Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V32, Gunpla builders, assemble!

clivengu
post Dec 10 2013, 08:42 PM

1,850 posts

Any Freedom or a other metal build's owner here? Want to ask for opinion if any of you encounter loose knee joints? And if so anyway I can fix and tighten it up. I hope there is somekind of easy way to open up the kneecap and tighten a screw to fix it up.
clivengu
post Dec 11 2013, 12:47 AM

1,850 posts

Look at the Box size!!! That's bigger than some of the PGs out there... bigger than Hi Nu and old Sazabi box. I hope it comes with handle and hard cover.
clivengu
post Dec 11 2013, 02:04 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Dec 11 2013, 01:57 AM)
so, no actual cockpit at the head
but we have separate capsule ball for Nu to play
biggrin.gif so funny the way you put it... I cant remember if the old sazabi has the cockpit in the head?
clivengu
post Dec 13 2013, 05:46 PM

1,850 posts

Suddenly i have this sudden craze rclxub.gif to "feel" like getting the Titanium finish Nu ver Ka. I know many will say the price is insane and better AB yourself to save the money... I used to think like that too.. but the question is... will we really able to achieve that kind of finishes/color with our own painting... if so.. what kind of Expertise level will one really need to achieve that?

I don't have the luxury of space and time to build these days. My airbrush broken, and yet to get a new one... and honestly not good/not much experience with it. I mostly getting 1 -2 gunpla in a year.. (and some backlogged.. because I was hoping to build them nicely with AB everything...but so far the idea keep dragging) The last kit i build was RG gp01, and all I did was do lining, color some inner frame with gold.. and finish up with a clearcoat. For a small kit.. that is good enough for me.

I have not seen the finishes of the titanium on my own eyes. From picture it looks good.. but I feel like the effect not that obvious in photos compare to real thing.. especially white titanium. Can anyone share some opinion? Is still too expensive? Is it worth it? The titanium finish not really that nice? looks good? how much ugly nubs are we dealing with? and will the beautiful finishes last.. or will it fade after sometime of handling? Any opinion will help.

The sudden idea of owning titanium Nu is because I am now considering if I should wait for the sazabi ver ka to release its titanium version end of next year. Then i'll have the perfect combo? Both are my all time favorite. decision decision hmm.gif
clivengu
post Dec 13 2013, 06:23 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Dec 13 2013, 05:54 PM)
titanium? nub marks sweat.gif
http://www.gaijin-gunpla.com/2013/12/i-am-titanium/

but seriously buy whatever tickles your fancy.

there's going to be a titanium sazabi. it's a matter of when.
The closeup photos of the nub does seem worrying.. but look from overall seems alright.. right now im in a mix mix feeling. Btw anyone knows how much is this selling locally?

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Dec 13 2013, 05:56 PM)
titanium effect can achieved, unlike chrome color.
bside, even u get titanium, but it will scar also when u play. If touchup needed, it hard to match the color.

building & painting gunpla is apart of fun.
Anyone gloss topcoat their titanium finish? Is it a wise thing to do? But then .. i found my skill in topcoating gloss isnt very good. sometime I can get shinny smooth surface.. some area I get slightly less gloss, with a tiny bit of a texture.

I have to agree building gunpla is part of the fun...unfortunately my house dont have a space for me to have a gunpla workstation near window for airbrushing...sad
clivengu
post Dec 15 2013, 10:36 PM

1,850 posts

My god.. The sazabi can do the perfect kneeling pose...!

clivengu
post Dec 15 2013, 10:57 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Dec 15 2013, 10:44 PM)
front? absolutely no problem! laugh.gif
what i love about it is also how well designed the knee is, the knee is perfectly covered while it's kneeling without exposing ugly frame parts.. just, wow

Exactly.. it looks like it can kneel pretty perfectly... Even my RG gp01cant do this... which im quite surprise.. is just awkward.
clivengu
post Dec 19 2013, 11:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Dec 19 2013, 10:22 PM)
My first time using gundam marker.

The silver looks ok but I dunno how to apply correctly although I do it one way painting.
Close look ugly but far look ok.

This is blue frame's dagger and dark hound lance.

[attachmentid=3777035]
I feel like gundam marker when it first applied, it is very nice. But if you didnt coat it... the effect will soon become dull after sometime.. That's what happened to my gold with my HGUC Banshee destory mode. Its getting more dull after a year.. I should have gloss coat it in the first place.
clivengu
post Jan 1 2014, 11:55 PM

1,850 posts

Do you think I can get the correct 3 red colors for sazabi if I decided to go for spray can? Tamiya or Hobby

clivengu
post Jan 11 2014, 02:17 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jan 9 2014, 11:26 AM)
oh thanks guys... in fact I really worry if it looks more like a Christmas tree... doh.gif

Anyway I didn't use air brush, only spray can... (Gundam spray can + tamiya spray can) sweat.gif
Mind sharing which color are you using for the tamiya and gundam spray? I see you have 2 tones there. Tamiya Pure Red TS86 or Bright mica red TS85? I am planning to use spraypaint too... I calculate it may not be cheap though...may have to spend round rm 200 just for the spraypaints. Anyway great work there.. Really poison me to want this beast even more.
clivengu
post Jan 22 2014, 07:39 PM

1,850 posts

I bought sazabi ver ka... and almost 8 cans of color spray (Yeah color more expensive than kit!)... Now I worry if I will able to check in my luggage with the spray cans.... can't find related information from Mas airline and no one pick up at their hotline. Need to send back to sarawak.

I wonder will postage/ poslaju able to send spraycans??? any solution? After buying so many spray cans only suddenly I ask myself this question...

clivengu
post Jan 23 2014, 12:10 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 22 2014, 11:47 PM)
ABX do send spray can biggrin.gif Just need pay some extra  doh.gif

I also want color spray  cry.gif same Sarawak-ian sweat.gif
ABX? never heard of it.. but at least I know it is possible to postage back.. Tomorrow i go find. Thanks sarawakian tongue.gif
clivengu
post Jan 23 2014, 12:27 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 23 2014, 12:11 AM)
No problem icon_rolleyes.gif

btw summon u there
Thanks a lot.. Look like i may try Subang one.. But u did try other company one and none of them will want to send spraycan?
clivengu
post Jan 24 2014, 11:28 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 23 2014, 12:11 AM)
No problem icon_rolleyes.gif

btw summon u there
Thanks you. But unfortunately I dont have such luck. I called them yesterday afternoon to confirm if I can send spraycan through their service and the lady on the phone say can... So I quickly went to Timesquare to buy more cans of paint.. and rush to their abx office at federal highway during the evening rush hour to send it.. When there, the people there say they CANT send... and it has never been allowed sad.gif

Now I only manage to bring back the sazabi kit to sarawak.. but without all the color spray paints i bought to really start my project... but then I take the risk to put 2 cans in my check in luggage. Topcoat + Primer... and it went through. I should have just bring everything, but worry if kena tahan, it means rm 200-300 of spraypaint discard on the spot shakehead.gif more cans probably will b a lot more obvious when they scan.

Anyone knows is there any other way to ship the spray cans? I can still ask my gf to ship it back to me before cny if i manage to find one that can send spraycan ... really potong stim...
clivengu
post Jan 25 2014, 02:22 AM

1,850 posts

Guys, if I think the color of the original Sazabi ver ka actually looks good enough, should I still (primer>color>topcoat) it? If I want to follow back to original color, will it be unnecessary to repaint the whole kit again? Or should I just directly apply a topcoat?

Will there be a big difference and can tell if the kit is properly painted or just topcoat only...

0.0491sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:46 PM