125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

officeBoy
post Apr 25 2016, 11:15 PM

849 posts

Hi Zenix,

Do you have review on Kia Sportage ? and Suzuki SX4 and Vitara ?

sportage -
http://www.mudah.my/2013+Kia+Sportage+2+0+...TY-45068246.htm

SX4-
http://www.mudah.my/2012+Suzuki+SX4+1+6+A+...on-44900908.htm

Vitara -
http://www.mudah.my/Suzuki+Grand+Vitara+2+...am-45388172.htm
zenix
post Apr 26 2016, 09:41 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

*internet quota finish so no linking from other websites to save time*

QUOTE(philip42 @ Apr 25 2016, 06:08 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 30-40k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used/new
4. Specs : powerful enough to climb hills with full passenger
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : Sedan/hatchback
8. Remarks : Use for city and highway
I think one car that fits your budget and requirements would be a Nissan Latio 1.8, this is the top range version of the standard Latio. Usually it comes in a sedan body. Personally I always think it looks best in hatchback body with an Impul bodykit but those only have a 1.6cc engine option. As most Nissan's are assembled in Malaysia and have quite a big volume geting spares isn't a big issue, getting it from Tan Chong Motors isn't too expensive usually but there are many stockist and importers getting parts from overseas either original, oem, compatible, etc -- for a C-segment car it is one of the cheaper ones to maintain. Fuel consumption is fine, although the engine and gearbox don't have any fancy technology it is easier to repair and maintain that way -- not too complicated until you've always got to go back to the service center.

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 25 2016, 11:15 PM)
If you're looking for an SUV the SX4 isn't for you because it is nothing more than a glorified hatchback with crossover bodykit. SX4 isn't a bad car and would be a decent pick for someone with a smaller budget but is quite tall thus needing the headroom, however for the same reasons you can always consider a Nissan Latio it is cheaper to buy and easier to get parts for since it is locally made with high numbers on the road.

Vitara is a good car but the resale value isn't quite as good but luckily buying it used the first owner already took the brunt of the drop in value, however do expect it to drop from it's current value to 40-ish range within 5 years (the fastest period you can finish your loan) and since this is a 2013 car if you have any intention of changing car you'd better quickly trade-in as soon as the loan finishes as it is a 2013 car thus by the time you finish your 5 year loan buying it in 2016 it is an 8 year old car -- above 10 years old quite difficult to get a decent price because cash sale. The car itself is pretty good and well spec'ed however it must be a car you really like because if it is just a car you "settle" for then you're going to be disappointed because it does have a few issues, one of them is the obtaining of spare parts (you can always get from Suzuki 3s but it is expensive) outside stockist don't carry the full gamut thus be major items still have to be bought from the 3s, another issue is the fuel consumption as previously the 4WD version was considered a gas guzzler but the current model isn't that much better anyway.

The Sportage is a good car as it is feature packed, however it shares mostly the same issues with the Vitara. If slightly higher maintenance/parts purchase cost isn't an issue then these two are good choices as they're more feature pack than a typical Toyota/Honda SUV.

I think a Mazda CX5 is a good car and if you've got the budget go to any Mazda showroom to get the pre-FL at a huge discount, nearer to 100k brows.gif

philip42
post Apr 26 2016, 04:42 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 26 2016, 09:41 AM)
I think one car that fits your budget and requirements would be a Nissan Latio 1.8, this is the top range version of the standard Latio. Usually it comes in a sedan body. Personally I always think it looks best in hatchback body with an Impul bodykit but those only have a 1.6cc engine option. As most Nissan's are assembled in Malaysia and have quite a big volume geting spares isn't a big issue, getting it from Tan Chong Motors isn't too expensive usually but there are many stockist and importers getting parts from overseas either original, oem, compatible, etc -- for a C-segment car it is one of the cheaper ones to maintain. Fuel consumption is fine, although the engine and gearbox don't have any fancy technology it is easier to repair and maintain that way -- not too complicated until you've always got to go back to the service center.
If you're looking for an SUV the SX4 isn't for you because it is nothing more than a glorified hatchback with crossover bodykit. SX4 isn't a bad car and would be a decent pick for someone with a smaller budget but is quite tall thus needing the headroom, however for the same reasons you can always consider a Nissan Latio it is cheaper to buy and easier to get parts for since it is locally made with high numbers on the road.

Vitara is a good car but the resale value isn't quite as good but luckily buying it used the first owner already took the brunt of the drop in value, however do expect it to drop from it's current value to 40-ish range within 5 years (the fastest period you can finish your loan) and since this is a 2013 car if you have any intention of changing car you'd better quickly trade-in as soon as the loan finishes as it is a 2013 car thus by the time you finish your 5 year loan buying it in 2016 it is an 8 year old car -- above 10 years old quite difficult to get a decent price because cash sale. The car itself is pretty good and well spec'ed however it must be a car you really like because if it is just a car you "settle" for then you're going to be disappointed because it does have a few issues, one of them is the obtaining of spare parts (you can always get from Suzuki 3s but it is expensive) outside stockist don't carry the full gamut thus be major items still have to be bought from the 3s, another issue is the fuel consumption as previously the 4WD version was considered a gas guzzler but the current model isn't that much better anyway.

The Sportage is a good car as it is feature packed, however it shares mostly the same issues with the Vitara. If slightly higher maintenance/parts purchase cost isn't an issue then these two are good choices as they're more feature pack than a typical Toyota/Honda SUV.

I think a Mazda CX5 is a good car and if you've got the budget go to any Mazda showroom to get the pre-FL at a huge discount, nearer to 100k  brows.gif
That Nissan Latio hatchback with body kit looks sweet man, thanks for the suggestion, by the way what do I need to check when test driving the used car? Don't want to run into alot of problems after buying it.
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(philip42 @ Apr 26 2016, 04:42 PM)
That Nissan Latio hatchback with body kit looks sweet man, thanks for the suggestion, by the way what do I need to check when test driving the used car? Don't want to run into alot of problems after buying it.
something i posted a long time back

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 18 2016, 07:49 PM)
basically.... check everything, i had my own checklist... i was an idiot so i didnt write it down and everytime i went, i forgot a few items bangwall.gif

+can check normally
++hardcore mode
*random tips

-interior
+check wear and tear, see if it matches the mileage
+ofc check the specs to confirm trim level (cruise control, airbags)
+check the electronics....
++stripsearch, look for stains under the trim at the sides and the bottom feet wells, also look for rust at the corners (this means pulling out the seats for the back and the mats at the bottom, but this is more applicable if the car is like 20 years old)
*on japanese cars, the general year of manufacture can be found on the seatbelts (not sure bout potongs, never checked)

-engine
+this one... u pandai pandailah, too many ways to check, many dif ideas
+no funny sounds, check if fluid levels are up, color all ok? (shops usually dah cover all problems here)
+leaks (unfortunately i have seen cars pre and after masuk kedai, signs of leaks all missing)
+some have poop on the engine covers - means car has not moved for some time, check harder now!
+ask bout belts, oil whatnot, all adds up
++look out for mods.... (but this car less likely to be molested)

-exterior
+check for accident damage, search throughout the car!!!! look underneeth, look at the sides, look at the front radiator mount/subframe with the bonet open, any strange curves and its a sign the car has been repaired (anything funky, take pics hehe, no funky also can take pics! we mau tengok)
+check rear spare tyre area for damage
+check for overspray, some fellas respray the cars to coverup damage some will admit resprayed, some wont (ask before vewing, pretend you dont know nuts)
+in the engine bay, u can find info on the car (from the plate, u can tell the color, trim, some cases engine, differs from car to car)
+check tyres, all same?(not same means kept on a budget) any bald spots?(means been sitting), wear rate same?(if no, allignment) also check its age (dont forget the spare)
+lampu
++jackup! see if bottom nais or not!, also helpful to find oil leaks~

-driving
+check steering ade veer to any direction,
+brakes ok,
+no funny sounds, some would advise you tekan abit to see if it does anything funny

remember take your time~~
not sure if i missed anything
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM

309 posts

*double post sry*

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM
philip42
post Apr 26 2016, 05:04 PM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM)
Tq very much bro
zenix
post Apr 26 2016, 06:15 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 05:00 PM)
u forgot to add this....

engine:
- if engine bay is too clean, be suspicious. seller may want to make it clean to hide leaking issues.

interior:
- remove mats then door sill, if you're able to pull up the carpet it is usually bad news.
normally it should be glued to the chassis unless rusted metal or banjir car (can see mushroom growing?)
same for the boot remove the spare tire, lift the carpeting see the bare metal got rust/mushroom/extra welding joints.
usually welding done at the factory is very nice and clean.
if done at workshop outside is not so neat, for sambung and repair jobs.
H1nk
post Apr 26 2016, 07:09 PM

39 posts

Hi! Just placed deposit for a used MB c180 2.0 kompressor UK spec this afternoon. But I couldn't find this model anywhere on the web.
P.s the seller claims this is UK spec and has a blacktop engine.
So, my question is whether this model is legit?
Thx in advance.
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 08:37 PM

309 posts

Ahh yeah ur right about the engine being too clean.... There was one fto I saw (still on sale BTW) which was very leaky and dirty... Some time later, it ended up in a shop, my god the changes... Engine bay is so clean now... Another interested fellow asked about it and actually went to see it, looked at what I told him in particular to look for, and yeah nothing was fixed, it was just cleaned up

Not sure bout the carpeting, mine can easily be removed, very clean underneath, this car has ,been very well taken care off, so I don't think its been flooded
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 08:43 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(H1nk @ Apr 26 2016, 07:09 PM)
Hi! Just placed deposit for a used MB c180 2.0 kompressor UK spec this afternoon. But I couldn't find this model anywhere on the web.
Thx in advance.
Reading this made me facepalm.... Why would anyone in the right mind pay for a car which you have not seen yet

unless what you mean is you have seen it and are going to buy it but just want to know about it's origins... I 'think' you might be able to check the Vin for more details
H1nk
post Apr 26 2016, 08:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 09:43 PM)
Reading this made me facepalm.... Why would anyone in the right mind pay for a car which you have not seen yet

unless what you mean is you have seen it and are going to buy it but just want to know about it's origins... I 'think' you might be able to check the Vin for more details
Thx for reply. May I knw what's Vin? Yea I've seen and even test drive it, so I just wanna knw whether the car is legit cuz I nvr see this model b4 in Malaysia.
officeBoy
post Apr 26 2016, 09:02 PM

849 posts

Thanks Zenix, I plan to get for 2nd car for my wife, asking for SUV is due to higher seated car easier for her to look around when coming to roundabout with crowded condition, besides, I having a sedan car - Altis.

i tried CX-5 last time when it launched, it was 2.0 but i feel the car is under power, and the price of CX-5 is over my budget too:)

Btw, what is pre-FL ?

I also thinking of previous model of CRV, if i go for sedan, may be a chance to get 1.8 Latio,just i think the sedan model doesn't look good smile.gif... btw, do you hv insight on Nissan Sentra 1.6 ?

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 26 2016, 09:41 AM)

I think a Mazda CX5 is a good car and if you've got the budget go to any Mazda showroom to get the pre-FL at a huge discount, nearer to 100k  brows.gif
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 09:05 PM

309 posts

I'm not 100% sure you can check its designated market from the Vin, but on certain cars, you can (really depends on the model)

Anyway.... I think the black top just means its a compressor model? (Correct me if I'm wrong) nothing fancy

BTW, is it by any chance this car? http://www.mudah.my/05+AMG+HAJIOWN+SUPERB+...A+-45340336.htm
*Also can't say for sure cause I'm not familiar with the model, but that's no amg.... And I don't think its really rare*

H1nk

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 26 2016, 09:07 PM
H1nk
post Apr 26 2016, 09:20 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 10:05 PM)
I'm not 100% sure you can check its designated market from the Vin, but on certain cars, you can (really depends on the model)

Anyway.... I think the black top just means its a compressor model? (Correct me if I'm wrong) nothing fancy

BTW, is it by any chance this car? http://www.mudah.my/05+AMG+HAJIOWN+SUPERB+...A+-45340336.htm
*Also can't say for sure cause I'm not familiar with the model, but that's no amg.... And I don't think its really rare*

H1nk
Ya. This is the car. It runs good when I test drive it but I reli want to knw whether this car is legit model. Thx for reply agn
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 09:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(H1nk @ Apr 26 2016, 09:20 PM)
Ya. This is the car. It runs good when I test drive it but I reli want to knw whether this car is legit model. Thx for reply agn
what model did he tell you it was? if he said amg, no... i dont think thats an amg
i would just call that a c180 kompressor

lots of these dealers spew rubbish to get you to buy it anyway... u cannot imagine how many of these dealers tag their cars on mudah wrongly just to attract ppl to come by... type r, m-sport, amg, brabus, evo, trd..... ahh ~~ always know the model well

edit:
this is a real amg
- note that a real amg is very diferent.. an according to wiki... the smallest available w203 amg is has a 3.2l V6

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Apr 26 2016, 09:29 PM
H1nk
post Apr 26 2016, 09:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 10:24 PM)
what model did he tell you it was? if he said amg, no... i dont think thats an amg
i would just call that a c180 kompressor

lots of these dealers spew rubbish to get you to buy it anyway... u cannot imagine how many of these dealers tag their cars on mudah wrongly just to attract ppl to come by... type r, m-sport, amg, brabus, evo, trd..... ahh ~~  always know the model well
Hahhaha true thx man, guess I'll question him 2morrow.
lsm1991
post Apr 26 2016, 09:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(H1nk @ Apr 26 2016, 09:27 PM)
Hahhaha true thx man, guess I'll question him 2morrow.
oops edited**
zenix
post Apr 27 2016, 10:05 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(H1nk @ Apr 26 2016, 07:09 PM)
Thx in advance.
I saw LSM's reply but here is my dua sen.
There is no Mercedes "black top" engine, it is probably the M271. sos

It has basically 4 variations:
1) 1.6 kompressor (super charger)
2) 1.8 kompressor (super charger)
3) 1.8 CGI (turbo)
4) 2.0 naturally aspirated

2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (W203) C 180 KOMPRESSOR, C 200 KOMPRESSOR, C 230 KOMPRESSOR

2007 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (W204) C 180 KOMPRESSOR, C 200 KOMPRESSOR
Just incase you're wondering....

There is no "2.0 kompressor" it is either one of the engines above. The difference between C180/C200/C230 is usually the additional accessories, features and tuning of the engine for more power -- basically the mechanicals are the same. I know some people going to feel short changed thinking their C230 is no better than a C180 but think about it the engine capacity doesn't matter to you driving it, what matters is the power when you press the pedal and enjoying the features/accessories in your car (everyone knows C180 is most basic). But the fact of the matter is having the same engine and gearbox means lower running cost as parts are common between many models. Plus when warranty is over just tune it to get more power devil.gif

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Apr 26 2016, 08:37 PM)
Ahh yeah ur right about the engine being too clean.... There was one fto I saw (still on sale BTW) which was very leaky and dirty... Some time later, it ended up in a shop, my god the changes... Engine bay is so clean now... Another interested fellow asked about it and actually went to see it, looked at what I told him in particular to look for, and yeah nothing was fixed, it was just cleaned up

Not sure bout the carpeting, mine can easily be removed, very clean underneath, this car has ,been very well taken care off, so I don't think its been flooded
Unfortunately leaking engine and mitsubishi tak berpisah especially for the 80s & 90's era ranting.gif

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Apr 26 2016, 09:02 PM)
Thanks Zenix, I plan to get for 2nd car for my wife, asking for SUV is due to higher seated car easier for her to look around when coming to roundabout with crowded condition, besides, I having a sedan car - Altis.

i tried CX-5 last time when it launched, it was 2.0 but i feel the car is under power, and the price of CX-5 is over my budget too:)

Btw, what is pre-FL ?

I also thinking of previous model of CRV, if i go for sedan, may be a chance to get 1.8 Latio,just i think the sedan model doesn't look good smile.gif... btw, do you hv insight on Nissan Sentra 1.6 ?
So what kind of budget you're looking at for your SUV/Crossover?

Pre-FL = before facelift

2015 Nissan X-Gear - i think this would fit you as it is within budget (67k), if you want to consider a new one wait around for promotions as the normal price is about 90k but usually promotion like the coming Raya sales you might see it drop to around 80-85k depending on their desperation. Nissan's usually practice this throw price policy that's why their cars resale value isn't as good because even if their normal price is 90k but if they always throw at 85k then it becomes a market normal thus people have a hard time selling used cars above 75k even a year old with warranty because too close to the new car price. Back to used cars, you can look around for the year and model you want, this particular advert seems to be advertising the full spec version with touch screen and leather seats -- don't expect too much from X-Gear it is not a luxury type car it is the cheapest C-segment in the Nissan range you can buy new (maybe other brands also dun have a c-segment at this price). The engine is cheap to maintain and capable but it is not very powerful, full load of luggage and passengers for a vacation might make the engine feel sluggish but for everyday soccer mom duty it is very capable and nippy. While not as high as a pick-up or SUV, the seating is higher than sedan cars. I think such a car strikes a good balance between price, maintenance cost, accessories, age of vehicle and requirements met.
long3016
post Apr 27 2016, 11:06 AM

568 posts

any review for mazda 3 year 2011 to 2012 2.0 sedan with smiling face bumper?
lsm1991
post Apr 27 2016, 11:12 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 27 2016, 10:05 AM)
I saw LSM's reply but here is my dua sen.

Unfortunately leaking engine and mitsubishi tak berpisah especially for the 80s & 90's era  ranting.gif

unfortunately so true ;-;

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:47 AM