Car Care and Detailing [V3], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

acefreakz
post Jul 13 2014, 07:19 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Jul 13 2014, 07:15 PM)
Want to inquire opinion and user experience regarding the SONAX Wheel Rim Coating NanoPro.
So far my experience is this wheel rim coating cannot last a single wheel wash from me.

My wheel rim washing routine consists of using Osren Degreaser FX 1:10 ratio, with spoke wheel brush and wash mitt. I do a very thorough wheel brushing. 4 wheels cleaning + wheel arcs cleaning on average will take me 1hr. From here I guess you more or less can estimate how much brushing I am doing.

The brush I am using are detailing purpose wheel brush. They are soft.

Last week I applied the coating. I spray once on the entire wheel, then wipe clean & spread with lint free towel. Then I wait like a minute, do a 2nd spray, and wipe clean and spread with the same towel same side also. I have to wipe and spread it with towel because the can spray just simply do not release mist that is fine enough to avoid run on the wheel surface. I watch the youtube video of Sonax and they also recommended wipe and spread with towel.

I then let the wheels dry overnight. I drive like normal for a week, then today I wash it using the routine I mention above.
Before I spray degreaser on the wheel rims, I rinse it with water jet and I can see clearly there is water beading. So I take this observation as the coating holding pretty well on the rims. Then after I done cleaning, I rinse it with water again, I can immediately notice a great reduction of beading strength, maybe I should say no beading at all, with this observation I concluded either the coating has been removed or has gotten so weak.

This is actually my 2nd time applying it and the experience is exactly the same with my 1st time. The 1st time I even wipe the rims with IPA 25% before spray the coating. Frankly speaking I am kind of disappointed by the product. I was expecting month long durability.

So I want to ask is anyone here who use SONAX Wheel Rim Coating NanoPro, experience such poor durability also or do you get superior durability? Even my Meguiar's Ultimate Wax can last longer than this Sonax product.
Do you think is my cleaning too aggressive so it removes the coating? (but without such brushing it will not clean well, and the bristles is so long it shouldn't be strong scrubbing effect neither).
hi bro been using it, having the same problem with durability issue too lol. don even bother now LOL. i would rather clean it frequently than expecting the coat to tahan longer xD
acefreakz
post Jul 13 2014, 07:22 PM

146 posts

btw guise, anyone experience with menzerna sealing wax? i have some weird issue with it, when i try to buff the paint, i would see patches-of-dono-what-thing, feel like over dried wax lol, dono how to put it =P, using clean wax can remove it tho, wondering how to avoid that or what caused it... =.=

This post has been edited by acefreakz: Jul 13 2014, 07:23 PM
acefreakz
post Jul 13 2014, 07:54 PM

146 posts

hahaha maybe xD I cant stop myself from brushing and cleaning it thoroughly everytime i visit the rims =(
acefreakz
post Jul 14 2014, 07:36 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 14 2014, 02:12 AM)
can find my previous post.

personally you could be using the wrong product for wheel cleaning, come on de-greaser, really? lol
can consider something like milder dilution meg's WB, or even self dilute sonax wheel cleaner xtreme (the one that stinks like hell lol)
or even carpro iron x if you're ok spending a lot more (imho it's effectiveness isn't that far better than sonax, the pricing however is a turn off)

personally i also agree that the durability of the rim coating is shit, however it does help minimize brake dust from sticking too much on my wheels.
and to be fair, i tend to bake my wheels/brakes over 200-300 Celsius time to time and up to date i've yet to come across a product that can guarantee/claim that they can withstand such temperatures.

sure the rim itself don't get that hot, my highest record was around 150 Celsius though and even that most products have yet to make such claims so eh.

i've tried megs ultimate wax on my rims, it lasted just one track day on my iswara lol... the wax just pretty much gets contaminated by brake dust, or just melted off by high temperatures.
understandably, it is well, wax meant for your car panels, not wheels smile.gif

personally unless i'm prepping for coating, i never even bother using brush. just use proper wheel cleaning products that rape brake dust like nothing and be done with it.
haha ya lor maybe wrong product used =P i used to meg's WB pure, but i dilute before use, hope not to undo the coating too much. abt protection, how do u guys know whether the protection is still there w/o the beading? i cant be sure on my wheels as i brake less and less brake dust xD, is it the ease of cleaning off the brake dust mean protection still active?

btw bro Quazacolt i tried meg endurance gel lol. i would say damn impressive on the 'endurance' xD after 1 month+ still awesome nice shit biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by acefreakz: Jul 14 2014, 07:39 AM
acefreakz
post Aug 2 2014, 05:11 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 2 2014, 04:27 PM)
Can I just skip claying and directly wax the car after wash?
why not? don expect the wax performs well tho lol.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0578sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:24 PM