Offered a 6 month Contract Job 2.5k, Dilemma

say_it
post Jul 3 2006, 02:28 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Jul 1 2006, 04:38 AM)
I don't mean to be prejudice here. Having a Master Degree with little or no working experience doesn't make a difference with a fresh graduate with a Bachelor Degree.

The true value of a Masters Degree comes when someone has enough working experience. That is why most people choose to work for a few years, then pursue for a Masters.
No way, I have a bunch of co-worker over here who got their master degree but fresh gradute thier starting pay is Rm3.2k and those degree fresh gradute only get rm2.5k.

This is normal practice if you work for MNC in local market no matter which field you're coming from...... mind to check the market before you say something ..... sweat.gif
mokhzaini
post Jul 6 2006, 11:40 AM

278 posts

oohh...then definitely got market for Masters holder? I am completing my MA in Electrical Engineering soon..any good suggestion? thanks alot
TSkcc678
post Jul 6 2006, 08:56 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Jul 3 2006, 02:28 PM)
No way, I have a bunch of co-worker over here who got  their master degree but fresh gradute thier starting pay is Rm3.2k and those degree fresh gradute only get rm2.5k.

This is normal practice if you work for MNC in local market no matter which field you're coming from...... mind to check the market before you say something ..... sweat.gif
LoL I don't think a fresh grad with Masters degree will get you more than 3k unless you are talking about big MNCs companies in the following industries like banks (HSBC, Citibank), tobacco (BAT), consumer goods (P&G) or oil&gas companies (Shell, Exxon Mobil, BP). To be honest I have checked the market rate and I have to say that the starting pay for freshie with Master's degree is around 2.5k+. Correct me if I am wrong??
sinoffire
post Jul 6 2006, 09:14 PM

3,557 posts

well, just think twice before u go. besides, as u mentioned earlier, u MIGHT get permanent IF u do a good job in the new company. but wat if things go against u? just like goliath said. well the ball is on ur court. does papers(degree,MA,BACH) come into consideration when finding a job? yes. wat about experience? definitely! it's upto u to make the decision. for me, i'll stay on. for experience's sake.
TSkcc678
post Jul 7 2006, 12:39 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jul 6 2006, 09:14 PM)
well, just think twice before u go. besides, as u mentioned earlier, u MIGHT get permanent IF u do a good job in the new company. but wat if things go against u? just like goliath said. well the ball is on ur court. does papers(degree,MA,BACH) come into consideration when finding a job? yes. wat about experience? definitely! it's upto u to make the decision. for me, i'll stay on. for experience's sake.
Thank you Sinoffire for your advise. I have made my decision already - I submitted my letter last week and will be moving to the new organization next month. The reason was rather simple I went to my prospective employer and told him that I am in a very comfortable position at the moment and money is not a big issue to me so I told him that I need to be convinced that this is the right job for me. I was convinced because this job offers me the opportunity to travel - in fact most of the time I will be overseas. The opportunity to travel convinced me to change. Furthermore my current company in trouble because of the challenging times in the industry as a result I don't think I will even get bonuses this year. The good news is that the new company guarantees 2 month bonus. If I perform well my bonues could increase to 4 months. I hope that I made the right move. I will update you guys on the new job next month.

Thank you all for contributing to this thread - I really appreaciate all your comments. Good luck to all of your in your careers.
sinoffire
post Jul 7 2006, 12:47 AM

3,557 posts

huh?! current company oso in trouble?? shocking.gif shocking.gif if u tell me earlier, i wud have leave the current company long time edi. glad u made the decision. trvl here and there. sounds pretty good company to me. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_idea.gif

0.0175sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:09 AM