USA Stock Discussion v5, Investment,Trader,Financial Ratios,HUAT?

Mercy Shadows
post Feb 11 2014, 01:55 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 10 2014, 12:40 AM)
I think it may want to rain next week... all about different levels here.

All eyes on Yellen..  taper or no taper.  If signs of continued taper.. growl.... bears will come out and play.  brows.gif
When are the dates that one should look out for?

Mercy Shadows
post Feb 11 2014, 08:06 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 11 2014, 02:25 AM)
Yellen scheduled to speak Tues and Thurs (US time). She's going to talk about outlook and monetary policy.

The big one (debt ceiling) is on Feb 27th. Last chance for bears to rampage this market.  brows.gif
Been away from U.S news for awhile,

Will there be a confirmation that there will be results on 27th Feb?
I think there was one time that there was no results during the last announcement which result in a government shutdown, was it?

Mercy Shadows
post Feb 21 2014, 01:45 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 21 2014, 01:06 AM)
FB has fear of losing users, Whatsapp is a fierce enemy. The best way to fight this is to make the enemy my friend. 19b is nothing if comparing to losing users. They must have plan for some kind of integration, so that FB will be alive. Whatsapp may become just an app from FB, or just a function, a chatting function. By doing this, all Whatsapp users based will become FB's. Take a look at Nokia today. Once you loss market attention, you are dead and very very hard to recover. In another 1 year time, Whatsapp active users number estimation will be equal to FB's, that scares the hell of Z.  biggrin.gif
I think what will get most investors worried is how WhatsApp is able to make back that money.

For what I understand Whatsapp charge 0.99 cents on their per pay service,
which current 300million users only they might make 300million dollars, but 19billion?
There is no adds or anything like that in whatsapp from what I understand.
They might develop it further since Mark Zuckerberg fail to purchase SnapChat

What I hear from bloomberg this afternoon is that Only 2% of americans uses Whatsapp, most of them just prefer to use text messages. But in Europe, South East Asia, users are up to about 80++%

China on the other hand has a very low user rate as well due to WeChat , and Korean they have their own Chat App as well.

So based on the 2% of Americans and with FB's publicity on Whatsapp, there is a very high chance it can grow.
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 21 2014, 02:05 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 21 2014, 01:56 AM)
Only 2% meh? So, how can there be a high chance of them using what'app if they like sms,text, etc.?

Anyway, difficult to understand FB stand on this but the price action will determine whether FB makes the correct
decision or not.  Keeping stops in place..  sweat.gif
If I remember correctly, its a very low percentage...
Did some google search and.. The link here says 9%...
http://engineeringfukrey.com/how-does-whatsapp-earn-money/

Most Europe and Latin Americas are above 90%
I think countries like Malaysia, Singapore too uses them, but not in the list .. too kuuchi

Well, maybe Whatsapp is not properly promoted in USA

Edit
Oh yeah. they said USA uses blackberry messenger, but it went south with Blackberry formally RIM

This post has been edited by Mercy Shadows: Feb 21 2014, 02:07 AM
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 22 2014, 12:23 AM

121 posts

I'm Watching Priceline, after the earnings announcement for TripAdvisor, this stock has been very bullish.
I think their agoda and booking.com products are very potential especially in the new internet era,

Too bad sold off 2 days ago after bearish signals.
Anyone into PCLN too?
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 22 2014, 12:29 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Firetric @ Feb 21 2014, 08:39 PM)
It seem that the acquisition never stop FB from bullish.
Well these tech stocks have very high potential, I've seen reports people comparing FB to GOOG few years ago, and look where GOOG is now, not just a regular search engine, they are into google glass, maps, google play and now I hear they just /or planning to buy off a robot company.
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 25 2014, 01:28 AM

121 posts

While FB up to almost 4%
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 25 2014, 10:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 25 2014, 09:43 AM)
AAPL dead money now.. got out when it drops below 537 (50ma).  Gap filled achieved.
Good enough for now.

Now, waiting for pull back. All cash and ready.  tongue.gif
Yeah.. Samsung announce that they OUTSOLD apple iphone (not specifically, but the numbers was over iphone numbers - dont have specifics) during the world mobile conference where Mark Zuckerberg gave a rationalization on the Whatsapp purchase too.

Better watch out

This post has been edited by Mercy Shadows: Feb 25 2014, 10:27 PM
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 27 2014, 01:41 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 27 2014, 12:17 AM)
manage to catch not  brows.gif

AAPL a bit sien yawn.gif
yea.... but this Cook seems to have something up his sleeves, dunno what he is planning.. with strong share buyback and some rumors.. will keep watching. hmm.gif
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 27 2014, 01:45 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 26 2014, 05:30 AM)
Thank you Morgan Stanley for upgrading TSLA!  What a nice gift!  rclxms.gif
wow Congrats on your big win! up 4% today.
Didnt put this on my watchlist,
When did you start watching Tesla? after what rumors/ news?
Mercy Shadows
post Feb 28 2014, 05:52 PM

121 posts

I'm waiting for APPL to drop to about 500 too, seems like a good support there. Did a quick grab and run when it dropped after bad results. hopefully i can make another =p

Waiting for the next Non-Farm Employment Change result as I think it is going to be a huge impact if it misses estimates 3 in a row.
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 3 2014, 09:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Feb 28 2014, 10:54 PM)
Tried Interactive Brokers for the first time - can't say I like the interface at all but the fees seem far more reasonable than TDAM for non commission free ETFs.

Looks like transfer in, cost me $35
IB interface works like microsoft excel , I think it's quite easy biggrin.gif
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 4 2014, 12:32 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Mar 3 2014, 09:42 AM)
Let see how this issue will be escalated, with Putin want to show the world what he did to Georgia last time..
Expects market will reacts  sweat.gif  negatively, but let see closely how the market will behave. 
Perhaps, it is a good bargain hunting opportunity ?  hmm.gif
flex.gif sure hope so.
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 4 2014, 09:14 PM

121 posts

TSLA announce they are opening 30 new stores in Europe @ the Geneva Motor Show today.. pre market up 2% ++
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 4 2014, 09:33 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 4 2014, 09:23 PM)
TSLA is going to stay up in the sky for a while. So, I'm just going to let it be or until they take away my shares at 260 by Friday. Hopefully, it won't otherwise, I'll have to buy it back again during dips. But, those premiums that I sold were pretty good.  laugh.gif
TSLA does have huge upside potential especially worldwide, they have not even begin with Asia yet..

Might take awhile but if any Asia governments pushes Green cars like Barack Obama, it will be another Bull.

30.87B market cap compared to companies like FORD , Honda.. who are around 60B market cap..

Keep looking for some dips,, but its been bullish , missed out the 2% dip yesterday sad.gif

* They only have 1 store Beijing, 1 store in Hong Kong, 1 store in Japan, 1 store in Australia

This post has been edited by Mercy Shadows: Mar 4 2014, 09:41 PM
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 4 2014, 09:53 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 4 2014, 09:49 PM)
True.. but if one is to measure TSLA like a car company (comparable to Ford, Honda, Toyota, etc), then
is price shouldn't be at this level  (it's pretty high here).

Traders are treating this like a tech company (like GOOG), not a car company. So, it's like cool factor here like most tech company.

Say, if there is a miss in one quarter or two quarters, then the valuation will drop like a dead fly. So, do be careful here.

I'm just trading this momo stock. Not a long term investor.   laugh.gif
True.... I'm just looking at the P/E for TSLA, it is extremely high.
It only sold 200 thousand plus cars... and it is valued almost the same as Nissan who probably sold millions of cars..
Unless the Profit margin is 10x of nissan.. this is sooo overpriced.

This post has been edited by Mercy Shadows: Mar 4 2014, 10:07 PM
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 5 2014, 11:57 PM

121 posts

mega_shok.gif wave.gif
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 7 2014, 09:46 PM

121 posts

looks like another bullish day
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 10 2014, 09:27 PM

121 posts

probably due to the China exports report
Mercy Shadows
post Mar 11 2014, 12:07 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 6 2014, 08:45 AM)
market is flat flat flat. no taste. no blood and no bulls.
perhaps just invest in fb and hope to shoot past 100?
Did you enter on the dip last Friday? made good $$ if u did

0.0259sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:43 PM