490 Pages « < 467 468 469 470 471 > » Bottom

Car Tint Advice - V2, Raytech, Vkool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

ryansxs
post Nov 11 2024, 11:06 AM

2,378 posts

QUOTE(M2020 @ Nov 8 2024, 12:50 PM)
I went a few shops to survey and interested on one no brand with Nano Ceramic/ Sputtering, IR 98%, UV 100%, 7 years warranty for RM588. 
My concern is about visibility, reflection, distortion. I want to get the darkest possible without affecting my drive and view. 
I plan to get around 50% VLT for all front and back windows. What do you think? Anything else I have to know? Thanks in advance for your help. 
front 50% cannot actually. but yet people still put. :-)
kmyyy1212
post Nov 11 2024, 04:16 PM

Hi all need some advice,
FWS use raytech RX with IRR 98% and others use MX with IRR 85%, the quote price is rm2200, is it the price is acceptable for this spec?
WaNaWe900
post Nov 11 2024, 11:24 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

notworthy.gif

Curios.. quoted 3M CR slightly >3K with 5 years warranty/Limited lifetime warranty vs RhinePro Black Beauty 1.5k with 10 years warranty/7 years color durability...

and should I remove all original Toyota Tinted that clearly very light sweat.gif

Thanks thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by WaNaWe900: Nov 11 2024, 11:25 PM
dog999
post Nov 12 2024, 01:35 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Nov 11 2024, 11:24 PM)
notworthy.gif

Curios.. quoted 3M CR slightly >3K with 5 years warranty/Limited lifetime warranty vs RhinePro Black Beauty 1.5k with 10 years warranty/7 years color durability...

and should I remove all original Toyota Tinted that clearly very light  sweat.gif

Thanks  thumbup.gif
For Toyota factory film if still good and new can use back for rear passenger/rear large windshield. Warranty can be cover too for install new film ontop of ur existing film.

Long term durability and heat rejection consistent take 3M no regrets bro.

Alot brands outside fresh install is good but after months/years degrade IRR heat rejection drop very fast. Sent you a pm yea smile.gif

This post has been edited by dog999: Nov 12 2024, 01:39 AM
WaNaWe900
post Nov 12 2024, 10:59 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(dog999 @ Nov 12 2024, 01:35 AM)
For Toyota factory film if still good and new can use back for rear passenger/rear large windshield. Warranty can be cover too for install new film ontop of ur existing film.

Long term durability and heat rejection consistent take 3M no regrets bro.

Alot brands outside fresh install is good but after months/years degrade IRR heat rejection drop very fast. Sent you a pm yea smile.gif
notworthy.gif Thanks again bro... will arrange the timing rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
pizzaboyj
post Nov 14 2024, 04:22 PM

321 posts

did 3M Crystalline on my previous car, now new car but budget abit tight, dont think can go for the best, so need to settle for 2nd best. problem is, what is considered "second best"?

raytech/vkool/rhinepro/etc?
seems like sputter is the one to go for to avoid smartTAG issues

HRV - budget ~3k or less (if can include front ppf would be great but dreaming la)
Waltz_168
post Nov 14 2024, 07:45 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 14 2024, 04:22 PM)
did 3M Crystalline on my previous car, now new car but budget abit tight, dont think can go for the best, so need to settle for 2nd best. problem is, what is considered "second best"?

HRV - budget ~3k or less (if can include front ppf would be great but dreaming la)
As far as I'm aware, only 3M Crystalline series have issues with SmartTag. Most tints even with high IR stat are SmartTag compatible.

Ceramic tint like Horus provides a good balance between spec and price, but ceramic tint absorbs instead of reflecting sunlight, interior
will be hotter when the car is stationary.

Consider adding IrisPro and Hamel into your shopping list, reading through a bunch of post here a lot of people vouch for them
Cavino
post Nov 15 2024, 08:37 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 14 2024, 04:22 PM)

Haha, if you can't afford 3M Crystalline, you CANNOT afford VKool. That is for me the most effective but also the most premium priced metallic based tint.

Forget about VKool non Serendipity range aka VK REM, they are not 2nd best but going towards the much lower range. Used to be VKool user for decades but the price now are priced out from my budget liao.

Raytech also priced quite high even for 2nd best range (do note their best RX for FWS are also non smart tag friendly but other than RX, most are smart tag friendly). Unless you go for even lower range. Then not 2nd best liao. Ceramic based.

Other brands, I not familiar enuf to comment.

However I am using Irispro most premium DX 60/30 tints and Diamond 60 range tint for my cars. Mine are all small sedan aka old Civic FD (supposed to be midsize decades ago, now become small sedan size). That also already hit 3K. Their 3rd best (used to be 2nd best before DX range comes out) are bout 2.2K for sedan previously. All are using their proprietary titanium metallic sputter tint with Blue Light protection feature. If you are in Klang Valley and want to check Irispro out, can PM me to have a direct to a very friendly manager contact in Puchong and Klang branches, can go check out or nego if you want. Already installed 3 cars with them, she have to friendly to me..hahaha...
Capr1corn
post Nov 15 2024, 01:57 PM

35 posts

Any recommendations for car tints which are good & affordable. I am not willing to spend much on car tint as I believe the branded tints are just selling their brands. Yes, they are good, but I believe other oem brands are just as competent at heat prevention. I just need brothers here to recommend those out of the radar tints. Also, is 35% darkness too dark for front 2 windows?
Cavino
post Nov 15 2024, 02:06 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Capr1corn @ Nov 15 2024, 01:57 PM)
Any recommendations for car tints which are good & affordable. I am not willing to spend much on car tint as I believe the branded tints are just selling their brands. Yes, they are good, but I believe other oem brands are just as competent at heat prevention. I just need brothers here to recommend those out of the radar tints. Also, is 35% darkness too dark for front 2 windows?
Yes, it is too dark. Very obvious dark that can be stop at any tint road block. Just keep to 50%++ VLT to be safe.
Waltz_168
post Nov 15 2024, 08:59 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Nov 15 2024, 08:37 AM)
Haha, if you can't afford 3M Crystalline, you CANNOT afford VKool. That is for me the most effective but also the most premium priced metallic based tint.

Forget about VKool non Serendipity range aka VK REM, they are not 2nd best but going towards the much lower range. Used to be VKool user for decades but the price now are priced out from my budget liao.

Raytech also priced quite high even for 2nd best range (do note their best RX for FWS are also non smart tag friendly but other than RX, most are smart tag friendly). Unless you go for even lower range. Then not 2nd best liao. Ceramic based.

However I am using Irispro most premium DX 60/30 tints and Diamond 60 range tint for my cars. Mine are all small sedan aka old Civic FD (supposed to be midsize decades ago, now become small sedan size). That also already hit 3K. Their 3rd best (used to be 2nd best before DX range comes out) are bout 2.2K for sedan previously. All are using their proprietary titanium metallic sputter tint with Blue Light protection feature. If you are in Klang Valley and want to check Irispro out, can PM me to have a direct to a very friendly manager contact in Puchong and Klang branches, can go check out or nego if you want. Already installed 3 cars with them, she have to friendly to me..hahaha...
Hi Cavino,

Since you have 3 cars with IrisPro, I was wondering if you've tested them with RFID sticker placed INSIDE of the car? How well does it work if it does work at all.
pizzaboyj
post Nov 16 2024, 02:50 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Waltz_168 @ Nov 14 2024, 07:45 PM)
As far as I'm aware, only 3M Crystalline series have issues with SmartTag. Most tints even with high IR stat are SmartTag compatible.

Ceramic tint like Horus provides a good balance between spec and price, but ceramic tint absorbs instead of reflecting sunlight, interior
will be hotter when the car is stationary.

Consider adding IrisPro and Hamel into your shopping list, reading through a bunch of post here a lot of people vouch for them
My current (soon to be old) car uses 3m Crystalline but no issues with smart tag tbh and good point with IrisPro and Hamel which I've been seeing alot more lately.

QUOTE(Cavino @ Nov 15 2024, 08:37 AM)

Right now got a really good deal for 3M Crystalline below 2.5k and the same for Raytech RX. I assume both are almost on par with each other?
Would be great to great to get a quote on IrisPro as well.
Now just need someone with Hamel contact hehe
VeeJay
post Nov 16 2024, 12:16 PM

3,848 posts

My previous tint with 3M which I have been using for 10yrs+, didnt have issues with smartag as well. Im guessing that those who had issues could also been combination of the windscreen glass and the inner layer film of the windscreen, coupled with the tint, the combo may not been optimal.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Nov 16 2024, 12:16 PM
dog999
post Nov 16 2024, 02:30 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 16 2024, 12:16 PM)
My previous tint with 3M which I have been using for 10yrs+, didnt have issues with smartag as well. Im guessing that those who had issues could also been combination of the windscreen glass and the inner layer film of the windscreen, coupled with the tint, the combo may not been optimal.
Some cars like SUV which is higher ground tolerance can detect smart tag sensor at toll when going slowly using 3M Crystalline but not all .

Also depends on car windscreen,some use thicker glass materials with high uv protection smart tag cant detect also after install tint.
Cavino
post Nov 18 2024, 11:23 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Waltz_168 @ Nov 15 2024, 08:59 PM)
Hi Cavino,

Since you have 3 cars with IrisPro, I was wondering if you've tested them with RFID sticker placed INSIDE of the car? How well does it work if it does work at all.
Any metallic based tint, cannot use RFID on WINDSCREEN. RFID cannot be place too near to metal as they may interfere with RIFD signal.
All my RIFDs are stuck on middle of left headlamp.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Nov 18 2024, 11:23 AM
Cavino
post Nov 18 2024, 11:42 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 16 2024, 02:50 AM)
My current (soon to be old) car uses 3m Crystalline but no issues with smart tag tbh and good point with IrisPro and Hamel which I've been seeing alot more lately.
Right now got a really good deal for 3M Crystalline below 2.5k and the same for Raytech RX. I assume both are almost on par with each other?
Would be great to great to get a quote on IrisPro as well.
Now just need someone with Hamel contact hehe
I can't say for sure about 3M Crystalline and Raytech RX but if it was me, I would have gone for 3M Crystalline if smart tag can detect if price are similar...haha.

However when I say 3M Crystalline cannot detect smart tag, it happened to my friend current City's FWS although one poster with Toyota Harrier got not problem with it.
So it's hit and miss for 3M, at least for me, it is more of a miss than hit, so I gave up on 3M Crystalline as I cannot afford to stick 3M on windscreen and then only discover it is a miss. I got 6-8 tolls I have to go each day with both RFID and Smart tags. (RFID line full, I go smart tag and vice versa)..So convenient to have both RFID and Smart Tags in Klang Valley.

For Irispro, as mentioned the DX range hit almost 3K liao for sedan. However I can vouched for their extreme effectiveness in heat resistance, worked excellent, at least for me who are very particular about tint comfort in cars that I'm willing to spend a fortune re-tinting premium tint on old cars (ya, I think I'm a bit over and crazy, burned my pocket on this).

Only weakness for me is still its thickness, making it much more difficult to tint and dry out. They hit so many layers of metal sputters and hev layer protection, I guess its the price to pay. Also the slight white haze looks under certain direct sunlight angle that it inherently has (DX series, for me), a side affect that some might not like although I got used to it.

Can check out their Diamond (that is very clear) and Elite (the cheapest of their metallic range, but I got no experience with that). The Elite range also above 2K liao. I guess a bit hard to fight 3M Crystalline but I have preference to metallic-based tint and 3M Crystalline is not.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Nov 18 2024, 11:44 AM
marlboro123
post Nov 18 2024, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Nov 18 2024, 11:23 AM)
Any metallic based tint, cannot use RFID on WINDSCREEN. RFID cannot be place too near to metal as they may interfere with RIFD signal.
All my RIFDs are stuck on middle of left headlamp.
Hi Cavino, any idea how about V-Kool Elite ? It is also metallic based tint, can RFID & SmartTag work on V-Kool Elite ?

Does V-Kool Elite have white haze like the Irispro DX range you mentioned ?

How about reflections ? Are they bad on V-Kool Elite ?

In earlier posts of yours, I read you have had experience with V-Kool Elite, am seeking more info on V-Kool Elite biggrin.gif

Btw, just came to know that I have just missed the ACE 2024 promo, not sure was Elite in their promo list.... haizzzz....
Cavino
post Nov 18 2024, 04:22 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(marlboro123 @ Nov 18 2024, 02:15 PM)
Hi Cavino, any idea how about V-Kool Elite ? It is also metallic based tint, can RFID & SmartTag work on V-Kool Elite ?

Does V-Kool Elite have white haze like the Irispro DX range you mentioned ?

How about reflections ? Are they bad on V-Kool Elite ?

In earlier posts of yours, I read you have had experience with V-Kool Elite, am seeking more info on V-Kool Elite  biggrin.gif

Btw, just came to know that I have just missed the ACE 2024 promo, not sure was Elite in their promo list.... haizzzz....
Smart tags worked with VKool Elite.

However as mentioned, all metallic based tint are not compatible with RFID.

If no metallic signal interference, that means the metallic tint does not contain enuf metal sputter. sweat.gif whistling.gif

The issue with VKool Elite are the pricing nowadays, it is way too high...

The last I checked, a Civic FE with specs as below
1. Front Windscreen - Vkool 70 Elite
2. Side Front Windows - Vkool 50
3. Rear Windscreen and Side Windows - VKOOL 30.

are officially quoted RM4850 from VKool PJ HQ about a year ago, now maybe higher. Sure you can get cheaper outside but make sure it is original VKool, not fake ones. Still cheaper or not, the pricing will still be significantly higher than most competitors.

In terms of durability of VKool Elite, I just changed them off this early this year for 2 cars, 17 years and 15 years respectively.
My proton still using it but started to blur a bit now...and this car always parked outside in hot sun, abt 12-13 years before it goes. That is how durable it is.

As for reflections, what do you mean by reflection and mean bad on VKool Elite? VKool is one of the top bright and clear tint in the market.

For Irispro, they are quite new to market (a few years) and are building their local brand name with dedicated installation shops with 10 years warranty and 10 years performance warranty for their premium flagship metallic tints, from DX to Elite. So that does give some peace of mind if quality degraded after a few years.
Unfortunately for me, silver-based DX series and Diamond does not have 70VLT clear tint but Diamond 60 is pretty clear and not too far behind in actual brightness in the car.

My DX FWS should be the DX60 with 55% VLT (real life FWS is about 52% to 53%). I would have prefer brighter front but when I install, they have not introduce the DX70 yet. Still not the 70% VLT I initially wanted after VKool experience.

Oh...the VKool Elite even if marked as 70%, after install on my old City, its 66% VLT, will still fail Puspakom. Depends on car FWS colouring and thickness kuah.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Nov 18 2024, 07:37 PM
marlboro123
post Nov 19 2024, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Nov 18 2024, 04:22 PM)
Smart tags worked with VKool Elite.

However as mentioned, all metallic based tint are not compatible with RFID.

If no metallic signal interference, that means the metallic tint does not contain enuf metal sputter.  sweat.gif  whistling.gif

The issue with VKool Elite are the pricing nowadays, it is way too high...

The last I checked, a Civic FE with specs as below
1. Front Windscreen - Vkool 70 Elite
2. Side Front Windows - Vkool 50
3. Rear Windscreen and Side Windows - VKOOL 30.

are officially quoted RM4850 from VKool PJ HQ about a year ago, now maybe higher. Sure you can get cheaper outside but make sure it is original VKool, not fake ones. Still cheaper or not, the pricing will still be significantly higher than most competitors.

In terms of durability of VKool Elite, I just changed them off this early this year for 2 cars, 17 years and 15 years respectively.
My proton still using it but started to blur a bit now...and this car always parked outside in hot sun, abt 12-13 years before it goes. That is how durable it is.

As for reflections, what do you mean by reflection and mean bad on VKool Elite? VKool is one of the top bright and clear tint in the market.

For Irispro, they are quite new to market (a few years) and are building their local brand name with dedicated installation shops with 10 years warranty and 10 years performance warranty for their premium flagship metallic tints, from DX to Elite. So that does give some peace of mind if quality degraded after a few years.
Unfortunately for me, silver-based DX series and Diamond does not have 70VLT clear tint but Diamond 60 is pretty clear and not too far behind in actual brightness in the car.

My DX FWS should be the DX60 with 55% VLT (real life FWS is about 52% to 53%). I would have prefer brighter front but when I install, they have not introduce the DX70 yet. Still not the 70% VLT I initially wanted after VKool experience.

Oh...the VKool Elite even if marked as 70%, after install on my old City, its 66% VLT, will still fail Puspakom. Depends on car FWS colouring and thickness kuah.
Cool, I use Smart Tag 99% of the time anyway tongue.gif

Reflections - What I mean is will VKool Elite causes/creates serious reflections... (i read somewhere here that some tints cause reflections)

You have just mentioned another dilemma of mine, where my FWS current VLT reading is already at 66% (as stated in Puspakom B2 report)... pening...
F-66% / FSR-65% / FSL-66%
Mine is an unregistered Japan re-cond car, that's why it needed a B2 inspection.
I don't see any signs of tint has been installed (there isn't additional film feel at the edge of the window). In addition, one accessory guy also say it wasn't tinted.

I might end up tint all windows, except FWS bangwall.gif
This doesn't make sense, i know.... haizzzz.....

Am trying to avoid unnecessary hassles when comes to roadblock...
(wifey is driving the car rclxub.gif )
Cavino
post Nov 19 2024, 03:40 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(marlboro123 @ Nov 19 2024, 09:48 AM)
Cool, I use Smart Tag 99% of the time anyway  tongue.gif

Reflections - What I mean is will VKool Elite causes/creates serious reflections... (i read somewhere here that some tints cause reflections)

You have just mentioned another dilemma of mine, where my FWS current VLT reading is already at 66% (as stated in Puspakom B2 report)... pening...
F-66% / FSR-65% / FSL-66%
Mine is an unregistered Japan re-cond car, that's why it needed a B2 inspection.
I don't see any signs of tint has been installed (there isn't additional film feel at the edge of the window). In addition, one accessory guy also say it wasn't tinted.

I might end up tint all windows, except FWS  bangwall.gif
This doesn't make sense, i know.... haizzzz.....

Am trying to avoid unnecessary hassles when comes to roadblock...
(wifey is driving the car  rclxub.gif )
Nah, just tint a good clear tint with 70 or 60% VLT. Usually never get stop as they look like clear tint.
It is those tinted obviously dark aka below 50% that usually have risk of being stop.

These tint only need to be remove if you sell or transfer ownership of car. Otherwise, I don't see any issue in slapping in a GOOD 60-70% clear tint to add heat resistance and dashboard protection.

490 Pages « < 467 468 469 470 471 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:02 AM