[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)

Fazab
post Aug 6 2014, 09:58 AM

519 posts

Went air-cond shopping last weekend for new house. Information overload. So need expert advise from sifus here...

Since most of the units will be used infrequently, our current plan is

3 x 1HP non-inverter for rooms
1 x 1.5HP inverter for the masterbedroom.
1 x 2.5HP non-inverter for living room
(may add 1 x 1HP for dining area)

Going inverter will incur extra costs : higher price, wiring cost and installation cost (~RM350+300+100 per unit) blink.gif

Most likely will take combination of Mitsu E and/or Pana.
OK or not?

Salesman recommend for the 2.5HP unit in living room to use Carrier.
More powerful and better energy savings.
Carrier is mainly an 'office' type aircon. Will that be too powerful, noisy etc? Anybody got experience?
Fazab
post Aug 6 2014, 10:04 AM

519 posts

Also a number of shops (e.g. SHG) are actively promoting the latest Samsung :

Low wattage - 690W for 1HP/9000 BTU. 4 stars energy rating
Claims savings of 31% energy even without inverter. No inverter = less installation and maintenance issues.
Bigger airflow
Self washing - got function to use condensate water to automatically wash the blower unit blink.gif
Nicest design, sleek, stylish.
Average price for 1HP = RM1200 all in. blink.gif

Pay a bit more and got WiFi control.
You can switch on the aircon to cool your room down when you start driving home from work......

Dare to try? sweat.gif
Fazab
post Aug 6 2014, 03:23 PM

519 posts

My family seldom use air cond. Mainly for really hot days only. Calculated and don't think can recoup the upfront cost in 5 years. My current TNB bill, (house got 4 x 1 HP air conds) ~RM160.

Aiyah. I wanted to ask question but inadvertently end up advertising for Samsung. tongue.gif

So,
is Carrier OK for living hall, or so I just stick to the usual brands? Opinions?

0.0348sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:37 PM