QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 17 2014, 07:47 PM)
oooo okie i think i saw the mazda center before lol. jz near my office :3 thanks bro!Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Feb 17 2014, 10:36 PM
146 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sabah, Malaysia |
Feb 18 2014, 12:29 AM
726 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
hi all, interested in meguiars range of products but too many option to choose.not sure which is suitable for me.
very newbie here, just bought a new car, silver color. which products should i go for? can give some suggestion? i'm looking for the meguiar new car kit, looks simple. anything should i add? not going into detailing stuff yet, just want to wash and clean, shine my new baby for now hope can get some suggestion from all sifus here, thanks |
Feb 18 2014, 01:38 AM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Need some help here. Just now I was using 3M microfine sanding sponge along with glass abrasive polish powder to remove watermarks on my car's windscreen (using light pressure). Prior to the sanding, glass prep such as washing and claying have been done.
It ended up with some minor scratches and marring.... Was searching online and found that CQuartz Ceriglass, which contains cerium oxide, is able to remove mild to medium scratches on glass. Does anyone use this before? Appreciate your help This post has been edited by windskill: Feb 18 2014, 01:38 AM |
Feb 18 2014, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 18 2014, 12:29 AM) hi all, interested in meguiars range of products but too many option to choose.not sure which is suitable for me. Meguiar's Brilliant Solutions New Car Kit (contains liquid wax, wash & wax, wash mitt, microfiber towel, endurance tire gel, pad) should be sufficient to get you started. Quick and easy, one-stop solution. The drawback is the price, IMO.very newbie here, just bought a new car, silver color. which products should i go for? can give some suggestion? i'm looking for the meguiar new car kit, looks simple. anything should i add? not going into detailing stuff yet, just want to wash and clean, shine my new baby for now hope can get some suggestion from all sifus here, thanks Anything to add on? Well, probably you need a cleaner wax later on, but not so soon since your car is still new. Enjoy your new ride |
Feb 18 2014, 09:20 AM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 18 2014, 01:38 AM) Need some help here. Just now I was using 3M microfine sanding sponge along with glass abrasive polish powder to remove watermarks on my car's windscreen (using light pressure). Prior to the sanding, glass prep such as washing and claying have been done. The 'glass abrasive polish power'...did you get that from Osren also? If so, then it contains cerium oxide too. If you have a machine/DA, get yourself a felt pad and pair that with the glass abrasive polish and try. If you don't, Osren also has the felt 'block', use that instead. Should be able to remove the micro scratches if they're not too deep. If too deep then you'd need a rotary with the felt pad.It ended up with some minor scratches and marring.... Was searching online and found that CQuartz Ceriglass, which contains cerium oxide, is able to remove mild to medium scratches on glass. Does anyone use this before? Appreciate your help |
Feb 18 2014, 09:47 AM
726 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 18 2014, 01:44 AM) Meguiar's Brilliant Solutions New Car Kit (contains liquid wax, wash & wax, wash mitt, microfiber towel, endurance tire gel, pad) should be sufficient to get you started. Quick and easy, one-stop solution. The drawback is the price, IMO. Thanks for the feedback. I know, it is a bit pricey too but I don't know what other brand is comparable and cheaper. Anything to add on? Well, probably you need a cleaner wax later on, but not so soon since your car is still new. Enjoy your new ride |
Feb 18 2014, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 18 2014, 09:20 AM) The 'glass abrasive polish power'...did you get that from Osren also? If so, then it contains cerium oxide too. If you have a machine/DA, get yourself a felt pad and pair that with the glass abrasive polish and try. If you don't, Osren also has the felt 'block', use that instead. Should be able to remove the micro scratches if they're not too deep. If too deep then you'd need a rotary with the felt pad. Yea I got the glass abrasive powder from Osren. Hmm, it contains cerium oxide too?So, is felt pad = glass polishing pad? Does it look something like this-> http://www.autogeek.net/glass-polishing-pad-5inch.html |
Feb 18 2014, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 18 2014, 10:16 AM) Yea I got the glass abrasive powder from Osren. Hmm, it contains cerium oxide too? I think I remembered Hendry told me that it's basically cerium oxide in a mixed powdered form....So, is felt pad = glass polishing pad? Does it look something like this-> http://www.autogeek.net/glass-polishing-pad-5inch.html Yeah....the felt pads looks something like that.... Err...you did get instructions on how to use it right? Like mixing it with water into paste-like and using it wet/damp and never let it dry when working with it. Oh....did it happen to the front windscreen or the other glasses? Cuz the laminated glass on front windscreen are normally relatively softer than the tempered glass on other windows so you'd need to be more careful with the front windscreen. This post has been edited by KrisMas: Feb 18 2014, 10:25 AM |
Feb 18 2014, 10:49 AM
4,504 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Setapak |
Im thinking to GB (Group Buy) this...
http://www.microfibermadness.de/en/incredimitt Incredimitt Microfiber Madness fans are waiting for a washmitt since years! And it took this time to work on a special product until we had the breakthrough in 2013. With the Incredimitt we usher in a new era in our company history, because this washmitt is produced by us in Germany! The special fiber composition brings you a carwash expertience like never before. Special gliding fibers ensure the wash mitt slides over your cars surface, even on bad maintained paints. The Incredimitt does not scratch! A special build in sponge lets the washmitt soak up a high amount of water. Additional to that, a special strap inside ensures that the Incredimitt wont slip off your hand. A smooth inlay in premium bed linen quality makes your hands feel comfortable during washing and a perfect fitted cuff with a Microfiber Madness embroidery perfects the washmitt. Target application: Car Wash Material: 92% polyester, 8% viscose RM107.00 includding shipping to Malaysia without custom tax...(this price for 3 unit only) |
Feb 18 2014, 11:19 AM
1,609 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Feb 14 2014, 10:20 AM) Sorry haven't had time to do a proper comparison.Only did a visual comparison and felt the materials with my hands. Magic Clean is the softest Daiso has the thinnest material Sonax is the largest and is thicker and stronger than Daiso my wife did mention that baby nappy liners might function the same |
Feb 18 2014, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 18 2014, 10:24 AM) I think I remembered Hendry told me that it's basically cerium oxide in a mixed powdered form.... Yeap, following the procedure ad instructions. I think, it might be the 3M microfine sponge pad is too abrasive for windscreen. I searched online after that and found that ppl said sanding using that will leave some scratches >.<Yeah....the felt pads looks something like that.... Err...you did get instructions on how to use it right? Like mixing it with water into paste-like and using it wet/damp and never let it dry when working with it. Oh....did it happen to the front windscreen or the other glasses? Cuz the laminated glass on front windscreen are normally relatively softer than the tempered glass on other windows so you'd need to be more careful with the front windscreen. |
Feb 19 2014, 09:40 AM
2,309 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Feb 18 2014, 10:49 AM) Im thinking to GB (Group Buy) this... -.- why not just get the Meguiar's wash mitt?http://www.microfibermadness.de/en/incredimitt Incredimitt Microfiber Madness fans are waiting for a washmitt since years! And it took this time to work on a special product until we had the breakthrough in 2013. With the Incredimitt we usher in a new era in our company history, because this washmitt is produced by us in Germany! The special fiber composition brings you a carwash expertience like never before. Special gliding fibers ensure the wash mitt slides over your cars surface, even on bad maintained paints. The Incredimitt does not scratch! A special build in sponge lets the washmitt soak up a high amount of water. Additional to that, a special strap inside ensures that the Incredimitt wont slip off your hand. A smooth inlay in premium bed linen quality makes your hands feel comfortable during washing and a perfect fitted cuff with a Microfiber Madness embroidery perfects the washmitt. Target application: Car Wash Material: 92% polyester, 8% viscose RM107.00 includding shipping to Malaysia without custom tax...(this price for 3 unit only) I saw someone here selling at RM40.00 each. |
Feb 19 2014, 03:47 PM
1,111 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Kota Damansara, B.Utama, Mutiara Damansara |
QUOTE(barjoyai @ Feb 18 2014, 09:47 AM) Thanks for the feedback. I know, it is a bit pricey too but I don't know what other brand is comparable and cheaper. you can check at homefix they sometimes have good 15% discount and parkson as well. cheeho04 is also selling a lot of Meguair's product wide range and good price, i got some stuff from him as well. Very friendly seller and give's good advice |
Feb 19 2014, 09:18 PM
1,049 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
Just found out these scratches just now during car-wash.
It still haven't reach 1 month old yet ![]() Top 3 pictures; situated right above left tyre. Bottom; Rear bumper Mostly all these could be treated with the use of touch-up paint, right? But I couldn't find the color code for my car at the site; [Soft Lilac - 204] Went back from Tesco too, no luck. This post has been edited by Kr0ll3R: Feb 19 2014, 09:18 PM |
Feb 19 2014, 10:38 PM
1,111 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Kota Damansara, B.Utama, Mutiara Damansara |
QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Feb 19 2014, 09:18 PM) Just found out these scratches just now during car-wash. must be those inconsiderate people when you park your car at shopping center they open their car door and bang onto your car body, my car also have a lot of those... damn those people..It still haven't reach 1 month old yet ![]() Top 3 pictures; situated right above left tyre. Bottom; Rear bumper Mostly all these could be treated with the use of touch-up paint, right? But I couldn't find the color code for my car at the site; [Soft Lilac - 204] Went back from Tesco too, no luck. some maybe can save using meguiars scratch X 2.0 but then again depends on how deep, can't really tell from pics alone.. i wish those people when they open their doors they would be more considerate. |
Feb 20 2014, 07:42 AM
433 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Feb 19 2014, 09:18 PM) Just found out these scratches just now during car-wash. If the top left dot is at the front left tyre, it does looks like a rock chip damage. If it is, then this is some normal wear and tear of owning a daily driver, there is nothing you can do about it as it will re-appear again. Putting on a Paint Protection Film can reduce the risk much though.It still haven't reach 1 month old yet ![]() Top 3 pictures; situated right above left tyre. Bottom; Rear bumper Mostly all these could be treated with the use of touch-up paint, right? But I couldn't find the color code for my car at the site; [Soft Lilac - 204] Went back from Tesco too, no luck. The top right no doubt is a scratch. A sharp object pushed into the paint and glide over it, but it left the paint surface very early, leaving such a small length. Bottom most pic also looks like some blunt object hit on that spot and pushed a bit, thus the wrinkle collection of paint layer at the right hand side. These two looks like someone holding on something accidentally hit on it and realize it, then immediately take it away, hence the small length and only one dot. I deem they are beyond polishing can save, because one can see the bare fiber glass (black color), others already has no paint on it. You need to put touch up paint and then level it back. It will never look perfect, but it will at least look better. Learn from these techniques: and http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-ar...-procedure.html http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-ar...ey-scratch.html From these sources, it is self evident that, not only you need touch up paint of good match and quality, you also need proper tool. So if you do not have the tool, you can invest into it (but then you might feel wasted after done the repairing) or send to professional detailer to do it. But one panel re-spray generally cost RM300 per panel for normal quality paint, so you got to judge how much the professional charge you. It might negate the value of seeking their help instead of a re-spray. This post has been edited by scoutfai: Feb 20 2014, 07:45 AM |
Feb 20 2014, 02:07 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Feb 20 2014, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(scoutfai @ Feb 20 2014, 07:42 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Looks like I gonna leave it as it is. Can't find my car color paint out there. or visit my car model bodypaint service, sure cut-throat. |
Feb 20 2014, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Feb 20 2014, 02:40 PM) Gosh, such detailed post. Thanks mate! Try going to a bodyshop paint supplier and ask them to mix the colour to match you cars paint. A small (around 250ml) can of paint (which is A LOT for touching up use) would cost you around RM20 ~ RM30 or so....Looks like I gonna leave it as it is. Can't find my car color paint out there. or visit my car model bodypaint service, sure cut-throat. |
Feb 20 2014, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 20 2014, 03:44 PM) Try going to a bodyshop paint supplier and ask them to mix the colour to match you cars paint. A small (around 250ml) can of paint (which is A LOT for touching up use) would cost you around RM20 ~ RM30 or so.... Erm, good idea. But my small town here not sure have or not. Will still look around. Thx!Just went back from the authorized dealer bodypaint workshop, they do provide touch up but "Sorry Sir, we don't have your car color code, even the system doesn't have the list yet." Drive out sadly. |
| Change to: | 0.0347sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:24 PM |