19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2014, 09:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Feb 21 2014, 12:26 AM)
Currently having a headache now, in need of a new laptop a.s.a.p, probably this saturday,
might be going to lowyat to get it instantly, if i could, i wouldve placed an order for illegear,
but need set appointment to even see the unit  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
So here it goes

1. Leaning towards msi, lenovo, but still open to suggestion.
2. Max budget 5k
3. Specs are not tied down to anything
4. Mainly used for gaming and engineering related programming

If im not mistaken, the ones that are sold in shops at lowyat are a bit higher priced than the ones on this forum (due to shop rentals etc) right??

EDIT : How does the msi ge60-20e fares?
You will have to wait if you opt for an Illegear hmm.gif Its a great choice, but if you really need one urgently, then perhaps its not that feasible. Maybe can borrow notebook from ppl while waiting? hmm.gif

I would again suggest you to seek out bro putochip123: https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts
See what he has in stock, last I chatted with him he has some Dell Precisions man brows.gif brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2014, 09:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Kivaa @ Feb 21 2014, 01:08 AM)
So.. RS-15 lite, with the basic setup for 4999 then?
Should i go for delivery or pickup?
I just hope the 3.1kg it weighs wont be huge noticable from the 2.0kg im using now XD

Add-on = Should i buy onsite and nego with "Marc" (apparently all my questions are directed to him :/), or find a lyn dealer?
Usually the size difference matter more, at least to me, that is laugh.gif
A bigger notebook means its also bulkier- not that easy to bring around, with the risk of knocking here and there..
But for your usage, 15 inchers or above are pretty much unavoidable; and the RE-15/RS-15 are pretty light to start with :nod;

As for buying the Illegear, try bargaining with a few people, see what they offer? Tried Mr. Docter already? laugh.gif

QUOTE(xproc @ Feb 21 2014, 09:08 AM)
its a huge weight difference 3.1kg .... plus adapter 600g and your backpack 1 kg... you will hate to carry it around

3.1 kg  is almost 3 times weight of my notebook, good luck if you planned carry it around...

if it sits at home... its should be better...
Is your notebook capable of intense gaming or rendering? brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2014, 08:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(rider99 @ Feb 21 2014, 05:57 PM)
Recommend please biggrin.gif

Preferred Brand: Any (No Acer )
Budget: 2-2.6k

- Doing assignment
- engineering software! (important)
- very slight gaming
- Internet browsing
Preferred slim and mobile/light

- Long lasting battery
-Good and loud speaker
- Smooth in operating/ fast boot
- good heat dissipate
Slim and light notebooks will be get hot when under load due to poorer heat dissipation, its the law of physics laugh.gif
Powerful notebooks (especially those for engineering stuffs) tend to have short battery lives and higher heat, also the law of physics haha
Small and slim notebooks cannot accommodate great speakers too..
Compromises have to be made laugh.gif

I think this one will fit nicely (assuming your engineering tasks are not super intensive), though you'll have to bargain hard nod.gif
14"
Lenovo U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs

TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 21 2014, 08:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Feb 21 2014, 06:33 PM)
1. Preferred Brand = Asus or any
2. Budget = approx 2k
3. Usage = Assignment, gaming sometime not too high graphic
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 15.6
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M @RM1699[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8.1SL@RM1899

MSI CX61-2OD-078MY, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199, 4GB, 500GB, anti-glare, W8

Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 22 2014, 10:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(_x_ @ Feb 22 2014, 12:29 PM)
Question.

If i were to buy a dell laptop, but chose 1 year warranty.. Can i later upgrade to 3 years?
Yes, you have a few weeks (please check with Dell for exact date) after purchase to extend warranty to 3 years without additional charge icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 22 2014, 10:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 22 2014, 03:34 PM)
Hi guys, looking for new laptop

Budget : MAX 2.5k

Usage : Heavy surfing. (I would usually have AT LEAST 10 tabs open. on busier days can easily go up to 50). Surfing always done with music on too. Watching movies/streaming youtube stuff alot too.

Dont play games

I NEVER listen to anything using the speakers, i always use headphones.

Battery dont matter, i always plug in.

Weight dont matter, i rarely carry it around. (But i want to be able to when i need to, so NO to desktops).

Brands dont matter too much.I do have bad experience with Acer though.

Screen size dont really matter. im using a 14 inch now, quite satisfied but am open to others.
Appreciate any help/recommendation.

Hmm, good to see one who doesn't really care about weight and battery life haha thumbup.gif
But still, your usage doesn't really require a very thick notebook either, so I suppose this will be a good enough pick:
14"
Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs; colors: black/orange

*upgrade RAM to 8GB. Iirc, there's only one RAM slot for this notebook.
*extend warranty to 3 years

If you don't mind extending your budget abit, these are great choices too:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2699[2.02kg], 6GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

Lenovo
U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs

*Prices in RRP, negotiable

Cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 22 2014, 10:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Feb 22 2014, 03:11 PM)
Preferred Brand : Any brand

2. Budget : Rm1400 max, lower is better

3. Usage : web browsing, microsoft word, excel, pdfs etc. (you know students stuff), listening to music and also watching some videos

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 11-13inch

i3 processor or equivalent

DOS (but if can want win8) is also ok since university give free Win8 to students

Was thinking of getting ASUS S200E (the i3 one)

or the Acer v5 (the A6 AMD with 6gb ram
Can consider these two recent models from Dell, quite worth it icon_rolleyes.gif
11.6"
Dell
Inspiron 11 3000, Celeron 2955U + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1349[1.43kg]. 2GB, 500GB, W8.1
Inspiron 11 3000, Celeron N2815U + Intel HD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[1.43kg]. 4GB, 500GB, W8.1

*prices in RRP. Upgrade to at least 4GB~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 23 2014, 01:21 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 22 2014, 11:28 PM)
After looking at the recommendations and looking out for more information on internet, I still can't decide for which laptop and in dilemma now to choose which laptop sad.gif

Sifus, please help me out for one last time as I'm going to get new laptop by next week >_<

Preferred Brand: Any (No Acer and Sony)

Thanks ya!! smile.gif
QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 23 2014, 12:50 AM)
Ohh...I see, thanks for the info ya smile.gif

I have done some research and I found out
1) Lenovo Y510p -> I don't like the design
2) Asus N550JV -> Overall quite nice, but say from review says that battery life is not that good.

Y510p is not exactly light. 14" notebooks are usually lighter and consume less power, but they suffer from poorer cooling.
Both the Y510p and N550JV are powerful, performance notebooks, you can't expect good battery lives in the first place laugh.gif
Performance notebooks that are slim will not have a good cooling system. So stylish notebooks are usually hot.
Both the Y510p and N550JV are normal notebooks, not immune to knocks. In fact, only a handful of notebooks are made to sustain tough knocks.. and most are very expensive.

Recommending again, but for the last time :
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2699[2.02kg], 6GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD **extend warranty to 3 years
Inspiron 14 7000, i7-4500U + Intel HD4400 + (1920x1080; Touch) @RM3399[2.02kg], 6GB (soldered), 500GB (5400rpm), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD **upgrade to SSD, extend warranty to 3 years

HP
Envy Touchsmart 14-K119TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799[2.01kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8.1 **upgrade to SSD, extend warranty to 3 years
Envy Touchsmart 14-K118TX Sleekbook, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch) + 24GB mSATA + 1TB(5400rpm)@RM3499[2.01kg], 4GB W8.1

Lenovo
U430T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT730M + (1600x900; touch)+ 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2799, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs

ThinkPad Edge E431, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM3379[2.14kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8Pro *tougher built, but bulkier
ThinkPad Edge E431, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT635M@RM3179[2.15kg], 4GB, 1TB, W7P/W8P, anti-glare *tougher built, but bulkier

Toshiba
Satellite U840t-1013, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch) + (32GB mSATA + 500GB HDD)@RM2799, 4GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty (1st year on-site); color: silver

Satellite U840W-1000, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (32GB mSATA + 500GB HDD)@RM2699[1.7kg][harman/kardon], 6GB, W7HP; backlit keyboard; (14.4" 21:9); 3 years local warranty (1st year onsite); W8@RM3199; i7-3517U/W8@RM3399

15"
Acer V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8 **extend warranty to 3 years

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768; Touch) @RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr **upgrade to SSD, extend warranty to 3 years

Lenovo Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs **upgrade to SSD, extend warranty to 3 years on-site

Toshiba
Satellite P50t-A102X, i7-3547U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM3899[harman/kardon], 8GB, 1TB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty (1st year on-site); color: silver

*Prices in RRP
*Which one to choose really depends on which model you like nod.gif
(**Assuming your "CD" games = FaceBook games)

If its me, I'll contact bro Oscar putochip123 to get a Dell INspiron 14/15 7000 with 3 years + SSD upgrade. I'm sure with your budget you can get a pretty good deal nod.gif
https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 23 2014, 09:58 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Feb 23 2014, 01:40 AM)
Thank u so so much to sir raymondtong94 and sir T.J. for all those wonderful recommendations! smile.gif
Macbook Air seems quite tempting too sometimes although have different OS. I will definitely look about it !

Thanks again to T.J for listing down the laptops and giving some suggestion and valuable info:)
This will really help me to choose the best laptop as my state going to organize a PC Fair next week smile.gif

This will be the last time I ask for recommendations on laptops unless my laptop broke down again (touchwood), hehe xD
Good hunting mate notworthy.gif

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2014, 09:54 AM)
My sister's Asus Unibody Asus N550LF's upper aluminium body not that rigid to accident drops like Apple's Mac Book that will cause dents, and add a lock into Kensington's lock hole. Can see tear and wear on the first usage. Also if the back casing is made of anodized aluminium with brush aluminium pattern which is also sustainable to easy scratches.

Battery life 8 hours on her laptop normally maybe because 1366x768 touch screen. But not sure how long it will last after hardcore apps like Photoshop or Video Editing or Gaming.

N550LF's 1366x768 LED Panel is totally ugly and washed out and not bright enough, hopefully, N550JV's 1920x1080 non touch screen, IPS display, should look nicer.
Thanks for sharing bro thumbup.gif
Yeah, most notebooks are not meant for drops of more than a certain height (which is often very low, few cm only laugh.gif)
Battery lives on Macs are always longer than those of Windows machine with equivalent specs~ Mac OSX is more efficient and frugal laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 23 2014, 06:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing @ Feb 23 2014, 04:48 PM)
I meant Ideapad with an upgrade, not Dell.

how much does it usually cost to upgrade RAM anyway?

I just got back form the shops. Cheapest Ideapad was 2970, RM20 discount, lololol. And they wouldnt upgrade RAM for me, i'd need to go to the service centre to do it myself which is annoying. Im trying to do everything in one receipt so that i can bargain better but Lenovo retailers dont upgrade RAM at all. There's no online store too which sux.

There were only 2 dell laptops sold. I have no idea why, i thought dell was famous.
You are probably looking at the wrong places? hmm.gif

Try looking for the online sellers here, they are friendlier and more knowledgeable nod.gif
devour, storm88, putochip123 (Dell only), hikari85,numbertwo etc.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 23 2014, 09:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Feb 23 2014, 06:52 PM)
Dear Sifu,

For asus , X series and A series , same spec , size and price . Can advice me which series is better and less problem ?
Both are budget line notebooks, quality should be more or less the same... nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 04:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Feb 24 2014, 01:05 PM)
1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo (actually anything other that Acer and HP)

2. Budget
RM1500 max

3. Usage
Photoshop, Illustrator

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
above 10'
Try looking for this one bro icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Lenovo G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1349, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499

*Price in RRP, negotiable
Try to bargain and use the remaining budget to up the RAM to 8GB or more icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 04:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Feb 24 2014, 04:38 PM)
RM1229 G400s 5938-2396Intel i3 3110M 4GB 500GB INTEL GRAPHIC 14" LED BLACK DOS DVD 1YR NEW
RM1379 G400s 5938-4963Intel i3 3110M 4GB 500GB NVIDIA GT720 2GB 14" LED BLACK DOS DVD 1YR NEW

Should i take the 1st or 2nd one...?
Do take note that the two above does't come with Windows ya icon_rolleyes.gif

The 1st one is the better pick, unless if you intend to play some minor games~ Use remaining budget for RAM upgrades. Or for other accessories
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 04:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Feb 24 2014, 04:50 PM)
yup, i aware that...
no game work only...
that adobe thing need that Nvidia not?
Not really nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 07:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(black90 @ Feb 24 2014, 05:15 PM)
Hello,can u all gimme comments about this specs.. 
Brand: Acer
I5-4200u 1.6ghz boost to 2.6ghz
1Tb hdd
4Gb ram ddr3L
Radeon r7 265m 2gb ddr3
15" led
Windiws 8.1pro ori
Price rm 1999...

Izzit worth to buy?? Thanks for the comment..
How to say whether its worth to buy or not if we don't know your usage? laugh.gif

If you need recommendations, please follow the format ya icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 07:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Poissonous Fishball @ Feb 24 2014, 06:31 PM)
2nd time asking (and probably final time for now, need to finalise purchase by next week olol)

Brand: Any
Budget: 3k max
Usage: Moderate to heavy gaming (Skyrim playable at med/high setting), heavy multitasking (~30 browser tabs at one go), sound/video editing.
Screen Size: 14" -15.6". FullHD not essential.

Still looking at Y410p or a 2nd Hand Y510p.
Interested to know how does Dell Inspiron 15R with i7-4500U and Radeon 8850M compare with the above 2 - better GC but less powerful CPU...
I suppose the Inspiron 15R is the better pick here (bro Oscar putochip123 has plenty of stocks), since the Y410p is a big small for video editing, whereas 2nd hand notebooks are a bit riskier to get... but if you can afford a new Y510p, its quite worth it since it comes with FullHD thumbup.gif

For your case, try and nego with bro Oscar for one with SSD brows.gif
Can reach him here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 07:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kingks @ Feb 24 2014, 06:51 PM)
Dear Sifus,  please help
1. Preferred Brand
Any

2. Budget
2-2.5k, slightly more if required

3. Usage
Web browsing, Microsoft office, watching movies, occasional gaming

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
14 and above, touch screen would be good

Thanks a lot!
how about these?
14"
Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP Pavilion 14-N223TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2399[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8.1; colors: silver/black

Lenovo Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony Vaio SVF14318SG, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white

Toshiba Satellite S40t-AS102X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2449[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; color: silver

*Prices in RRP
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 07:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cmj1982 @ Feb 24 2014, 07:33 PM)
Dear,
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: About 2k to 2.5k
3. Usage: CS photoshop editing, video editing (full HD)
The cheapest FullHD laptop in the market is this one:
15.6"
MSI GP60-2OD-259MY, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 08:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kingks @ Feb 24 2014, 08:38 PM)
Thanks!  What do you think of Asus Vivo books?  Say S400?
It doesn't have a dedicated GPU, not suitable for gaming nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Feb 24 2014, 10:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kingks @ Feb 24 2014, 10:44 PM)
Ya hor, haha! How about lenovo flex 14? Seems good too,  also light. Sorry for the many questions, I'm really quite noob when it comes to these things.  laugh.gif
Dafuq? Why are you talking to yourself? haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
The ones recommended to you have better GPUs for gaming nod.gif
The one in Flex14 is not as good

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:28 AM