Are you ok driving a diesel car?, What are your thoughts around it?

MeToo
post Dec 9 2013, 02:42 PM

9,333 posts

1. After 25th each month difficult pump diesel due to "Quota" habis
2. Malaysia's diesel is... shit. Still using Euro 2.5 whereas people using Euro 5/6.

The top 2 concern for me. Otherwise its all good.
MeToo
post Dec 9 2013, 03:38 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 9 2013, 03:22 PM)
I believe it is designed that way as a safety feature so that it is impossible for you to put in the larger petrol pump
nozzle into your diesel tank.
Don't know how much the government will subsidise the EURO 5/6 diesel but when it comes, are we willing to pay the price somewhere close to RON 97 pricing?
Yes to turbo diesel.  smile.gif
INternational prices for RON97 and Diesel is still quite far apart. I dont see how a Euro 5 diesel can be same price as RON97.

Lets take Shell prices in Singapore as an example.

RON98 : SGD 2.31
Euro 5 Diesel : SGD 1.68

Price of RON98 is 37.4% higher then Euro 5 Diesel.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Dec 9 2013, 03:39 PM
MeToo
post Dec 9 2013, 04:01 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 9 2013, 03:52 PM)
Hahaha don't need to be tall, when I meant angle, normally the angle we put it in is that the handle will be pointing downwards as normal. Try rotating it clockwise and try to slow push it in, you might find the right angle putting it in.
So, if the hose is bigger then the hole... u need to rotate it around, and find an upside down angle to push it in? blush.gif
MeToo
post Dec 9 2013, 06:04 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Dec 9 2013, 05:14 PM)
Not sure how true is this but Euro 4 diesel is coming to our shores in 2015
http://www.cbt.com.my/2013/12/09/euro-4-di...sumers-in-2015/
YOu have a better chance of Malaysia becoming a Developed Nation by 2020.......

They been setting target and 'talking' about it for way too long...

Anyway, I heard form my frens in the oil majors, they are actualyl bringing in Euro 4 diesel for the time being, due to a shortage of Euro 2.5 diesel in the market.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Dec 9 2013, 06:05 PM
MeToo
post Dec 9 2013, 07:14 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 9 2013, 07:11 PM)
You just need to remove the Diesel Particulate Filter which most recon diesel cars come with.
Whoa.... u actually have to remove the particulate filter so our diesel can run properly without clogging things up...

Just how BAD is our Euro 2.5 sweat.gif
MeToo
post Dec 12 2013, 10:27 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 12 2013, 07:45 AM)
my issue with hybrids is, you have to adjust your driving in order to meet the claimed fuel consumption[cool.gif, meaning you always have to be aware of not accelarating too hard, concentrating on all those lights and bars and what not.

a diesel is itself inherently efficient already, even if you dont pay too much attention to driving style you'll still enjoy savings and when you do put your foot down it doesnt get all screamy at you that you're killing trees, choking the world etc etc , flashing angry lights and graphs until you slow down
My number one pet peeve.

I test drove the CRZ, and was blown away by how (under) power the car is. When i put it to "Economy" I thought the car broke down and is not moving... until the sale person nodded sagely and said "Memang macam ini, tak ada power".

If I have to drive liek that to get xyxKM/liter..... then give me the smog producing tree killing diesel any day.
MeToo
post Dec 12 2013, 12:36 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 12 2013, 12:16 PM)
1) Yup totally agreed, the cars with the larger CC petrol engines will outrun the diesels because the diesel engines will then run out of breath. They call it the PME syndrome.

2) Actually it is RM120 for 750km 100% city driving. Still less than the Hybrid but without the fun of the torque pull.

3) Long stretch flat road, yes, the car with more horsepower will usually fly away. But on a hill climb, the torque from the diesel does play a very important role and help them out.
Its a given as usually petrol cars comes with higher HP if cc being equal. But, how fast we wanna go on the highway? I usually dont push anything above 220.... if someone still coming at those speed i wont bother to push anymore, why bother push to 230/240/250... sure u can go... but the safety/risk ratio just went thru the roof.

So reckon anything above 200kmh is kinda a moot point.

MeToo
post Dec 12 2013, 01:09 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Dec 12 2013, 01:02 PM)
Highways aren't the best place to test that. I notice that a lot more on the track, after turns 14 and turns 15 in Sepang.
I aint bringing a pickup to sepang lol!

I'll just use it for spewing black smoke at the car behind, shining my headlights into the car infront, and generally bullying smaller cars on the road tongue.gif
MeToo
post Dec 12 2013, 02:51 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Jonah Lomu @ Dec 12 2013, 02:32 PM)
Bro. . With yr pickup. . If someone come fast also no need to bother.. coz yr ride is big and they can't see front they will slow down.. They Flash also no point.. coz ye bumper so high can't feel the flash also. As long as you not doing 30kmh on fast Lane la. . Lol. .
Cannot lah... like that become road hogger jor.. too much le tongue.gif

0.0501sec    0.45    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:38 PM