i think the price will be affected because of the depreciation of MYR instead
Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.
Mar 18 2015, 10:50 AM
175 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
i think the price will be affected because of the depreciation of MYR instead
Mar 18 2015, 11:20 AM
974 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
The increased of the expenses might be also one of the reason.
Mar 18 2015, 04:49 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Hi all sifus,need some advice here.
Currently driving Suzuki Swift GLX 2011 ver(new car).Been drivng for 2 years plus and so far so good.The only issue is the spaces which is abit small and i dont quite like the interior. So I thinking to get a 2nd hand car budget 50-60k. Found this 2nd hand Mazda 3 1.6 hatchback 2012 ver (rm60k)? Isit wise to trade my current car for this 2nd hand car? |
Mar 18 2015, 09:38 PM
13 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi all sifu(s), pros. Need some advice here too..
Planning to buy a car around 40-60k.. 1. Should I buy second hand mazda 3 or new almera? 2. How about the service/ reliability of mazda 3? I did some research, Mazda seems quite reliable.. But I am wondering how come the resale value is so low.. Thank you in advance! |
Mar 19 2015, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(ywyap @ Mar 18 2015, 04:49 PM) Hi all sifus,need some advice here. been driving a Mazda 3 until last Jan. Bigger in size definitely but leg space for passenger behind I doubt it. Currently driving Suzuki Swift GLX 2011 ver(new car).Been drivng for 2 years plus and so far so good.The only issue is the spaces which is abit small and i dont quite like the interior. So I thinking to get a 2nd hand car budget 50-60k. Found this 2nd hand Mazda 3 1.6 hatchback 2012 ver (rm60k)? Isit wise to trade my current car for this 2nd hand car? QUOTE(slayerste @ Mar 18 2015, 09:38 PM) Hi all sifu(s), pros. Need some advice here too.. I think they are quite good but unfortunately not many people will buy the older model of Mazda tend the resale value is low. As for servicing, only been to the one in BSD. The service is so-so nothing particular special. The only problem I have with my Mazda 3 is the noise of the absorbers. Claimed once but the sound came back after a few months. The sound only come when you are driving pass bumps. Planning to buy a car around 40-60k.. 1. Should I buy second hand mazda 3 or new almera? 2. How about the service/ reliability of mazda 3? I did some research, Mazda seems quite reliable.. But I am wondering how come the resale value is so low.. Thank you in advance! I would prefer a new car because I dont have time to send my car for repair if there is any problem with the second hand car. |
Mar 20 2015, 03:01 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
129 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Hi to all sifus,need some advice here. Thanks in advance
1. Brand : Any 2. Budget : rm60k below 3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matters. 4. Specs : Doesn't matters. 5. Transmission : AT 6. NA or FI : Any 7. Type : 4 seater. 8. Remarks : Prefer cars that have not so expensive parts and service. And could drive for long run. Basically I have few cars in my mind. New Nissan Almera lowest spec I think. (RM58k+) 2nd Hand Mazda 3 1.6(A) Sport Hatchback millage:30k-35k, made from year 2012 (RM58,800) 2nd Hand VW Polo 1.2(A) Tsi Warranty2016 millage:30k-35k, made from year2010 (RM48,800) 2nd Hand PUG 308 1.6 Turbo 6Speed millage:20k-25k, made from year2013 (RM55,800) |
Mar 20 2015, 10:07 AM
238 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
who want a scrap car?
Mar 20 2015, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(phearfiery @ Mar 20 2015, 03:01 AM) Hi to all sifus,need some advice here. Thanks in advance Those bolded cars have expensive parts and service. Reason is due to lack of parts in the market. If you want cheap parts and service always go back to Toyota or Honda car. 1. Brand : Any 2. Budget : rm60k below 3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matters. 4. Specs : Doesn't matters. 5. Transmission : AT 6. NA or FI : Any 7. Type : 4 seater. 8. Remarks : Prefer cars that have not so expensive parts and service. And could drive for long run. Basically I have few cars in my mind. New Nissan Almera lowest spec I think. (RM58k+) 2nd Hand Mazda 3 1.6(A) Sport Hatchback millage:30k-35k, made from year 2012 (RM58,800) 2nd Hand VW Polo 1.2(A) Tsi Warranty2016 millage:30k-35k, made from year2010 (RM48,800) 2nd Hand PUG 308 1.6 Turbo 6Speed millage:20k-25k, made from year2013 (RM55,800) |
Mar 20 2015, 11:46 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Chrix @ Mar 9 2015, 12:47 PM) You should never take the sellers word as gospel, not matter what they are selling. You will have to check it physically yourselves. If you dont know how, get someone who does, either a friend or your trusted mechanic. This is true!Accident case if it is serious surely there will be a police report and insurance claim, as people don't avoid doing police report and claim insurance if it is going to be quite expensive > RM2000 (for the affordability of most people; RM1000 own car and RM1000 the victim car). This is because of the NCB (no claim bonus), if repairs are expensive it is worth to use it as it doesn't really give discounts above RM2000. Sometimes it is not accident case but other things. For example those people that don't keep their cars tidy, clean, eat inside, and always park under trees might have infestation of ants, cockroaches or lizards. Sometimes this infestation is so bad they just decide to sell the car, this kind of case abit hard to find out but usually when the car is sunbaked parked at the used car dealer's site for a few weeks any living creature will surely exit to try to find something better especially when their food source (food crumbs/dirty car) runs out. QUOTE(wenl3in @ Mar 9 2015, 06:05 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 2013/2014 VW Polo Sedan - there are huge discounts for this model for last year's stock clearance, the final price seems to be dealer dependent as some quote RM65k and some say RM75k but it is still a huge discount from the RM90k++ original price tag it carries. Although not C-segment it is quite large (like Maxi B-segment similar to the Honda City -- while the City is longer the Polo Sedan feels wider) I feel it has good build quality and materials for it's class feels quite solid inside and driving one if you wouldn't really notice you're in the cheapest model because the interior for all VW's are quite similar. I feel the biggest point of contention is the engine and gearbox, while people will say the 1600cc MPI lacks turbo and power, and also doesn't come with new technology DSG only normal 6-speed automatic those things can be seen as good too as like the case of the X-Gear old tech is more reliable and cheaper to maintain -- the Aisin gearbox is very reliable and top notch part. Granted it doesn't have enough grunt from the engine but there will always be compromises. QUOTE(wenl3in @ Mar 9 2015, 06:39 PM) Elantra is nice, but it was over my budget... Elantra and Cerato......Hyundai and Kia.....they used to be mirror images of each other but over the years they have evolved eventhough fighting in the same market as each other but providing different user experiences. IMHO it seems Hyundai focus is on design and sportiness, while Kia's focus would be new technology. The previous Cerato (Forte) was the first Korean car in Malaysia to really shout about their 6 speed automatic gearbox, while the latest is the first Korean to showcase the tube LED lighting previously only seen in facelifted or current generation of German's. So it seems to be Kia is the test bed then the technology would be rolled out to the entire group.havent test drive Elantra yet, but quite satisfied after test drive cerato Well I could be mistaken QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 10 2015, 01:20 AM) Zenix, I think many bros and sisters here patiently await your come back . Of course includes me as well. Hehe Hi bro!Sorry for the late reply. Any further questions? QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 10 2015, 08:56 PM) This unit only 6 mths old, one owner malay, traded for an X1, BMW selling this for 185k, mileage currently is 3868km only, is worth buying? This is 1.8tfsi model... I gather this is a Euromobile not grey import Audi.![]() ![]() What's your opinion? RM185 is abit on the high-side for a used car IMHO, additionally it 1.8TFSI is the starter spec for the A4. Here are a few other choices (new/recon/pre-reg) 2012 BMW X1 - this is the previous generation of X1's (the non-turbo in the same generation as the E90's) with a sticker price of RM168k is good or bad depending on how you see it. If you don't care or want turbo there is plenty of power in this 2000cc engine plus naturally aspirated engines have less things which may go wrong so imho for longevity naturally aspirated is always better, especially when you're not a car nut craving power or very in the know about car maintenance to seek better alternatives for cheaper ownership. Overall it is a good car and being a BMW premium selection it you get alot of benefits you don't get from a used car dealer which you can read more here. Just for comparison's sake there are also recon/grey import options such as 2011 BMW X1 so what is the benefit of this compared to a premium selection? Well, recon/grey import biggest advantage is the price is lower near used car price yet you can purchase with new car loan (cheaper interest). 2014 BMW X1 - this is the latest generation of X1 with the latest bodystyle, engine and gearbox (you can tell from this gearknob) in the grand scheme of things RM190k isn't that much extra at this price range (yes the other X1 is 30k cheaper but the Audi you planned to buy earlier is just 5k cheaper) and this is a BMW premium selection car which comes with alot of guarantees and perks you can't get from direct owner or used car dealer. I think it is a good buy. Something not everybody knows is that the X1 is actually made from the 3-series platform/chassis not the 1-series as most people would assume since the X1 moniker, so you get the spaciousness of a 3-series with the additional height of an SUV. 2012 Suzuki Kizashi - this is a new car option, they're clearing stock with a crazy price of just RM133k that's the price you usually pay for a full spec Honda Civic but this is a D-segment saloon in the same class as Honda Accord and Toyota Camry. So what the are cons of buying such a car? Well, there aren't many on the road so don't expect stockist outside to carry the full range of parts for it, if you don't want to go to Suzuki 3S because it is expensive or none nearby your house you can always bring it to service at workshop outside shouldn't be a problem and parts for such things shouldn't be an issue though one problem with rare cars is that certain parts will either be not available need to import (takes time) or expensive but that is usually for items people don't change often like engine components the usual stuff like filters, cables, door handles, screens, etc all quite common. But you get the added benefit of a rare unique car which doesn't age as fast as say a mainstream model like Honda Accord. 2010 Audi A4 1.8FTSI - this is similar to the one you showed earlier but usually grey imports bring in higher spec models of the range, at RM149k it is cheaper than the used car but of course it is older, but you get to buy it with new car loan interest rates. The choice is yours. |
Mar 21 2015, 01:51 AM
1,139 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
A 2013 sonata yf below 100k with <40k mileage worth to get or not?
Mar 21 2015, 02:31 AM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Mar 21 2015, 10:37 AM
6,155 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Today, 00:01 AM |
laurateoh
hi all, is a hyundai avante x20 (ranged from 2009-2011) worth the buy? i know the car has no resale value thats why even such recent years car can get as low as 30-40k. compared to vios/city 2007 model that is still worth 40k after so many years. pictures attached: ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by mafioso: Mar 21 2015, 11:16 AM |
Mar 21 2015, 01:21 PM
1,189 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Taman Desa |
hi all sifus, planning to get a second hand used myvi but i notice some dent under the hood from the picture of the seller's car. Is it normal?
![]() This post has been edited by jason991: Mar 21 2015, 01:23 PM |
Mar 21 2015, 03:01 PM
300 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
hi its me again..
im thinking to buy a car, cash around 7k.. fr what ive researched i can get 15yrs wira summore ive used a wira for a few yrs before.. but for a car that old, is there any limitation to it i should consider? planning to use it for few yrs before upgrade to better car.. i understand i will need some maintenance i should always keep 1k cash in hand to replace whatever there is to be replaced. is this wise or i should get better car with bank loan.. pls advise.. tq |
Mar 22 2015, 07:49 PM
175 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
For whoever hesitating among Almera, Jazz and Rio
Here is my decision ***Honda Jazz*** Tested 3 of them today, Almera is seriously underpowered but quite comfortable throughout the drive, Rio is just not right in terms of comfort for driving however I think the power is slightly better than Almera. Jazz is the best among this three, I love the power, handling, comfort & stability. Above just my two cents for your ref This post has been edited by el.primero: Mar 23 2015, 01:18 PM |
Mar 23 2015, 02:49 AM
700 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Mar 20 2015, 11:46 AM) Hi bro! Sorry for the late reply. Any further questions? i like the asx but also looking at the crv... mom not so keen on CRV bcoz she says parts for Honda has always been known to be expensive. BUT, i was telling her TODA car parts are usually the most cost efficient. correct me if im wrong. hehe oh , to do a comprehensive search on the used cars im looking for, im looking at 5 webs: http://www.motortrader.com.my/index.html http://www.mudah.my/li?cg=1020&w=3&th=1 http://www.autoworld.com.my/ http://www.oto.my/?display=list another 1, which have very limited search feature is http://www.carsifu.my/cars are there any webs or avenues i can look into? would like to exhaust my options before deciding. hehe it is good to note a few webs listed on first post are not available. |
Mar 23 2015, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(KenYoung @ Mar 23 2015, 02:49 AM) hey thanks alot for the info.!! Honda parts are expensive? Didnt know that as I thought there are just behind Toyota when you are talking about price parts. i like the asx but also looking at the crv... mom not so keen on CRV bcoz she says parts for Honda has always been known to be expensive. BUT, i was telling her TODA car parts are usually the most cost efficient. correct me if im wrong. hehe oh , to do a comprehensive search on the used cars im looking for, im looking at 5 webs: http://www.motortrader.com.my/index.html http://www.mudah.my/li?cg=1020&w=3&th=1 http://www.autoworld.com.my/ http://www.oto.my/?display=list another 1, which have very limited search feature is http://www.carsifu.my/cars are there any webs or avenues i can look into? would like to exhaust my options before deciding. hehe it is good to note a few webs listed on first post are not available. ASX is a big no for me as after a year or 2 you will start hearing noises coming out from here and there. |
Mar 24 2015, 05:27 PM
1,420 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Potato |
WTB
1. Brand : toyota le 1.3 2. Budget : RM3-4.5k 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 4. Specs : stock 5. Transmission : manual 5 speed 6. NA or FI : - 7. Type : - 8. Remarks : nice body.. And acceptable engine This post has been edited by Calvin789: Mar 24 2015, 08:10 PM |
Mar 25 2015, 07:15 PM
460 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Cyberjaya + Shah Alam + Cheng, Malacca |
1. Brand : Kia Forte 2.0sx
2. Budget : 50k+ 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 4. Specs : 2.0sx 5. Transmission : Auto 6. NA or FI : - 7. Type : - 8. Remarks : I've always loved Forte, if its still in production I will get a new one Anyways, despite my personal preference, would like to know if its a good choice or should I look at better alternatives. I'm making a change somewhere around Q3/Q4 this year. But would like to slowly do some research starting now. I'm still driving a 25 year old toyota which drinks petrol like a KING. And my job requires me to travel all over KL/Selangor. |
Mar 25 2015, 08:14 PM
66 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
WTA
1. Brand : toyota corolla se 1.3 2. Budget : RM3-4.5k 3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 4. Specs : stock 5. Transmission : manual 5 speed 6. NA or FI : - 7. Type : - 8. Remarks : price around rm3.8k run on carb is it acceptable? |
| Change to: | 0.0329sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:05 AM |