weikee
post May 22 2017, 09:44 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 09:31 AM)
You looking for unusual fetish. Where to get? 😝

Suggest to you to use some prerecord audio electronics board. Put a switch and you can use it.
Arduino biggrin.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGnMqPERvCw

Got less complex design, just google around.
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 10:20 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 09:31 AM)
You looking for unusual fetish. Where to get? 😝

Suggest to you to use some prerecord audio electronics board. Put a switch and you can use it.
got lah but i too lazy to mess with it. in china (from aliexpress, etc) can find those wav/mp3 doorbell. then you put your own file in it, tada.... rclxms.gif
but problem is my wiring is 240V, need to think about where to put the transformer etc

I dont mind something like this - I want only the mechanism to pull the bell. I dont want the bell. I want to use my wind chimes and attach to the puller/control unit
Any ideas? like some kind of servo

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 22 2017, 10:20 AM
weikee
post May 22 2017, 10:24 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:20 AM)
got lah but i too lazy to mess with it. in china (from aliexpress, etc) can find those wav/mp3 doorbell. then you put your own file in it, tada.... rclxms.gif
but problem is my wiring is 240V, need to think about where to put the transformer etc

I dont mind something like this - I want only the mechanism to pull the bell. I dont want the bell. I want to use my wind chimes and attach to the puller/control unit

Use servo motor smile.gif
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 10:26 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 10:24 AM)
Use servo motor  smile.gif
ah! thanks. now where to find?
ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:16 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:20 AM)

Get that aliexpress wav/mp3 la.

Powersupply easy la. Just get the switching powersupply. Wire 240v in. Than joint the dc wire to the board. That's all.

The chimes also not difficult. Either use A DC vibrator motor or solenoid.

Vibrator motor -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/UXCELL-Rate...2d-d5cac3c2b106

Solenoid -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hto-0420L3v...c5-8eb50aa6e6be

Parts you need,
1) powersupply 240v-> 5v/12vdc
2) Vibrator motor or solenoid
3) switch
4) casing.

ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:17 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 09:44 AM)
Arduino biggrin.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGnMqPERvCw

Got less complex design, just google around.
You need learn the arduino prg and board before able to DIY.

Not for normal people.

Buy the ready make.
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 01:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 01:16 PM)
Get that aliexpress wav/mp3 la.

Powersupply easy la. Just get the switching powersupply. Wire 240v in. Than joint the dc wire to the board. That's all.

The chimes also not difficult. Either use A DC vibrator motor or solenoid.

Vibrator motor -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/UXCELL-Rate...2d-d5cac3c2b106

Solenoid -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hto-0420L3v...c5-8eb50aa6e6be

Parts you need,
1) powersupply 240v-> 5v/12vdc
2) Vibrator motor or solenoid
3) switch
4) casing.
You should know my DIY skills not good la
I sked burn down the house
my boss will fry my sotong 😭

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 22 2017, 01:25 PM
weikee
post May 22 2017, 01:48 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:26 AM)
ah! thanks. now where to find?
You can also get a normal DC motor, spring load it. If you don't have, the motor shaft will not "park" back.
weikee
post May 22 2017, 01:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 01:17 PM)
You need learn the arduino prg and board before able to DIY.

Not for normal people.

Buy the ready make.
For non Arduino savvy, best is get a simple motor, spring load it, but this need some mechanical work.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:59 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 01:23 PM)
Nah

No fried sotong. No electrical. No fire.

Classic look too.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 02:02 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 01:51 PM)
For non Arduino savvy, best is get a simple motor, spring load it, but this need some mechanical work.
That vibrator motor is simple enough. Press the switch and activate the motor. That counter weight will hit the spring or chime in high speed. Create the shaking chime.

Nothing much mechanical work require. A bracket to mount the motor and chime together.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 02:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 01:23 PM)
Teh tarik on you.

Nah

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/NURB...0557668320.html

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Honeywell-Char...8UAAOSw42dZCTu-

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hot-Selling...04-b65f2cad0eed

In second thought, I prefer starbuck latte. tongue.gif
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 02:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 02:22 PM)
rclxms.gif
ozak
post May 22 2017, 03:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 02:30 PM)
rclxms.gif
Don't come and complain still no door bell.

idoblu
post May 22 2017, 04:14 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 03:06 PM)
Don't come and complain still no door bell.
I wait a few more years then complain innocent.gif
iamoracle
post Aug 14 2017, 10:10 AM

614 posts

Want to know that if I can convert doorbell point with 4 wires to a wall socket. Instead of using it for doorbell, I want to use it power up an IP security camera.

How to rewire the wires to the wall socket?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Aug 14 2017, 10:12 AM
idoblu
post Aug 14 2017, 11:11 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i still no door bell sad.gif
180jin
post Aug 14 2017, 11:28 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Aug 14 2017, 10:10 AM)
Want to know that if I can convert doorbell point with 4 wires to  a wall socket.  Instead of using it for doorbell, I want to use it power up an IP security camera.

How to rewire the wires to the wall socket?

Thanks in advance.
Ur door bell point should have 5 wires no?
Earth, Live, Neutral, and 2 wires that is from the doorbell switch

the Live should be line voltage so as long as you have that, and earth and neutral u can wire it to become a socket.

But my doorbell point doesn't have the plastic box so even if I wanna convert to a socket I don't have a place to screw the socket onto, unless I drill and use wallplug.
iamoracle
post Aug 14 2017, 12:49 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Aug 14 2017, 11:28 AM)
Ur door bell point should have 5 wires no?
Earth, Live, Neutral, and 2 wires that is from the doorbell switch

the Live should be line voltage so as long as you have that, and earth and neutral u can wire it to become a socket.

But my doorbell point doesn't have the plastic box so even if I wanna convert to a socket I don't have a place to screw the socket onto, unless I drill and use wallplug.
Yes. 4 + 1 Earth.

I understand that no power goes to the doorbell if doorbell switch is not pressed. Correct me if I am wrong.

So, do I need to rewire the doorbell switch too?

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Aug 14 2017, 12:50 PM
180jin
post Aug 14 2017, 06:31 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Aug 14 2017, 12:49 PM)
Yes. 4 + 1 Earth.

I understand that no power goes to the doorbell if doorbell switch is not pressed. Correct me if I am wrong.

So, do I need to rewire the doorbell switch too?

that's not entirely true, actually there's a set of line voltage (220v AC) coming into the door bell unit itself and that is permanently powered. The door bell unit itself has a transformer which steps down to lower voltage that goes to the door bell switch and then back to the solenoid for the actuator

In other words, the door bell unit is always powered all the time, just that the solenoid which controls the door bell actuator (within the doorbell unit itself) doesn't get powered unless u press the switch, so touching the wrong part in the door bell unit will actually get u a shock eventhough the door bell is not pressed.

here's a pic for better illustration, it's from an older post here in LYN as well

here you can see that the AC part is always powered, so what you need to do is just connect the AC power's Live and Neutral, and the earth wire, to ur 13A socket. the wires coming from the doorbell you can ignore them, wrap with black tape or something.

In fact you can even loop the AC power source to a 13A socket and still keep the connection to the doorbell unit (so you get both). IP camera don't think will use a lot of power so it should be fine to loop.

This post has been edited by 180jin: Aug 14 2017, 06:38 PM

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:20 PM