125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

Calvin789
post Mar 25 2015, 08:42 PM

<=Nothing to do here=>
1,420 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 25 2015, 08:14 PM)
WTA
1. Brand : toyota corolla se 1.3
2. Budget : RM3-4.5k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : stock
5. Transmission : manual 5 speed
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : price around rm3.8k run on carb is it acceptable?
bro i think we are eyeing on the same car laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
mbax
post Mar 25 2015, 08:58 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Mar 25 2015, 08:42 PM)
bro i think we are eyeing on the same car  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif car in alor setar so not sure whether it worth the bargain or not.. spare car dunno whether can tahan or not..
Calvin789
post Mar 25 2015, 10:43 PM

<=Nothing to do here=>
1,420 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 25 2015, 08:58 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  car in alor setar so not sure whether it worth the bargain or not.. spare car dunno whether can tahan or not..
you also from alor star ah bro ?
zenix
post Mar 26 2015, 10:33 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(bobsj @ Mar 11 2015, 03:50 PM)
It is true the GLA really does have a fantastic design and look but it will have the same faults as the A-Class and CLA being from the same chasis/platform, rear passenger comfort and legroom is sacrificed for that dramatic sleek raking roof. Nowadays 1600cc turbo engine's are quite the norm for european makes, you can ask anybody owning a VW Golf 1.4TSI if it is a powerful car or not just being 1400cc (ignore the breakdown issues VW is famous for).

I think GLA200 isn't that bad.

Generally for European makes there are three main small turbo engine lineage;
1. Prince (BMW, Peugeot, Citroen, Mini, etc.)
2. EA111/211 (VW Group)
3. M270/274 (Mercedes)

The issues with Prince are well known. BMW's variant for their own 3-series cars is designated as N20 which is supposed to have fixed all the bugs (ultimate driving machine MAH!), everyone knows VW is in deep trouble because of DSG and Engine failure issues, however there haven't been much complaints of Merc's but that isn't to say they're bullet proof.

QUOTE(home_made @ Mar 11 2015, 06:58 PM)
I'm still quite biased against Proton so I don't think I can elaborate much on Exora, though I think it would be quite underpowered on full load.
Citroen C8 are cheap in the used car market but maintenance cost would be quite high as conti's usually only specialist workshops would do a good job but they're not cheap (although more cheaper than authorized workshops/3s) and also parts is another issue.

I'd recommend either an Estima/Odyssey.

2006 Toyota Estima - they're very common on our roads (eventhough they're grey import only cars) and every spare part shop will carry their parts and any workshop can handle it. In terms of maintenance I think no issue it will be friendly to your pocket. But there are alot of models and different spec out there at different prices and remember Toyota's usually have high RV so if it is too cheap there might be an issue with it.

QUOTE(waisang @ Mar 12 2015, 11:09 AM)
i'm not too sure about this either but sometimes these gimmicks aren't really worth it.
i've a 7 year old honda city, nowadays maybe car old already on engine also like very difficult even after changing starter.
cannot imagine it turn off/on constantly while i am driving in the city, scared it off then cannot on back.
that's abit old skool of me tongue.gif

QUOTE(nycdist @ Mar 12 2015, 11:02 PM)
The nissan would be a better choice, the 2000cc is better than the 1800cc variant as it has a good power to weight ratio, thus no feeling of underpower or heavy fuel consumption due to heavier foot while driving to poke it to move. Generally, toyota/honda/nissan parts are afford able in malaysia thus low maintenance cost.

Focus TDCI is a great car, far far superior to the Sylphy in many ways but maintenance cost will be very high. It is not a common model on our roads so all parts need to be sourced from authorized service centers or 3S thus not price competitive but it will have a much better fuel consumption compared to the Sylphy because it runs on diesel, as on average most diesels give you back around 500km per tank, that's the average in general for any diesel engine, highway use and light footed use will give you more.

Sylphy would be the safe choice, but TDCI would be the choice if you want a spirited drive and good mileage but don't mind on the maintenance cost.

QUOTE(boonheng87 @ Mar 14 2015, 12:38 AM)
I understand where you're coming from, I am just giving the general idea of how these things work thus choosing one extreme to showcase an example to let you know the worst case scenario so you can make a more informed decision, as many people when entering a showroom wouldn't know what to expect and i am afraid brainwashing by salesman would fog your decision and regret later.

But after knowing it and the salesman is able to offer you something which you think is good even after my advise then you've made a better informed decision nod.gif

Elantra is always going to win the spec on paper, accessories level and exterior design but a few things to consider before buying one are RV and after sales service;
1. RV - this model has been around for sometime already look at the older ones how much is their RV now to have an indication of the drop to see if you're okay with that.
2. After sales service - the location of an authorize service center/3S is important, you don't wanna drive far away to do service or claim warranty, check on their website or with the SA on scheduled maintenance cost to see if it is something you're comfortable with.....don't buy something you cannot afford to maintain.
Alot of people give up on older Korean cars because maintenance vs RV doesn't seem justified.

Mazda 2 has the latest and best design for a b-segment car currently IMHO and it's Skyactiv engine is supposed to be as good as a Hybrid (gimmicks aside it's FC is quite good judging from previous Skyactiv models ) in terms of RV it is better nowadays since Mazda turned a corner with their new designs so maybe RV isn't a problem now as it was last time but keep in mind Mazda parts ain't always going to be cheap like Honda/Toyota if that is your basis for comparisons plus eventhough their network is growing not everywhere will have a 3s or AW.

City are Vios are usually boring choices, people usually choose them because of less headache eventhough their designs kind of boring because service network is huge and if you service outside using OEM/PI parts it is cheaper to maintain, plus RV is usually high. Though the new city has a few benefits the top spec has a really nice space age touch screen like dashboard center console....imho looks nice but abit figety when you're driving on malaysian bumpy roads, the longer wheelbase like almera is good for rear passengers so if you can't afford a c-segment this is a good choice vs almera because it has a good power to weight ratio so you never feel it is underpower.
mbax
post Mar 26 2015, 03:29 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Mar 25 2015, 10:43 PM)
you also from alor star ah bro ?
somewhere in pendang to be precise.. now live in penang so want to get 2nd car for rainy day use.
zikre2003
post Mar 26 2015, 03:55 PM

285 posts

1. Brand : Honda S2000/Nissan Silvia/Toyota Supra
2. Budget : 88K (Loan-if acceptable)
4. Specs : Sport
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : 2 seater
8. Remarks : Got any turbo-equipped/nice speaker also OK
boonheng87
post Mar 26 2015, 05:17 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 26 2015, 10:33 AM)
It is true the GLA really does have a fantastic design and look but it will have the same faults as the A-Class and CLA being from the same chasis/platform, rear passenger comfort and legroom is sacrificed for that dramatic sleek raking roof. Nowadays 1600cc turbo engine's are quite the norm for european makes, you can ask anybody owning a VW Golf 1.4TSI if it is a powerful car or not just being 1400cc (ignore the breakdown issues VW is famous for).

I think GLA200 isn't that bad.

Generally for European makes there are three main small turbo engine lineage;
1. Prince (BMW, Peugeot, Citroen, Mini, etc.)
2. EA111/211 (VW Group)
3. M270/274 (Mercedes)

The issues with Prince are well known. BMW's variant for their own 3-series cars is designated as N20 which is supposed to have fixed all the bugs (ultimate driving machine MAH!), everyone knows VW is in deep trouble because of DSG and Engine failure issues, however there haven't been much complaints of Merc's but that isn't to say they're bullet proof.
I'm still quite biased against Proton so I don't think I can elaborate much on Exora, though I think it would be quite underpowered on full load.
Citroen C8 are cheap in the used car market but maintenance cost would be quite high as conti's usually only specialist workshops would do a good job but they're not cheap (although more cheaper than authorized workshops/3s) and also parts is another issue.

I'd recommend either an Estima/Odyssey.

2006 Toyota Estima - they're very common on our roads (eventhough they're grey import only cars) and every spare part shop will carry their parts and any workshop can handle it. In terms of maintenance I think no issue it will be friendly to your pocket. But there are alot of models and different spec out there at different prices and remember Toyota's usually have high RV so if it is too cheap there might be an issue with it.
i'm not too sure about this either but sometimes these gimmicks aren't really worth it.
i've a 7 year old honda city, nowadays maybe car old already on engine also like very difficult even after changing starter.
cannot imagine it turn off/on constantly while i am driving in the city, scared it off then cannot on back.
that's abit old skool of me  tongue.gif
The nissan would be a better choice, the 2000cc is better than the 1800cc variant as it has a good power to weight ratio, thus no feeling of underpower or heavy fuel consumption due to heavier foot while driving to poke it to move. Generally, toyota/honda/nissan parts are afford able in malaysia thus low maintenance cost.

Focus TDCI is a great car, far far superior to the Sylphy in many ways but maintenance cost will be very high. It is not a common model on our roads so all parts need to be sourced from authorized service centers or 3S thus not price competitive but it will have a much better fuel consumption compared to the Sylphy because it runs on diesel, as on average most diesels give you back around 500km per tank, that's the average in general for any diesel engine, highway use and light footed use will give you more.

Sylphy would be the safe choice, but TDCI would be the choice if you want a spirited drive and good mileage but don't mind on the maintenance cost.
I understand where you're coming from, I am just giving the general idea of how these things work thus choosing one extreme to showcase an example to let you know the worst case scenario so you can make a more informed decision, as many people when entering a showroom wouldn't know what to expect and i am afraid brainwashing by salesman would fog your decision and regret later.

But after knowing it and the salesman is able to offer you something which you think is good even after my advise then you've made a better informed decision  nod.gif

Elantra is always going to win the spec on paper, accessories level and exterior design but a few things to consider before buying one are RV and after sales service;
1. RV - this model has been around for sometime already look at the older ones how much is their RV now to have an indication of the drop to see if you're okay with that.
2. After sales service - the location of an authorize service center/3S is important, you don't wanna drive far away to do service or claim warranty, check on their website or with the SA on scheduled maintenance cost to see if it is something you're comfortable with.....don't buy something you cannot afford to maintain.
Alot of people give up on older Korean cars because maintenance vs RV doesn't seem justified.

Mazda 2 has the latest and best design for a b-segment car currently IMHO and it's Skyactiv engine is supposed to be as good as a Hybrid (gimmicks aside it's FC is quite good judging from previous Skyactiv models ) in terms of RV it is better nowadays since Mazda turned a corner with their new designs so maybe RV isn't a problem now as it was last time but keep in mind Mazda parts ain't always going to be cheap like Honda/Toyota if that is your basis for comparisons plus eventhough their network is growing not everywhere will have a 3s or AW.

City are Vios are usually boring choices, people usually choose them because of less headache eventhough their designs kind of boring because service network is huge and if you service outside using OEM/PI parts it is cheaper to maintain, plus RV is usually high. Though the new city has a few benefits the top spec has a really nice space age touch screen like dashboard center console....imho looks nice but abit figety when you're driving on malaysian bumpy roads, the longer wheelbase like almera is good for rear passengers so if you can't afford a c-segment this is a good choice vs almera because it has a good power to weight ratio so you never feel it is underpower.
Well said. Thx for your inputs. Yes, I must agree on your comments on SA. =)

Calvin789
post Mar 26 2015, 09:33 PM

<=Nothing to do here=>
1,420 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 26 2015, 03:29 PM)
somewhere in pendang to be precise.. now live in penang so want to get 2nd car for rainy day use.
from alor star too.. hard to find this car now .. searching high and low within budget cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
mbax
post Mar 26 2015, 09:55 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Mar 26 2015, 09:33 PM)
from alor star too.. hard to find this car now .. searching high and low within budget  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
aiyaa just realize not the same lah.. urs is LE i'm asking about SE by the way the SE that my uncle intro has been sold.. dang too slow to respond.. also missed one cheap SEG like ths one, rm6800 still tip top condition only 1 owner..
Calvin789
post Mar 26 2015, 10:02 PM

<=Nothing to do here=>
1,420 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 26 2015, 09:55 PM)
aiyaa just realize not the same lah.. urs is LE i'm asking about SE by the way the SE that my uncle intro has been sold.. dang too slow to respond.. also missed one cheap SEG like ths one, rm6800 still tip top condition only 1 owner..
too bad hahaha.. LE better than SEG in term of bodywork,, LE less rust issue flex.gif
hookeyWHY
post Mar 27 2015, 12:05 AM

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 25k-50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used/New
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : any
8. Remarks:I don't travel a lot other than to commute to work daily (says klg to pj) and weekends (also in klg or pj).
Is it better to get a new axia and the 5 years warranty;or to get a used car(says.. A 6/7 y.o. vios)?
lord_nasherz
post Mar 27 2015, 11:58 AM

95 posts

1. Brand : Any except Proton and Toyota. (I've driven Tiara, Wira, Satria Neo, Persona, Gen2, Waja, Jazz GD and Civic FD. Want to try other brands. And for Toyota, I don't know why but their models didn't capture my heart)
2. Budget : RM 100k or lesser
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto (5/6 speed). Tiptronic preferred
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks : C or D Segment 2000cc or below. Preferably big boot space and legroom for rear passengers and cars 2008 and above. I am sometimes a spirited driver but most of the time prefer cruising comfortably with my small family. The car will mostly driven by my wife. Once a week will travel long distance in PLUS highway.

I have some cars in my mind:
- BMW E90 320i LCI year 2010
- Audi A4 B7 1.8T year 2008
- Mercedes C200 Kompressor year 2008
- Mazda 6 2.0 (2nd gen) year 2012
- Alfa Romeo 159 year 2011

Are those cars above suitable for daily driving (Urban)? If not, can you please recommend any other models?
Which models have good FC and which models are easier to maintain? Planning to use the car for 7 years or more. My preferred car is the Mazda 6 as it is just 3 years on the road.

This post has been edited by lord_nasherz: Mar 27 2015, 09:50 PM
zenix
post Mar 27 2015, 02:52 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Mar 14 2015, 10:23 AM)
Hi Zenix,
Too bad I have to drop Mazda2 as I have to cut my budget to 65-75K
I have some in my mind but still not sure which one to get...pls help me...

JAZZ E SPEC around 76k after disc
ALMERA 2014 STOCK is 66k while 2015 is 74k, however I heard almera is not really powerful
FIESTA 1.5 Sport, they have crazy offer now, and some dealers even quoted 75k which is very much different from the 80k quoted from Ford Malaysia, however dealer told their car is brand new and not yet registered, I was wondering if it is a re-con?

pls help me to pick the right car, I won't be using my car that often (only two weeks a month) cause I always travel overseas...
Hello bro....sorry I ignored you earlier....we discussed in PM and I think your decision for Jazz is a good one notworthy.gif

QUOTE(odin88 @ Mar 15 2015, 04:42 PM)
Any idea why this guy can sell so cheap ?
http://www.oto.my/tonyshcnake?display=list
Too cheap complain too expensive complain...apa lagi u mahu? tongue.gif

I'd try to stay away from such dealers, this is a cheapshot tactic they put the lowest price so it shows up higher in the search engine results then AIR ASIA style you when you go to their showroom.

Basic Car rm10,000
Insurance rm5000
roadtax rm5000
jpj inspection rm1000
transfer fee rm1000
etc etc

I really hate this kinda tactic......either that or the car got some problem......maybe is singapore car with no possibility of getting registered in malaysia.....stolen? etc.

QUOTE(YannYann @ Mar 15 2015, 06:46 PM)
I'm looking for small car, currently driving accord 2.4
Spotted Nissan march 2004, selling 32k. Was quite impressed by the internal and push start system although this car was 10years back.
May anyone here give some comments about this car ?
2004 car you won't be able to get a loan for it, so if you're okay with cash buy?
It has a few features that b-segments of the time didn't have yet like true keyless entry system, original performance upgrades from in-house performance group (Impul did some engine work for them so the Impul version although with a small cc is called Impul112 because it has 112hp along with the bodykit and other Impul stuff -- nowadays Nissan Impul just means it has an OEM bodykit), but like most Nissan's it isn't a very complicated car the engine/gearbox are fairly standard so shouldn't be hard for any workshop to do the repairs, however there aren't alot of these cars on the road so again because of this not all distributor/stockist will have parts for this car barring the usual oil/air filter for minor service....getting from Nissan is an option but cost might be an issue.

Though I guess for 33k for a CBU is a good deal eventhough it is old if you're okay with CKD you can consider Nissan Latio at around the same price but the age is younger at least a 2007 car.

QUOTE(showcase @ Mar 17 2015, 03:47 PM)
thanks for the advice Chrix. will definitely bring along a trusted mechanic when visiting the used car show room.
btw - when checking the accident record against insurance company/police report - is it there is such a service provider? or i can just walk into police station and give them the car plate no.? or go to each and every insurance company to check?
if i am not mistaken you need to pay RM2 to print each report from PDRM or you can ask friends doing car insurance to help you check brows.gif

QUOTE(waisang @ Mar 18 2015, 06:31 AM)
Hi Guru, what do you think the coming GST? will it impact for the new car price to increase? i am thinking to get a new car, should i rush to do it now before April 1?
http :// paultan . org /2015/03/14/gst-impact-car-industry-malaysia/
it is not only because of GST
FOREX is another issue
Malaysian Ringgit has been sliding alot which is the reason
johnlth93
post Mar 27 2015, 03:27 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

1. Brand : anything
2. Budget : max RM15k (cash)
4. Specs : anything
5. Transmission : auto preferred, manual is acceptable
7. Type : Sedan preferred
8. Remarks : I'm currently away from home for studies, so cash payment is a must as no longer working so loan not possible.
Max acceptable price RM15k as I still need some reserved cash for after purchase modding.
I'll be using it about 3 to 4 times a week and need to be able to interstate travel every 3 to 6 months (going back hometown) it's a long ass 8 hrs drive.

Please advise. smile.gif

This post has been edited by johnlth93: Mar 29 2015, 02:18 AM
Andrew_1980
post Mar 29 2015, 06:31 PM

6,196 posts

want to ask which car suitable for newbie? use for work and school

Toyota Camry 2.2GX 1997
Proton Wira 1.5
Nissan Sentra 1.6 1997

Personally like the Camry 97, but spare part will expensive? compare to Wira spare part
xpole
post Mar 29 2015, 10:58 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Mar 29 2015, 06:31 PM)
want to ask which car suitable for newbie? use for work and school

Toyota Camry 2.2GX 1997
Proton Wira 1.5
Nissan Sentra 1.6 1997

Personally like the Camry 97, but spare part will expensive? compare to Wira spare part
How about Toyota Vios?
Andrew_1980
post Mar 29 2015, 11:16 PM

6,196 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Mar 29 2015, 10:58 PM)
How about Toyota Vios?
Vios 20k ++ laugh.gif

I just use it for newbie learning.
afify88
post Mar 30 2015, 01:39 PM

308 posts

I'm thinking of buying a second hand car:
My choice is between the Perodua Kelisa and Perodua Kenari...which one should i buy based on;
a) fuel consumption
b) maintenance price
c) car accessories
d) car price worthiness
any recommendation? TQ smile.gif
SUScall me random
post Mar 30 2015, 01:53 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Mar 21 2015, 03:01 PM)
hi its me again..

im thinking to buy a car, cash around 7k..

fr what ive researched i can get 15yrs wira
summore ive used a wira for a few yrs before.. but for a car that old, is there any limitation to it i should consider?

planning to use it for few yrs before upgrade to better car..

i understand i will need some maintenance i should always keep 1k cash in hand to replace whatever there is to be replaced.

is this wise or i should get better car with bank loan..

pls advise.. tq
bump.. sweat.gif

any body care to shed some light?
ppl around me some say ok some say not...
still confused rclxub.gif
SUScall me random
post Mar 30 2015, 01:54 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Mar 24 2015, 05:27 PM)
WTB
1. Brand : toyota le 1.3
8. Remarks : nice body..  And acceptable engine
QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 25 2015, 08:14 PM)
WTA
1. Brand : toyota corolla se 1.3
8. Remarks : price around rm3.8k run on carb is it acceptable?
QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Mar 27 2015, 03:27 PM)
1. Brand : anything
2. Budget : max RM15k (cash)
4. Specs : anything
5. Transmission : auto preferred, manual is acceptable
7. Type : Sedan preferred
8. Remarks : I'm currently away from home for studies, so cash payment is a must as no longer working so loan not possible.
Max acceptable price RM15k as I still need some reserved cash for after purchase modding.
I'll be using it about 3 to 4 times a week and need to be able to interstate travel every 3 to 6 months (going back hometown) it's a long ass 8 hrs drive.

Please advise. smile.gif
i think we all are more or less in the same shoes lar..

125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:43 PM