[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)

SUSsupersound
post Apr 14 2014, 08:26 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(oec88 @ Apr 14 2014, 08:21 AM)
I really prefer the inverter as my home suffer from air conditioner usage due to second storey is suffering from the heat, open windows with fan running will still the same.

Look like I will go for Panasonic after consulting you guys and my brother-in-law.

By the way, is SenQ good for you guys? I have PlusOne membership there and plan to purchase air conditioner and 3D LED TV from them.
If you are using it for long hours, sure inverter, else basic type will do.
SenQ are good on installment plan and are more expensive than outside shops.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 14 2014, 12:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(akira982443 @ Apr 14 2014, 11:50 AM)
All those added feature is just marketing gimmick. if it really can do what it claims, then all those ppl that uses those model will never get sick anymore.
Nope, you are wrong on this. Indeed it does help, is just that you need to change the filter regularly.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 16 2014, 11:36 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(#aten @ Apr 16 2014, 11:18 PM)
is panasonic ionizer air-cond good?

im aiming for 1.5hp, any review / recommendation for this brand/model?
ionizer, plasma cluster or what ever trade name used, they are more on marketing gimmick only.
Unless you change those filters regularly. Else, just get the most basic model will do.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 24 2014, 11:30 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(vjeyamahla @ Apr 24 2014, 11:20 AM)
Dear all,

My kitchen is 17 x 19 feet and tiled to the ceiling. I wanted to install a ceiling fan but my other half insisted on installing an air con in the kitchen and a large standing fan. I feel it's not practical. What's your opinion?
Thanks...
Your wife are wrong.
Kitchen even with hood will still have some oil.
Those oil that can't be suck out will block the air cond filter and may damage the cooling coils.
SUSsupersound
post May 4 2014, 08:01 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ May 4 2014, 07:43 AM)
He said 1 tank of the gas R410a already RM580, can be used twice only.
His excuse is like Vietnam girl in get caught naked serving an old man in hotel room but saying she is a student doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 12 2014, 03:46 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Notoriez @ May 12 2014, 12:28 AM)
Am scouting for new sets of aircond (1HP x 1, 1.5HP x 1 for Master Room and 2HP x 1 for Living Room) for my 2nd house which is going to be for my parents use.

Am a loyal Panasonic aircond supporter lol. Just even got myself 2 display sets from Courts for total price of RM1.3k. One is a 1HP Eco Navi and another is basic 1HP. Going to install it at my current house.

Been to few big shops (HLK, OnKing, Seng Heng & Courts) to compare prices. Seems that most of the sales man recommended me Hitachi. Price also quite cheap compared to the rest of the brands.

Now i have narrowed down my choices to this 4 brands. Price wise both Sharp and Hitachi quite cheap for it's IONIZER model. Performance wise i need your input.

1. Hitachi
2. Sharp
3. Panasonic
4. Mitsubishi
Ionizer or plasma are marketing gimmick only. Those filters needs to be changed frequently.
SUSsupersound
post May 12 2014, 09:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ May 12 2014, 09:25 PM)
The Sharp plasma cluster equipped aircond are really good. I use an inverter model in my kids room and set it to 28 on most days with 1 speed ceiling fan. 27 on hotter and 26 if hotter still but with ceiling insulation that's not necessary. Sleep mode is a feature I would like to see as the early mornings are already cold at 26 or 24 degrees depending on season. Basically it's on to keep humidity low. Too cold would be too dry. 28-27 is ok for little children esp infants. Any lower is asking for trouble as that would induce lungs to dry faster and cause them to get asthma.
27-28 are night time temperature. You just need to open the windows and let natural air comes in.
Insulating ceiling are a bad idea as that layer won't do any good on removing heat at night.
SUSsupersound
post May 13 2014, 11:07 AM

11,554 posts

For natural air to come in, you need to have openings, from front room to rear room. If just 1 room with 1 window opened, sure air won't able to comes in.
Overall height of wall, quality of red bricks and roof tiles also play an important role on heat removing. Installing plaster ceiling that bring the height lower are a good way to prevent proper ventilation.
Does older house comes with insulated ceiling or roof? But why they are still cooling?
Humidity in malaysia maintained high at all time and never been changed since 20-30 years ago. What has change is developer reduce the cost of building and using low quality materials. Not to mention green house effect.
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 10:04 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ May 14 2014, 01:55 AM)
The conclusion of the matter is that humidity is the main problem here - too much or too high of it heat cannot dissipate very well be it man, animal or machine. Some weather sites like Accuweather describe it as RealFeel - ground ambient could be X but with Y humidity it feels like Z. So aircon still has its uses to cool and dehumidify. The art is in adjusting it not too cold and too dry as how many of us abuse it esp without knowing the ramifications for children. For that 28 deg and 1 speed ceiling fan is more than adequate even for an infant in fleece blanket. Since they don't sleep outside where it's much colder and would risk exposure to the elements and mosquito but their rooms bake throughout the night until 3-4AM, AC does the job nicely.

Older houses needed to be considered in the context of what are the surroundings. Does the occupant grow trees or have a garden? That slows the heat accumulated compared to bare concrete or totally non-gardened dwellings. But it would be folly to think that the physics of heat mass would act differently from clime to clime in relation with humidity. Brick does very well in hot day and very cold nights in a low to mildly humid clime. The heat retained is re-radiated to the benefit of the occupants in the night. But simply not here where humidity is high. It can't dissipate effectively enough until after 3am. Anytime between that an AC helps dehumidify and extract the oven like heat.

Cross-ventilation has its purposes and is good practice to use in this climate. Your description of how it works actually only works with wind and possibly louvered windows (best air inflitration performance from any wind direction) if the air inside the house is cooler. I use that with extractor fans, turbine ventilators. I used it to its maximum advantage during rainy season but not when it's blistering hot - that's where the urban heat island effect phenomena comes into play. But all's not lost since the best time to use it is early in the morning like 4-5am when they are timed to turn on until 7am - brings the cool in and it stays cool until 2PM.

Also, placement of rooms in relation to surroundings should decide if the occupant wants to breathe clean forest refreshed air or street air. I heartily agree with your assessment if their room faces green lungs like FRIM, etc. Unfortunately for my kids, the latter is their situation so it's case by case. For such a Medklinn and a Sharp Plasmacluster (inverter) helps in this situation.
Humidity are not a problem, higher are better for our body in some sense.
Maybe heat removal are poor, but at least our body are wet. When humidity are low, we may need to apply chemicals to stay wet, is this good for long term? I don't know. But considering we are wasting more money on visiting hospital and clinic, it is wrong already.
SUSsupersound
post May 17 2014, 08:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Lerner @ May 17 2014, 06:51 PM)
Today while i was shopping around for appliances, i found the shop seller start pushing Hitachi & Mitsubishi instead of Panasonic for both inverter / normal. (as they claim Panasonic no cold enuf - low in btu etc)

For the basic normal unit, they are all suggesting either midea or haier for me.

How is your guy comments?
I have conceal those piping means for Panasonic inverter setup.
Well, you won't be wrong too much with Mitsubishi or Hitachi.
But the sellers usually will push the brands that has more profit for them doh.gif
Cooling efficiency are not based on those numbers, your room condition that matters.
Like my room, if Jan to May I need 3 hours to cool the room down, June to December I need 2 hours to cool it down. Just because of my room wall exposed to sunlight lesser.
SUSsupersound
post May 19 2014, 11:11 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ May 19 2014, 09:43 AM)
2-3 hours to cool down the room?

I think the time taken is too long or perhaps your aircond is under power.
I on air cond together with a fan.
And now the sun is direct to my wall, so sure it will take longer.
Without on the fan, I only need 1 hour.
SUSsupersound
post May 19 2014, 01:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(taphie78 @ May 19 2014, 11:18 AM)
dont ever buy the Panasonic non inverter. Inverter maybe other forumer may provide you feedback.
Any reason on this?
I've been using the non inverter for 8 years and still working fine hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 27 2014, 04:46 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 27 2014, 06:23 AM)
Sudah lah.. Panasonic older model still under masushita.
Now under panasonic malaysia.

QC wise for local used only, if exported model totally different.
Pigilar, if you want to say like this, then every Japanese brands also you cannot buy already.
Or you are just merely wanted to discriminates Panasonic and want to boast how superior Mitsubishi is doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 27 2014, 04:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ May 27 2014, 12:05 PM)
I am using panasonic inverter:
http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-.../cs-s13pkh.html

http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-.../cs-s24pkh.html

Start giving me "tak tak tak" sounds after 7 months using it even the swing i fix it static and no move (looks like the sound doesn't come from the swing).
anyone with this model got this problem?
Claim warranty, simple only thumbup.gif
But make sure you know the actual cause of it, else you'll keep on have problem only.
SUSsupersound
post Jun 1 2014, 02:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jun 1 2014, 02:01 PM)
end users won't know the cause of it unless they work in this industry. For that a very good and honest AC installer expert diagnosis is required.
As end user, we have the rights to know sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jul 17 2014, 09:48 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(rotaziz @ Jul 17 2014, 10:36 AM)
thanks for the explanation!for the long run it is way better to opt for inverter?i'm planning to install 2x1.0hp n 1x2.0hp of ME. Any recommended models?
My non inverter Panasonic already used for 8 years and never give any noise.
But in Qatar, a Samsung compressor unit can give very high vibration and noise due to the fan are choked badly.
So, proper maintenance is still an important factor.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 19 2014, 05:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(rotaziz @ Jul 19 2014, 05:31 PM)
thanks alot bro kimsim!u sure help me alot rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
unlike those sales person always recommend to put the highest hp u can afford. vmad.gif
There's no right or wrong on this.
I'll consider how long to use on it.
Requirement on it(to just cool the room down or freeze that room).
Then follow by maintenance cost.
And getting 2 lower HP air cond are more efficient than 1 higher HP type as you can "blow" from 2 sides.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 20 2014, 01:56 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(rotaziz @ Jul 19 2014, 11:34 PM)
my intention is just to cool down the area and make it comfortable.not to make it freezing cold.ya,agree there is no wrong on this.but there should be a best solution.
Then just get 2 units instead of 1. Your house still empty and not yet do the renovation?
SUSsupersound
post Jul 20 2014, 06:17 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(rotaziz @ Jul 20 2014, 02:18 AM)
renovation is in progress.just minor.PC,KC,grill etc. Just slight problem,if to install 2 units,i need to pull another cable and it will cost me arnd 300. cry.gif
rm300 are way too much.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 21 2014, 01:07 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(rotaziz @ Jul 20 2014, 11:45 PM)
bcos they need to hack back the concrete and pull the wire quite far.
Then is quite ok for the price.
No doubt higher power HP are good for living hall, but I still prefer 2 units instead 1, as certain places won't be cooled down fast. Imagine during festival seasons when you got visitors, only the blower side people will sit there.
With 2 units, the cooling down will be faster and save more for your bill.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:49 AM