Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion

shackks
post Jan 13 2014, 11:20 PM

1,777 posts

Hello all Venteran Pug Owners,
I've just booked a 408 NA which the pricing is within my budget and I'd enough of Turbos already.

I booked the 408 after a test drive as the experience is truly wonderful and the cute SA managed to get me some attractive discount, RM6000 over trade and another RM6000 discount. To some, I might as well chosen the 5 yr free maintenance package but, somehow, I took the over trade option at the end of the day. But then, no freebies from the SA.

To be frank, I din't even bother to test any other brands as my friend own an Altis which I find it boring(like an Account Manager) and those Civics doesn't give out the impression I wish to express. But the 408 has got the "ooooh" factor, plus it's attractive sleek lines. Definitely, not the exuberance of luxury, but enough to be proud for driving one.

I'm now waiting for my loan to be process and the SA is finding dealer to buy my current ride.

Sorry for the long post, but kinda excited and anxious of owning my first conti. Hopefully, all goes well and I shall be able to share more wonderful experience with fellow owners here.

Au Revoir...
shackks
post Jan 14 2014, 07:30 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Jan 14 2014, 02:58 PM)
Good to hear on your decision, but you said you have enough of turbos, what car was it? What issues you encountered?
Those younger days, when replacing proton with mitsu engines were the trends. But those short moment of excitement were often greet with days in the workshop. Realised much of the miney and time were wasted in the workshop and got tired of it.

So, I am happy with the 2.0 NA, although I believe the 1.6T is surely fun to drive.

This post has been edited by shackks: Jan 14 2014, 07:38 PM
shackks
post Jan 14 2014, 11:56 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 14 2014, 07:46 PM)
Turbo technology today has improved by leaps and bounds. It's a lot more reliable form the old designs. The 1.6THP on the 408t is the more reliable of the Prince series. This makes ownership of this car a wonderful experience. However maintenance after warranty will be high.

The NA is certainly a great bargain. On the long run it will be cheaper to maintain too. Congrats on your NA,enjoy it bro!  tongue.gif
I certainly agree with you. thumbup.gif

However, my priority is different now so I no longer can afford the time and money for my car to be in and out of the SC. biggrin.gif
shackks
post Jan 15 2014, 10:36 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 15 2014, 03:43 PM)
Can say that Ron97 is kinda waste to used on 408. Ron95 will do.
Even traveling on highway, i.e. North South Highway?
shackks
post Jan 16 2014, 09:16 AM

1,777 posts

Does anyone applirs Rain-X or any water repellant on your 408 windscreen?

I read that visibility is made worst during raining due to the poor conversion of the windscreen wipers. The water repellant may help to improve visibility, imo.
shackks
post Jan 17 2014, 08:10 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(tan chee keong @ Jan 16 2014, 06:58 PM)
i apply rian x too. first of all u must wash n clean the windscreen then only apply on it then wash it again n let it dry. u can go to internet search on it how to do it.
Need to wash after applying rain x? I normally apply it after wash, then just use another dry pc of cloth to wipe the windscreen.
shackks
post Jan 19 2014, 01:36 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Eugene Ong @ Jan 19 2014, 12:12 PM)
    I been using for quite some times about 10 year. I recommended get a good one like Turtle wax. You should get the windscreen washer (apply to the tank) and the rain-x . This to prevent the oil in the screen and the chemical apply to your windscreen been wash out.

How I normally do it?

1. Wash the windscreen with soap, make sure there is no oil left behide.
2. Wait until dry.
3. Apply the rain-x with a clothes
4. Clean it with old news paper.
5. You are good to go. Normally take about 3-4 month apply once.

If you ask me do I apply inside the windscreen. I do apply to prevent the fog too.

Cheer, Hope this help
Thatz how I applied Rain X too. But nvr poured any chemicals into the windscreen washer tank. Some technician was tellng me doing so will decrease tje lifespan of the wipers, but it's due to plain laziness, honestly tongue.gif.

Does applying inside part of windscreen really prevents fog? Hmmm.... will think abt it.

Thanks bro.
shackks
post Jan 28 2014, 08:57 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(flex3x @ Jan 27 2014, 04:47 PM)
Congrats bro and enjoy your ride on this coming holiday  rclxms.gif
Congrats to you on your new ride.

Hopefully, I'm able to get my 408 today as well. It's has been antagonising waiting for it's arrival...
shackks
post Jan 28 2014, 11:10 PM

1,777 posts

Pls add me to the 408 2.0 list: Shackks, Black.

I did not noticed any left pull when driving the car home after collecting the car.

Anyone can advice how long is the engine run-in? The agent suggest 1000km and advice me to be light on the pedal. Anyone with different views on this?

Cheers
shackks
post Feb 2 2014, 08:10 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Feb 2 2014, 10:26 AM)
Gong xi fi cai!

Did anyone experience steering vibration especially at a shopping mall parking with a cement surface when making a turning ie in a stationary while reversing into a parking bay?
I only experienced vibrations during braking. Mileage is just 400+km. Agent did mentioned abt it as the brake pad is still new. But it felt more like d brake disc is not even.

My first tank of RON97 achieved abt 350+km, with about 80km more to go(according to the display).

shackks
post Feb 2 2014, 09:18 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(alphamike735 @ Feb 2 2014, 09:04 PM)
Im having the same problem disc uneven so vibrating while braking.Got it replaced under warranty at 10K serviving.Brake disc warranty only until 20k mileage.
Thanks, I'll get them to chk during the first inspection.

One more thing, I noticed there's some whistling noise whenever I accelerate i.e. step on the pedal. Anyone else experienced this issue?
shackks
post Feb 13 2014, 06:02 PM

1,777 posts

Hi guys,
Happy CNY. been busy with family stuff during so no time come in forum.

My 408 has travelled about 1.7k km and i found the car kinda floats while travelling in high speed ard 160km/h to 180km/h.

Need to check with u guys, does ur driver side power windows able to wind down completely after pressing the switch? All the 3 other windows are able to, just the driver side cannot. How abt u guys?
shackks
post Feb 13 2014, 11:17 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Feb 13 2014, 10:31 PM)
You driving 1.6T or NA?
To completely wind down the windows, you press once and wait it down until it stop. Now you press one more time, the windows should completely wind down. Hope this helps..
Thanks for the reply. I'm driving d NA.
I'll try that later. Which means the second press on the switch will wind down d windows completely?

Thanks again.
shackks
post Feb 14 2014, 09:44 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(eusened @ Feb 14 2014, 09:18 AM)
hmmm, why so weird about your car? I never feel my car is floating even driving at 180km/h. All my friend tot that I was driving at 120-130km/h
Hope you are not comparing it to some other class.
I oso not sure. May it due to the tyres. I'm considering to change to 18 inch rims when my wallet permits.

Is the 1.6 Turbo suspension different from the 2.0 NA? My SA told both variance using different suspension.
shackks
post Feb 14 2014, 11:41 AM

1,777 posts

Ic... so itz possible for the 2.0 NA to use the 1.6 Turbo springs ans absorber then?

Thanks. I'll check with the SC during the first inspection.
shackks
post Feb 15 2014, 02:40 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Feb 14 2014, 12:36 PM)
Not sure if can or not. But the suspension settings for NA and Turbo is definitely different. Turbo is harder. Plus if you use 18", your ride will be quite bumpy and a little bit more noisy. This is base on my personal experience and something for you to consider. Every bit of uneven road or small stones or small hole, you WILL FEEL it either from the steering or your butt. So now when i drive in road with bad condition, like kura-kura. Even kancil will tailgate me and overtake me. Hahahahahha. But when the road opens up................
Thanks for your sharing ur opinion, I'm thinking of changing to 18" n suspension sets to improve the handling. I'l certainly takes your points into consideration.

I'm pretty sure the suspension is inter-changeable as the platform for both the variance are same. It's just the matter of costing.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Feb 14 2014, 12:48 PM)
If so... y dont u choose Turbo over NA at the first place? Lolx...
You can change all ur suspension, however it will cost a bomb. At the end ur NA is higher price than the Turbo. And I dount SC willing to do it for u, if you change it at other workshop, endup void ur warranty.
Not recommended.
hehe... As I had mentioned earlier, I'm not very keen on the Turbo version as I'm tired of the maintenance in the long run as these engines can be very troublesome when it starts to manja.

Middle aged Ah Pek, so not very good to spent too much time in the SC, or else, wife will mad.gif

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 14 2014, 01:15 PM)
Difference between NA and turbo is less than 20K. Many ppl did not realize what a steal this is. To reconfigure to the sporty suspension alone may cost 10K.

To completely reconfigure the NA to a turbo models with 6spd gb + all safety equipment would probably cost more than $70K ( wild guess )! 

The NA is still a very good buy,especially with the present discounts. However potential buyers should carefully consider before singing on the dotted line.
I'll be just converting the suspension and the tyre+rims only, would not touch the engines nor the transmission part. I'm very satisfied with the 2.0 performance as it is and would not do anything more to potong steam. biggrin.gif

By the way, I'm still not able to resolve the driver side windows which will wind down completely after pressing the switch. I find it very inconvenience to keep pressing the switch until the windows wind down especially in highways toll. Somehow, the pulling switch up allows the windows to wind up completely automatically.
shackks
post Feb 15 2014, 03:10 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Feb 15 2014, 03:07 PM)
Hi shackks, the windows should wind down completely once second press otherwise, you can check in car handbook. I pretty sure there are instruction to set auto wind down mode of the windows.

Cheers
Bro, really cannot, i tested few times already. All the other windows switch has the second level of press then the windows will wind down, but not the driver side.

Oh yes, the handbook. Thanks for the reminder...
shackks
post Feb 16 2014, 11:13 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Feb 16 2014, 10:17 AM)
Hi shackks,

I dont know if this help. I will try my best to explain. I have the same problem with you. But i fgured out it was the button's sensitivity. If you press the button all the way down until it clicks, it will be automatic. To do manualy, try pressisng the button hard enough, but not hard until it activites the auto down. It works for me.
Good morning mtbk3,
Yes, it works for the other 3 windows, but not the driver's window. I've tested the other 3 windows and it works. This matters got me really frustrated. And yesterday I noticed that the windscreen washer on the driver side is not working as well... vmad.gif

Fortunately, the steering and the pedals(located on the driver side) is working properly. notworthy.gif

shackks
post Feb 21 2014, 12:55 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(flex3x @ Feb 20 2014, 01:37 PM)
Which brand of petrol does your car pump?
As i personally feel that Shell RON95 is givin more millage in city drive but i do not compare on long distance drive smile.gif
I agree with u. For highway use, I used RON95 from JB to Serdang only used half tank. Speed range from 100km/hr to 180km/hr.
shackks
post Jun 15 2014, 09:57 AM

1,777 posts

Hi guys,
This morning, my Leo cannot start. Short cracking sound followed by a click. All display normal.

Called Peugeot Support and see how it goes. Hopefully, it's just the battery. Only travelled 8400km... sianz.

0.0295sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:47 AM