USA Stock Discussion v5, Investment,Trader,Financial Ratios,HUAT?

tigana
post Feb 20 2014, 08:22 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 20 2014, 06:26 AM)
Hey, ... news flash - FB buys What'sapp for 19bln. Shares down AH.

Wow.. whatapp worth 19 blns?  shocking.gif
Yeah, apparently Whatsapp more valuable than Hong Leong Bank. smile.gif
tigana
post Feb 20 2014, 08:29 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 20 2014, 02:01 PM)
whatsapp has 400m active users to pay $0.99 pa, that goes 2% yield for 19b investment....not exciting. Agree, it's damn expensive. If consider Amazon's trading at over 600x PE, then no, it's not expensive.  laugh.gif
Something tells me Zuckerberg knows something we don't. That how people like him and Steve Jobs become successful, because they can see something other people cannot see.
Anyway, it could be a technology that only Whatsapp has.
Or maybe the fact the total mobile phone subscription in the world was 6.8B in 2012. And growing to around 8 billion in 2016. Some people or companies carry more than 1 phone. And Whatsapp charges per phone number.
And what if they introduce a premium service and charge more?

Granted not all the phones are smart. But smartphones are becoming so cheap. Soon everybody will carry one. With a good chance Whatsapp in installed.
tigana
post Feb 20 2014, 09:00 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Feb 20 2014, 08:57 PM)
not all for the 400m users were paid users some were installed before the paid version were out, upddated still can be used unless change mobile phone or mobile number only need reinstall......
Whatsapp claims they get 1million new members a day.
tigana
post Feb 20 2014, 09:05 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 20 2014, 09:02 PM)
I thought 1st year free, following year pay?  hmm.gif
I think the earlier members get free for life, as long as they don't change phone number, right?

This post has been edited by tigana: Feb 20 2014, 09:05 PM
tigana
post Feb 21 2014, 06:37 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(Mercy Shadows @ Feb 21 2014, 01:45 AM)
I think what will get most investors worried is how WhatsApp is able to make back that money.

For what I understand Whatsapp charge 0.99 cents on their per pay service,
which current 300million users only they might make 300million dollars, but 19billion?
There is no adds or anything like that in whatsapp from what I understand.
They might develop it further since Mark Zuckerberg fail to purchase SnapChat

What I hear from bloomberg this afternoon is that Only 2% of americans uses Whatsapp, most of them just prefer to use text messages. But in Europe, South East Asia, users are up to about 80++%

China on the other hand has a very low user rate as well due to WeChat , and Korean they have their own Chat App as well.

So based on the 2% of Americans and with FB's publicity on Whatsapp, there is a very high chance it can grow.
And India with its high population uses whatsapp a lot.

Interesting article

http://sequoiacapital.tumblr.com/post/7721...cebook-acquired
tigana
post Feb 21 2014, 06:57 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Feb 21 2014, 06:41 PM)
bloomberg reported yday that watsapp is having 450 m users. most popular in the states and now penetrating the china market.
also reported that how watsapp is going to make money is yet be seen.
The thing about messaging systems especially those like Whatsapp, the popularity depends on who else is on it. And the popularity just drives more popularity and membership. It doesn't matter how good the system is if my friends and people I interact with aren't on the same system. I can't message somebody on Line, We chat via Whatsapp, and vice versa. But with this purchase, there is a possibility of allowing Facebook users and Whatsapp users to message each other. That would be an extremely big pool of users.

0.0424sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:33 AM