130 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

codenamew
post Feb 6 2014, 03:34 PM

601 posts

anyone know how to remove water mark stain on car seat fabric? I accidentally spill water on it. and it is having a stain on the seats.
windskill
post Feb 6 2014, 03:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Feb 6 2014, 03:28 PM)
Haha, the number one thing that i fear is the cloudy patches after wax application because my car is black in color so a small dot of such defect is enough to kill the entire appearance of the car and not to mention my self satisfaction.

I wash my car once every week at night with Magic 101's "Wash & Wax" but because of my regular car wash, the wax will wear off faster than i was told.

I just did my 4 layer polish and wax about 2 weeks ago and washed my car only once so now my car still feels "smooth". I reckon the wax is still around but i do not know how long will it last so before it goes away so i am hoping that before it goes away, i apply the wax.

I've seen so much videos online using clay bars and some to the extreme using a rotary machine to polish off the contaminants before they apply the wax but i have absolutely zero knowledge on these advance techniques and if i were to try it, i know it will cause more harm than good which is why i asking around to see if just washing the car thoroughly would be sufficient to prep the car for waxing T____T
Wash car, followed by wax is actually okay. The additional steps such as claying, polishing, and even IPA wipe, are just to provide the best surface to achieve the optimum bonding of wax on the paint surface. These steps are basically surface preparation.

Without proper surface preparation, you still can wax your car after car wash. Wax will still be there, no worries. The only thing is about the durability of the wax on the paint surface. That's it smile.gif
ikan_semilang
post Feb 6 2014, 03:46 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Feb 6 2014, 03:34 PM)
anyone know how to remove water mark stain on car seat fabric? I accidentally spill water on it. and it is having a stain on the seats.
hot water extractor... tongue.gif
shaniandras2787
post Feb 6 2014, 04:12 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 6 2014, 03:39 PM)
Wash car, followed by wax is actually okay. The additional steps such as claying, polishing, and even IPA wipe, are just to provide the best surface to achieve the optimum bonding of wax on the paint surface. These steps are basically surface preparation.

Without proper surface preparation, you still can wax your car after car wash. Wax will still be there, no worries. The only thing is about the durability of the wax on the paint surface. That's it smile.gif
I intend to wax my car once every 2 weeks so i am not particularly concern with the durability but the uncertainties of "trapping" contaminants under the layer of the wax bothers me slightly but since my car just had a 4 layer polish and wax, most of the contaminants are most probably removed and the still existing wax should prevent any contaminants to sit on my paint so my idea is before the existing wax goes away, i just keep on waxing so that the chances of my paint being exposed is minimized.
jchue73
post Feb 6 2014, 04:12 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Feb 6 2014, 03:34 PM)
I believe the stain can be removed with something like a steam cleaner from Karcher. If you know someone who has it, you can borrow since they are pretty expensive if you're just going to remove stain from our car seat.
TSKrisMas
post Feb 6 2014, 04:36 PM

Well...just to comfort you....washing a car without a wax on every week is better than having a wax on but washing the car once a month.

You don't really have/need to wax the car every 2 weeks. A good quality wax should be able to provide good protection for months (or at least one month). Concentrate on MAINTENANCE - wash and topping up with some spray topper/booster. I've been doing it for ages and the only portion of my car(s) paint that are damaged are only those caused by inconsiderate *so-called* human beings or accidents.... tongue.gif

ps. when I was using waxes/sealants, I only do a 'proper' detail - i.e. light polishing and re-waxing, maybe once in three or four months....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Feb 6 2014, 04:36 PM
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:40 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 04:36 PM)
the only portion of my car(s) paint that are damaged are only those caused by inconsiderate *so-called* human beings or accidents.... tongue.gif
to me, stone chips, LOTS of them sad.gif

as i've said - speeding and detailing aren't the best of friends lol
acefreakz
post Feb 6 2014, 04:43 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 6 2014, 04:40 PM)
to me, stone chips, LOTS of them sad.gif

as i've said - speeding and detailing aren't the best of friends lol
lol don tail too much la =P
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 04:43 PM)
lol don tail too much la =P
unfortunately, Malaysians don't practice the "right/rightmost lane for overtaking only" a lot sad.gif
even the new car also kena liao as Krismas also pointed out "don't waste my time on them" lol.

i mean, if you have a car that gives out around 100-120 torque at just 2k rpm, peak torque at 4.2k rpm at around 170-180 torque, and >200km effortlessly... you'll end up tailgating a LOT of people like it or not sad.gif

it's a very fun engine/car. wink.gif
shaniandras2787
post Feb 6 2014, 04:54 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 04:36 PM)

Well...just to comfort you....washing a car without a wax on every week is better than having a wax on but washing the car once a month.

You don't really have/need to wax the car every 2 weeks. A good quality wax should be able to provide good protection for months (or at least one month). Concentrate on MAINTENANCE - wash and topping up with some spray topper/booster. I've been doing it for ages and the only portion of my car(s) paint that are damaged are only those caused by inconsiderate *so-called* human beings or accidents.... tongue.gif

ps. when I was using waxes/sealants, I only do a 'proper' detail - i.e. light polishing and re-waxing, maybe once in three or four months....
Now here something new again HAHA. What's a spray topper/booster?

If that is the case then i think i'll most probably wax my car when water beading is getting less. It should be a proper indication.

Worst than animal living organisms with quarter of a brain cells of a ring worm, you mean.

Yeah, hate those idiots. I have several irreparable deep scratches on the side of my door and front fender which is caused by neighboring cars. I assumed that they opened the door so wide and so fast without even giving any thoughts that they might damage the car parked next to them.
acefreakz
post Feb 6 2014, 04:54 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 6 2014, 04:49 PM)
unfortunately, Malaysians don't practice the "right/rightmost lane for overtaking only" a lot sad.gif
even the new car also kena liao as Krismas also pointed out "don't waste my time on them" lol.

i mean, if you have a car that gives out around 100-120 torque at just 2k rpm, peak torque at 4.2k rpm at around 170-180 torque, and >200km effortlessly... you'll end up tailgating a LOT of people like it or not sad.gif

it's a very fun engine/car. wink.gif
LOL itu macam pun boleh -_____-"
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 04:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 04:54 PM)
LOL itu macam pun boleh -_____-"
ini post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=66085602
acefreakz
post Feb 6 2014, 05:09 PM

146 posts

lol was referring to ur 'tailgating' xD ya aware that stonechip are nutz biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by acefreakz: Feb 6 2014, 05:16 PM
TSKrisMas
post Feb 6 2014, 05:11 PM

Spray topper, example of them are like Meguiars Ultimate Quick Wax, Optimum Car Wax, Mothers FX Spray Wax, TurtleWax Wax-It-Wet, 3M Quick Spray Wax, Duraglos Aquawax, Autoglym Aqua Wax, Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer...just to name a few (that I've used and tried). The ones I mentioned are all from the more established and reliable brands and available in Malaysia. Google them and learn what they are and what they do. Personally, for a black car, I would recommend Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer if you're looking for durability or Meguiars Ultimate Quick Wax if you're looking for the look. If for ease of application with minimum risk of cloudy patches it's the DG Aquawax. Pair the spray waxes with a good regime and regular washing, you might not need to wax your car for months. Try one of them and...errr...*ehem* the Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer is on sale at Sonax HQ, provided that it hasn't being 'scooped' by the kakis here already...check out their fb page.... tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 05:55 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Feb 6 2014, 05:09 PM)
lol was referring to ur 'tailgating' xD ya aware that stonechip are nutz biggrin.gif
oh itu a:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_4B1_engine
Engine type Inline 4-cylinder DOHC 16v, MIVEC
Displacement 1.8 L (1,798 cc)
Bore 86 mm
Stroke 77.4 mm
Compression ratio 10.5:1
Fuel system ECI multiple
Peak power 103-105 kW (140-143 PS) at 6,000 rpm
Peak torque 177 N.m (90 lb·ft) at 4,250 rpm

lol
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 07:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 05:11 PM)
the Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer is on sale at Sonax HQ, provided that it hasn't being 'scooped' by the kakis here already...check out their fb page.... tongue.gif
omg can help me get one? how much/where is their hq anyways?

thinking of trying out a bottle haha
TSKrisMas
post Feb 6 2014, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 6 2014, 07:02 PM)
omg can help me get one? how much/where is their hq anyways?

thinking of trying out a bottle haha
I could give u their fb page but....... tongue.gif

They're at Glenmarie, Shah Alam, behind Posche showroom. One row after Car Nanny. Or...ask uncle google la..... mad.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2014, 08:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 6 2014, 08:15 PM)
I could give u their fb page but....... tongue.gif

They're at Glenmarie, Shah Alam, behind Posche showroom. One row after Car Nanny. Or...ask uncle google la..... mad.gif
wah far, help me get? LOL

=edit=
https://www.facebook.com/SonaxMalaysia
oh hey public... wah nice pricing lol

actually, looks like subang wo... i can reach lol.
nvm it is at glenmarie sad.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Feb 6 2014, 09:12 PM
acefreakz
post Feb 6 2014, 10:04 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 6 2014, 08:49 PM)
wah far, help me get? LOL

=edit=
https://www.facebook.com/SonaxMalaysia
oh hey public... wah nice pricing lol

actually, looks like subang wo... i can reach lol.
nvm it is at glenmarie sad.gif
ooo the sales til 15 feb ;D i can help u get one if u want, but probably next week wink.gif
MEngineer
post Feb 6 2014, 10:06 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

I got a very bad water mark on my car's rear. Been there for about 8 years. I tried vinegar no effect at all. Need some advise how to remove them.

130 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:53 AM