Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

Andrew_1980
post Mar 29 2015, 06:31 PM

6,196 posts

want to ask which car suitable for newbie? use for work and school

Toyota Camry 2.2GX 1997
Proton Wira 1.5
Nissan Sentra 1.6 1997

Personally like the Camry 97, but spare part will expensive? compare to Wira spare part
Andrew_1980
post Mar 29 2015, 11:16 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Mar 29 2015, 10:58 PM)
How about Toyota Vios?
Vios 20k ++ laugh.gif

I just use it for newbie learning.
Andrew_1980
post Jun 6 2015, 12:17 PM

6,196 posts

1. Brand : Nissan Almera / Honda / Toyota
2. Budget : 70k below
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Transmission : Auto

Considering between City / Almera / Vios. Googled about this three cars but still have some questions.

- Services maintenance cost of three cars
- Spare part cost (especially front and rear headlight)
- Stability
- Pick up speed

Mostly use for work, just sometimes went out for meet friends / Customers

Andrew_1980
post Jun 19 2015, 05:05 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(swk_2112 @ Jun 19 2015, 03:55 PM)
Hi sifu sifu, gonna buy my 1st car  but having huge dilemma. Hope I didn't make a big mistake. Did the research and test drive. Choosing out of the 3 now which is Honda city highest spec, Jetta or mazda3 low spec. Honda city is simple, cheap, Good looking n nice. Nothing to worry about but boring.Mazda 3 is really beautiful(love the eye catching design) n well equip with safety features but is very small compare to the c segment. After test drive,Jetta is such an awesome car to drive, fast and smooth, so much better than most of the Japanese car in term of driving experience and very good nvh quality, love it but so worried with the dsg problems. So guys, which of this 3 cars will u choose and why?
Are you interest HRV? laugh.gif
Andrew_1980
post Jul 3 2015, 09:47 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Jul 2 2015, 08:05 PM)
Hi, im looking for car in two different price range. As of now, still unsure which price range to go for, but i like to keep my options wide. Hope you all can help me. smile.gif

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 80k-100k
4. Specs : 1.6 or higher
5. Transmission : A/T
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : Sedan (preferably C-segment or above[if can get])
8. Remarks : Comfortable interior spacing, Good boot space, Good fuel efficiency, Rear aircond (im not sure why models has this). I assume that all the cars nowdays have the following, right? = [aux/usb input, power window, power side mirror, keyless, rear reverse mirror]

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 120k-150k
4. Specs : 2.0 or higher
5. Transmission : A/T
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : Sedan (preferably C-segment or above; better if D-segment)
8. Remarks :  Comfortable interior spacing, Good boot space, Good fuel efficiency, Rear aircond (im not sure why models has this), blind spot indicator. I assume that all the cars nowdays have the following, right? = [aux/usb input, power window, power side mirror, keyless, rear reverse mirror]

Main thing for both range is easy of maintenance as in availability in service centres, parts availability and mainly good/high resale value. smile.gif

Thank you.
What about this two?

1. Honda City
2. Nissan Teana
Andrew_1980
post Jul 4 2015, 04:03 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(tryingtolearn @ Jul 4 2015, 12:52 PM)
I will certainly look into both of it smile.gif still open to other suggestions.

Just curious, Nissan Teana is a D-segment car right? How does it fare against the Honda accord and such? Mainly in terms of comfortability. Not much emphasis on performance. Currently driving myvi 1.5 and I feel the power is quite good. So, anything with a better performance than myvi is very good already tongue.gif just concerned about comfortability. Mainly spaciousness and for long drive.

Thank you.
Take some time to watch teana reviews.

As I know Teana spacious than Accord
Andrew_1980
post Jul 9 2015, 04:06 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(francbs @ Jul 9 2015, 01:37 PM)
Hi guys,

My family is planning to get 7 seated and we have found the following car which i need some recommendation and feedback on the problem.

We try to keep our budget around 120k and below if possible.
1. Used Toyota Alphard 2006/2010 = 88k , 8 seated, no power door
2. Unreg Toyota Alphard 2006 = 120k, 8 seated, 2 power door
3. Unreg Toyota Alphard 2006 = 125k, 7 seated with welcab, 1 power door
3. Unreg Toyota Estima 2007 = 128k, 8 seater, 2 power door

The above are all 2.4cc and my location is Kuching, Sarawak.
if you don't mind to get kimchi car, get new Hyundai Starex laugh.gif
Andrew_1980
post Aug 12 2015, 11:43 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(CallMeOi @ Aug 11 2015, 08:47 PM)
1. Brand- Any brand except proton
2. Budget- around 30k to 40k++
3. New/Used/Unreg- Used
4. Specs. Any
5. Transmission- Automatic
7. Type- hatchback smile.gif

was planning to get either a myvi or a 2nd hand ford fiesta which cost around 40k++ is it good? btw im a student, mainly use for going to college and coming back. thanks biggrin.gif
Ford Fiesta if you can handle the maintenance, services, spart parts cost laugh.gif
Andrew_1980
post Oct 18 2015, 06:53 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Ansel99 @ Oct 18 2015, 02:37 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, Lancer is a good choice too.. BTW, i am currently in Penang and the used Lancer in Penang is sooooo expensive tho. Forget about ford, So now i am eye on Nissan Sylphy/Kia Forte/Lancer if anyone could offer me one iwithin my budget tongue.gif. The thing that attract me the most of Forte will be the keyless entry and push start button tongue.gif but i guess Sylphy will be a better car in other aspects? Any sifu knows how the FC of Sylphy and type of gears it using and the ratio(Sry i am a noob)?

Anyway, any good used car dealer in Penang here? Your help will be much appreciate. Thanks for everyone's time biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Please beware of ''fake'' lancer that originally is Inspira but converted body and parts become a ''real'' Lancer.

Btw 50k roughly can get Civic FD/FD2 laugh.gif

Edited.

This post has been edited by Andrew_1980: Oct 18 2015, 07:54 PM
Andrew_1980
post Oct 18 2015, 07:57 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 18 2015, 07:25 PM)
Yeah, not say that 50k cant get Lancer but have to beware those fake lancer laugh.gif peace! brows.gif

QUOTE(Ansel99 @ Oct 18 2015, 07:46 PM)
Used civic(2010) is around RM70k in Penang....
Not so sure about the Civic, so I just edited the post.
Andrew_1980
post Feb 17 2016, 04:28 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Noobnity @ Feb 11 2016, 03:25 PM)
1. Brand : Doesn't matter
2. Budget : Rm30k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 4 doors
5. Type : Hatchback

Weekend car and travel to from KL to Penang/JB on public holiday only
QUOTE(ajin999 @ Feb 11 2016, 06:27 PM)
1. Brand : Doesn't matter
2. Budget : Rm30k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 4 doors, easy find sparepart
5. Type : Hatchback

Daily car and travel to from KL to Terengganu on public holiday only
old Altis or Camry if match your budget.
Andrew_1980
post Feb 17 2016, 04:29 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(Mamin @ Feb 14 2016, 09:03 PM)
1. Brand: Doesn't matter
2. Budget: 30-45K (Looking for cheapest option that decent)
3. New
4. Specs: Auto, preferably with bluetooth, but not compulsory
5. Usage: Daily car to commute to work in Klang valley (40km/daily).
6. Looking for a car with the cheapest overall cost (car price, fuel consumption, maintenance cost). Holding period for the car around 5 years.
If you accept used car, Camry or Altis is good deal for this budget.
Andrew_1980
post Mar 26 2016, 08:21 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(theobserver @ Mar 24 2016, 02:49 PM)
hi sifus, need some recommendation for a car.

1. Brand : any except proton if possible
2. Budget : maximum 120k
3. New/Used/Unreg : new / unreg
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI : any
7. Type : 4 seater and ahead
8. Remarks :
- car with good suspension, comfy , less road nice, good pickup, nice interior and features, good resale value. A

Any advice on latest honda city and vios ? I am open to all makers . Kindly give nice suggestion thanks
Mitsubishi ASX
Andrew_1980
post Mar 27 2016, 07:31 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Mar 27 2016, 12:43 AM)
Sifu,

If take Toyota Caldina car for wife to send kids to school, is it worth to get ? any comment on this car ?
Just sending kid to school? Vios is better.
Andrew_1980
post Apr 14 2016, 11:42 AM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(wonghs @ Apr 14 2016, 12:54 AM)
Yes I know. Just thinking whether it is value for money or not. Mark X is trading at 60-65 le... 😅
Camry or altis.
Andrew_1980
post May 4 2016, 03:58 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(edmundck @ May 4 2016, 01:11 PM)
Hi everyone, I would appreciated any advice on a family MPV to ferry 4 adults and 3 kids for weekend trips (mostly long journeys - cross states journey ; eg: Seremban to Penang). Hoping to get a reliable car that won't break down easily as it will be use for long journey. Easy and affordable to maintain.

1. Brand : Prefer Japanese but open for suggestions
2. Budget : RM50,000 - RM60,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : MPV with priority on 2nd & 3rd row comfort
8. Remarks :

Thank you very much.
Toyota Avanza or Nissan Grand Livina
Andrew_1980
post May 4 2016, 04:00 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 3 2016, 10:12 PM)
1. Brand : Proton Preve
2. Budget : 35K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 2012/2013
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks : do you guys think is it good idea to get early unit of Proton Preve?,  any other suggestions?,  I really don't like Myvi or Axia.

How about Kia Forte?
Andrew_1980
post May 4 2016, 07:12 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 4 2016, 04:04 PM)
I really dont like KIA Brand.

Do you think it's good idea to get Preve 2012/2013 ?
No comment on Proton / Perodua coz I never own it before. Can refer to it's discussion thread for more details and feedback.

30K roughly can get older gen Altis but it's over 10 years old.
Andrew_1980
post Jun 2 2016, 04:33 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(pinsarsi @ Jun 1 2016, 12:13 PM)
Hi. looking to get a second hand car.

1. Brand : Not specific
2. Budget. 10 to 15k
3. Used
4. Specs. Nothing specific
5. Transmission. : automatic
6. NA or FI ? Nothing specific
7. Type. Hatchback or sedan
8. Remarks. Low maintenance cost, easy to get spare parts.

Basically I am a student who will use the car to commute daily from shah alam to Kuala Lumpur.

I have been pointed towards wira, iswara, or satria as parts are easy to get. But I personally don't like the iswara.

I hope to hear some feedback for all.

Thanks in advance
Myvi? Or if you can afford maintenance of Toyota or Nissan, SEG and Sentra around your budget.

0.0278sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:19 AM