Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

l4nc3k
post Dec 26 2013, 09:58 AM

Nerd
968 posts

1. No preferred brand.. But am more inclined towards NOT Asus.

2. Budget is around 1800~2000. (can go a bit higher till around 2.3k, but preferably in this range, unless the specs is really too far difference)

3. A little bit of everything - some mild photoshop, mild gaming (mainly dota2, can accept playing in medium graphics), most of the time use for casual surf and watch movies, music, etc. Sometimes also need to do some simulation (am a chemical engineering student ~.~).

4. Prefer small dimension-ed laptops (13" the best), and as light as possible because I will be buying a new monitor (any recommendation too?) And if possible Haswell core (can live with Ivy League though)

Edit: 5. Having touchscreen will be cool. but i can live without it la cuz for me its just a flashy function.

Sorry if my post is too long. Hope sifus can help =D

This post has been edited by l4nc3k: Dec 26 2013, 10:02 AM
l4nc3k
post Jan 10 2014, 11:21 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Hi sifus.. Thanks for your time smile.gif

1. Preferred brand: Anything other than apple, asus, acer.

2. Budget: 2500~3500

3. Usage: office use (not too heavy lah), engineering software, gaming (i can tolerate medium graphics), photos/videos editing

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15.6"+

l4nc3k
post Jan 11 2014, 12:03 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 10 2014, 11:40 PM)
How about these?
15.6"
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*If your engineering softwares are not very CPU intensive, you can just go for the i5 variant of the MSI GE60 nod.gif Use remaining budget for an SSD. Use the original HDD as external HDD  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks bro that was really quick rclxms.gif
i tried garage sales section and apparently most Y510P comes with GT750M, any idea on this?
i'm not really sure whether my softwares are CPU intensive rclxub.gif but i guess this really helped me. thanks biggrin.gif
l4nc3k
post Jan 11 2014, 12:15 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 11 2014, 12:09 AM)
No problem man, glad to be able to help icon_rolleyes.gif
Y510p with GT750M is an older generation one.. I suppose you can consider also if the price is right (cheaper than the one recommended to you with GT755M) haha laugh.gif
Well, if you need to leave your softwares for them to render or calculate stuffs, then its considered as intensive I guess haha laugh.gif
hmm then how can i know whether the seller is selling me the older or newer gen leh rclxub.gif don't want kena scam later sad.gif
yea i figure i will go for y510p.. msi macam susah want find biggrin.gif

0.0629sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:25 AM