Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

scoutfai
post Aug 26 2014, 07:38 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 25 2014, 01:33 PM)
so gonna go there!!  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
I think is not free admission event, please double confirm from their website first before going in case the ticket price too expensive.

efaceninja
post Aug 26 2014, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Aug 26 2014, 07:38 AM)
I think is not free admission event, please double confirm from their website first before going in case the ticket price too expensive.
But go into the bazzar area also need admission ticket? Crap its RM 100 for 3 days entry.
kalvinkhoo
post Aug 26 2014, 10:01 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 25 2014, 04:45 PM)
i probably wouldn't need aerospace technology (lol) when my "cheaper" ULW/BSD combo is still lasting until this very day laugh.gif
the durability amazes me till no end when i don't even follow proper maintenance due to laziness tongue.gif
Talking about lasting, my white car still collect alot of dirt... cry.gif cry.gif Been using turtle wax or meguairs wax also not really happy after a week. if its rainthe car start to have the black dirt line. cry.gif
TSKrisMas
post Aug 26 2014, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 26 2014, 10:01 AM)
Talking about lasting, my white car still collect alot of dirt...  cry.gif  cry.gif  Been using turtle wax or meguairs wax also not really happy after a week. if its rainthe car start to have the black dirt line.  cry.gif
I think dirt line/trace is common in our area. I have them as well on my car (especially the rear portion) which is wearing a glass coat. The question should be how easy is it for them to be wash off (by normal washing). If can easily be wash off by normal wash/shampoo then I think the wax/sealant is doing it's job just fine.
N33d
post Aug 26 2014, 02:35 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 26 2014, 10:01 AM)
Talking about lasting, my white car still collect alot of dirt...  cry.gif  cry.gif  Been using turtle wax or meguairs wax also not really happy after a week. if its rainthe car start to have the black dirt linecry.gif
dont be so sad, take that as our metal wife mascara
efaceninja
post Aug 26 2014, 08:11 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 25 2014, 04:45 PM)
i probably wouldn't need aerospace technology (lol) when my "cheaper" ULW/BSD combo is still lasting until this very day laugh.gif
the durability amazes me till no end when i don't even follow proper maintenance due to laziness tongue.gif
you amazes me as well, since CNY you apply the ULW. rclxms.gif
but i do concure, i myself has been washing my car weekly since i applied ULW, when washing, got take photo on water beading and the shininess after drying every week (for my own syiokness blush.gif ). still beading good and still very shiny rclxms.gif

now slowly venture into tyre/wheel cleaning. before that i just rinse with shampoo mix and wash/wipe with MF cloth, and that's it. Only now slowly slowly realise the wheel cleaning you guys talk about ain't not just rinse and wipe only. crap those proper wheel brush ain't no cheap at all! and many dedicated wheel cleaner products there.. also aint cheap. for now, planning to get degreaser FX only..

This post has been edited by efaceninja: Aug 26 2014, 08:12 PM
LazyJin
post Aug 26 2014, 09:46 PM

14 posts

Just wanna share some stuff i got from The Rag Company. Decided to try it after watching Junkman's Microfiber Video.

Had to use a US forwarder as they don't deliver here, came up to just under RM30 per towel. Not cheap, but thought i'd check what the fuss was all about, for fun. The towels are going through a first wash now, can't wait to try em this weekend.

Here they are from left to right : White waffle weaves, Glass towel, White plush towels, Blue Edgeless towels, .

White waffle weaves - drying, glass, house windows

Blue Edgeless towels - spray wax, removing wax

White plush towels - planned to use for waterless washes but not sure yet

Glass towel - This was free

This post has been edited by LazyJin: Aug 26 2014, 09:48 PM
roxx
post Aug 26 2014, 10:10 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

Tell us your findings with those MF ya.. thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 26 2014, 11:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 26 2014, 08:11 PM)
now slowly venture into tyre/wheel cleaning.  before that i just rinse with shampoo mix and wash/wipe with MF cloth, and that's it.  Only now slowly slowly realise the wheel cleaning you guys talk about ain't not just rinse and wipe only.  crap those proper wheel brush ain't no cheap at all!  and many dedicated wheel cleaner products there.. also aint cheap.  for now, planning to get degreaser FX only..
the main thing with wheels, are brake dust.

so i strongly advise using something that's catered to wheels instead of a degreaser
roxx
post Aug 26 2014, 11:46 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 26 2014, 11:04 PM)

so i strongly advise using something that's catered to wheels instead of a degreaser
Eye-ing on Sonax Xtreme Wheel but i guess not sold locally, right?
Quazacolt
post Aug 26 2014, 11:59 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Aug 26 2014, 11:46 PM)
Eye-ing on Sonax Xtreme Wheel but i guess not sold locally, right?
it is, the only thing not sold locally is their gallon sizes and if you're serious on wheels, you'll probably use a lot which isn't very economical
roxx
post Aug 27 2014, 12:58 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 26 2014, 11:59 PM)
it is, the only thing not sold locally is their gallon sizes and if you're serious on wheels, you'll probably use a lot which isn't very economical
Really? Mind to share where I can buy it? Saw the video about that product and really impressive with it..

I have problem with brake dust.. Wash on Sunday and wheels will be covered again on Wednesday..

Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2014, 02:43 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Aug 27 2014, 12:58 AM)
Really? Mind to share where I can buy it? Saw the video about that product and really impressive with it..

I have problem with brake dust.. Wash on Sunday and wheels will be covered again on Wednesday..
most supermarket sells it, else can visit Sonax hq directly
TSKrisMas
post Aug 27 2014, 08:49 AM

roxx, my routine/product for wheels - degreaser for tyres and apc for wheels & wheel barrels, *almost* each and every wash. Once in a while (depending on the conditions - roughly around once a month) I use a wheel cleaner (either Megs Wheel Brightener or Sonax Xtreme Wheel Cleaner) to deep clean. And yeah, brushes sold that are dedicated for detailing are quite expensive. I use whatever I can afford and improvise on others. Tips: soft bristles baby bottle brushes comes in handy for cleaning wheel barrels especially those narrow gaps between the brake calipers and the inner wheel face.
TSKrisMas
post Aug 27 2014, 09:03 AM

I think the blue edgeless looks like better suited for rinseless wash...due to the longer and open naps - easier to pick up and release dirt. And the white plush for wiping and drying afterwards. Just my thoughts.

Anyway, nice haul.... rclxms.gif
efaceninja
post Aug 27 2014, 07:46 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 26 2014, 11:04 PM)

hmmm, degreaser no good for wheel? or degreaser not strong enough for brake dust? those catered for wheels meaning those have acidic content ah?

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 27 2014, 08:49 AM)
roxx, my routine/product for wheels - degreaser for tyres and apc for wheels & wheel barrels, *almost* each and every wash. Once in a while (depending on the conditions - roughly around once a month) I use a wheel cleaner (either Megs Wheel Brightener or Sonax Xtreme Wheel Cleaner) to deep clean. And yeah, brushes sold that are dedicated for detailing are quite expensive. I use whatever I can afford and improvise on others. Tips: soft bristles baby bottle brushes comes in handy for cleaning wheel barrels especially those narrow gaps between the brake calipers and the inner wheel face.
i noted that you mention degreaser for tyre, APC for wheel. is degreaser not really good for wheel? i thought degreaser is just a stronger form of APC, i was planning on using degreaser FX for both tyre and wheel one. and good idea that once a while clean wheel with dedicated wheel cleaner.. GF already started noting my recent expenses on car care products lol. for the wheel brush, i just got this last week. it looks abit like the expensive one. the 'bristle' is actually some kind of foam, feels like polystyrene foam. and most importantly, it can be bended/mould to shape too haha. the effectiveness is quite okay i would say. but the durability is very very questionable because on first use. already dropped a few of those 'bristle'.

Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2014, 07:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 27 2014, 07:46 PM)
hmmm, degreaser no good for wheel? or degreaser not strong enough for brake dust?  those catered for wheels meaning those have acidic content ah?
not really acidic, it's just chemical that reacts to irons/metal particles.
TSKrisMas
post Aug 27 2014, 08:07 PM

Degreaser not so effective in removing stubborn/embedded brake dust.
efaceninja
post Aug 27 2014, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2014, 07:54 PM)
not really acidic, it's just chemical that reacts to irons/metal particles.
ok, got it.
but but.. i've to stop keep growing my shopping list blink.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 27 2014, 08:07 PM)
Degreaser not so effective in removing stubborn/embedded brake dust.
ok noted. how about APC for wheel? (just any apc) compared to degreaser i mean. I hope i don't get it wrong that degreaser & APC is similar just that degreaser is stronger??

the degreaser FX (going to get it soon from osren rolleyes.gif ) i planned to use on interior also, for the plastic/leather dashboard. then i'll get Fabric Cleaner specially for fabric seats, ie those once spray on, a little bit of product is likely to left inside even though wipe it with damp cloth.. so far actually has not done any serious detailing on interior yet, just read and watch many youtube how-to videos haha, like autogeek & wetshine and some others. blush.gif icon_rolleyes.gif so a little advice from sifus is much appreciated notworthy.gif

oh and the degreaser also later plan to wash engine bay when i'm confident enough.

LazyJin
post Aug 27 2014, 10:56 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Aug 26 2014, 10:10 PM)
Tell us your findings with those MF ya..  thumbup.gif
Definitely! Just tried the White waffle weaves on windows. I've never used WWs before but i'm a believer now, at least on windows. Cleaned 2 cars using glass cleaner and just 1 towel, no streaks! But couldn't rinse off dirt with just water which i was silly to hope for, so had to use detergent. Here's a shot after 2 cars worth of windows :

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 27 2014, 09:03 AM)
I think the blue edgeless looks like better suited for rinseless wash...due to the longer and open naps - easier to pick up and release dirt. And the white plush for wiping and drying afterwards. Just my thoughts.

Great advice, that makes more sense. I knew i was missing something. Thx man.

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 27 2014, 09:11 PM)
I hope i don't get it wrong that degreaser & APC is similar just that degreaser is stronger??
Degreaser is better at cleaning tires, wheel wells, and engine, vs APC. Some suggest weekly tire and wheel maintenance with APC. Whip out the degreaser / wheel brightener / Tar X / Iron X for tougher jobs?
Edit : Replace Tar X with any tar remover, replace Iron X with a decontamination cleaner like Sonax Full Effects Wheel Cleaner.

This post has been edited by LazyJin: Aug 28 2014, 08:07 AM

130 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 >Top

0.0217sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:13 PM