QUOTE(~sky~ @ Feb 14 2014, 12:04 AM)
Yes but i think credit card is better.This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Feb 14 2014, 12:23 AM
Business ACCA V9, Global Body for Professional Accountants
Feb 14 2014, 12:09 AM
381 posts Joined: Aug 2012 From: Shah Alam |
Feb 14 2014, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(kitkatjapan @ Feb 14 2014, 10:12 AM) Guys, what's after ACCA? Congrats on passing all your papers.Auditor at big 4? My lecturers all say this is a "stepping stone" into a better future. I know that having a few years of auditing under my belt would really increase the value of my CV, but is this the best way? What about other departments in big 4? Such as GST/ tax/ finance etc? Say if I went in for GST dept for 2 years, when I switch jobs, what else could I do? GST again? Or will I have to start from bottom up again since previous experience of GST is specifically applicable to only within that scope? BTW, anyone heard how's the job like in GST dept? Another option I am considering is working at a MNC. But the job opening is for SAP. Will this warrant for the 3 years experience required since its kind of audit based? But what will my options be in the future? Again, do I have to find another job based on the same department or will I have to start from the bottom again? In the end, from what I see, only audit gives a good solid foundation which I could use for a wide range of job scope. Or am I terribly wrong here? Please advice. Interested to hear feedback from seniors like @frodo baggin For one, I think the experience in Big 4 (10) helps in the branding that you get in your CV. Audit is the cornerstone for accounting career but it is not a must (it is preferred). You can start of with consulting or other areas within the Big 4 (Big 10) but then it would start to narrow your scope in the future. Looking back, not all those that went to Big 4 turned out well, but this is the same as going to Harvard - not all that go to Harvard will be successful. It improves the chance of being successful. Going into an MNC and joining one of those management trainee program or advance financial training program may be a good idea. If you can get into GE or SHELL, their training is great. At the end of the day, if you have a clear goal of where you want to be, then charting your career would be easier. If you are not clear - do audit first. I knew someone from tax - worked as a senior in PWC and when they came out, they got a job in HR. She hated the work and went back to PWC working for tax - maybe the scope for future development is lower since scope of training is narrow. So to answer this question - what is after ACCA - you decide and steer the course. The opportunities are wide and only thing stopping you would be your drive. One of my classmates went to UK to do ACCA and finished it there, applied to 120 firms and got called from 3 and got the job in 1. He is now the FD for a book publishing company in UK. Another applied for 10 got no reply and came back. He applied in Malaysia and got accepted to Big 4. He is now an FD for a large multinational in Malaysia. Both earn about the same = large sums, but the guy in Malaysia has a better life. The choices that you make now will impact your position significantly down the road, so choose wisely. That is just my 2 cents from my cumulative accountant knowledge and experience CAKE. This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Feb 14 2014, 05:43 PM |
Feb 18 2014, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(Pinkdolphin @ Feb 15 2014, 09:21 AM) Yes, will be there.QUOTE(Pinkdolphin @ Feb 16 2014, 02:05 AM) Been there a few times. It better organised compared to Sunway.QUOTE(donizback @ Feb 16 2014, 08:38 AM) It is a proper university graduation ceremony, which many parents want to feel. Sense of achievement. It is also a chance to take photos with your mentor / OBU professors. QUOTE(oOoproz @ Feb 17 2014, 01:01 AM) Take F8 and P1QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:55 PM) Just received an e-mail from acca saying that I can get advanced diploma in accounting after completing all fundamental exams.Anyone receive b4? It is been around for some time |
Feb 20 2014, 03:07 PM
Classes for ACCA P7 (6 seats) re-sit and ACCA P5 re-sit (12 seats) still available. Lecture location is at Shah Alam, Kemuning Utama area - call 017-8786074 for more details about the class.
Re-sit class will be starting from 22 Feb 2014 for P5 and 23 Feb 2014 for P7. 8 classes to cover whole syllabus and revision with past year papers. Those thinking about doing the paper this time can consider this as an alternative location to study the paper. |
Feb 27 2014, 11:21 PM
Mar 1 2014, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(babysept @ Mar 1 2014, 01:29 AM) Lecturers for P7Sheila - Elite Jaya Jay - Inti / Jpro Siva - Taylor Joey - KDU Goh - Sunway If you want online course Aaron - Jpro Other names not in mind but good is a matter of each persons view. Above name list has been teaching the paper for some time already and should be stable. |
Mar 8 2014, 12:18 AM
CIMA will be changing their syllabus and exams from 2015 - all the papers are objective and computer based. They will only have 3 written exams - one for each level that integrates the 3 papers.
It seems that there was a P3 exam question that talked about this and that is why there is a buzz for ACCA to move towards objective based exams. For those that think objective is easier - please change your mind set - it is harder usually. ACCA will have to push hard to get 4 exams per sitting if they are going to compete with CIMA. I have heard some students think that ACCA value will drop if they go objective - this is nonsense since it means that CPA Australia / America is pure crap. Not really - objective testing ensures full coverage of syllabus as opposed to subjective testing - where students can spot effectively and study only 20% of the syllabus and still get 60% of the marks. So for those out there still thinking that the change will be devaluing ACCA - think again |
Mar 14 2014, 01:00 AM
Just got back from meeting with ACCA. The following is the plan - ACCA rolls out the first of the 4 sitting on September 2015. That means after that, exams will be on Dec, March, June, Sept.....
The other development is that exams will be moving to fully CBE but this will take some time. F4 (Global) and UK will move first. F5 to F9 will follow. P level will remain the same. Idea is to get students to use excel and word to answer the papers (which I think is a good idea - since no one writes things out any more in the work place and also no one goes to office with their trusted Casio 570fx) Marking time will be reduced, implying that results will be out sooner than before. Obviously since the marking load has reduced with 20~50% being in MCQ. Once F4 goes to CBE, you will need an English qualification to proof that you have adequate Language to go on to OBU Degree List of other qualification is here : http://www.accaglobal.com/content/dam/acca...ishLanguage.pdf Did any of you hear about Global Law paper - it is based on UN legal framework - looks interesting. So what do you think you will do with 4 sittings? Take more papers or use it only for resit. How do you think the tuition providers can support you? This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Mar 14 2014, 01:04 AM |
Apr 25 2014, 02:19 AM
QUOTE(PPG papa @ Apr 22 2014, 07:41 PM) Read your exam docket - it says use Black pen. Have you got your docket yet?QUOTE(Imdarren @ Apr 24 2014, 10:06 AM) Any sifus here know if its possible to buy Sunway Lecturer's own textbook although i'm not enrolled in their classes? I'm specifically looking at P1 text/revision notes. Here is a cheaper solutionAppreciate some feedback! Go to FRC and download the codes Go to ACCA Technical articles and download the articles Go to ACCA PYQ and down load the Questions and Answers for that paper Print all of it out and you have a text book that is almost complete Now look in the internet for Kaplan or BPP text from the torrent sites and download that. Take the ethics, risk and internal control part You have a text book in your hand. If you ask me, Kaplan is a better choice for a text book - simple and straight to the point (if you have no time to study) There is some power point notes available online. Use google and search for the free notes for P1, there is bound to be many about. On top of that, there is a strategy that is being used by Open tuition, Exp Group - free notes. Obviously if you combine all of them, you will not have enough time. So pick the best mix from the above and you can get a text book. Hope that helps |
Apr 25 2014, 02:24 AM
QUOTE(acca24 @ Apr 14 2014, 09:52 AM) I'm rather complacent as studying full time means having too much time. When i work, there's only little time that i need to study even during lunch time Suits, that is a show that I really like too. Is it possible to finish 500 pages and remember all of them in one night - possible if you had trained your memory like a memory champ - using Memory palace or peg system.Anyone watch suits here? Would be nice to finish a 500page book in one night like mike ross. If you do it the hard way - the way they do it in school, doubt it. If you have little time, do limiting factor decision. You must focus that precious preparation time to the areas that have the highest chances of coming out. That is a better strategy than trying to cram everything in last minute. |
Apr 25 2014, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(brien1193 @ Apr 12 2014, 06:14 PM) Depends on a few things. An example would be like some junk classic car, but after fixing it up the value appreciates as the years go buy. Sort of like a U shaped curve. First off is the recognition criteria. The financial standard to be applied would be IAS 16 Property Plant and Equipment. Since you mention Asset A is experiencing depreciation, I'll make some assumptions in my answer: 1) ASSUMPTION: Asset A is a Non-current asset. Meaning that your entity controls the asset and experiences the risks and rewards associated with the asset, with possible inflows of future economic benefit arising from the asset, And that the value is reliably measurable. 2) ASSUMPTION: Orgininally, the cost model is applied to Asset A, where it's recognized on the SOFP at cost and depreciated over its useful life. 3) ASSUMPTION: It is unclear whether the parts that you have changed to Asset A could be recognized as an asset, or simply as maintenance costs. Need to reapply the recognition criteria as stated in 1) above. 4) ASSUMPTION: If Asset A is experiencing appreciation, it would mean that the entity controlling the asset has changed the measurement criteria from a cost model to a revaluation model. A revaluation model is where the Value of the asset is consistently evaluated based on available market prices. This value would be called fair value. The use of the revaluation model is dependent on whether the fair value of Asset A can be measured reliably on the market. 5) Additional notes: The entity holding the asset can choose either a cost model or revaluation model. However, the entity must consistently apply the same model across all assets in the same class! This is a good reply and point 3 looks very plausible - nicely done. I will just add a few extra cents to this. On the other hand it just management that wants to capitalise their expenses rather than expense it off. They want to claim that repairs to the machine is the reason the value went up. You will have to consider the following standards closely IAS 16 and IAS 36 It could just be a change in estimate IAS 8 hope that helped. |
May 19 2014, 09:16 PM
Study hard time is getting short
I will provide some guidance for the forum goers here soon........ P4 - Study up tapering before you go in P2 - P/L and IFRS 2 + Environmental reporting is high P3 - PESTLE + Value chain P1 - Risk audit + embedding P5 - EVA + MIRR + NPV + Transfer pricing P6 - Transfer pricing + Dividends + Foreign expat salary package This post has been edited by frodo baggin: May 19 2014, 09:23 PM |
Jun 16 2014, 06:31 AM
QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Jun 12 2014, 09:30 AM) p6 or p7? which one do u guys feel heavier? This is a usual question. 1st point - P7 is closely related to P2 and therefore it will be easier to study it immediately after studying P2. On the other hand you are in tax line and this will be easier to handle.i'll be having my peak sept-jan so the coming sem i'd like to sit for a lighter paper. at first i was thinking to take p6 first because i'm in tax line. so i suppose studying tax should be easier for me. but then considering the fact that i've just finished my p2 so should i go for p7 first? as all ias/ifrs are still fresh in my mind. plus i'm not sure whether i'll pass my p2 so studying something close and relevant might seem to be a better decision. can anyone tell me how related is p7 to p2? or how different are they. many thanks! How is your standards in P2, if it is strong P7 is more better, but if you rate it weak - take P6. Just my view about your situation. QUOTE(Kris29 @ Jun 15 2014, 10:10 PM) You have decided which online class to go? You can also consider JPro - which uses materials from Mapit. The benefit you get is the access to J Pro forum and it is also much cheaper.I am considering to take online class between BPP vs LSBF vs Kaplan Hope to receive some suggestions at here. If there are other good online institution providers, please suggest and I might consider for it too. Drop by 22 June @ J Pro Training in Shah Alam if you want more information or just pm me. |
Jun 30 2014, 02:56 PM
Those planning to get BPP text book, I have some old stock (June 2014) editions brand new and used available. Price ranges from RM 60 (brand new) to RM 40 (used).
Those planning to do weekend classes for P5, P6 and P7 can consider J Pro Training - ideal for auditors, managers and others. Full time only available for P4 Timetable is already available. There is also evening classes for F6 - P3, more for those that are staying / working in Shah Alam / Klang / Subang area. Those planning to do OBU can contact me directly - 017-8786074. This a venue for alternatives - for those that have already tried the legends and still did not get through the papers - this will be the best approach. It is also ideal for those that are doing their degree to get back up materials for the advance accounting courses. This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jun 30 2014, 02:57 PM |
Jul 3 2014, 10:37 AM
Those planning to start of your ACCA in Shah Alam can consider the following: F2 and F3 full time training is available at J Pro training from July 15 preparing you for September 2014 CBE exams.
Those that are planning to do online studying for ACCA can consider getting online training materials from J Pro training - which is available now. On that note a student just called me and talked about their OBU status in a college - paying RM4,000 for something that you can get much cheaper is just a waste. He told me that he was not aware that OBU can be done outside - sad story since this was due to internal marketing. He had done all 3 meetings and then told not to submit, now the college is asking RM1,200 additional for extra mentoring. Total cost = RM5,200. OBU course can be done anywhere - doing it in the college does not add extra value to it, since the award comes from UK. It is not an MQA approved course therefore colleges are only offering a service, they are not allowed to award it. Any graduation ceremony for the OBU organised by the college itself would be deemed to be a violation of the education act. So students planning to do OBU - get smarter and choose wisely. It is sad that some students had paid the RM4,000 to the college and did not bother doing anything after that - it would mean that there are many out there that don't mind wasting their money. Those students that have paid RM4,000 should be aware that they have a right to avoid it since it is not part of ACCA course structure. ACCA Course structure is made up of F1 - P7. OBU is not included in that submission + all 3 + 0 qualification must carry MQA approval for colleges to sell. In this case OBU is a QAA approved course, directly made available for the students from UK. When you opt in, your name is registered as a student in OBU as a student as well as in ACCA. Supervisor for the thesis can be selected by you on your own choice - it should not be by force. Obviously if you have a preference for a mentor than - go for that person. Those that have paid RM4,000 and did not take up any classes or mentoring, you can get a refund if you try hard enough. Obviously some colleges have policy for deferral and re-submission. That is college by college policy. Hope that helps |
Jul 4 2014, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(imbenji @ Jul 3 2014, 02:55 PM) Questions. Is the MQA approval important ? Since it is QAA approved course, does that mean it is not recognized in Malaysia? MQA approval is relevant for locally awarded qualifications. In UK, this is based on QAA approved course and therefore due to cross recognition requirement by government OBU is valid.If I did my OBU, does OBU carries the value of an accounting degree? OBU is an official degree awarded by a valid UK awarding university, it is the same value as any other degree in accounting. Value wise, a student with OBU gets the same salary as a student that has gone to UK to do a degree or went to local universities to do their degree. Starting salary is the same. Is the quality same? - I would dare to say that OBU is more reliable since it is based completely on external examinations and 1 assignment. The closest match to this locally is UOL External Degree's, which is much harder to pass due to 100% external exams only. So the quality of OBU is comparable to University of London external degree in that it is externally examined. The student ability is also higher since ACCA audit & assurance paper F8 is much higher than most 3rd year audit papers in university. In fact one Degree student told me that their audit paper was 100% corporate governance when they sat for the paper - this indicates inappropriate testing and brings into question the learning that could occur in Internally generated qualification. Another university student told me that they had to memorize the consolidation answer to get an A in their final year corporate reporting paper. That means that technique was not relevant, only memory. After teaching for many years, I have realised that local colleges and university are suffering from high "agency cost" ~ as learnt in P1 ACCA. ACCA is like rugby (80 minutes of pretend no pain) - students put up a brave face with prospect of high workload. Uni Degree is like football (90 minutes of pretend pain) - students cry a lot for a little work. I am not saying that internal qualification is bad, but there is higher room for inappropriate testing and misguided examination. ACCA papers are vetted by OBU before it is released to ensure that it meets the year 2 and year 3 requirements. Difference - in OBU/ACCA you do 6 papers / level (F4,5,6) Y2, (F7,8,9) Y3 = 18 papers in university studies broken into smaller parts and charged significantly. So if you want to get an accounting degree that is QAA approved, then OBU is a better choice compared to doing a local university program. At the end of the day, what is critical is the recognition given by industry. Hope that helps. Just my opinion - obviously others may have other views. This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Jul 4 2014, 09:50 AM |
Jul 7 2014, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jul 7 2014, 02:58 PM) Hi. Just thought I'd pay this thread a visit (completed ACCA 2 years ago) This is good advice. It is possible to study for ACCA without attending classes - if there is discipline and a strong will. But unfortunately the Malaysian education system is such that students have to attend classes to feel that they can pass.Just a word of advice to everyone, seeming that a popular question I notice around here is regarding which lecturer n which tuition provider should you be taking. You seriously, do not need to consider too much on where and with who you are studying the paper with. Honestly speaking, all you need are these items: 1. Past years (can download from ACCA website) 2. Text book (BPP is my favorite) 3. Willpower U see, if you're at F levels, u can just sit down, do past years for like 10-15 times (always look at the answers), and when the real thing is in front of you, you'd realize it is something very very familiar. Okay, if you're at P levels, P1 and P3 u can still afford to do that kind of studying. Always look at the answers, no point trying to remember stuff or try to understand too much because everybody knows in the end u either:- 1. take too long to understand 2. you dont have enough time So my advice would be, for any kind of paper, look at the model answers, AND, come up with single keywords. each keyword would represent a point, try to always come up with 10 key words, coz thats what examiners look for anyways, 1 point for 1 keyword. for P2 and other optional papers, things get tough. You will have to exhaust your entire resources to prepare for this. Do your past years, read ur text book, on standards, if theres exam kit then do that too. Trust me, at this level its not something that you can expect a pass if you havent finished ur whole textbook, or have not understood ALL standards. Its a must. Now, to strategize, during exams, in the first 15 mins reading time, DO NOT FOCUS ON section A or section B. FOCUS ON THE kuci miao miao questions at the back. Those 15 10 mark questions. Remember my keyword style? yeah, if you have really covered everything, everything in the texbook past years etc, coming up with keywords would be a breeze. Just write 10-15 keywords per question on the question paper first, and as soon as time starts, whack those beeches at the back, do not take any more than 45 mins to complete them, or at least substantially complete them. People just suk at time management, believe me. I was there too. Until i realized that theres no point spending too much time at low point questions and end up with less time for the front. Then, u would realize that you would have 2 hrs plus to complete section A and section B, at this point its all the experience and knowledge that you possess after the crazy repetitive past years and text books. I see A LOT of my friends, going for IRCs, extra class, this and that but all end up failing anyways. Because they dont have that determination to pass, and some are just too pampered. I, skipped class for 2 months nearing exams. Just sat in the library from 6am until 9pm EVERYDAY to just study. It paid off. So remember guys, its not about a perfect answer, no one can come up with that, and within that period of time? puhleasee.. Its about grabbing as much points as you can, cover all areas, know as much as your brain can afford. So, hopefully my advice could be useful to someone here. Cheers. It is sad to see students in Malaysia studying for 100 hours + in classroom when UK colleges are completing the courses in 36 - 60 hours only. One of my friends in UK who runs an ACCA Centre was shocked at the hours given to Malaysian students by the tuition providers here. Why? Kiasu? Scared that they cannot pass? Most students studying ACCA really don't know the secret. I too had missed most of my classes and usually spent the last 2-3 weeks studying from 8.00 am to 9.00 pm without any distractions - passed all the papers in one go too. The formula I used is the same as the one above - past year papers, analysis and understanding of it, focus on exam techniques and stop trying to score maximum marks. Is it possible to self-study P2 in the current environment - YES - there is adequate online materials for students to study on their own pace at much cheaper cost. There is significant free materials on Open tuition and Exp Group to get your learning started. I suppose the only reason some students stay with a college is because they cannot argue back with their parents who believe that studying ACCA in a certain college will add value to your life. This kids should actually start telling their parents the truth about ACCA - it does not matter where you get it, as long as you get it. What is more important is where you get qualified - which firm you are attached when you get the ACCA membership. Now that is critical in terms of employment branding. If you want to do your own business - forget where you get qualified and learn from a small / mid firm - you get an all round exposure. |
Aug 4 2014, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(Carrie Yap @ Jul 23 2014, 03:23 PM) Ms MAgdalene was my degree audit lecturer and she is very good. You will like her class. She will keep repeating the key words and you dont even need to memorise it and u can write it out in exam. Degree students are not required to study all the standards since the lecturers that covered the papers in the degree seems to skip most of the teaching and focus on what is coming out for the exam.Currently Im attending P2 class with Ms Menon. I have to say Sunway fee is expensive but it carries it values. Degree students like us get to exempted F7, however our degree financial reporting syllabus is not compatible to F7. Without strong foundation in ur F7, you will face very hard time understanding P2. Therefore we paid premium to attend p2A class to revise the F7 syllabus. Others may say its just a trick to earn more money but for me, this p2a class is essential. Ms menon is very strict but I think she's very good. She seeks the easiest way to teach all the standards. As for p3, I attended MArcus Kasturi PJ. He's not bad too but somehow I felt that he talks too slow. Just my 2 cents opinion The main difference between a degree student and ACCA F7 student - is supposed to be the ability of a degree student to read up and understand (by means of research). The research skills of a degree student is usually adequate to get through since Sunway JB also has degree students coming in directly and passing first time without any P2A The main difference is the fact that Sunway JB students get ACCA BPP text book and kit and pay RM1,200 tuition fee for the same hours in Sunway PJ. Both are also platinum. F7 is compatible with your degree since F7 is based on Oxford Brookes University syllabus for Applied Accounting Degree. |
Aug 6 2014, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 24 2014, 11:52 AM) Alright, how many fundamental papers are there? You should do OBU once you have completed F1 - F9. This would usually be when you start doing P1 - P3.As I recall, there are three levels, right? So upon completion of which level can one start to pursue the Degree ? If you are doing P1 - P3, it would be best to do it after that point, while waiting for results. The best solution for students is to do P1, P3 and OBU Then do P2, P7 and another option - only if you want get into audit and learn up the concepts If not P2 and another. If in Sunway PJ do P2 alone due to the hours spent learning up the whole IFRS/IAS in detail. You can do P2 + OBU if you are at Sunway PJ. All other places it should be ok to do with any combo. Make sure you complete the online ethical module first. New students that are getting into ACCA in the future, it would be a good idea to get some form of higher language certification done I am not sure if our SPM is accepted since there is some confusion there. Check out this spot. http://www.accaglobal.com/content/dam/ACCA...equirements.pdf The cost of mentoring in Sunway PJ is RM4,000 Kasturi & KDU charges RM3,100 - RM3,500 Freelance mentors charge RM2,000 - RM4,000 Students should be aware that getting the OBU done locally does not get you any MQA approval in the degree since the award is made by OBU and not by local college - there is no additional benefit of getting it done there except for higher cost. This post has been edited by frodo baggin: Aug 6 2014, 10:58 AM |
Aug 8 2014, 05:57 PM
Those that passed the papers - congratulations.
Those that have not passed the paper - consider the reason for not passing the papers Those doing optional and stuck with the same paper for 4 - 5 times should consider changing options. Those that have tried optional papers and get stuck - try getting your OBU done. Those planning to do full time resit / new paper - can sign up at Inti College Subang - intake starts on Aug 11. Sign up from now till that day. Those planning to do part-time classes for P1 - P7 can try J Pro training. Intake is starting now for all the papers. Drop by the centre on Sunday to discuss your situation or plans for the future. |
| Change to: | 0.0673sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:11 AM |