Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

Gadget Empire
post Mar 1 2014, 01:13 PM

96 posts

Hi Sifu-Sifu,

I need to get a notebook/laptop to carry around whole day, prefer light and small (prefer between 13"-14") because smaller than 13" browsing made difficult due to having to scroll left and right.

1. Preferred Brand - Any but no apple coz I havent used apple before I have 2 Acers previously.
2. Budget - around 2-2.5k
3. Usage - Microsoft word/excel not extensive use, and some watermark add/remove software
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14"

This post has been edited by Gadget Empire: Mar 1 2014, 09:51 PM
Gadget Empire
post Mar 1 2014, 09:43 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Mar 1 2014, 01:50 PM)
13"
Acer
S3-371-53334G50, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP

ProBook 430 G1, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768, anti-glare)@RM2399[1.5kg], 4GB, 500GB (5400rpm), W7P/W8P, 44WHr, spill-resistant keyboard
Thank you Sifu Kivaa notworthy.gif

May I know which one is top of the pick? I hate to make decision on things I have no expertise in blush.gif

Does any of these support Dota 1 (not Dota 2)? I have an acer Aspire 4930G served me very well for almost 5 years only heat issue. I have installed 4gb ram and SSD so till date it is still superb. In case it retires one day, I would like to take out the SSD from it and transfer onto the next laptop/notebook, of course if can play dota then best.

Any of the above support SSD and allow me to play dota? If to fullfill my requirement I dont mind to top up. Thanks =)

*P.S: Not necessary between 13"-14", as long as it is light to carry around (Im a sales person)

This post has been edited by Gadget Empire: Mar 1 2014, 09:52 PM
Gadget Empire
post Mar 2 2014, 10:45 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Mar 1 2014, 01:50 PM)
13"
Acer
S3-371-53334G50, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP

ProBook 430 G1, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768, anti-glare)@RM2399[1.5kg], 4GB, 500GB (5400rpm), W7P/W8P, 44WHr, spill-resistant keyboard
Hi Sifu, I guess 13" is the best size to carry around, am I right?

Which one is the best? Spec and reliability wise?

and which has got longer extendedwarranty?
Gadget Empire
post Mar 2 2014, 02:33 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Mar 2 2014, 11:17 AM)
I already racked up a new list for you considering you'd be probably playing dota like u said
and u might want a dedicated gpu for that

Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo
Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; colors: black/orange

These are in the 14" range and would probably weigh around 2.5kg or less (u need to check the specific details on this one i forgot)

Among these picks, most would go to Dell for their superior warranty management.
Specwise also goes to dell inspiron 14r, newer cpu and gpu. though u might want to haggle
on the OS part
Yup Sifu I read this but they are more than 2kg which is not nice to carry around blush.gif

I would give up buying one just to be able to play dota as my current one serve me well nod.gif

So out of the 4 brands for 13" which would be the best pick then? notworthy.gif
Gadget Empire
post Mar 3 2014, 10:18 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(smithsonian13 @ Mar 3 2014, 03:36 AM)
Hi there all sifus...its good to know that here got some advice to get for buying new laptops...I also have an enquiry to be made

Preffered Brand:Lenovo/ASUStek/ACER/DELL (no HP or SONY)

Budget: RM3.4k

Usage:AutoCAD+Gaming (means beefy graphics is priority) like HAWX2|PES2014|COD MW3

Size: 14"

Concern: Should Have HDMI port|DVD Player/Writer|Beefy Processor+Graphics| Storage is not a concern but if good is a bonus smile.gif
Bro why no HP specifically? I dont mean anything but Im considering to buy the HP out of the 4 13" laptop suggested by Sifu.

I havent tried HP before, have been using Acer for the apst 5 yrs.

0.0452sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:58 PM