Offered a 6 month Contract Job 2.5k, Dilemma

TSkcc678
post Jun 24 2006, 12:06 PM, updated 20y ago

24 posts

Hi guys,

I am fresh grad with Masters degree just started working in a MNC (3months) earning 1.9k. 1.9k is definately low pay there is a lot of potential in this job and I am expected to be promoted to a manager in 3-4 years. However I have just been offered a job by a another MNC worth 2.5k but 6 months contract - if you performed well they are going to convert you to full time basis. What do you guys think should I take it???? In a dilemma right now cause my boss and colleague treat me really well. Btw am I underpaid for a fresh grad with MAsters degreE?

This post has been edited by kcc678: Jun 24 2006, 12:10 PM
DeathWing
post Jun 24 2006, 12:10 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

I think you should talk to your boss if he/she really treats you so well.
Who knows you might get a payrise to 2.5k.
BTW, salary alone shouldnt be the criteria for changing company. smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Jun 24 2006, 12:36 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(kcc678 @ Jun 24 2006, 12:06 PM)
Hi guys,

I am fresh grad with Masters degree just started working in a MNC (3months) earning 1.9k. 1.9k is definately low pay there is a lot of potential in this job and I am expected to be promoted to a manager in 3-4 years. However I have just been offered a job by a another MNC worth 2.5k but 6 months contract - if you performed well they are going to convert you to full time basis. What do you guys think should I take it???? In a dilemma right now cause my boss and colleague treat me really well. Btw am I underpaid for a fresh grad with MAsters degreE?
master degree aint everything, you gotta know that you are currently starting from zero point, indead 1.9K is pretty good for a freshie smile.gif Since you are going well with your working surrounding somemore you can feel that the future is certainly on the good side there, you should stick with your current job, try not to hop too far a step while you just learnt how to stand up like a baby smile.gif
casper04
post Jun 24 2006, 01:01 PM

72 posts

MNC worth 2.5k but 6 months contract.

what kind of job is that? with that kinda pay for 6 month contract? tak masuk akal
WinDs
post Jun 24 2006, 01:33 PM

♥ Ai desu (-.-) ♥
3,403 posts

i think it's probation contract, after that they will convert it to permanent contract.
swlong
post Jun 24 2006, 01:58 PM

548 posts

hmm hmm .....master holder in which field?

Femi
post Jun 24 2006, 02:09 PM

Lady
739 posts

Look at Company's scope and goal first, your job area, see which one has a better future... cannot decide base on the salary alone.
thefryingfox
post Jun 24 2006, 02:10 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

2.5 , 6 Months contract..sounds like shell ?
Lestat
post Jun 24 2006, 09:52 PM

392 posts

it's a CONTRACT job.
they need workers, but not willing to commit as permanent worker. BUT they might keep you as well when u perform to their standard.

Master ur skill and sell yourself.
U can try 'casually' tell ur current boss about the offer. They might consider to give u pay rise...if they think u worth to keep. Good time to know much they love u tongue.gif
leekit12
post Jun 24 2006, 10:31 PM

15 posts

Hi guys,

Yo !

For my personal opinion, just dont just jump ship when you have a better paycheck. You need to look at your career in a long term wise as you've already mentioned that your current job have alot of potential and will be expected to be promoted to manager in 3 years time. It's good that your company actually plan you career path with you and will be moulding you to be a manager material instead of paying you more without proper guidance on your path.

Besides, there is always a risk of you contract being terminated after just 6 months if you jump ship. Trust me, I am also a master holder and I was in your shoe before. My current job is my first job and only pay me RM1850 for my master degree and I was disappointed just like you now. BUt later found out that it actually takes 3 to 4 years for one to learn the ropes and ready for managerial level's responsibility. Now is my second year with the co and I must say I am on the right track at this moment... and also the pays gets better and better .

Master degree is nothing if you could not perform and expect to be paid certain amount of money. If you have the capability, management will eventually recognise your ability. With the master , you will be on a fast track to for promotion. That is just my 2 cents lar.

fishbone
post Jun 24 2006, 11:15 PM

nah...
619 posts

may i ask some oppinion here?

being a junior technical staff, who has a nicely laid career path to be the potential technical lead for the company... do you still leave for a contractual career with similar pay?

honestly saying, i think i am still not qualified for being a lead as i know too little in technical... would you prefer to drill yrself further in other jobs?
Mavik
post Jun 25 2006, 07:21 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hi guys,

Being able to be promoted to manager in about 3-4 years is pretty good already if you ask me. Sounds like a good prospect to me.

Best is to weigh the fact in which company can you move on more. Since you are pretty comfortable at your current job, what makes you think that the new job might be as nice? It could be a living hell just to earn that extra RM600.
say_it
post Jun 29 2006, 05:42 PM

521 posts

master holder who earn 1.9k or even 2.5k is still under paid...
better look for a better prospect job which starting pay at least RM3.2k
don waste ur master degree.....
forrest
post Jun 29 2006, 08:01 PM

1,045 posts

just stick with your current company if you feel comfortable and happy, and the important is if you know you can perform well and get good future with your current job. My junior who are degree freshie get 4k salary like work in hell.
goliath
post Jun 29 2006, 11:25 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 25 2006, 07:21 PM)
Being able to be promoted to manager in about 3-4 years is pretty good already if you ask me. Sounds like a good prospect to me.

Best is to weigh the fact in which company can you move on more. Since you are pretty comfortable at your current job, what makes you think that the new job might be as nice? It could be a living hell just to earn that extra RM600.
Agree with Mavik. Are there any chances for you to be permanent staff after that 6 months? If they can't give you a definite answer, might as well just stay at your current job. No point of working with higher pay and ending up 6 months later without a job. If I were, just stay on with current job smile.gif
elaineliew88
post Jun 30 2006, 01:37 AM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

ermm....wif aster degree but less then 2k i think is a bit low la...juz my 2 sen...i m still student though.....
sunbeams
post Jul 1 2006, 04:34 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(Femi @ Jun 24 2006, 01:09 PM)
Look at Company's scope and goal first, your job area,  see which one has a better future... cannot decide base on the salary alone.
Very well said.

Though salary is indeed important, you should consider other factors:

- Are the goals and objectives of the company in tandem with my personal interest?
- In the near future, can I see myself having a successful career in this company?
- Team and people - Are they pleasant and enjoyable to share a career, to grow with?
- Stability and outlook of the company

sunbeams
post Jul 1 2006, 04:38 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Jun 29 2006, 04:42 PM)
master holder who earn 1.9k or even 2.5k is still under paid...
better look for a better prospect job which starting pay at least RM3.2k
don waste ur master degree.....
I don't mean to be prejudice here. Having a Master Degree with little or no working experience doesn't make a difference with a fresh graduate with a Bachelor Degree.

The true value of a Masters Degree comes when someone has enough working experience. That is why most people choose to work for a few years, then pursue for a Masters.

killdavid
post Jul 1 2006, 01:52 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,636 posts

Sigh, why all the fresh grads so crazy about a couple hundred ringgit extra ? If your current job provides you valuable experience and good exposure, then stick with it for more than a year or two. Master all there is to learn then use that experience to take you to greater heights.

If I see a candidate who switches jobs in less than 1 year interval, that person's resume is out the window.

This post has been edited by killdavid: Jul 1 2006, 01:53 PM
chairmanmeow
post Jul 1 2006, 06:44 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Jul 1 2006, 04:38 AM)
I don't mean to be prejudice here. Having a Master Degree with little or no working experience doesn't make a difference with a fresh graduate with a Bachelor Degree.

The true value of a Masters Degree comes when someone has enough working experience. That is why most people choose to work for a few years, then pursue for a Masters.
sorry but you are wrong. it all depends on the complexity of the job. say for example if the job only requires a bachelor's of worse diploma, of course your masters is going to have no value to them as thus they will not pay in recognition of it. but in jobs like R&D, it most often requires a master's degree.

your second statement also very much depends on what kind of master's degree your're doing. MBA for example, where sometimes you would even need work experience to gain entry to the course.

0.0184sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:17 AM