** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V13 **, The Heritage of Nexus.

haturaya
post Mar 9 2014, 08:39 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Mar 9 2014, 07:48 PM)

Guys, how much to repair this?  cry.gif
Ouch... what happen?

RM300-RM450 perhaps.

haturaya
post Mar 9 2014, 09:18 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Mar 9 2014, 09:13 PM)
Nooooooooooooooooooooo....... Damn that is quite expensive. It fell off a table and landed on the tarmac road.
Get a shiny brand new Nexus 5 perhaps?
haturaya
post Mar 9 2014, 09:40 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Mar 9 2014, 09:25 PM)
Thought about it, but don't want to let my Nexus 4 go to waste. Everything else is working perfectly. Just the glass is shattered. Do you know where can I get this repaired?
Sorry, can't remember where, but it's LG service centre in PJ or something. Someone did change it before...

haturaya
post Jun 3 2014, 10:37 AM

2,554 posts

Bye bye Nexus 4... moving to Nexus 5. It's been a year with my N4. Still shiny and perfect working order. Off you go into the drawer.
haturaya
post Jun 3 2014, 10:37 AM

2,554 posts

Bye bye Nexus 4... moving to Nexus 5. It's been a year with my N4. Still shiny and perfect working order. Off you go into the drawer.
haturaya
post Jun 4 2014, 12:22 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Jun 4 2014, 10:10 AM)
any big difference with 4.4.3?
didn't notice any except the call dialer and people.
Nothing much IMHO, just heaps of bug fixes.

haturaya
post Jun 14 2014, 10:34 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(shenglimzdavid @ Jun 12 2014, 11:26 AM)
My device suddenly had an unresponsive screen and rebooting doesn't work! Had wiped ROM twice and rebooted many times to finally get it to work. On Purity ROM with standard kernel. Is it a hardware issue or software???
This is mostly due to sub par charger. Or a sign of failing charger. The voltage and current supplied not consistent and probably out of spec / tolerance.

haturaya
post Jun 14 2014, 11:02 PM

2,554 posts

[quote=mudkipryan94,Jun 14 2014, 10:49 AM]
imbalance voltage rite smile.gif

[/quote]

Most probably, but the real reason can be varies i.e. bad cable, quality of charger, of perhaps the phone itself

[quote=shenglimzdavid,Jun 14 2014, 01:37 PM]
should I use a original LG charger? I have been using a Samsung charger to charge the Nesu 4.... hmm.gif

[/quote]

Any charger will do as long as the voltage 5V. About charging current, any range will do. Higher amp means faster charging. In principle, the phone will 'request' appropriate charging current from the adapter, and the adapter will 'give' it best. It can be either AC mode, USB mode or Wireless mode.

I'm using Apple Charger to charge my nexus 4 whistling.gif

[/quote]

Apple charger is one of the best - Apple better quality control and better components used.

[quote=azrash,Jun 14 2014, 05:17 PM]
i think it is the wire. idk man. I use LG charger + a short nokia data cable, then i can get the max charging input of 0.8A

[/quote]

Cheap low quality wire - another factor that can caused lower current passing through from charger to the phone.
haturaya
post Jun 19 2014, 10:22 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(yorkhan @ Jun 19 2014, 08:59 PM)
cannot la.. my wife very ganas... cant get too pricey hahaha  laugh.gif
Give her Nexus 5 then. Sure she'll mellow down. flex.gif

haturaya
post Jun 20 2014, 12:28 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 20 2014, 12:25 PM)
Hi guys, first time posting in Nexus 4 thread.

I have a serious problem, this week my N4 got hit by the battery overdrained, blinking red LED problem.  cry.gif

Been trying all the button pressing combos but nothing is working.
Will try to remove and reattach the battery as adviced by XDA forums over the weekend. If that still doesnt work, I'll probably try to get a replacement battery for that and try again.

If still cannot....  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  cry.gif
Happened to my N4 once. Luckily the button combo method works.

Good luck. If still not working, perhaps an upgrade to Nexus 5 will do? drool.gif

haturaya
post Jun 20 2014, 12:47 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 20 2014, 12:41 PM)
How how?? Teach me please sifus. Step by step on how you did it?

Been pressing the buttons til my fingers also pain every night.

The thought did cross my mind to replace it if really have to. Thinking of either the Nexus 5, LG G2 or HTC One E8.

Tbh, would prefer my N4 over them. #fanboy
I followed this Nexus 4

Thanks! This worked for me. I've been looking around the internet and a lot of them say to just hold the power button or to hold the power button and some combination of the volume buttons. The key thing that worked for me here is to hold the power and volume down button for 15 seconds, and then plugging in the charging cable without letting the buttons go.

Also, from what I've read, if you have a flashing red LED, or no LED at all, you're OK. But if you have a solid red LED, then your nexus 4 is probably bricked. With my phone I had no LED at all, then when I plugged it in, I got a flashing LED and a minute later, I got the battery charging symbol.

This post has been edited by haturaya: Jun 20 2014, 12:48 PM
haturaya
post Jun 20 2014, 01:02 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 20 2014, 12:58 PM)
I followed this Nexus 4

Yeap. I followed that too but after I plug in the charger, only red blinking LED. Do I keep holding it til boot screen comes out or when LED comes on, try again? How long to hold the buttons before trying again?
Couldn't remember. It only happened once (5-6 months ago). If I'm not mistaken, I hold it for nearly 3-4 minutes. Did it right after 3rd try. It just shows that white battery logo blinking / charging, then I just leave it until there's some juice in the battery before powering up my N4.

haturaya
post Jun 23 2014, 09:26 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 23 2014, 04:08 PM)
Did a battery pull over the weekend and got some response from the phone, ie light blinking in a slower rythm than before but still no other signs of life from my N4.

Thinking of maybe getting a battery online and replacing it, not sure if that will work.

Should I try that or give up and get a new phone instead?  hmm.gif
How about leaving on the charger for at least an hour. Normally, if red is blinking it will only charge very slow - approximately 100mA. So, it will take a significant amount of time to reach min batery level for normal operation.

I did measure the voltage and current from charger to my N4 when this happen. Actually this is my 2nd time red led issue happen. Left my N4 for nearly a month (since upgrading to Nexus 5). Now it full charge again. icon_rolleyes.gif
haturaya
post Jun 24 2014, 07:15 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 23 2014, 10:29 PM)
Charged it over night and then the whole of today as well and still can't turn on.  vmad.gif

ONE MONTH?!!?  ohmy.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Okaaaaayyyy.. If that's the case, think I'll get the new battery then. If still cant, it just means the heavens wants me to get the N5  rclxms.gif
If you're near Shah Alam, PM me. Maybe I can give it a try.

Yes, my N4 have been in the drawer for one month+, gathering dust. Have been 'downgraded' to truly backup phone. whistling.gif

haturaya
post Jun 24 2014, 10:55 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Fawndell @ Jun 24 2014, 11:05 AM)
Really? Sure thing, I'm normally around Klang or Sunway on the weekends, maybe can arrange for a meet up.  rclxm9.gif
Sure, just PM me. Maybe I can help. If not, then it's a sign from heaven for you to get Nexus 5 brows.gif

haturaya
post Jul 6 2014, 06:42 PM

2,554 posts

Out Nexus 4 is equipped with barometer / air pressure sensor. Have any of you ever utilise it? Say for weather prediction (using barometric tendency info).
haturaya
post Aug 8 2014, 06:31 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(soohing @ Aug 8 2014, 12:24 AM)
just changed my nexus 4 battery.

Why changed? Old battery gone kaput?

How much for the new one? Is it original or after market?

haturaya
post Aug 12 2014, 05:38 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(DjK @ Aug 12 2014, 12:29 PM)
Hi guys,

I have owned my Nexus 4 for about 1 year and 7 months roughly. today, my navigation buttons (back, home, running apps) has stopped working. I have turned on show gesture and pointer location to analyse the problem but found that the real problem is actually a section of about 0.5cm x 6.6cm across the three navigation buttons. If rotate the screen and the navigation bar is at the other edge, I do not get that problem.

I have done searches online and came at a conclusion that the fault is in the digitizer/screen. I'm mildly disappointed that the phone didn't last that long before something major like this happened.

Does anyone else has this problem? I'm actually thinking of ordering and fixing a new digitizer/screen on my own. hhmmm...
I'm among the early Digi Nexus 4 buyer. Still running strong, but my N4 have been downgraded to backup phone after I moved to Nexus 5 3 months ago.

0.0515sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:53 AM