QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 12 2014, 07:06 AM)
Tks for the alert bro. I see it now! I guess any one is free to post any nonsense.Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion
Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V2], Motion & Emotion
Jan 12 2014, 09:27 AM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Jan 13 2014, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Jan 13 2014, 12:08 PM) Waaaaah.....who quoted you this The reason for ATF being high is due to transportation from Japan to France to Malaysia. There was some discussion of Naza sourcing ATF direct from Aisin Japan. Any update on this. |
Jan 14 2014, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Jan 13 2014, 10:45 PM) 2.1K is the total service price, out of which 1.3K is for ATF. 1.3K just for ATF is still pretty high. Bro lowpro might have some inside knowledge on this. May be he can enlighten us!This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 14 2014, 09:16 AM |
Jan 14 2014, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(Vince408 @ Jan 14 2014, 12:35 AM) i go for 5.5k for both gear though. just love to slam the throttle even though its a new car. jerks who likes to show off will be surprised when they thought the 1.6 is underpower when first 2 notch seems nothing. surprised comes afterwards @ 3rd & just smoked them on 4th to 5th. I find the acceleration on 1st & 2nd to be quite good since torque is available at low end. I would say it is a shade better than my former car,E46 2.5liter engine. Max torque,about the same as our 408t, but on my E46 was at 4500rpm. So I had to rev the engine to 4500rpm before I could get the pulling power. Where else on the Pug it is available at 1400rpm. The good low end torque on the Pug made the difference on acceleration. I have personally felt the difference and the above is the explanation. Of course top speed was higher on the E46 with 192hp!i love the setting on 1st & 2nd gear though, imagine other 1.6 trying to pull a 1.5ton bull using first 2 gear. how slow will the revv be... Recently there was a discussion on a 2liter NA engine having better acceleration than our 1.6THP. I have tested several 2liter NA cars. Non have better acceleration cos torque is 200nm and available at around 4000rpm.How on earth can this compare with 240nm the 1.6THP is churning out at 1400rpm! The only way the 2 liter to have better acceleration is to be fitted to a go cart, compared to our 1.6THP pulling 1.5tons! I must say I've never pulled 5.5k rpm on 1st or 2nd. Sayang my Lion too much to stress her out that much! Anyway enjoy your Lion! |
Jan 14 2014, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(shackks @ Jan 14 2014, 07:30 PM) Those younger days, when replacing proton with mitsu engines were the trends. But those short moment of exhilarration were often greet with days in the workshop. Realised much of the miney and time were wasted in the workshop and got tired of it. Turbo technology today has improved by leaps and bounds. It's a lot more reliable form the old designs. The 1.6THP on the 408t is the more reliable of the Prince series. This makes ownership of this car a wonderful experience. However maintenance after warranty will be high.So, I am happy with the 2.0 NA, although I believe the 1.6T is surely fun to drive. The NA is certainly a great bargain. On the long run it will be cheaper to maintain too. Congrats on your NA,enjoy it bro! |
Jan 15 2014, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(lowpro @ Jan 15 2014, 03:56 PM) been ages since i have been back in here. here's some news. the atf for those 6-speed boxes have come down already and it is now around rm180 per litre. but some outlets still have stock of the oil at the old price. Tks for the info bro. By the time we are ready for ATF change the new price should prevail. |
Jan 18 2014, 11:56 AM
Jan 20 2014, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(lowpro @ Jan 20 2014, 09:07 AM) this guy needs a bit of convincing on the 2.0: I see there's already very good feedback to him. I think he's concerned over Pug reliability and support and service. Unfortunately we hear more complaints about support and service than positive news. More often ppl tend to voice out dissatisfaction and stay silent when a good job done!Feedback On 408 Please! http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=107237 |
Jan 20 2014, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 20 2014, 12:37 AM) today another drive test..get 3rd x on Griffe..😆 Altis and Civic no match for our 408t in power,handling and feel. I was shocked how cheap Civic's dashboard looked. The plastic looked and felt cheap! Focus may have better acceleration than 408NA. Although both cars are about equally powered, Pug may be heavier and response from power shift GB of Focus is better than our CVT. Interesting to note, you feel the handling of Focus is not as good as 408t.feel bit 'hard'compare to normal 408T.. maybe due to the tyre size /40... but i realize the stering bit loose/light compare to previous T that i tested since Nov last year..the SA already told me since Dec that newer batch of T will get more lighter stering feel..and i do agreed with him that today car that i tested is feel more light esp when park the car and hard bend.. tested many times those 408..my SA so sporting...from a Balakong showroom, colombia hosp, straight to sg long (waaa what the best route & shiokk take hard bend flyover there 😆) then exit at Twin Palm and then turnback to Balskong via the same route then kaw2 go down the same flyover... what i can say this car good in handling if just compare to current Altis or Civic.. just to add : i did test 2.0 Cerato& Focus many2 times..😜 unfortunately both them failed to impress me in term of handlings feel..(not to compare their NA engines with Pug THP..but even with the 408 2.0 also the 408 do more better)....still looking others seg C cars..but so far 408 still my 1st choice.. Of course it is not equal field to compare THP with NA. But I feel price bracket is an important issue. It boils down to finally what you are getting for the money! This is where the 408t is supreme,beats all competitors hands down! I can understand 408T being your 1st choice,go for it! Air-con on the Pug is not that strong. It does take quite a while before it gets cold,especially on a hot sunny day. A good tint helps. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 20 2014, 10:48 AM |
Jan 20 2014, 03:52 PM
This is a beauty la. I would trade in mine for this,if NAZA brings. I can see 408 sales going through the roof,if price was right.
http://www.chinacartimes.com/wp-content/pug408.jpg This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 20 2014, 03:55 PM |
Jan 21 2014, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 21 2014, 12:13 AM) hi SKyJack, just to clarify - believed this totally new design, and not he facelifted one right? Actually I also confused already la. I thought that was a new design but didn't find any info. On searching more, found this. This is the facelift. No idea is NAZA will bring this.damn beautiful bro..will make person who choose (in the middle) the 508 'pusing balik' ooo.... jahanam Accord & Camrehh!! http://www.cbt.com.my/wp-content/uploads/2...1142184cafb.jpg So if the new design is to come in the future, that will be great. 3 - 4 years from now I'll be ready to change to that. However like I said, I could not find any more info. For all we know it may be just a design in the books. In which case too bad, cos it's such a beauty! |
Jan 21 2014, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(lowpro @ Jan 21 2014, 04:29 PM) the facelift will come first. no date has been set for introduction yet tough. an all new body change will take some time considering that the french are still running tests on the development model currently. my personal estimation for a full model change (FMC) should be around 2 years time, 3 years max. That's great and just fine. 3 years is about the time I would like to look for a new ride. Anyway apart from just new clothes,I also want to see engine innovations. Very keen on turbo diesels. Facelift,I'm not interested. |
Jan 23 2014, 08:59 PM
Jan 25 2014, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 24 2014, 09:57 PM) 10l/100km city drive? Oh dear,I hope you mean light steering! If a steering is loose,there will be a loss of feel & feedback. One of the reasons I bought this car is due to it's precise feel and feedback of the steering. I rate the feel of the 408t steering better than most more expensive Conti's.not sure on others 408T with smaller rims..yours with 18r consider ok i think.. for the stering..when u get your Griffe? act it's not only Griffe have loose compare normal 408T...according to salesman..(and had confirm with chan sow lin foreman) both new batch of Turbo v had been loose a bit tge stering feel..compare on early batch of T version..im feel that also when test drive recent batch of T & still remember the early batch bit heavy the stering but still acceptable.. |
Jan 26 2014, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(Blackkattapoww @ Jan 26 2014, 02:17 PM) skyjack..u should try the recent batch..bit light compare than yours i believed..some more the salesman+svs guy had confirmed this..not sure if they just bluff (maybe panic when i throw the thougt to them) but i did test 3 times on recent batch at differ branch..think a bit light.. I like the heavy feel. But most ppl now may be prefer the light feel. I hope this new feel has not changed the precise feedback! I remember testing the Accord and did not like it all. It was so light,there was no feel at all! |
Jan 28 2014, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 28 2014, 09:50 AM) Sifus... Tap water good enough. Coolant from sparepart shop will be better.My car service due 1st Feb, appointment made 08 Feb. Going to travel JB-Melaka-JB during CNY, found the coolants level is at minimum level now, what can I top up into it beside the battery water? Filtered tap water can? This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 28 2014, 09:57 AM |
Jan 28 2014, 10:00 AM
Jan 28 2014, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 27 2014, 10:15 PM) Hey Guys, Coolant is used to remove excess heat from an engine. Without coolant or water the engine will simply overheat and seize. This mixture is pumped into jackets running all over the engine block. It then returns to the radiator where it is cooled and pumped back into the jackets to keep the engine from overheating. Previously i read about some coolant issue with the car. May i know what coolant is this? What is it for? Really noob here. And also, i remember about the "pull to left" issue. What is the cause for this? How to rectify this? Thank you very much. Jackets are passages in the engine block. Coolant is a mixture of glycol and water. Glycol is excellent in removing heat and also has anti-rust property. All modern engines use coolant instead of plain water! The left pull appears to be a symptom with Pugs. I hope Peugeot has addressed this issue. New owners can tell us if it is solved. Anyway my car had it and Peugeot SC are unable to solve it. I solved mine at a tyre and alignment shop. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 28 2014, 11:59 AM |
Jan 28 2014, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Jan 28 2014, 11:44 AM) Ooohhhhh....Thanks for the explanation mate.... You are most welcome. At my last service I informed the SC about my coolant level low,they just filled up with water. I'm not happy about this. Continuos topup with water will dilute coolant. I want to topup on my own next time. I will scout around for the coolant premix brand and come back to you.You also mentioned that there is a premix coolant. Any good brands you know of?? Thank you. |
Jan 29 2014, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(shackks @ Jan 28 2014, 11:10 PM) Pls add me to the 408 2.0 list: Shackks, Black. Good that Peugeot has corrected the left pull issue.I did not noticed any left pull when driving the car home after collecting the car. Anyone can advice how long is the engine run-in? The agent suggest 1000km and advice me to be light on the pedal. Anyone with different views on this? Cheers Modern engines don't need to run in. They are manufactured under a different process. In fact there is nothing mentioned about run in even in the manual. You can go ahead and drive fast. Anyway there is no harm in running in if you want to do it. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jan 29 2014, 01:13 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0508sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:05 AM |