[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)

davkong
post Aug 7 2014, 12:16 PM

reConnect
1,766 posts

QUOTE(akmalarif @ Aug 7 2014, 12:04 PM)
Hello guys,

Need help. Just got keys to my new place and planning to put aircond in the master room first since need lot money for other furniture sweat.gif

How much hp do you think my master bedroom needs since it's quite wide. My initial thought is to go with 1.5hp but fret that might overuse the aircond to cool down the room. Not sure how to calculate the BTU etc.  rclxub.gif

[attachmentid=4084532]

Also, is inverter advisable?  icon_question.gif  Talked to an aircond technician and he didnt recommend inverter since a lot of complaint on it. A lot of customers call up for repair. So doesnt think it's worth the extra money to pay plus higher installation fee sumore.

Planning to go for either Daikin or mitsubishi since highly recommended  thumbup.gif  by him and some of the forumers here.

Thanks guys!
For my rectangular open layout (living+dining+kitchen), measuring approximately 4.3m x 9.3m, I'm using only one 1.5HP unit. Still sufficient to cool the air.

This post has been edited by davkong: Aug 7 2014, 12:17 PM
davkong
post Aug 7 2014, 12:27 PM

reConnect
1,766 posts

QUOTE(akmalarif @ Aug 7 2014, 12:22 PM)
Really? That's even bigger than my master bedroom. Might opt for 1.5hp then  hmm.gif  Save money  brows.gif

Mind sharing which brand u r currently using? Also, inverter? Really a headache to decide which brand to go for since too many brands and features available.

Thank you man!
You can refer to this chart to plan the a/c required. I'm using Mitsubishi Mr. Slim with isensor 1.5HP, non-inverter, the BTU is about 12000 IIRC.

http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=room..._properly_sized
davkong
post Aug 7 2014, 08:27 PM

reConnect
1,766 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 7 2014, 06:58 PM)
Can't believe lah... If follow the table, my living hall really can fit with 1.5hp and feel like cold as winter.

Usually for most 3x3m room size was go for 1hp.
4x5 or 3x6m for 1.5hp and 6x6m for 1.8hp and 4x8m or 5x8m go with 2.5hp you never get wrong of cooling space
Lol... As I said, my common area 4.3m x 9.3m and 1.5HP sufficient for me. But then I don't need my house to be 16 deg all the time, I usually set it to 24 deg only.

0.0513sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:19 AM