Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

user
post Feb 17 2014, 07:59 PM

20 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any brand except Acer, HP (Need windows OS)
2. Budget - Max RM3000
3. Usage - Gaming (Dota2/Dota1, SD Gundam Online, CSO), Video (Non-HD/HD), normal use.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - No special requirement.

Dear Sifus,
Not necessary the budget used for laptop itself only.

My budget is RM3000 Max. Please help to recommend the set (Including upgrade) options with this limited budget.

Example:
Lenovo Z400 - RM2200
SSD upgrade - RM600
RAM 8G upgrade - RM200

Thank you

This post has been edited by user: Feb 17 2014, 08:00 PM
user
post Feb 18 2014, 12:56 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 17 2014, 08:46 PM)
I think this one will do nicely brows.gif
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

*price in RRP
*upgrade to SSD (~RM400 for 120GB, ~RM550 for 240GB)

Can deal with bro Oscar here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...1751731?fref=ts
He is very experienced with Dell upgrades and his service is very good  thumbup.gif
Thanks T.J. for prompt advise.
I read your thread on "how much spending..". I agree that performance is priority over appearance, but somehow it does play a factor to my purchase tongue.gif blush.gif

No doubt, i'll go through the 14R spec & review.
Meantime, is there any other models (brands) as alternative to this 14R?
user
post Feb 18 2014, 08:43 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 18 2014, 09:07 AM)
Eh? Did I write that performance has the priority over apperance? laugh.gif
I thought I mentioned don't just look at the specs (like most people do), the ergonomics/cooling systems etc. are important as well?  laugh.gif
Anyways, can consider these too if you don't mind a 15" notebook:
15.6"
Dell Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

Again, bro Oscar still has stock for this amazing machine laugh.gif, and you still have enough budget to upgrade to SSD from him icon_rolleyes.gif

MSI GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099, 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* In terms of overall performance, getting the Dell and upgrading to SSD will definitely be better, but no Full HD screen la  tongue.gif
Well, part of the article also mention not only look at the slim & stylish outlook. Spec wise also part of it, that is why i am thinking not to get an I7 processor since mainly use for gaming & normal usage.

Yes, don't mind at all about screen size. I'll look into 15R as well.

hmm.gif Just wondering why there is alot of recommendation of lenovo Y410P, Z400(T) to other users with same budget but not applies to me. whistling.gif

My priority will be gaming smoothness(I can play >8hrs a day) > cooling effeciency > screen resolution > others (HDD space, RAM size, backlit. So still, overall in Dell 15R? laugh.gif
user
post Feb 19 2014, 02:36 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 18 2014, 09:33 PM)
Y410P is over your budget, whereas the GPU in the Z400(T) is not as good as the ones in them Dell units nod.gif

The main reason why I recommend those Dell units, and specifically ask you to deal with Mr. Oscar is because he has stocks for them (especially the 15R) + he is very familiar with upgrades for Dell/Alienware units (he used to be a Dell technician anyway)- save hassle or risks from upgrading SSD your side laugh.gif, and most of all, because of the excellent service he provides.. see to believe haha laugh.gif
Summore he never really kira much when you need repairs XD
Ops, so its my number that limits the choice. tongue.gif
I went through those recommended set, and i think by adding another 500, seems to have more options & worth lappy to consider. laugh.gif
Also, i found an interesting laptop (Insp7000) at Bro Oscar's page. drool.gif drool.gif

Below are sets to be considered rclxub.gif

1) Inspirion 7000
2) MSI GE60
3) Inspirion 15R
4) Lenovo Y410P

Consider priority needs as below ( > = more important than):

gaming smoothness(Not really heavy gamer) > heat management > WIFI strength/connectivity (Had bad experience with lappy WIFI) > Screen performance > lappy stylish design > other factors (such as weight, battery lasting etc) <--desktop replacement

Based on your expertise, is there any set & upgrade that fits my needs best? icon_question.gif

Appreciate if there is reason share too for the choice selected rclxms.gif
user
post Feb 19 2014, 11:44 PM

20 posts

user, if you have changed your budget/requirements, please start with a new inquiry ya laugh.gif
Lazy to read back haha XD

Okay, understood.

1. Preferred Brand : Any except Acer.

2. Budget : Try cap at RM3500

3. Usage : Mainly use for gaming (Med-gaming-Dota/online games), Video/anime (HD/non-HD), surfing & normal usage/

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : No specific requirement

5. Other requirement: Game smoothness > good wifi strength > good heat management (desktop replacement)

Eyed on below recommended sets (preferably with windows)

1) Inspirion 15 7000 (With GPU GT750M)
2) MSI GE60-20C
3) Inspirion 15R (Not really favor of its design)
4) Lenovo Y410P (Not really favor of its design)

notworthy.gif Sifus raymondtong94 [PFT.J.], based on enquiry above, please advice which set & upgrade suit most with this budget. notworthy.gif
THANK YOU!!

This post has been edited by user: Feb 19 2014, 11:47 PM
user
post Feb 21 2014, 12:08 AM

20 posts

Thanks kivaa, TJ for the suggestion.

I read user review about sets recommended. All were buck worthy sets...you guys are good.
Unfortunately, i can't see much review on GE60-20C.

I compared the specification. Y510P seems par with 15-7000 only ahead 7000 with MQ processor; while GE60 has I5-MQ procesor & 7200RPM HDD.
Apart from that, noob myself seems can't see much difference in term of hardware configuration laugh.gif

Beside the wide usage of Y510P, is it possible to summarize the pro & cons for each model?

Example:
Y510P : Similar performance as others with cheaper price, equipped Quad core processor etc etc.
GE60-20C:
Inspiron 15-7000:
RE-15:

This will be the critical piece of advice for my decision making. Hope to make a wise decision by end of the week.

Thank you in advance.

This post has been edited by user: Feb 21 2014, 01:02 AM
user
post Feb 21 2014, 01:04 AM

20 posts

raymondtong94 how about mine? Any recommendation? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by user: Feb 21 2014, 01:05 AM
user
post Mar 7 2014, 12:51 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Mar 7 2014, 12:20 AM)
dell insprion 7000 almost have no wifi... expect to live with lan cable..
Are you sure?? shocking.gif shocking.gif
It comes with a wireless network card right?

user
post Mar 8 2014, 01:27 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 7 2014, 11:00 PM)
according to notebookcheck, it is 2 floors away from the router but i think it varies between countries or depends on how good your router antenna is.
Oh..2 floor away..then that's ok. Well any laptop 2 floor away i don't think there is good wifi reception right?
I was thinking router at ground floor, laptop at 1st floor already got problem.

I see the spec for 7000, its a dual band...what does that means?

0.0482sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:44 PM