130 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

TSKrisMas
post Dec 16 2013, 09:08 AM

When you say 'failed', do you mean the swirls are not budging at all or only slightly improved?

If there is improvement it could be that the swirls are too deep and would be tedious to do by hand.

Of if there's no improvement or just slightly improved only, it could be that the swirl is deep AND the paint is hard and it would need a more aggressive approach with a machine.....
alexng2208
post Dec 16 2013, 09:12 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

Krismas

sorry bro couldn't make it

i was in johor and just got back sad.gif
Dennos
post Dec 16 2013, 09:51 AM

2,736 posts

autoglym , where to find>?
TSKrisMas
post Dec 16 2013, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(Dennos @ Dec 16 2013, 09:51 AM)
autoglym , where to find>?
A simple search would yield:

Autoglym Malaysia
Autoglym Malaysia fb
haushinka
post Dec 16 2013, 11:05 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 09:08 AM)

Of if there's no improvement or just slightly improved only, it could be that the swirl is deep AND the paint is hard and it would need a more aggressive approach with a machine.....
I guess this was my case...i tried 3-4 passes with different pad..but the swirls and scratch are still there..there was only a minimal improvement...my shoulder feels like wanna tercabut edi..guess the cc is hard and need to correct it using machine..unfortunately i dont have one..and so rugi when i cannot join dit yesterday..if not can consult our sifoo during the dit wink.gif
g88
post Dec 16 2013, 11:42 AM

1,631 posts

i was overslept sad.gif...

Any upcoming session again in the same place, Krimas ?
TSKrisMas
post Dec 16 2013, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 16 2013, 11:42 AM)
i was overslept sad.gif...

Any upcoming session again in the same place, Krimas ?
Wahhh....you overslept until 4.30pm??? blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

Don't know...people (car owner) asked then I follow jer....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Dec 16 2013, 12:21 PM
g88
post Dec 16 2013, 12:26 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 12:21 PM)
Wahhh....you overslept until 4.30pm??? blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif

Don't know...people (car owner) asked then I follow jer....
Sat 230am baru home ;-)
SUSceo684
post Dec 16 2013, 12:32 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(stupid_cupid23 @ Dec 15 2013, 05:33 PM)
Guys, i got a slight dent on my city at the back seat door. Any place recommended to fix it at a cheap price?

[attachmentid=3769895]
www.dent.com.my look for Jerry - he did my door PDR well, 99% dent vanished
Compelica
post Dec 16 2013, 01:01 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 16 2013, 12:32 PM)
www.dent.com.my look for Jerry - he did my door PDR well, 99% dent vanished
Did it for a car of mine too - a bit expensive but a good job done.
g88
post Dec 16 2013, 01:54 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Dec 16 2013, 01:01 PM)
Did it for a car of mine too - a bit expensive but a good job done.
how big was your dent and how much the repair cost ? how much time too ?

Any image to show ?
ikan_semilang
post Dec 16 2013, 01:59 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 16 2013, 01:54 PM)
how big was your dent and how much the repair cost ? how much time too ?

Any image to show ?
They're starting price from RM120 for small dent....

We have a standard pricing & our min charge is RM120. Do bear in mind however that it is still lower than respray & u get to maintain ur original paint. Let us know if we can be of service to u, thank you.

This post has been edited by ikan_semilang: Dec 16 2013, 02:04 PM
ikan_semilang
post Dec 16 2013, 02:02 PM

4,504 posts

Need help...

izzit correct way - paint basecoat 2-3 layer -> clear -> wetsand -> compound -> polish?

g88
post Dec 16 2013, 04:16 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 16 2013, 02:02 PM)
Need help...

izzit correct way - paint basecoat 2-3 layer -> clear -> wetsand -> compound -> polish?

I am bit confuse with your statement "paint basecoat 2-3 layer -> clear -> wetsand -> compound -> polish?"

Your first image already touched primer = mean paint already gone.

2nd image look still fix-able.

OhNooy
post Dec 16 2013, 05:19 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 15 2013, 08:36 PM)
Sifu KrisMas any insight on this?
alexng2208
post Dec 16 2013, 05:20 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

respray whole car LOL

don't fret, my car got tens of those stone chip, petrol pump, and motorcycle scuff marks
g88
post Dec 16 2013, 05:46 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 15 2013, 08:36 PM)
Currently I'm using Meguiars White Wax (carnauba wax). I just waxed my car last Sunday. 2 days later, on Tuesday, it was a very heavy downpour at the place I park my car when I work. Then when I went to collect my car, I noticed that there are a lot of dark water lines washed down my whole car. It seems the wax is not working well in protection at all. Those looks like the wax melted and mixed with dirt from the rain water.

And today I washed my car. It seems to be those dirt are sticking to my paint. @_@ Washed but cannot help much. After washing, I used Meguiars UQD trying to clean up those stains. Took SO MUCH of effort to clear those dirt marks.

I wonder, is the "carnauba wax" can be melted and become even a dirt magnet? Or it is supposed to be melted and washed away, and those dirt marks are due to no more wax protection on my car?
1. Did you perform a good surface preparation prior to apply wax ?
2. Carnauba wax 'only' look good - product deep gloss by naturally it doesn't last long moreover we are in acid rain climate.
3. Due to Point 2 alot of ppl have choose to use synthetic wax compare to Carnauba as there last much longer and easy (apply) and easy (buff) off
4. For your case, i believe your protection layer has been washed off my the heavy downpour and left with watermark.
5. In order to move water mark, usually you would clay or polish off after a wash, UQD is to mostly use to remove light dust and finger print only.

TSKrisMas
post Dec 16 2013, 08:00 PM

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 16 2013, 05:19 PM)
Sifu KrisMas any insight on this?
Solid white paint?
OhNooy
post Dec 16 2013, 08:39 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Dec 16 2013, 05:46 PM)
1. Did you perform a good surface preparation prior to apply wax ?
2. Carnauba wax 'only' look good - product deep gloss by naturally it doesn't last long moreover we are in acid rain climate.
3. Due to Point 2 alot of ppl have choose to use synthetic wax compare to Carnauba as there last much  longer and easy (apply) and easy (buff) off
4. For your case, i believe your protection layer has been washed off my the heavy downpour and left with watermark.
5. In order to move water mark, usually you would clay or polish off after a wash, UQD is to mostly use to remove light dust and finger print only.
I just polished with Meguiars Ultimate Polish last month by hand. Never clay before. First time buying, and after finishing this carnauba wax I will change to sealant already. Now just don't want to waste, thus wax every 2 weeks as I noticed the protection is easily washed off.

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 08:00 PM)
Solid white paint?
Pearl white.
windskill
post Dec 16 2013, 08:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 16 2013, 09:08 AM)

When you say 'failed', do you mean the swirls are not budging at all or only slightly improved?

If there is improvement it could be that the swirls are too deep and would be tedious to do by hand.

There's a slight improvement. Some significant swirl marks are gone after polish.

Okay, I will try more aggressive approach next time and see the result. Thanks rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

130 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:50 AM