136 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 09:56 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Dec 30 2013, 07:34 PM)
Hi guys. Need help on recommending a lappy again.

Preferred Brand: Any
Budget: Maximum 2k
Usage: College study use, productivity, light gaming (L4D & Dota)
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14". Light and easy for travel.
Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Price is RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:03 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Dec 30 2013, 06:43 PM)
Hi there. Need to replace my 2 year old Asus U46SV.
https://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/U46SV/

Lighter and better than this.

1. Preferred Brand: Any, with strong hinge and good stereo speakers!

2. Budget: RM5k thereabout or less.

3. Usage: Work and business traveller. That is why I don't care what laptop. At least able to use Adobe CS6. I use the GT540 to render 3D graphics on the laptop for work. I don't mind onboard, as long as it can display the 3D objects without stuttering.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: cannot be smaller than 13". Don't mind 16" if it is light. Better screen colour if possible.

5. Others: I don't mind a cheap HD laptop. I will change it with my 512 GB SSD from this laptop. Will carry over the 8 GB DDR3 Ram also. So that is not a problem. The main problem for this laptop is that the hinge. Since they made it too thinly and the there is a bump behind the base of the screen, the screen hinge will hit base at full tilt. This stresses the hinge and then brake the hinge bezel at the monitor region. This is an idiot design. Since the screen is washed out most of the time, and I need good colour representation, I need to tilt the screen backwards.

On another note, I would like stereo speakers which are on the left and right side of the laptop. On this laptop, both speakers are placed at the same right side area. It does have stereo, but you can't tell since the speakers are too close to each other.

Thank you
www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
Illegear RU-14 Pro, i7-4750HQ + Intel Iris Pro 5200 + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[1.9kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS

Can buy it barebone without HDD, RAM since you want to use your existing parts.
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:10 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(zzzsyndrome @ Dec 30 2013, 06:42 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any brand with good quality
2. Budget:4.5k below
3. Usage: Dota 2, light games and work.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14" 
5. weight: below 2kg. (frequent travel)

Any good suggestion.
Thanks!
Other than Vostro 5470, can also consider these:

Asus
BU400VC-C3086G, i5-3337U + Nvidia NVS5200 Optimus + 128GB SSD + 500GB HDD@RM3599[1.64kg], 4GB, W8P
BU400VC-CZ072G, i7-3537U + Nvidia NVS5200 Optimus + (1600x900; anti glare) + 256GB SSD@RM4199[1.64kg], 8GB, W8P

www.illegear.com
Illegear RU-14 Pro, i7-4750HQ + Intel Iris Pro 5200 + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[1.9kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS

Lenovo
U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs
ThinkPad T430U, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM3799, 4GB, W7P, 3 years on-site warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 30 2013, 10:38 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:17 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 30 2013, 06:38 PM)
need find one laptop for my friend....

1. Preferred Brand = None.. not acer and dell....
2. Budget = 2.5k - 3k
3. Usage = normal daily usage, internet, movie, excel...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 13-14 inch
5. Requirements = Need Good screen (need). Thin and light (optional but good to have it)
QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 30 2013, 06:45 PM)
realistic with budget lor... i think 1600x900 is ok liao... screen colour must be better lor... some screen colour very dull even though is full HD (asus zenbook ux31a)
Need model with a good screen with "HD+ resolution, better screen colour", at that budget?
Nothing, iinm.
The model with HD+ or better screen at that budget is this:
Lenovo
U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs
But the colour is poor.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 30 2013, 10:44 PM
Aeon89
post Dec 30 2013, 10:19 PM

First Mate Sharky
793 posts

1. Preferred Brand: (Any at the moment, as all the while using Apple Mac, but looking for a newer laptop as my old mac of 5 years acting up)

2. Budget: 3-4k , if installment then maybe can take up to 5k

3. Usage: Generally work and gaming if possible

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Currently i am eyeing Either Apple Macbook Air 13 inch with 256 SSD, or Lenovo ThinkPad T440p or Lenovo Y510p

anyone can recommend?
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:20 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Edward_Phan @ Dec 30 2013, 01:01 PM)
I going to purchase Z500 touch but than the salesperson told me Flex14 is the latest model and better than Z500 touch.
Any commend or recommend ?
or any Toshiba brand recommend?
Budget below RM2500
what is better? too vague.
last warning: follow the suggest format.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 30 2013, 10:26 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:25 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(xget @ Dec 30 2013, 11:59 AM)
Hi everyone

looking for laptop for easy carry ,
beside acer v5 , asus s200, any optional model to pick?

1. Preferred Brand- acer, asus, dell, toshiba
2. Budget - RM1500+-
3. Usage - web browsing, watch video, ligth photo editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - <13"
Acer
V5-131-10074G50, 1007U + Intel HD@RM1149, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL
Aspire V5-171-53312G50s, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1599[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

Dell
Inspiron 11, Celeron 2955U + Intel HD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Ideapad S210T, i3-3217U + Intel HD +(1366x768, touch)@RM1699[1.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:35 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Dec 30 2013, 10:28 AM)
Thank you so much nexus2238. Now I can happily go purchase my new MBA next year. Sometime really feel not so comfortable when making a leap toward a new OS. Especially certain software on Windows I used the most is not available in Mac.

Bro, I got another question, the most identical battery life performance to Macbook Air 13" is Sony Vaio Pro 13" and Samsung Ativ Book 9 Plus?

Because currently looking for the Best Battery Life + Ultra Portable, ultrabook/laptop. nod.gif Asking you for opinion which model for the best. Price doesn't matter as long not acceed 4k sweat.gif
I supposed you need at least 13"?
List down some models that still fit your budget.

Acer
S7-392-74504G12, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8.1

Dell
XPS13, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3999[1.37kg], 8GB, W8.1, backlit, 55Whr

HP
Split 13-m111TU x2, i5-4200Y + Intel HD4200 + 64GB mSATA SSD + 500GB (5400 rpm) + (1366x768, anti-glare, touch)@RM3099[1.07+1.15kg], 4GB, W8.1, 33+32 WHr (there are 2 batteries, 1 in tablet, 1 in keyboard base)

Lenovo
Yoga 2 pro, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + 256GB SSD + (3200x1800 IPS; touch)@RM4199[1.39kg], 8GB, W8.1, 2 yrs

Sony
Vaio SVP13213SGS, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM3799[1.06kg], 4GB, W8SL

Among these, the HP Split has the best battery run time, but it is the heaviest with the keyboard base (without the keyboard base, it's battery runtime is not the best).
Yoga 2 QHD screen draw lots of power.
Battery in S7 and SVP is not the biggest.
So you end up with XPS13 having the longest battery run time among these models smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 30 2013, 10:37 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 30 2013, 10:55 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Dec 30 2013, 10:19 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: (Any at the moment, as all the while using Apple Mac, but looking for a newer laptop as my old mac of 5 years acting up)

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Currently i am eyeing Either Apple Macbook Air 13 inch with 256 SSD, or Lenovo ThinkPad T440p or Lenovo Y510p

anyone can recommend?
You are listing 3 models with very different characteristics.

MBA - 13", very light, chic. Gaming in OSX? Unless you bootcamp or VM with Win OS, not much game titles.
T440p - 14" bento box that build like a tank.
Y510p - 15" bling bling entry level gaming machine, heavy, build quality is nothing to shout about.

So what do you really want?

If you want something not too heavy, CAN look like a bento with solid build, and CAN bling bling during gaming, then:
www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-13 Pro, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080 IPS)@RM3999[2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

They accept credit card laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 30 2013, 10:56 PM
Aeon89
post Dec 30 2013, 11:03 PM

First Mate Sharky
793 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 30 2013, 10:55 PM)
You are listing 3 models with very different characteristics.

MBA - 13", very light, chic. Gaming in OSX? Unless you bootcamp or VM with Win OS, not much game titles.
T440p - 14" bento box that build like a tank.
Y510p - 15" bling bling entry level gaming machine, heavy, build quality is nothing to shout about.

So what do you really want?

If you want something not too heavy, CAN look like a bento with solid build, and CAN bling bling during gaming, then:
www.illegear.com

They accept credit card laugh.gif
haha, thanks Nexus, its a lot of difference between between the above, MBA or MBP because been using Mac for personal use for past 5 years, but as you said quite limited game titles unless pair with parallel windows, but the graphics card is kinda limited since integrated Intel 5000 graphic card

whereas my choice of ThinkPad was well build like a tank yet still efficient though maybe no at this point of time as a primary choice yet

Y510p was due to well gaming machine yet can do other stuff but boy it is heavy sad.gif

Generally speaking just light gaming i.e. Warcraft, Starcraft or Dota type of game, nothing too taxing, i am fine with playing low reso and low quality

More focus toward portability which MBA was my choice but thinking windows can play more games
NeverX3
post Dec 30 2013, 11:11 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 30 2013, 09:56 PM)
Dell
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Thank you for your reply biggrin.gif

Where can I get this laptop? From lowyat or from Dell website?
xproc
post Dec 30 2013, 11:50 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Dec 30 2013, 10:19 PM)

anyone can recommend?
all is good laptop... but all is different profile leh....

mba = best lightweight, battery life
y510p = best gaming and best spec
t440p = best business class and durable

i root for mba 13... overall is good lor...
xproc
post Dec 31 2013, 12:03 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Dec 30 2013, 11:03 PM)
haha, thanks Nexus, its a lot of difference between between the above, MBA or MBP because been using Mac for personal use for past 5 years, but as you said quite limited game titles unless pair with parallel windows, but the graphics card is kinda limited since integrated Intel 5000 graphic card

whereas my choice of ThinkPad was well build like a tank yet still efficient though maybe no at this point of time as a primary choice yet

Y510p was due to well gaming machine yet can do other stuff but boy it is heavy sad.gif

Generally speaking just light gaming i.e. Warcraft, Starcraft or Dota type of game, nothing too taxing, i am fine with playing low reso and low quality

More focus toward portability which MBA was my choice but thinking windows can play more games
mac games.... dota 2... diablo 3... team fortress 2... Civilization V... star craft 2.... Bioshock: Infinite ... Borderlands 2
mystvearn
post Dec 31 2013, 06:47 AM

6,638 posts

thanks for the recommendation
nexus2238
post Dec 31 2013, 08:04 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Dec 30 2013, 11:11 PM)
Thank you for your reply  biggrin.gif

Where can I get this laptop? From lowyat or from Dell website?
Can get it from re-sellers right here at LYP garage sales.
If you decide to buy from Dell online, use the chat button to negotiate for lower price.
nexus2238
post Dec 31 2013, 08:39 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Dec 30 2013, 11:03 PM)

The HD5000 in MBA 13" can handle the game titles you mentioned in low details reasonably.
So if you are used to Mac OS and the quality of MacBook, may be should stick with it smile.gif

The illegear RE-13 Pro that was suggested has solid build, IPS screen, can handle games well. But battery run time is poor if you are used to MBA's battery runtime. It's definitely heavier than MBA smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184
read this thread, there are quite a number of owners of RE-13 Pro posted their feedback on this model.

xproc
post Dec 31 2013, 09:57 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 31 2013, 08:39 AM)
The HD5000 in MBA 13" can handle the game titles you mentioned in low details reasonably.
So if you are used to Mac OS and the quality of MacBook, may be should stick with it smile.gif

The illegear RE-13 Pro that was suggested has solid build, IPS screen, can handle games well. But battery run time is poor if you are used to MBA's battery runtime. It's definitely heavier than MBA smile.gif
read this thread, there are quite a number of owners of RE-13 Pro posted their feedback on this model.
low detail actually not so low also... intel graphic 5000 is consider very okay already...

for example dota 2 will lag abit on intel graphic 4000.... for 5000 it wont...
raymondtong94
post Dec 31 2013, 10:00 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 31 2013, 09:57 AM)
low detail actually not so low also... intel graphic 5000 is consider very okay already...

starting from Intel HD5000, all the games with lowest settings at HD resolution is playable.
technosakai
post Dec 31 2013, 10:08 AM

546 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus / Acer

2. Budget: 1.5k-2.5k, can be paid in installments too.

3. Usage: College assignments, Programming, Movie, Music.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"

Currently have my eye on Asus S400c with a price of RM 1999. Seems good enough for me. But I want to have some more opinion about which laptop I should get for my usage. If someone is using ASUS S400C, then please do a review. Thanks! smile.gif
Aeon89
post Dec 31 2013, 10:45 AM

First Mate Sharky
793 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 31 2013, 08:39 AM)

Thanks mate, illegear sounds great but battery is very much important to me as i travel every so often

QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 31 2013, 09:57 AM)

Thanks for the explanation, Intel Graphics the one i had in my old white macbook is kinda depressing GMA X3100

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 31 2013, 10:00 AM)
starting from Intel HD5000, all the games with lowest settings at HD resolution is playable.
neat, so still can play a decent graphics?

136 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:34 AM