Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

cashloke
post Feb 22 2014, 04:16 PM

It's been fun reading from V1 to V3. Many information gather. Newbies checking in. To the otai otai, have you guys heard before Wellson brand? Is a Japanese products. Google high and low for a review but only a few appear. Wellson PS coat that claim 1 year of durability.
cashloke
post Feb 22 2014, 04:49 PM

Will get one of the PS coat to try out.
OTAI otai means sifu sifu sekalian. Lol.
cashloke
post Feb 22 2014, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 22 2014, 08:53 PM)
If you are using pure wax, i.e. non-abrasive content wax, be it synthetic (i.e. sealant) or natural wax (i.e. carnauba wax), then as KrisMas bro has said, you can do it as often as you like.

If you accidentally trap hard particle between the applicator foam pad and your paint surface, then yes it can create scratch, I think this is common sense though. Just be caution.

As for time of application in between each wax session, it is highly subjective and on a case by case basic. Assuming you referring to a daily driver, drive around Klang Valley, park in outside more than 50% of the time. Wash weekly using good quality shampoo. Clay before wax. In between wash you do not boost the wax with spray wax or quik detailer, I will say as a rule of thumb for pure carnauba wax at most one month, for sealant, maybe 3 months (depend on brand).

Easiest way of determining whether you need a new layer of wax application is to observe water beading. If it has deteriorated to a level you feel unsatisfactory even after a wash, then re-apply. Overkill is completely fine.  thumbup.gif
Nevertheless, lost of water beading effect to naked eyes does not necessary equals to lost of wax layer existence and wax protection. To confirm on existence of wax layer on top of paint surface, you need to perform at least what Meguiar's call Squeak Test.
Like a car CSI…. notworthy.gif
cashloke
post Feb 23 2014, 03:38 PM

[quote=KrisMas,Feb 22 2014, 07:39 PM]
You mean Willson coatings. Saw a few types in Autobacs Klang. One local enthusiast did some comparison tests but can't remember his conclusion. Will come back after I read through his post again.

Yes, the Willson coatings that seems very easy to apply.Just spray on and wipe/buff off. Just like some spray on wax method.. Guys…Just went to Tesco and saw this Sonax High Speed spray on wax (Red bottle)..Any review on that?

This post has been edited by cashloke: Feb 23 2014, 03:40 PM
cashloke
post Feb 25 2014, 08:13 PM

Can I strip off the wax/ sealant just by claying?
cashloke
post Feb 26 2014, 08:00 PM

Like a women with her makeup on (filler) to cover up their wrinkles and pimples. Lol...
cashloke
post Mar 2 2014, 04:21 PM

Otai otai…how to attached a photo?

cashloke
post Mar 2 2014, 06:16 PM

My swirl detector attached to the wall. biggrin.gif . It get operated by my gate remote. The con is that ,you need to turn the car and do panel by panel.

My HP washer home… biggrin.gif
cashloke
post Mar 2 2014, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Mar 2 2014, 09:09 PM)

Ever consider invest into a portable halogen lamp stand?

inside the styrofoam box is a pressure washer? You wrap it as something precious inside.  laugh.gif
Outside is a Styrofoam and inside is a cage made from the house door grill. And YES... inside those layers of protection lies my pressure washer. Lazy to bring out so many tools , so fixed everything on the wall.lol. I even modified the hose so it is long enough to wash the porch too.just switch on power and water and shoot away.

This post has been edited by cashloke: Mar 2 2014, 11:20 PM
cashloke
post Mar 4 2014, 11:08 AM

Any review on this? My rotary always parking in the closet and hardly used. Thinking of getting a new toy to play with. biggrin.gif

cashloke
post Mar 4 2014, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Mar 4 2014, 09:53 AM)
Today's rain is an LSP KILLER!!! Beading on MY WHOLE car just went flat...including vertical panels too.... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Got measure the rain ph level ka? drool.gif
cashloke
post Mar 4 2014, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Mar 4 2014, 03:23 PM)
I have been keeping a close watch on this polisher.

bro acefreakz here has one and I am still waiting him to feedback to me some questions on the polisher such as validity of soft start and cruise control feature.

But from The Detailing World forum, Clean Your Car selling it and they comment it is a good polisher given the price tag.

You got any more infor?
All I know is..... it is below rm700 and it is a DA.lol. Nothing much from googling .
cashloke
post Mar 5 2014, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Mar 4 2014, 09:05 PM)
you and me should give more pressure to bro acefreakz for his user infor.  tongue.gif
I tell you what I know:

1) Malaysia has distributor of this machine but is in Sabah however if you buy from them shipping is included.
2) Machine use standard 5/16" thread so many backing plate can be used.
3) Only side handle, no D handle.
4) I called the distributor, they claim the machine as stated in their website, has soft start and cruise control. Clean Your Car web also claim the same thing so I think is true just do not know how effective they are. So far the only normal DA (excluding Flex 3401 and Rupes bigfoot) with soft start and cruise control is the Meguiar's G220V2.
5) Made in China.
6) Thailand has one distributor too and selling at least RM100 cheaper than Malaysia distributor. But due to agreement, Thailand distributor cannot ship to Malaysia. So if you travel to Thailand, buy at there is cheaper.
The furthest I go is betong, Thailand. Not much there accept you know what la. Have you search tao bao since it is a China product.
cashloke
post Mar 5 2014, 11:50 AM

The tire dressing is done one week ago with 101 polish AIO.. Thinking of ways to use up the cheapo 101 fast. So it goes to my tires and rims and the below the skirt cleaning..

1) wash and degreaser
2) while it is wet, I slap on the 101 with a wet applicator and wait a few sec and then rinse off with water.( Lightly wipe of the residue with the applicator).
Walla… water beading on tires and rims... tongue.gif .( Brake dust also not much after one week)

My singalingam way only…cabuzzzz…..! brows.gif
cashloke
post Mar 7 2014, 09:37 AM

The little drizzling last week cause havoc on the front screen. Water mark all over, What step should I start first?
cashloke
post Mar 11 2014, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Mar 9 2014, 07:23 PM)
thanks to my friend letting me to try menzerna power finish po 203 on the metallic black bonnet, reason for choosing her car? well because it's heavy swirls and scratches hahahahaahhaa

before:

after:

well obviously it's nothing close to perfection lol. do i need deeper cutting polish? Am using a red cutting pad from forgot-what-brand lol.

menzerna is my 2nd polish other than meg's, so i wil just compare based on the two =P plz excuse me for my noob observation if any biggrin.gif
- menz seriously low dust
- menz do not produce holograms, as i experienced from meg's ultimate compound
- glosiness wise... mmm maybe the same? i don't notice the different from my eyes xD maybe i should do a side by side comparison nx time hehe

for bro scoutfai, the shine-mate ERO 600 polisher has soft start, cruise control wise, i noticed a some reduce in power when i pressure it too much, for medium to light pressure, it's quite consistent.
How about the noise and vibration? My China mali rotary very noisy. You get pinging sound in the ear?

cashloke
post Mar 21 2014, 11:09 AM

Silica glass coating review got or not?
cashloke
post Apr 5 2014, 06:18 PM

interesting read found on nanoarmor.com.my

The one and only true anti-scratch coating around. Seeing is believing. Imagine: no more worries about accidental scratches by finger nails, handbag zippers, children’s bags/toys or the grazing of motorcycles on your side-mirrors. Over the years, we have been thanked countless of times how our anti-scratch protection saved the day.

With hardness of up to 12H (the highest paint protection system in the world – no one comes close!), it can also withstand small stone chips from roads & highways and because few chemicals can react to the rock-solid coating hardness, you have lesser worries about watermark, bird bombs, acid rain, salt water and tree gums. Give your car the finest protection there is in the world today.

This diamond-hard armor coating will last for the lifetime of the car. Our main ingredient consists of Titanium. This chemical element is exceptionally strong (having the highest strength-to-weight ratio of any metal), has high tensile strength, light weight, fatigue resistance, high crack resistance, able to withstand moderately high temperatures and has high corrosion resistance. It is no wonder that Titanium alloys are used in air.

[SIZE=7] So got this type of hardness one ar? cool2.gif
cashloke
post Apr 7 2014, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Apr 7 2014, 08:03 AM)
The ultimate idiot proof paint care guide for anyone new into this hobby:

Meguiar's 5 steps paint care cycle!http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthread.php?37320-Meguiar-s-5-Step-Paint-Care-Cycle-Updated!
Mequiar poisoning again? Lol..!
cashloke
post Apr 7 2014, 09:14 AM

I love this AMNO NYC tutorial video better, he does not sell his products and his videos are very detail from A-Z.
Here a link to his tutorial: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYsa8SOy3TkoxI5D17s1u-w

0.0604sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:05 AM