Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion

ghost007
post Dec 5 2013, 10:57 AM

Dear all,
Is there any performance part to add on or change for the Lion 1.6T,like blow off valve,or high performance exhaust system, the exhaust sound is very Sissy to me. can have more ommh is nicer to match with the performance of the Lion
ghost007
post Dec 11 2013, 01:51 PM

Dear Ahui,
My 408T also same situation like yours, I just top up with tap water,no problem with it, by the way, the coolant color pigment change color with heat fast, the coolant is OK but the color looks bad, because of the color, it makes easy to check the leakage, but on peugeot no easy because the color is gone.
ghost007
post Dec 12 2013, 11:37 AM

Actually all cars coolant level will drop after some time, it is water heated up to 90 degree C and cool down by force air by the radiator fan, at this point it is very normal that the water evaporate off, if it is not drastic drop in the coolant level it is OK, no big issue here.

ghost007
post Dec 23 2013, 10:06 AM

one question here, hope to get feed back on this .

Planning to change to 215/50/17 soft tyres in the future to replace the hard 225/45/17 on my Lion, the tyre's side wall of the original MX 5 is hard thus the ride is harsh .it is too hard to I like

Now if I choose the soft side wall tyres like Maxxis, ( below RM 300/ pc) will it course the car pull more to the left as our Lion is already pull to the left ( Slightly). Thank you.
ghost007
post Dec 31 2013, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(kob1488 @ Dec 30 2013, 10:43 PM)
Hi all, I'm a 408 1.6T user living in bangkok thailand. Not many pug owners here but im proud to own one.

I've been. Using for almost 2 years now and my first battery with yokohama was already gone, changed during my 10k mileage. Now my car is at 25k and I need some information. I'm not sure if my second battery is about to die as when I now turn my car steering wheels, my headlight will be dimmed, and once my steering wheel stop turning then headlight become normal, I never really notice but today I see so I'm not sure if it is normal or not so can anyone of you share information if this is normal or sign of battery about to die?
Hi Kob 1488,
Sawadi cup.

1 ) You can sent you car to check the battery life , a very easy job just to check the voltage reading with the meter.
2) Ask them to check the alternator output voltage , this is to confirm that your alternator is working well by charging enough DC current to the battery.
3) check for abnormal sound from the bearing of the alternator.

ghost007
post Jan 6 2014, 10:04 AM

Well, 408T power is limited by two factor ( IMO )
1) the ESP - but this is a safety feature, try to turn it off before you tab on the accelerator.
2 ) the 1.6 liter is not enough to go more at high RPM, at about 4000 rpm I can feel a flat power range, that is when you try to over take 6 cars in a row, upon the numbers 4 cars , can feel the power is actually slow down,then the car don't gain much speed at this stage, ( am I power hungry ) hehe.

For a heavy car like our Lion, 1600 CC consider very good already.
or else you need BMW 325
ghost007
post Jan 7 2014, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jan 6 2014, 11:08 PM)
ive met a few pug drivers...5008, 407, 308t, vti etc.......whilst the car is good, naza has absolutely no idea how to mentain these cars.

imagine to change engine oil u have to leave it overnight. hence why you see the value of 308t's falling like a ginormous snowball
Those people send their car for oil change at 6 pm !! blink.gif
ghost007
post Jan 10 2014, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 9 2014, 12:40 PM)
If can lower the car sure damn best.....They should have lowered the car la.....~~Hahahahaha
Hi mtbk,

When I first get the 408T, I found that the handling is damn good and grip the corner like a lizard, now almost after a year, I start to feel & found out the weak point of the Lion, - pull to the left, harsh ride ( but good in cornering ) can only choose one !!
Some noise here and there as the car is quiet, any rattling sound will be easily notify, wind noise from the window when speed above 110km/h, tyre noise ( tyre already 30 % gone at 16K km, aircon not cool enough in the hot sunny day, audio sound no good, no reverse camera, no GPS.

I still like the car very much, it is about passion. I think this car is a winner amount the 1600cc conti car, it worth every penny I spend on this car, the luxury, the safety, the power, the handling, you see, all cars take you from point A to B..............but , in a difference shape.

I don't agree that the far east car is low in maintenance cost, how about the Rm 2500 cooling coil of the Camry, the RM 3500 alternator, and the nearly RM 4 K steering rack, and RM 1500 front disc, a RM 1500 /pc absorber including installation at Toyota center.Once will have a jaw drop by seeing this and yes, it is my personal experience, so what is the best car to own, the answer will be own a fully maintenance covers company car.

From the above, the 2.0 Camry maintenance cost is not cheap at all, or very near to the luxury conti indeed., and I should mention the forever problems HONDA suspension , you think you can drive a Honda like the 408T ???
no way, first year may be, after that.... god bless.

Buy the Lion if you have the passion on it, if you are the type that don't know how to open the front bonnet type, stay away form the Lion. doh.gif

ghost007
post Jan 12 2014, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(bryant76 @ Jan 11 2014, 03:53 PM)
nah, you just bluff your ownself

408 and camry is diff category

if u want to compare, you have to compare w same catergory

anyway , just your pure opinion

you have problems w your car but u dun admit it
OK, Bryant 76.
Grow up baby no car is perfect, you can have the most power full car in the world and you won't want to drive it at Jalan sultan Ismail daily, i thinkno sales man drive a Mini cooper travel from Penanag to Singapore every week also.

We are sharing our experience of owing the Lion and the sweet and bad moment of it, thats all !!

I Love my Lion !!!
ghost007
post Jan 12 2014, 10:56 PM

Yes, I do agree with mtbk3 on the 1 and 2 gear scenario of the 408 T, it is the program matters or the limit of the 1600 cc engine, to answer this, may be someone who drive both 408 T and RCZ would know the answer. anybody ???

If the answer is the programs matters, then re programs it would makes this Lion fly.( OK, safety first ).

ghost007
post Jan 13 2014, 10:37 AM

Maintenance cost is not a big issue so far touch wood ), most of the Lion here is still new,20KM to 40km range,

but one thing........the gear oil cost almost 3K

outside can get about RM 80.00 / Liter

What the fuXX !!
ghost007
post Jan 13 2014, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 13 2014, 12:14 PM)
Really???? MAX major service around RM2.1k only??? Then is pretty ok mah......

Anyone can give an example of their service and cost? Or their parts and cost?

This is crucial for my decision making.

Thank you very much.
This is after they put some of the cost into 40K and 50K service, so the 60K service become lower,
I read this in previous old forum.

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Even 2.1K is still expensive. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

ghost007
post Jan 19 2014, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 18 2014, 02:32 PM)
Hi guys,
glad to see that more & more 408 owner nowadays (1 st sorry for my english, but we Malaysian..so pls adopt it  biggrin.gif )

i have flw most of 408 locals thread/forum, see the post from members/owners and not least the bashers vmad.gif )

though im yet to be the owner (soon). But sometimes, if just reads and no any posting-  seems like i just talk to my self smile.gif  & really need share the infos that might related to the 408 issues/problem/etc.  Yes im new here, and may also not have a 'right' to say much, but from my experience as 'kaki lepak bengkel Conti', was an 2 car forum/club committee (no need to mention lah) & also was an SparePart runner - so i do concerned on some of the problem or issue that has raised by some owner here.

i may not has lots knowledge on Pug car, but no harm if we all here can share the thoughts & feel..right?

as i can summarize here, few things (or maybe not many BUT for me it should not) :

1) some owner complaint/issued the 'kaput battery'
i- why this happened in within of 20k of mileage? even i'd seen got prob before 1st year?
have we here try to isolate the prob and look for the common factor ( sorry guys, im doing a some Wireless Technical jobs everday- so always in the isolation/simulation environment  biggrin.gif )
ii. is the brand of battery same on yours?
iii. is the same brand in other Pug model? i.e 508,3008?
and it that happened to them?'

IF ALL ABOVE YES - so now we left 2 element to narrow down -
the brand of battery not so good (remember some part is locally made or lowya made) or one thing observed if there only on some batch of battery.

IF NOT the battery and happened also with other brand of battery - So sure as what i presumed is maybe the batt get low charge from the Alternator. Maybe the alternator not so fits with our environment or the alternator got some prob.
2) i've seen a posting in other thread (v2 i think) the rubber at window got crack? whaatt???
pls dont tell me the CKD made is using rubber part from china made or local made.
this shud not happened! my 7 years old CKD hyundai only seldom got roof park..but still no crack problem, but only can see some mould or ..mould je lah.. imagine everyday hot sun or rain.

never apply in his life any liquid etc. Only the inner rubber (between door and frame) get keras and not so soft during 1st two years..and i did check with SC Manager because that rubber only some part that locally made beside many is still from origin manufacture (korea). The rest of plastic or rubber thing in my car never get dull or crack and some of my friend did ask whether i did apply any protector- &  i say no..

glad when compare that with even 6-7 years Waja and my dashboard still look new- & that's my Hyundai..hope this Pug also will be like that.

sorry for long story- but story matters the plastic/rubber thing sure u all will get a lesson or may take some precaution on that.
btw/ any one know what are tyre size for Griffe 18rims?  225/235/??

thanks guys..
Don't know much about the battery, but i think the auto headlamp, the follow me home function which drain out the current fast, I disable this two function, and touch wood, going to be one year and it is still strong like the first day.

About the rubber crack - some owner send their for coating, polishing, the heat and the chemical is the main culprit to the rubber damage, even thr rain X , have to be extra careful when apply, never let it contact with the rubber.

ghost007
post Jan 23 2014, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(roadrunnerPenang @ Jan 22 2014, 11:03 AM)
Mileage : 23k km
Issue: Battery kong after 10 months
Brand: Yokohama DIN66LMF
Where: At home...the only lucky thing
What: Waiting for battery replacement from service center since this morning...said no stock and may need to wait until afternoon. Let c
My opinion: Very "good" service...multi million SC not even have spare stock for battery. ..yeah
Me too :-

11 months ( <18K mileage )
Yokohama / Petrol station after fuel in...........so occupy the pump for few hours blush.gif blush.gif
Back up service guy arrived within 3 hours time.......
ghost007
post Jan 23 2014, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:18 PM)
3 Hours??? This back up service guy is from Peugeot???

My god....3 hours i damn slow wei....My insurance company also faster....If emergency in the middle of no where...Habissss ler.....
Ya, have to cancel 2 appoinment..........

lucky thing is near by my house.
ghost007
post Feb 7 2014, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Feb 7 2014, 11:03 AM)
Hello Guys,

I noticed for a few days already that my car is starting to jerk a little. When im driving it, and the cars shift up or down, it tends to jerk a little. Never notice this when i first got the car. This thing happen after i played with the manual mode couple of nights ago.

Also, do u feel your car engine vibrates when u leave it on idle??? When i start my engine, still in P or N, i can feel a certain vibration or beat from the engine. Quite hard to explain. Its like a heart beat, or put it more negatively, is like the vibration/sound when a engine is going to mati. Please advise all sifus....

Thank you very much.
May be it is the dirty fuel, try to pump from others petrol station.

My Lion is pin drop silence when idle with aircon off. silky smooth.
ghost007
post Feb 11 2014, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(lowpro @ Feb 10 2014, 10:35 AM)
the 2.0 i'm using averages about 11.5L/100km. the car is just about 3,500km. so it is still pretty new... and tight.
My 1.6T run at 14 L / 100km when new
after 1 st 10 K service = 10 L / 100km
after 2nd 20K service = 7.8 L / 100km

Shah Alam to Johor = burn RM 40 + of fuel @ 110 km/h ( some stretch was run @ 180 km/h following a Rang rover )

Shah Alam to Ipoh =Burn RM 30 + of fuel normally @ 110km/h to 130 km/h

so, high speed don't burn much fuel, slow speed does.
ghost007
post Feb 11 2014, 11:06 PM

What's happening to this engine?

A concern over the timing chain. The metal timing chain is an engineering choice made in place of a rubber timing belt, to eliminate the risk of breakage, and is expected to last the life of the car without any signifigant maintenance.
On this modern engine released in 2006, there is in fact a concern over the hydraulic timing chain tensioner.

First you hear a metalic sound. More often in cold weather. At the start the noise goes away as the engine warms up.

At this point one should already be alerting the brand representative (a Mini SA for us)

Otherwise the concerns become worse...?

Exactly. If you don't visit the representative, the noises amplify, with clacking that doesn't go away once the engine has warmed up.

Now you have an engine where the timing chain is not held in place properly. This allows the valves to open out of synch...
In the end you have an engine that doesn't work correctly, with losses in power, and it can go worse.

First, you can have a badly worn timing chain (''stretched'' more precisely?), which will require replacement, but that's not the worst that can happen.

There is a risk of engine failure, a low risk, but it did happen to Frédéric. To his 207.

How are the manufacturers involved responding?

Meaning Citroën, Peugeot and BMW - on their Mini model. First they minimise the extent of the problem. Even if the engine failures aren't frequent, they do happen none the less to some cars, and particularly to those that have a turbo. For example on some Citroën or Peugeot « THP » and the Mini Cooper S.

At the factory, the tensioner in question was modified in 2010.
After sale, the attitudes differ amongst the 3 manufacturers.
Replacement of the tensioner costs between 180-200 €.
Replacing the chain costs between 700 and 950 €, and all these "cures" are only partially covered by the manufacturers. This despite insistant calls to After Sales Services (Warranty department?).
And the responsibility taken, if there is an engine to change, is only partial.

Hi, guys saw this from the web.... does it happened in Malaysia ?
ghost007
post Feb 15 2014, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 14 2014, 09:25 PM)
swaying while braking at high speed is pretty normal, if it worsen, your brake disks may be warped

mine now sways at all speed sad.gif

brake disk warped at 19k kms, waiting for warranty claim
High speed braking will not cause the disc warped, splash of water rain / car wash while the disc is hot will cause the disc warped.

anybody with a big ball can drive fast, but to stop the car at 200 km/h and above, big ball doesn't help.

Our Lion is just a normal sedan car with little more powerful then the Altis or Honda Civic,it is not a sport car, enjoy the ride and don't stress the Prince so hard...................180km/h ie enough.. cool2.gif cool2.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

ghost007
post Mar 2 2014, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 2 2014, 09:57 AM)
I am really surprised to hear something like this. I'm not sure if the foreman are trained if this is their fix! Your battery may be weak,that is another issue,but is not related to your engine dying uphill.

Once the engine is started the alternator provides all electrical supply. In fact the battery is being charged at this time by the alternator. The battery is on standby to provide electrical power in case the alternator fails during the time the engine is running. The engine is not an electric motor to work harder or use more electrics for uphill climb.

The fact that you are able to start several times after a while indicates your battery is not the cause of engine failure. It may be weak and needs to be changed. I don't think battery change has solved the problem. IMO it's an ECU or fuel pump issue!

Please update,am more keen now!
May be is the thermostat, if the thermostat fail to open up, then the engine will get overheat, hence the ECU send signal to stop the engine, once it cool down, you can move your car again.

I saw a Lion with this syndrome before on the way up to Cameron Highland. that time I was driving a Triton , I offer to follow him from behind just in case it happen again, ( no signal for handphone )Tapah to Ringlet.

So check your thermostat !!

0.0457sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:35 AM