Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

jchue73
post Jan 3 2014, 05:28 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Jan 3 2014, 01:51 PM)
omg -.- am got myself some duragloss products from Pasaraya Megaherbs in Taman Megah lol.... wtf mang Pasaraya XDXD
Just last weekend I was there looking for some stuff but could not find any.

Is it the same location where they put Kit Car wax and shampoo near the front entrance opposite the cashier?
jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 02:03 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 5 2014, 12:11 PM)
Anyone used this product by SGCB before?

---> http://www.sgcbonline.com.my/product-718446.html

i tried to search online for any reviews but got nothing however the last time i brought my car over to a car detailing centre for a 4 layer polish, this was the wax they used. another car detailing centre was also offering this coating wax as opposed to Meguires. Apparently, according to them this SGCB has a more smooth finish compared to Meguires with the rest equals.

also, since i am now trying to wax my car at least once fortnightly i need some real advice as opposed to youtube.com videos. this is my first time doing it so i don't want to screw it up.

if according to the video, waxing is just as simplyeas applying the wax (paste form), wait until a white layer appears and then just wipe it off with a clean micro fiber cloth (just minimal strength required). my question is this, is this all there is to it?
I came across SGCB a few weeks ago while looking up at some coatings.

Somebody tried their glass coatings and made some youtube videos. Have a look.

Not too bad from what I see. No idea on their wax.
jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 04:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 5 2014, 03:49 PM)
Not bad at all....but I've seen better....
Better? Which ones?

And more importantly against what price?

I think for the SGCB price, the coating is pretty much bang for the buck.
jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 05:08 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 5 2014, 04:28 PM)
So how much is the SGCB Crystallization coating then and what size does it come in?

Cuz for around RM300 range there's Dodo Juice Supernatural Infinity Sealant, Choose Nanotech DLS 9H, Optimum Opti Coat 2.0 and some other Japanese coatings that you can find at Autobacs.
Are they available locally in KL/PJ? I'm actually considering to purchase them. I only came across Meguairs' version M188 and they are quite pricey.

Anyway, don't know which SGCB coating was used in the video. But looking at their products, there are 3 of them. First one is RM 119 for 500ml and the other 2 is RM 79. No idea on how much ML is given but bottle looks big?

jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 05:39 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 5 2014, 05:21 PM)
Those that you show above are not 'coating' per se. They're basically sealants and waxes. The word sealant/wax have been lost in translation when they're trying to figure out what those Chinese characters represent in English....the proper work should be 'protection'.
Ah ok. The last 2 I suspect are mere sealants / waxes but the first one may be a coating.

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 5 2014, 05:23 PM)
If you mean the coatings that I mentioned previously, yes they are.
Can you share where they can be gotten? Thanks.
jchue73
post Feb 5 2014, 06:12 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 5 2014, 05:43 PM)
i can read chinese, and from there it's written as wax doh.gif doh.gif

so strike out all 3
LOL laugh.gif

I think it may be my fault. Was looking at the wrong place.

I think the coating must be this one.

Price is RM 299. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Feb 6 2014, 12:46 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Feb 6 2014, 09:43 AM)
Thanks for guidance ...  notworthy.gif

anyway beside than Meguairs's Ultimate Quik Detailer... is there any product to introduce where can dilute with water.. looking for somethin economic. cheers!
g88 mentioned this previously that as alternative to UQD, you can use Meguiars M135. It's the professional range series of the UQD that can be bought in a gallon.

user posted imageuser posted image

He also suggested alternatively you can get a gallon of ONR and dilute it as QD. The decision to use ONR / any other rinseless type of product like Meguiars D114 or M135 / UQD depends on how much dirt you want to clean. UQD is usually very light dust and dirt.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 6 2014, 11:49 AM)
thanks for the tip but i still need to know what are the possible adverse effect (if any) on the car paint if contaminants are not properly (or entirely) removed before applying the wax. will it kill off the paint or it will just make the car less shiny.
From my very limited experience, if the surface is not clean, you'll experience cloudy / streaking on the paint your're waxing. At least that happens to the waxes I use.

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 6 2014, 11:56 AM)
Like KrisMas has said, I too never came across or aware of any product that function like Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Detailer, but in large volume and can be diluted with water.
Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Detailer is a consumer range product, only sold in that size.
So yes I do agree with you it is not economical. If you have a weekend car then probably worth it but if your car is daily driver, I do not think worth the money. A good wax alone can provide equally amazing water beading effect.

The following product by Meguiar's is in large volume only:
D155 Detailer Last Touch Spray Detailer, 1 Gallon
This one if used as clay lubricant can be diluted half water half product. For use as quik detailer purpose, straight out of the container, no dilution.

But it has no Hydrophobic Polymer Technology like the Ultimate Quik Detailer. So it will only clean up light dust, finger print, smudge, etc. But will not boost water beading effect. However if only intended to use as spray quik detailer then this is suitable.
I read that the Last Touch was suppose to be the one to use but now with newer products, people skip this and got for M135. Perhaps due to it's hydrophobic qualities.

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 6 2014, 11:56 AM)
The following has Hydrophobic Polymer Technology, so it should boost water beading as good as Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Detailer:

Yes, as claimed by Meguiars themselves, the M135 is the professional version of the UQD.

If you want boost up your wax water beading, try spray wax instead. Spray wax available in large volume.
The professional / detailer version of Meguiars spray wax is the D156.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 6 2014, 12:48 PM
jchue73
post Feb 6 2014, 01:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Feb 6 2014, 01:19 PM)
All these professional series kinda rare to get it on market... hardly find on Ace Hardware shop..  sad.gif
That's true unfortunately. Try the automotive garage sales here or you can head to Hypercoat in Subang if you're in KL/PJ area.
jchue73
post Feb 6 2014, 04:12 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Feb 6 2014, 03:34 PM)
anyone know how to remove water mark stain on car seat fabric? I accidentally spill water on it. and it is having a stain on the seats.
I believe the stain can be removed with something like a steam cleaner from Karcher. If you know someone who has it, you can borrow since they are pretty expensive if you're just going to remove stain from our car seat.
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 12:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Feb 7 2014, 10:14 AM)
Sorry it is on the rear glass. Paint job I managed to removed it via DA polisher and compounding
I think it depends on how severe it is. The one that I tried is using a small bottle solution sold in Giant called Tomcat. I bought it back in 2008 for RM 8 and I'm still using it. I just cleaned my huge panaromic sunroof (aargh) by hand with it when using Autoglym's Glass Polish did not help. No idea what the Tomcat contains but people say it's strong acid. From the smell, I think it's strong ammonia or something.

There's also another product off the shelf called Forma Hero Rain Stain Remover. Not tired it yet.

QUOTE(kww @ Feb 7 2014, 11:10 AM)
From the description, it looks like a syntactic sealant, no canuaba was mention. I don't understand the last sentence of "suitable for imported car, luxury paint".
I haven't use any SGCB product before, but if it is just sealant than you can look at Meguiar’s #21 Synthetic Sealant 2.0, Collinitr 476. I'm using 476 with aqua wax or ocwax as topper/booster/spray wax. You can omit the topper if you think is too much work.
From my memory, the Meguair's NXT was better than M21. Easier to apply and shines better. Anyway, it was a while back.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 7 2014, 11:21 AM)
The Meguiar's #21 Synthetic Sealant 2.0 seemed liquid in form. Do they have anything similar but in paste form or is liquid form superior to that of a paste form?
You like paste better? Liquid is usually easier to apply. If using DA machine to polish, liquid is easier to apply. With paste, you need to spread it with something like a butter knife to the foam pad of the DA.

Anyway, I've only used M21 once. Not a good experience if I'm not wrong. Hard to buff off if I recall. And to my untrained eyes, other products gave better shine. Perhaps for durability, it's quite good? I'll try it again and find some time to use it.

Anyway throughout the years, kept buying other stuff and found it better like Meguiars' M16 paste wax. I started collecting other paste wax like 3M Perfect It and Meguiars Ultimate Paste Wax. I like the Meguiars Ultimate Paste Wax. Easy to apply and buff off like liquid and looked very good on black cars. But cannot remember off hand how durable it was. I also bought liquid type wax like M26 Hi-Tech Yellow Wax and Meguiars Gold Class Carnauba Wax which I quite like but does not last long.

The lately hand itchy and got Autoglym's HD Wax when I was in Singapore. Tried it and thought the paste wax was difficult to apply and more picky on surface. Surface must be clean and you need to apply really thin. For a large bonnet and if you don't apply evenly on a dark coloured car, it can get patchy and buffing it to make it same is damn difficult. But in my limited use, durability so far is excellent. Water beads very nicely too after a few weeks.
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 01:00 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 7 2014, 12:26 PM)
To be honest, I actually have no preference on either paste or liquid but because i saw the detailer uses the SGCB Coating Wax and it is in paste form in which he uses the pad to apply all over my car, it seems more certain that it will be fail proof. The detailer didn't use any tools to spread the wax evenly on the pad, he just rubs it in the can and then apply and then wipes it off with micro fiber cloth almost effortlessly?
Hmmm, so you have not done it yourself yet? sweat.gif Do it once and see why they charge you RM 100 effortlessly. laugh.gif Actually it's not so bad lah if you're used to it but if you don't mind a little bit of elbow grease and a sweaty work out, then by all means DIY.

Anyway, the method described by you on the spreading of paste wax by hand is a common method. It only gets a little tricky if you want to apply paste wax by using machine (DA).

The one thing that i fear the most is paint hazing. Those which leaves a white cloudy patch on the car and they are impossible to remove. What actually causes them, i don't know.
I think bro Krismas covered this already. Make sure you clean / wash your car properly before you apply wax. There is a balance when washing the paintwork. Using too strong shampoo will strip the existing wax. If not strong enough and the surface of the paintwork will still contain contaminants.

In my limited experience with Meguiars, the type of wax used can also cause streaking / paint hazing. Some waxes are more fussy than others. I find liquid waxes have less likelihood to do this and are less picky on surfaces.

Also, you use a DA to apply the wax?
I use DA when I'm feeling lazy. tongue.gif More like depends on my mood. But actually it can involve more work too. Taking out the DA and pad, wires here and there and worst part is cleaning the pad after that. Applying wax by hand is more straightforward but introduces fatigue. The pros to using a machine when applying wax is you get more consistent spreading of the wax.

In my honest opinion, a spray wax / quick detailing type of application suits you better. It's more straight forward and easier to apply after a wash then putting a layer of conventional wax.
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 06:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 7 2014, 05:49 PM)
Mind sharing what is your DA, where you purchase it, and how much?
My DA? Just a humble BD KP600 modified to take normal velcro foam pads and the Bosch GEX-125.
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 06:39 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 7 2014, 06:30 PM)
Could this be you?
Modifying BD KP600

Do you like the Bosch GEX-125 over the BD KP600?
LOL

The BD is less powerful than the Bosch. I use the BD for light duties like waxing. If I recall, the Bosch made a split in the back of the foam pad where the edge of the velcro ends after a long usage.

My Bosch is inactive for quite a while since I got a RB. First I made do with the China made Skill 9070 and until just recently I got the Makita 9227C. biggrin.gif
jchue73
post Feb 7 2014, 11:52 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 7 2014, 06:41 PM)
Hey bro is funny  rclxms.gif bbut after the jokes provide a serious answer please.  icon_question.gif  Never been to you guys event before so no idea what is the agenda of the night.
No lah. Just like TT for any car clubs, the people in attendance will talk about anything to do with detailing plus a little bit more. Talk about latest detailing gears and products, where to get what, tips and anything you want to talk about. But basically it's a more social type gathering just to get to know and share knowledge.

I believe this TT practice originated back from Autoworld forum actually when detailing sifus would congregate mostly on Friday evenings at the Banana Leaf Restaurant in Center Point, Bandar Utama.

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 7 2014, 06:56 PM)
So that thread in autogeek is really made by you la?

Good machine you have.
Not me lah. Instead of using glue, I use a double sided automative velcro tape and line them like it's shown on the link. Easier and faster.
jchue73
post Feb 10 2014, 10:46 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 10 2014, 07:44 AM)
Full resolution and EXIF data included to clear any doubts:
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JasonLimQuazac...sts/YWyAuVNUApj

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JasonLimQuazac...sts/a9zm7DDBKXe

really, the poorboy's black hole really did wonders on making proton's tranquility black suck less laugh.gif
Side track a little...

From the pics you took, I cannot make any conclusion for sure.

To make apples to apples comparison, your lighting, exposure and everything else needs to be the same for both pics. Usually, manual mode is used to capture to ensure you fix the metering and not let the camera decide. You mentioned the EXIF is intact but I cannot see it.

Anyway, the first pic looks like the black car was metered and therefore the camera "thinks" it's dark and tends to brighten the pic. That is why your black car colour is a little washed out. You can see also that the whites on the bright fluorescent lamp on your garage and your neighbours are washed out and it's not in the 2nd pic.

Take some -ev exposure compensation on your 1st pic and you'll see it matches your 2nd. smile.gif

Having said that, it would be better if you had taken the pic out in the sun. Some may call it placebo effect, but I don't doubt your observation and that it does make dark coloured cars darker. Most importantly after the hard work put in, the end result is the owner feels satisfied.

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 10 2014, 09:09 AM)
3. Sonax Plastic Restorer will produce matte finishing on your plastic. So I topped up with Meg Hyperdressing.
Wanna ask how to properly detail plastic trims? I have a lot of it all around my car. Plus together with the black wheels, I find I spend a lot of time dressing them. I take about 10 to 15 minutes just applying the dressing per wheel. sweat.gif

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 10 2014, 09:09 AM)
4. Women nag a lot when men wash car, even the car is hers.
laugh.gif sad.gif
jchue73
post Feb 10 2014, 04:09 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 10 2014, 02:49 PM)
10 to 15 minutes dressing a single wheel, to me is ... normal. LOL
Like I said, a lot of people here is overkill.
LOL Ok. Need to make it clearer. the 10 to 15 minutes dressing I mentioned is just putting on the dressing on the tires. Prior cleaning the tires and the rims is like 15 to 20 minutes per wheel. And that's doing it on a weekly basis. sweat.gif Does not help that it's a 19" wheel rim and rubber and it collects a LOT of dirt. sad.gif The tires also one kind. Sidewall pattern is with very fine patterns and the dressings sometimes don't get applied nicely into those fine grooves. That's why it takes long. Have to massage it longer.

The black plastic trims surrounding the car is another problem. Putting dressing on it needs to make sure it's uniform as the area is quite large.
jchue73
post Feb 24 2014, 05:06 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2014, 02:45 PM)
- clayed the rims with clay cloth + Turtle wax F21 car shampoo as lubricant.
Which clay cloth are you using? Looking for one.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2014, 02:45 PM)
- Meguiar's Endurance tire gel
I happen to have some leftover in my store. Got it 4 years and took it out to use it. Easier to use and seems to last pretty long. Applied before CNY up till now. The tire sidewalls lost it's shine a little but I'm ok with that. Will probably apply again this weekend after a thorough wash.

I don't soap the wheels directly. Just use a powerjet to hose down the tire sidewall surface and blow dry the wheels afterwards.
jchue73
post Feb 25 2014, 12:33 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2014, 05:36 PM)
From Osren biggrin.gif
bought more from shine cars singapore to give it a try though LOL
Thanks. Will look for it.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2014, 05:36 PM)
i have a pressure washer too but i still prefer directly agitating the surface if it's too dirty; else i just spray wheel cleaning solutions and let it sit, then pressure wash away biggrin.gif
(my cars generate a lot of brake dust due to shit driving habits sweat.gif )
I think the roads in KL are pretty dusty especially with the dry weather. After a week's drive, the rims turn brown in colour. The dirt accumulated is a lot on the wheels and I find that they are oily as well because the dirty water leaves a stain on my tiles.

Anyway, I now use Meguiars D108 Super Degreaser (10:1) mixed in a spray bottle. I find that it cleans the gunk on rims quite efficiently. I only shoot on the rims and not on the tire sidewall since I don't want to wash the old dressing on the tires. The only thing I find difficult is to clean inside and behind the rims. That takes a long time. Perhaps I'll retire my old wash mitt and use it to clean the wheels. Lastly I use the pressure washer to wash off all the soap and also on the tire sidewall and after that use a blower to blow it dry. The Endurance Tire Gel still stays on the tire sidewall and still gives a good sheen.

QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 24 2014, 06:29 PM)
Any recommended products for trims, rubbers, besides Meguiars Hyper Dressings?
I use Autoglym's Bumper and Trim Gel because I still have 2 bottles. But I just realised I can also use Meguiars Endurance Tire Gel. Read that it gives very good results on plastic trims.

Previously I was looking at Meguiars D161 Silicone-Free Dressing but it's not available in Malaysia.

The more lasting and expensive solution would be to use something like 22ple VR1 Plastic and Trim Restorer.

QUOTE(joeysew @ Feb 25 2014, 11:19 AM)
Thanks mate. Any idea how much it will roughly cost?
The last time I did the whole long bottom side skirt was RM 180 if I recall. But yours would need to include the door as well right?

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 25 2014, 12:33 PM
jchue73
post Feb 25 2014, 11:13 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(cashloke @ Feb 25 2014, 08:13 PM)
Can I strip off the wax/ sealant just by claying?
Wax can. But sealant not too sure. Perhaps not.
jchue73
post Feb 26 2014, 03:33 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 26 2014, 12:42 PM)
Speaking about wax, two weeks ago I applied Meguiars Ultimate Paste Wax on my black coloured car which already had Autoglym's HD Wax since before CNY. Ease of application is not bad for a paste wax. Can streak on the bonnet if not applied evenly and easier to remedy. Gives very dark glossy wet look with just one application. I also found that not much dust sticks onto the car body as I managed to wash the car with ease last weekend.

On my wifey's dark blue coloured car, I decided to top up on top of the existing Autoglym's HD Wax with Meguiars Gold Class Carnauba Plus liquid wax last weekend. I noted that it's like a cleaner wax because my application pad got quite dirty pretty quickly. Very easy to apply. No streaking and the results are very satisfying. Need for next weekend to see if the car body collects dust and if it's easier to wash the car.

0.0577sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:07 PM