacy/Livina but in terms of quality it is slightly better as it is a JDM model. JDM model are rare here so although the car is 16 years old it wouldn't look very old from the outside especially one maintained as well as this one but on the inside people can tell it's age with that beige interior and funny colored seats, but it also has additional implications when you're getting spare parts. Although the engine is the 1AZ-FE from the 2006-2009 Camry and 2001-2003 RAV4 the body panels are rare and not common here, so although small accidents like fender benders and parking mishaps are repairable anything major accidents requiring many parts and body panels might take awhile for the workshop to source -- i'm not talking about the cost here because it is covered under insurance and from my experience only when insurance is involve is when a major accident occurs and lots of parts are needed else most things are common with other Toyota models even glass panels isn't an issue as there are many factories making compatible sizes -- worried about the glass quality? don't worry just put tinted and 2mm safety tint it will be solid!

Nissan Serena Highwaystar still has a good resale value because it uses one of the better engines from Nissan which is the SR20DE engine, the same one in the Silvia and Altima although the Silvia S15 top range model gets a turbo-ed SR20DET engine. Turbo or not it is a great engine, powerful, economical to maintain and fuel economy isn't too bad (keep in mind this is a 90's engine so fuel economy and carbon output is different than what we're used to nowadays).

Of similar size is the Toyota Estima 2.5 with supercharger, I've been told maintenance for that model is quite a pain so best to avoid it unless you really don't mind the cost and time to maintain it for the power  brows.gif

You're right that the CRV is probably the best you can get as it has a good balance of power, economical maintenance, space and fuel economy. I know you might not be too comfortable with such an old car but budget constrains don't give you much of a choice, of course you can choose a much younger Ford Escape or Everest but those cars would be expensive to maintain relative to their purchase price, a Toyota Harrier is also a nice choice but it is even older. But don't worry about the age of the car too much as it is an open secret that the second and third gen CRV share many things in common so if anything goes wrong there is a huge parts bin you can get cheaply from chop shops coz those models were in production from 2000-2011  laugh.gif

2011 Cherry Tiggo - i know it is on sale and you might be tempted to buy because it is relatively new, quite cheap and based on older Toyota RAV4 it should be great, right? I will let these results speak for themselves, click here.

X-Trail is by far the best you can probably get for the budget. It is a very successful model worldwide and in malaysia so getting local original parts or from chopshop or imported OEM/compatible not an issue. Maintenance isn't going to be expensive but it is still an SUV and it is still a 2000cc car so don't expect it to be as cheap as maintaining a Kancil. Fuel economy and flexibility is better than it's rival CRV because unlike the CRV which is a full time 4 wheel drive the AWD system on the X-trail allows it to be 2WD/4WD and auto mode (somewhere in between) with a touch of a button on the dash like selecting a radio channel on the go under 40kmh -- this is a big difference from even pickups that requires you to fully stop the car before changing between modes. A good feature to have especially on unpredictable weather conditions when it starts to rain heavily you can just slow down to engage 4wd mode instead of fully stopping by the side of the road. Wanna know more about the AWD system on the X-trail? Click here. About everything else it is a match for CRV or better....but UGLY!!

2009 Nissan Dualis - okay if you got double the budget this might be something that would interest you. It has all the benefits of the X-trail except it doesn't look ugly because it has the styling cues of the Murano. Basically it is Murano styling with all the mechanical parts ported over from the X-Trail because it is based on the X-Trail platform. Like owning any similar JDM/rare models in Malaysia the only worry is when you need major replacement parts for a major accident, else especially with Japanese company's reusing parts across their model range you should be able to get all the engine, gearbox, and AWD parts without any issues.

0.0916sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:18 AM