Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(clrtout @ Jan 16 2014, 06:01 PM)
i've used goo gone too.
bought from ACE hardware.

but i bought the one similar to this:

http://googone.com/GG-Browse-Products/Goo-Gone-4oz
hmm can use thinner/tupin to clean too? more effective?

or use RAINX that use to clean our windscreen? (guess this will have effect because it's acid) ?
aromachong
post Aug 3 2014, 12:36 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2014, 02:32 AM)
try not to use something with a lot of conditioner/surfactants and worse, wax such as wash and wax

pure shampoo, even cheap ones (so long they are reputable brands) should do nod.gif
how about cosway wash and wax.. whats ur advise? cannot use..?
aromachong
post Aug 3 2014, 06:44 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2014, 05:40 PM)
can use but i advise against, and i personally don't prefer to.
i see.. can you explain why against...? i need to change to meguairs car wash shampoo?
aromachong
post Aug 3 2014, 08:55 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 3 2014, 07:29 PM)
claying is to remove everything on the surface to prepare for polishing/waxing.

your wash and wax is adding wax to it, wouldn't it be interrupting the process?
not to mention i had bad experience with surfactants/conditioners affecting the clay properties in which on cheaper clays it'll flake/leave residue.
thanks..

am currently using cosway wash and wax concentrated shampoo

and using meguairs polish , wax , leather conditioner, interior .. etc..

only wash car i am not using meguairs product hehe ..
aromachong
post Aug 4 2014, 10:11 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 4 2014, 10:10 PM)
Wax is just for protection against the elements...something like putting on a *very* thin layer of cling wrap film over the paint. It might be able to 'mask' a little bit of the *very* fine scratches...but not by much. Further more, it's just temporary and would wear off over (a short) time. Best is to get the scratches remove by polishing and the round thing that spins is called a 'rotary polisher' tongue.gif Just make sure they use the right polish to REMOVE cuz some polishes are also good in 'masking' the scratches.
er.. i think we can use meguairs product something call scratch removal... will it remove scratches permanently?
aromachong
post Aug 4 2014, 10:51 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 4 2014, 10:28 PM)
Yup. Megs got a few 'scratch remover' of different aggresiveness that would remove anything from light swirls (cobweb-like light scratches) to deeper scratches (those that hasn't gone through the clear coat and can still be salvage la), namely frm less aggressive to most aggressive, SwirlX - Ultimate Polish - ScratchX - Ultimate Compound. If want to DIY, I would suggest getting the Megs 'twin' - Ultimate Polish & Ultimate Compound. Used correctly, these two would probably be able to tackle *almost* anything that any DIY-er can handle....oh...not to forget the other two stuffs which I would also consider as ESSENTIALS to any success of any DIY hobbiests - PASSION and PATIENCE. thumbup.gif
if i use ultimate polish and ultimate compound - do i have still to wax my car? sorry for silly questions.
aromachong
post Aug 13 2014, 01:17 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

Sifus,

Any wax or coating product can prevent dust/dirts stick onto my car? u know nowadays haze... so many dusts i see accumulating on my bonet, roof etc...

got any meguairs wax or any other products can prevent this? Quazacolt and all sifu2 of FNF

many thanks!

This post has been edited by aromachong: Aug 13 2014, 02:23 PM
aromachong
post Aug 13 2014, 02:36 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 13 2014, 02:29 PM)
no matter what LSP/coating you use, dust/traffic film/dirt etc will still be present on the surface of your car.

the biggest difference is their ease of washing off (be it during rain, or your regular car wash maintenance) as generally good protection will have dirt etched upon itself, NOT the car's clear coat.
Thanks. Meguiars wax will do the job perfectly? im currently using wilson wax also as it's good known in water beading..

by that means wax only make an easier job to eliminate dirt/traffic film/dust during washing process?
aromachong
post Aug 13 2014, 02:43 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 13 2014, 02:39 PM)
for me it does, my megs ULW lasted me since before CNY until now...
obviously the same can't be applied to everyone as my car *almost always* park under shade laugh.gif
and it is layered with Sonax BSD also.

good water bead doesn't mean it's protection/durability is good.

what if your wax expires in just one rain pour? anything after prior to your next wash would be etching directly on your car's clear coat and you will need to spend effort into claying or even polishing the car.

generally it's as you said.
in a nutshell, wax is to protect/seal in what detailing job (eg: polishing) you've done underneath.
i will stick to Meguairs ULW .. u re right... water beading doesn't mean good in protection/durability.. so i wont use wilson wax anymore..

meguairs wax.. so you prefer liquid rather than paste? hmm.. any reason?
aromachong
post Aug 18 2014, 03:06 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

Quazacolt KrisMas sifu,

i just bought Meguairs Ultimate Polish ( Pre-Waxing Glaze) - this product is for polish or wax?

I found out this product can eliminate swirls marks very effectively...

do we need to apply wax again after using this product?

Many Thanks!
aromachong
post Aug 18 2014, 04:17 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 18 2014, 03:25 PM)
the product is called polish right?

have you read the product labels or looked up meguiar's video guides online?
or maybe search the thread a bit (i remembered someone asking that few pages ago)

Thanks.. wonder this polisher will hurt paint job or not if use frequently? because i use to remove swirl marks.
aromachong
post Aug 18 2014, 04:25 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

also, somehow i found that http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/prod...nerconditioner/ (leather cleaner conditioner) is not really good in eliminate the dirty cause on my leather.

do we have other cleaners for the leather seat?

and also stupid me.. i use wilson wax to eliminate the scartches on top of my steering wheel.. now it leave white thing... can make it back to original... sad.
aromachong
post Aug 18 2014, 05:00 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 18 2014, 04:53 PM)
The abrasive is very mild and quite safe for frequent use. By 'frequent' I mean maybe once in three or four months (on the whole car). If you need to use it more frequently than that, then you should better check what's causing all those swirls to keep coming back and take some preventive actions instead.
I'm guessing you're just using it with a foam applicator (sponge) or cloth right? Try using a soft bristle shoe brush (those meant for cleaning leather shoes). There are chemicals available for cleaning leather seats which are far more effective than using the Megs one (since it is actually geared more for 'maintenance' cleaning) but need to know what type of leather.

What did you mean 'top of your steering wheel'? What material? Any pictures?
yes, im using clothe to clean my leather seat. Will try soft bristle brush as you suggest. I guess meguairs got 2 .. one is cleaner aka conditioner... and the other one is cleaner... which is in liquid form?.. hmm.. maybe i should try that.

I mean steering wheel cover.. got a bit scratch then i use wilson wax to get rid the scratch. and now got white mark like a bit stain on it... im thinking do i need to clean it by using detergent and apply meguairs interior liquid on it?

This post has been edited by aromachong: Aug 18 2014, 05:01 PM
aromachong
post Aug 18 2014, 08:45 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 18 2014, 07:59 PM)
ook, thanks for the info.  will check Clay no.3 out.  btw, if i'm going to buy just one a compounder product, between UC & swirlX, which has more cutting/correctional power? i feel like i want to buy UC, cause has been reading quite good reviews on Meg's forum & other places on M105.  then also i would've 3 bottles of Ultimate haha.
you can eliminate swirls marks effectively??  rclxub.gif for me i find it not easy to remove swirls.  are you using machine application or hand application??
this RO buffer

planning to visit osren when got chance... tongue.gif  tongue.gif wanna get their spray bottle and maybe checkout their clay bar & ultramate..
i got it from a AEON BIG (or ex-carrefour).  i think best if you can go midvalley, if the Aeon big don't have there, can you try AEON/Jusco.  if still don't have, can go Acehardware.. haha.
using hand. machine will cause more swirls.. thats my opinion only and might be wrong.
aromachong
post Aug 19 2014, 11:44 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

Do you guys think we still can use meguairs polish/wax after 2-3 years? is there any expire date?
aromachong
post Aug 19 2014, 12:06 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 19 2014, 11:48 AM)
depend how / where you keep in. General life span of product may vary between 2-5 years (can even be longer) if it doesn't expose to heat, moisture or contamination.

Tips to reduce contamination : - NEVER dip your bottle's mouth direct to the pad...
Thanks. I'm asking this because my other product which is wilson wax... got a bit yellowish "dot" on it after 2 years usage.
aromachong
post Aug 19 2014, 12:32 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 19 2014, 12:10 PM)
Open the bottle and look inside, if it looks 'clunky' or separated (clear water/oil on top with thick liquid separated at the bottom), try shaking the bottle vigorously and see whether it mix up again or not. If it's mix again and become thick luquid then it's still good. Normally, the newer Megs polishes would become watery if they went bad and the waxes would become 'clunky'...or in chunks.

If you're just trying to find out how long they would last before buying one...well...they last quite a few years if stored properly (not exposed to direct sun and heat) and shaken regularly (once a month or thereabout). I have quite a few Megs products and only ScratchX & M205 went bad on me. The rest are still good and some I bought almost a decade ago..... tongue.gif
The scratch X or 2.0 is better than Ultimate Polish right? i mean to remove swirl marks / scratches.
aromachong
post Aug 19 2014, 01:21 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 19 2014, 12:51 PM)
I usually use quick detailer to remove the contaminant. ALl goes well on that.. But QUICK DETAILER is costly i try not use to much.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
contaminant is easy to remove.. bird drop a bit hard if u leave it long...

and tree drop is the hardest? i wonder what product can remove this tree drop easily?
aromachong
post Aug 22 2014, 08:58 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Aug 22 2014, 12:45 AM)
if shampoo wash doesn't get rid of it, then yup, tar remover shud work..
shampoo wash will make tree sap worse. it will make small yellow dot become big and spread wider for the yellow dot. guess only tar remover will sort it out
aromachong
post Aug 28 2014, 03:33 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

my perforated leather seat got a bit "black bulu" coming on top? .. anyone have idea? going to kong?

meguairs leather conditioner seems like cant get rid of that bulu ..

0.0671sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:45 AM