Man, have to miss this session. Parents coming down to KL this weekend. Have to wait next time again.
Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Dec 9 2013, 05:27 PM
1,133 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: KL |
Man, have to miss this session. Parents coming down to KL this weekend. Have to wait next time again.
Dec 15 2013, 08:36 PM
Currently I'm using Meguiars White Wax (carnauba wax). I just waxed my car last Sunday. 2 days later, on Tuesday, it was a very heavy downpour at the place I park my car when I work. Then when I went to collect my car, I noticed that there are a lot of dark water lines washed down my whole car. It seems the wax is not working well in protection at all. Those looks like the wax melted and mixed with dirt from the rain water.
And today I washed my car. It seems to be those dirt are sticking to my paint. @_@ Washed but cannot help much. After washing, I used Meguiars UQD trying to clean up those stains. Took SO MUCH of effort to clear those dirt marks. I wonder, is the "carnauba wax" can be melted and become even a dirt magnet? Or it is supposed to be melted and washed away, and those dirt marks are due to no more wax protection on my car? |
Dec 16 2013, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 15 2013, 08:36 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Dec 16 2013, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 16 2013, 05:46 PM) 1. Did you perform a good surface preparation prior to apply wax ? I just polished with Meguiars Ultimate Polish last month by hand. Never clay before. First time buying, and after finishing this carnauba wax I will change to sealant already. Now just don't want to waste, thus wax every 2 weeks as I noticed the protection is easily washed off.2. Carnauba wax 'only' look good - product deep gloss by naturally it doesn't last long moreover we are in acid rain climate. 3. Due to Point 2 alot of ppl have choose to use synthetic wax compare to Carnauba as there last much longer and easy (apply) and easy (buff) off 4. For your case, i believe your protection layer has been washed off my the heavy downpour and left with watermark. 5. In order to move water mark, usually you would clay or polish off after a wash, UQD is to mostly use to remove light dust and finger print only. QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 08:00 PM) Pearl white. |
Dec 17 2013, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 17 2013, 09:30 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I'm thinking that the wax itself is not protecting so well, and being washed off easily. The white wax actually makes the applicator dirty. That's why I'm waxing my car every 2 weeks instead of once in a month since I already know it is not lasting. My doubt is that, since carnauba wax is a natural wax, does it "melt" and become sticky thus more prone to attract dusts during rain? Thanks sifu KrisMas for the lengthy explanation. |
Dec 17 2013, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 17 2013, 10:43 AM) clean glass sheets of water NATURALLY, if your glass is not doing that then it's still dirty despite what you think it is. Ya, I never try claying before yet.another way to be sure is to use a plastic bag test. anyways from your case, i think you didn't do proper preparation (eg: claying) before waxing. hence the wax is performing poorly. look up meguiar's website for steps, and like most things especially detailing/painting - surface preparation is critical. again, your doubt is void as it could easily be your surface preparation as modern carnauba waxes aren't prone to melting that easily as they have synthetic polymers/carriers. QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 17 2013, 10:57 AM) Yeah...most paste/waxes with carnauba ingredients seems to do that in our weather...normal...it's the heat and humidity. Thanks sifu. Will change to other product after this white wax finish. |
Jan 19 2014, 10:06 PM
Anyone tried this before? It works like spray wax. Just spray after washing car even when car is wet, and wipe it dry.
![]() Seems good in repelling water. This post has been edited by OhNooy: Jan 19 2014, 10:44 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0165sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:54 AM |