Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 07:34 PM

4,554 posts

time to update my news...

the last time i check, the best bang-for-buck lappie is the Lenovo Y400p...but since then, they improve the spec (a bit ONLY) but there's a huge jack up in the pricing...

so i was wondering currently what model is the best bang-for-buck for budget below Rm2.5k?

Uses: to play GTA 4, diablo 3, microsoft office, surfing... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Dec 6 2013, 11:43 PM

4,554 posts

1. Brand: any brand
2. Budget: 2.5k
3. Use: gta 4, diablo 3
4. Extra criteria: Best bang-of-buck
5: Screen Size: any size

time to update my news...

the last time i check, the best bang-for-buck lappie is the Lenovo Y400p...but since then, they improve the spec (a bit ONLY) but there's a huge jack up in the pricing...

so i was wondering currently what model is the best bang-for-buck for budget below Rm2.5k?

Uses: to play GTA 4, diablo 3, microsoft office, surfing...
fastreader
post Dec 7 2013, 07:59 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 7 2013, 08:03 AM)
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB, DOS, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
hi nexus2238,
where did you find the spec?..i search in dell.com.my and cant seem to find it. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
fastreader
post Dec 17 2013, 10:17 PM

4,554 posts

1. Brand: any brand
2. Budget: 2k and below if possible (otherwise max at 2.3k)
3. Use: gta 4, diablo 3, microsoft office, surfing..
4. Extra criteria: Best bang-of-buck
5: Screen Size: any size

anyway, to narrow the scope, i currently had my eye on the Dell Inspiron 14R (i5-4500U, 4gb ram, 500gb hdd, GT 740M) which cost RM1849.00

would the above mentioned model be able to handle gta 4 and diablo 3?..otherwise, what other bang-for-buck lappie would serve my above-mentioned use without crossing the 2k price mark?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Dec 26 2013, 07:28 PM

4,554 posts

How do we purchase dell vostro laptop online?..because when i click on the link, it directs me to a "expression of interest" kind of paage whereby my details is required...

as in, its not the normal page whereby we can check out the specs and then purchase...
fastreader
post Dec 27 2013, 10:01 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 27 2013, 09:14 AM)
Are you talking about Vostro 5470?
If yes, go to the "Home" section, not the business section.

Vostro entry level business laptop is discontinued already, replace by Latitude 3000 series.
oic...alrite..noted sifu...i went to the home section and found it under Ultrabook.. nod.gif nod.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Dec 27 2013, 10:06 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 27 2013, 09:40 AM)
SSD hybrid as the laptop has mSATA SSD + SATA HDD, or you want a SSHD?

Need to take care of those thin and light laptop with discrete GPU properly. Make sure the air inlet / outlet is free of dust, and clean the fan and re-apply thermal paste probably every 6 months / 1 year.

14" with HD+ or FHD screen is out of your budget, so you are left with 15". And even at 15", not many is within your budget.
If you also want SSD, then only option, iinm:

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

wow...so much hassle to handle a ultrabook it seems... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

actually i was also considering an ultrabook too since the Dell 5470 is within budget, but the integrated battery and also the above "bolded and highlighted" statement, it really make me reconsider... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

guess i better steer clear and stick with the HP costing RM1999 with GT740M...

or shud i still consider an ultrabook?..with or without discrete gpu?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
fastreader
post Jan 3 2014, 04:50 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(MewMeow @ Jan 3 2014, 03:52 PM)
then in 'Budgeting' categories, which brand give lesser problem??  tongue.gif
there isn't....all brands in the budget category have higher risk of giving problem due to poorer QC...so the difference here is luck and how is the laptop used... smile.gif

no offense, but ur question is liken to "which sex of heavy smokers are at higher risk of lungs cancer?"..answer is: all equal risk...difference is luck and their body's immune system. laugh.gif

0.0493sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:28 AM