Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

haushinka
post Dec 25 2013, 10:00 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 25 2013, 09:42 PM)
looking at your 'need' and play of staying (condo right) ? i think you dun need any machinery at all..Once you have tools, pad will be the next crazy thing you going to hunt for (so many branded and type our there from polishing, finishing, cutting, mild, heavy pad)...then product also...different type of polisher with different level of cutting power...

I tell you what, why NOT you want for next DIT session....let's all the sifu bring their gear do it together with you and from there you just continue with maintenance etc...washing, waxing etc.
Absolutely same as my case....staying in the high rise apartment...initially tried to correct the defect using hand...damn hard, tiring n time consuming...even the result unable to meet my expactation..appreciate if sifu here can recommend any tools with acceptable price range (300-400 (machine only)) and good for noobie like me smile.gif
g88
post Dec 25 2013, 10:46 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Dec 25 2013, 10:00 PM)
Absolutely same as my case....staying in the high rise apartment...initially tried to correct the defect using hand...damn hard, tiring n time consuming...even the result unable to meet my expactation..appreciate if sifu here can recommend any tools with acceptable price range (300-400 (machine only)) and good for noobie like me smile.gif
acceptable price range (RM300-400 (machine only)) would be bosch ROB. Easily can get from any big hardware shop. Make sure you get the one come with speed control

Reference line from an online store : http://allfix.com.my/webshaper/store/viewP...roductItem=1579

The default velcro backing plate is @ 5" pad size but you can mount pad upto 6.5"....its a light maintenance tools.

Lasttime before the existance of DA, most ppl were using ROB for maintenance and light correction ...unless then need cutting power then ppl will go for RB.

My RB has gone to deep sleep for long...i only use ROB once in a bluemoon sweat.gif

Regularly just week car wash 1-3 times..then top up wax, sealant etc....swirl will come back after sometime (depend how frequent you use the car and how dirty + washing/drying technique)....

Can't expect to have swirl free unless in showroom, no dust expose at all... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by g88: Dec 25 2013, 11:15 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 12:15 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 25 2013, 02:51 PM)
I detailed my car over the weekend using Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover, Finishing Glaze, Deep Gloss Paint Sealant.

awesome mirrors bro thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 12:19 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

krismas finally got my lazy ass to use the megs hyper dressing (yes they've been sitting at home for the longest time LOL!)

mainly cuz the engine is still new and i basically didn't really have to do anything besides trigger happy on the spray bottle lol!

Result of the previously modded radiator cover http://twitpic.com/dpxh9h

Closeup on the cutting, look at how everything is glossy and shiny lol http://twitpic.com/dpxhjy

Shiny engine cover lol http://twitpic.com/dpxhra
g88
post Dec 26 2013, 08:43 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2013, 12:19 AM)
krismas finally got my lazy ass to use the megs hyper dressing (yes they've been sitting at home for the longest time LOL!)

mainly cuz the engine is still new and i basically didn't really have to do anything besides trigger happy on the spray bottle lol!

Result of the previously modded radiator cover http://twitpic.com/dpxh9h

Closeup on the cutting, look at how everything is glossy and shiny lol http://twitpic.com/dpxhjy

Shiny engine cover lol http://twitpic.com/dpxhra
Looks good. How old is your car ? Is this Inspira ? Beware this thing is dust magnet biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 09:46 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 26 2013, 08:43 AM)
Looks good. How old is your car ? Is this Inspira ? Beware this thing is dust magnet  biggrin.gif
car is a week old lol
CoffeeDude
post Dec 26 2013, 10:46 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2013, 12:15 AM)
awesome mirrors bro  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Thanks I'm still learning biggrin.gif

On a side note this detailing work is damn tiring.
MyWifeCar
post Dec 26 2013, 12:38 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Car detailing is all about how much you hate the insects, cicaks, birds and those cowardly creatures that like to leave their mark on your car, after you spend hours cleaning it.

Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 01:47 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 26 2013, 12:38 PM)
Car detailing is all about how much you hate the insects, cicaks, birds and those cowardly creatures that like to leave their mark on your car, after you spend hours cleaning it.

QFT
TSKrisMas
post Dec 26 2013, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 26 2013, 12:38 PM)

LOL....you forgot to mention about rain....hahaha.....
Fubar20
post Dec 26 2013, 04:01 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 26 2013, 03:21 PM)
That is the worst enemy of all for those without indoor parking. bruce.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 05:04 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 26 2013, 04:01 PM)
That is the worst enemy of all for those without indoor parking. bruce.gif
Hence my house renovation for the new car lol
Fubar20
post Dec 26 2013, 05:06 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2013, 05:04 PM)
Hence my house renovation for the new car lol
dry.gif So rich?
Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 05:18 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 26 2013, 05:06 PM)
dry.gif So rich?
Whole family chipped in la, and it's already done lol
MyWifeCar
post Dec 26 2013, 05:32 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 26 2013, 03:21 PM)
Hahahah... I know some would say rain. But not for me really, because rain I can see how the water bead on my car.

I actually hold an umbrella stand beside my car and see the rain pouring on my car. biggrin.gif

No, not crazy. It is called appreciate the effort done.

Quazacolt
post Dec 26 2013, 05:45 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 26 2013, 05:32 PM)
Hahahah... I know some would say rain. But not for me really, because rain I can see how the water bead on my car.

I actually hold an umbrella stand beside my car and see the rain pouring on my car.  biggrin.gif 

No, not crazy. It is called appreciate the effort done.

I did that before, friends /family call me crazy cry.gif cry.gif
MyWifeCar
post Dec 26 2013, 05:46 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2013, 05:45 PM)
I did that before, friends /family call me crazy  cry.gif  cry.gif
I feel you bro, I feel you.

CoffeeDude
post Dec 26 2013, 05:56 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2013, 05:45 PM)
I did that before, friends /family call me crazy  cry.gif  cry.gif
yah many nutcases in this thread alone whistling.gif

*cabuts ..... biggrin.gif
carl90
post Dec 26 2013, 08:02 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 25 2013, 09:38 PM)
Dun think its possible...as paint has gone
Thanks biggrin.gif will do
thom_chai
post Dec 27 2013, 11:05 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 25 2013, 02:51 PM)
I detailed my car over the weekend using Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover, Finishing Glaze, Deep Gloss Paint Sealant.

This is awesome man! Where did u get your Wolfgang toy and are they easy to work with?

130 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:40 AM