Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion
mtbk3
Jan 27 2014, 10:15 PM
Hey Guys,
Previously i read about some coolant issue with the car. May i know what coolant is this? What is it for? Really noob here.
And also, i remember about the "pull to left" issue. What is the cause for this? How to rectify this?
Thank you very much.
This post has been edited by mtbk3: Jan 27 2014, 10:16 PM
mtbk3
Jan 28 2014, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 28 2014, 10:44 AM) Coolant is used to remove excess heat from an engine. Without coolant or water the engine will simply overheat and seize. This mixture is pumped into jackets running all over the engine block. It then returns to the radiator where it is cooled and pumped back into the jackets to keep the engine from overheating. Jackets are passages in the engine block. Coolant is a mixture of glycol and water. Glycol is excellent in removing heat and also has anti-rust property. All modern engines use coolant instead of plain water! The left pull appears to be a symptom with Pugs. I'm glad to note Peugeot has finally addressed this issue. Anyway my car had it and Peugeot SC are unable to solve it. I solved mine at a tyre and alignment shop. Ooohhhhh....Thanks for the explanation mate.... You also mentioned that there is a premix coolant. Any good brands you know of?? Thank you.
mtbk3
Jan 28 2014, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 28 2014, 02:43 PM) No need go back to SC. ONB cost much lower if u purchase online. Around Rm100. Accessories store will charge u more than Rm200. But since ur bulb is out now and u need it urgently den no choice. Noob question. What is all this H7, H6??? I assume is the size code of the bulb?? What is the size of our car?? Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Jan 28 2014, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 28 2014, 03:08 PM) U can refer to our user manual Okies....Will do that when i get the car.... Thank you.
mtbk3
Jan 29 2014, 08:12 PM
IT IS HERE!!!! THE WAIT IS OVER!!!! Sooooooo happy guys. What a way to usher in the CNY. With a LION'S ROAR!!!!!! No different in steering feel from my test drive though. Still feels heavy enough. LOADS of feedback from the steering. And strangely, i feel it is slightly more powerful and responsive than when i test drove it. Thank you very much. Attached thumbnail(s)
mtbk3
Jan 29 2014, 10:04 PM
Hi sifus,
I noticed something. When i turn off my car, the engine bay still got sound. Is like a fan sound. It goes on for about 2mins. Is this normal???
And my temperature is always like around 90 region. The needle is almost vertical. Is this normal??
Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Jan 29 2014, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 29 2014, 10:26 PM) it's the fan to cool down the turbo unit i guess..normally like that..preve/exora owner with CFE having similiar like this.. Are you sure is a normal thing to happen bro??? Can i get a 2nd opinion from other owners here. Does this happen to your ride?? By the way blackkattapoww, aku x angkat red coz dont fancy red color la....Plus the white looks more sporty to me. And my other half say white looks "bigger" and more classy. New update.....I DAMN UNLUCKY....I lost the gps sd card. I didnt know it was for gps, so i swap it with a sd card with all my music...then when i wantes to use the gps, it says error due to sd card...thats when i realise the 4gb sd card is for gps....after that i cant find the 4gb sd card with the gps.....What can i do now to get back the gps???? Please advise... Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Jan 30 2014, 09:56 AM
Guys,
I notice another thing. When i squat down to clean the carpets, i can see the steering shaft behind the pedals. It is not covered. It this the same with all of your car???
Thank you.
mtbk3
Jan 30 2014, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 30 2014, 10:08 AM) https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2682291/+40?author=SKYjack#Checkout post #58 on the above page. Just in case you want to know more about turbo and cooling. Thank you very much mate. Appreciate it. Noob question. Where is the air filter placed?? Coz i cant seem to find it when i open the bonnet.
mtbk3
Jan 30 2014, 10:24 AM
Please add me to the member/club list.... 408T White Griffe....
Thank you very much
mtbk3
Jan 30 2014, 11:28 PM
GONG HEI FATT CHOY!!!!! HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!!!
Wishing everyone a happy and prosperous 2014. May this year be fill with abundance of wealth and joy for you guys. Also not forgetting wishing everyone good health and have a smooth sailing year ahead.
GONG XI FA CHAI!!!!!!
mtbk3
Jan 31 2014, 04:28 PM
Hi Guys,
What is your car's standard temperature? Mine is always at around 90. Even when just start the engine, it will be at around the 90 region. Is it meant to be around this region? Is it normal?
Thank you very much
mtbk3
Feb 2 2014, 07:00 PM
Hi sifus, I am damn sad. My rims have some markings. I did not hit any curb. There is some white markings try. Thought it was paint. But i try using a wet cloth to remove it but fail. Any solutions? Im still hoping its just paint. Sighhhhhhhhhh Attached thumbnail(s)
mtbk3
Feb 2 2014, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 2 2014, 08:12 PM) Ayioooooo must take more care of your lion la bro! Anyway try use some polish! I really take care. I didnt hit any curb. I dont know how it happen. I felt it and its like the surface of the rim. No dent, its not rough. Thats why im hoping its paint. Any ideas sifus??? Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Feb 3 2014, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(jiunkei_46 @ Feb 3 2014, 09:49 AM) Could it be cement? polish should help, else worst case swap with spare tire.. Hehe Found out that it is actually paint. The factory technician marked the rims. Sending it to get it washed and polish on my next trip to the car detail shop. By the way, anyone can tell me where is the air filter located??? Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Feb 5 2014, 11:50 AM
Just did a fc test. JB to KL 380km only half tank. Average speed is 130kmh-160kmh. Im impress.
Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Feb 5 2014, 02:35 PM
I realized something. My car is kind of bumpy. Maybe is coz of the harder suspension and bigger rims. But the most obvious is, the car is wiggly. As i was cruising on the highway at about 110kmh-160kmh, the car tends to wiggle. It swings left suddenly and the have to correct it. Then sometimes it veers off to the right a little.
Is the the famous "pull left" problems? Please advise.
Also, i cannot locate my air filter. Can anyone tell me where is it exactly? I plan to change air filter.
Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Feb 5 2014, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Feb 5 2014, 03:57 PM) The Griffe has the same sports tuned suspension as the 408t. This is very stiff which provides superb handling,you'll forget it's a sedan that you're driving,but tends to be bumpy on roads that are not smooth. The stiff suspension does not absorb shocks very well and transmits it back to the cabin. For example,if you held a iron pipe and hit on the road, you'll feel the shocks back in your hand. The same action with a rubber hose will not give the shocks as feedback. At 160kmh you should be galloping like a race horse.......hehehe! I'm not sure about the wiggle,but my car certainly had a gradual left pull. I thought on new cars this was solved. Anyway don't waste your time with SC to correct the left pull,they have no alignment equipment. I solved mine at a tyre shop. I'm in Australia now. When I get back will check my car and let you know the air filter location. Thank you bro for the feedback. And yes i was galloping like a race horse. Im fine with it, but the passengers was in for a ride. Hahahahhaah. Looking forward to hear from you. Thank you very much.
mtbk3
Feb 6 2014, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Feb 5 2014, 11:09 PM) i notice 408s are very "sensitive" to side winds, if you've driven a van that how it feels albeit at a smaller percentage of drag maybe that's the wiggling sensation you're talking about most taller body cars or minivans or vans or buses, in ascending orders has this problem never has such problem with older cars that has a lower roofline  Looks like have to lower the car already. Hahahahaha.
mtbk3
Feb 6 2014, 12:12 PM
Hi guys,
I just read through the manual. They say the car's light size is:
H7 55w - Dipped lights H1 55w - main lights
What is dipped lights?? And i assume, if i were to change to halogen bulbs, i will have to buy a H1 right???
Thank you very much.