Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

Quazacolt
post May 15 2014, 08:12 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 15 2014, 08:08 PM)
Thanks for your feedback.

No wonder when i use QW the liquid soak into MF.. Aishhh...

In this case i better buy paste type wax.. At least last longer so that i don't have to keep waxing my car..  thumbup.gif

Actually I was hoping that i can get deep glossy shine on my car paint.. But need to remove those affected things first..  cry.gif
try this:
after applying paste wax, use your qw as a "topper"

that way you get better/more even shine (paste wax can be uneven especially if you applied too thick of a layer/not buffed off properly) and the quik wax will serve as a "shield" on your existing wax which will prolong it's durability smile.gif
Quazacolt
post May 19 2014, 12:20 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 18 2014, 03:58 PM)
My car color is Aster grey and 1 year never done waxing / polishing before. Paint is stock (not re-painted)

After using UC, water spots totally disappear and swirl mark / scratches hiding into the paint which is great.. However, I noticed several white spots appear after buffing.

What is the cause of these? These white spots appear all over the car..

Steps that i took:

- Wash

- Clay

- UC

- Paste Wax

Hope experts can explain / help me solving these problem.. Thanks  notworthy.gif
are the white spots there prior to buffing? or you couldn't tell due to all the watermarks?
they could be industrial fall out (eg: you were near construction sites, paint particle carried by the wind landed on your car)

consider going through more passes of clay/compounding/polishing on those spots
Quazacolt
post May 19 2014, 06:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 19 2014, 05:30 PM)
They're the hard, thick and dense type of foam....deteriorate over time...even if not used. Check with Hendry@Osren. He has the LC ones. Not sure if anybody I know of got the Notty...best bet would be to ask Kah Wai as he's quite close to Jeremy@Shinecars.
paging vx55
Quazacolt
post May 21 2014, 06:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 21 2014, 05:00 PM)

Shit man....what a wax collection notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Those waxes alone would cost more than the whole detailing stuffs in my store room put together shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
iamsobloodysick

omg more sifu emerging shocking.gif
Quazacolt
post May 21 2014, 07:17 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ May 21 2014, 06:55 PM)
i have been 'playing' around glass coating, recently fall in love in waxes smile.gif

so glass coating acts as armour shields to the paintwork and outer part the wax to present the high gloss, high wet, high water sheeting effect.

omg lol notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Quazacolt
post May 21 2014, 08:21 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 21 2014, 08:18 PM)
You can that again....and again...and again. Somebody who can get hold of CQuartz Finest can't just be a somebody thumbup.gif
lol noobie me can't even recognize some of the products, and considering what you said, cquartz finest is only appointed detailer only or something? sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post May 22 2014, 07:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 22 2014, 04:03 PM)
Oh? Really?  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
wave.gif
Quazacolt
post May 23 2014, 03:36 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 23 2014, 08:28 AM)
OMG.. Using TW super hard shell leaves bad powdery residue.. sad.gif
use only small amounts.

ps: i started out with TW hard shell, and i STILL have at least have half a can haven't finish sweat.gif
planning to detail my iswara as i haven't washed it for more than half a year sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post May 23 2014, 04:52 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 23 2014, 12:00 PM)
krismas let me get this accordingly..

Im going to DIY coating. Thus need to know some info before proceed.

My sister's car has not been done anything either polish or waxing for 8 years. Hope there's still clear coat on her paint. So step that i am planning to do:

- Wash
- Clay
- Wash
- Ultimate compound using RB
- should i use IPA to wipe down the UC oil residue?
- coating (either permanon or OPT coat)
- Finishing (what kind of finishing I can use? wax? detailing? sealant)

Was planning to buy carlack68 SC and LLS but scared the SC might strip down the coating. For LLS can be use for finishing, right?

Need your kind advise in this matter. Thanks
clear coat sure got, if no it'll look something like this:

if you're OCD like me, i did a wash > clay > wash > clay > water rinse again > dry
full steps/write up:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=66119939
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=66131474
2nd/last detailing on the car:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/VR5EqWv1Vv5
last wash:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/btvYH9QfMDo
some poison:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/ciQPg7F3XNY

IPA after UC is optional (considering modern day compounds/polishing), i do it because OCD lel
i personally haven't go into coating because i'm not that good of a DIY person, and coating is "irreversible"

so i'm sticking with waxes/sealant for the time being.

i doubt carlack sc would be stripping much of the coating (if any, because chances are you'll be stripping surface defects/contaminants instead), it is an AIO product after all.
Quazacolt
post May 23 2014, 05:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

oh wait wrong poison links:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/bjd5jDhgxLE
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/QEJZJQeVaz6
Quazacolt
post May 23 2014, 06:08 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 23 2014, 05:46 PM)
How effective the waterproof? Water still soak into the fabric? Thinking to get one too..

Sometimes saw jin duah liap saliva drop kena seat leh..  doh.gif
very effective that you can easily wipe off with a cloth

not so much after you wet/soak it for prolonged period as the effectiveness would be reduced.

and i'm not sure on the product durability, initially when it was effective, it would squeak a lot when you sit on the seats sweat.gif
maybe i should do a follow up test some time around hehe
Quazacolt
post May 26 2014, 12:19 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

Krismas thanks for spending the time to meet up! apologies again for delaying it for so long sweat.gif

btw,
crash: https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/Znx2WgQbbUW

shit cc5:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/TPcDSWcNBGq
then again:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/cj2qpZfx6rH

random:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/P9QEV3KePLH
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/2Q8oZqXKQTD

again thanks to sifu krismas:
https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/ZspzHfWcCta more detailing stuff acquired: 3x grit guards, 3 Bilt Hamber clay bars, some microfiber cloths and applicator pads biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 26 2014, 12:26 PM
Quazacolt
post May 26 2014, 02:01 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 26 2014, 01:32 PM)
Whoaa.. tak ajakkkk..

BTW, where do you bought that grit guard and bilt-hamber clay bar?
from sifu Krismas laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 12:27 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 27 2014, 09:16 AM)

lol fell sick yesterday and slept 14-16 hours until night time sweat.gif

else would ping you
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 12:28 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(kww @ May 27 2014, 02:38 PM)
[attachmentid=3988891]
lol nice repost, was still as funny as the day i seen it
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 02:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

https://plus.google.com/+JasonLimQuazacolt/posts/UNxzGMEcwMe Last car wash was february, it's approaching June now, water sheeting/beading is still going strong XD
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 03:21 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 28 2014, 03:20 PM)
Poison poison...

What product you use?
posted previously already laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 03:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 28 2014, 03:50 PM)
u r topping ULW with sonax brilliant shine or just meg ULW alone?
ULW + sonax BSD biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 06:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 28 2014, 06:02 PM)
Thanks for the info. Yeah for some people it may save them the hassle but would be worse for those who use 1 cloth for each panel, right?  brows.gif Anyway for me, I personally dislike the idea of using same water I wash the cloth again and again even though with grit guard. I rather know that the water I wash with is fresh and clean and does not have the possibility to be contaminated.
well! hassle is one thing, having a running tap means you're wasting a lot of water. and with the recent selangor water BS, it helps to be a weeee bit more conservative, no?

the idea is that grit guard suspends dirt beneath so it won't get back into your sponge/mitt.

if you're ocd enough, can employ multi layer grit guards/multi bucket or pail with multi layer grit guards
i personally am doing a 2 bucket system with 4 grit guard (previously only 1, which i think is enough already, just adding my ocd level)

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 28 2014, 01:48 PM)
I always question the need for grid guard. I make a habit to wash off the microfibre cloth / sponge outside before I dip into a pail with soap or water. In fact, I don't use a pail even. After every panel, I wash the microfibre cloth / sponge.

But before doing all that, I make sure I power wash the panels so that all stuck debris are off. Depending on how dirty the car is, I sometimes go without soap. If soap required, I apply via foam lance with the help of my power washer.
well for starters without soap would potentially induce more maring/issue since you're washing without lubrication.
i only did that once with my youtube demo (which i linked before here), but that's also because i am forfeiting the current wax, and going with a ULW top up + trying out sonax BSD, so the surface condition wasn't a top priority at that moment.
Quazacolt
post May 28 2014, 07:21 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 28 2014, 07:15 PM)
Yes, great that you brought it up. When the taps are dry, I don't wash the car. If I was doing ONR, I would seriously consider 2 or 3 bucket method with grid guards. But like some old school people here, I am one of those that don't subscribe to the ONR idea. Anyway, that's another topic for discussion.  biggrin.gif

You should see how little the power washer uses water when it cleans so much more efficiently. The nett effect is I wash the car in a shorter time and hence use even lesser water. At times, I skip the soaping step and conserve water further actually because I don't have to rinse soap off the car.

You may think I use a lot of water by having to wash the cloths and mits everynow and then but have a go at washing your microfibre cloths / mits with a power washer and see how fast and how easy you get to wash them with so much less water used.
So you can be certain that all dirt suspended in the water will remain at the bottom only?
Yes, stacking a few grid guards is a great idea but as mentioned earlier, I don't like that same dirty water is still used for washing and rinsing the cloths and mits.
Hmmm, firstly even with soap, I don't wash like like a Bangla. For times when I wash without soap, I rely on the power washer to blast the panel surface thoroughly. I even minimise contact of the panel surface when drying up the car by blow drying.  smile.gif I subscribe to the idea that less contact with the cloth on the panel surface = less marring.  thumbup.gif
FYI: i don't go with ONR too, and i have a karcher power washer laugh.gif

and i am certain that dirt is suspended beneath because during the the first few rinse when the bucket/water is still clear enough, you can see the dirt sink and no matter how you stir with the grit guards blocking the dirt just stay beneath smile.gif

AFTER you're done and when you're pouring out the water, you'll realize how dirty the the water is but surprisingly it never get back on your mitts wink.gif

19 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0643sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM