Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

wild_card_my
post May 27 2014, 03:30 PM

6,562 posts

What do you guys think about children's educational funds that cover the death of the children? The return is exceptionally low too, close to being the same as the amount that you put in at the end of the term.

Why not insure the bread winner and put the in bond funds, then absolute assign or nominate the proceeds to the children?
wild_card_my
post May 27 2014, 04:36 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ May 27 2014, 03:45 PM)
If the returns is exceptionally low and close to being the same as the amount that you put in at the end of the term, it is not even called savings. At least if you were to put it in bank savings it generates some sort of interest returns.

This is why i keep stressing that insurance is for PROTECTION. When you buy insurance, just treat it as an EXPENSE, and not hoping to get anything. If the insurer does pay you, consider it as a bonus.

If the child suddenly sick or have accidents while going to school, immediate medical attention that costs you $$$ is what we are worried of.
Noted! We are on the same page.

For MLTA/Life that is focussed solely on protection though, would you recommend reducing the premium as low as possible so that the policy is really focussed on only protection? But if that is the case, the investment returns would look so bad that the policy holder would have to top up mid way in life.

Ive seen several policies with too high a premium, sure the investment returns are "good" but those monies should be invested in a separate account meant only for investments.

What do you think?
wild_card_my
post May 30 2014, 08:55 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 30 2014, 08:20 PM)
What if the person buy Unit Trust as rider that attachable to ILP sales charges 5%?

VS

What is the person buy UT from third party with lower sales charges(2%)?

Which is the profitable way?
I am not too familiar with UT attached as rider for ILP, because I always minimize the premium paid, and ask the client to invest in ASB (for bumi only and no sales charge) while for non-Bumis, I recommend them to invest in bond fund that carry less sales charge than equity funds.

1. Take it this way: Insurance company is best at running the insurance business, so it is best that you leave them for your protection. But UT companies are best for managing the investments, so let them manage your investment portfolio.

2. So the best way to go about this, in my opinion, is to pay the least amount of premium allowed by the software and the anything else that you have is to be invested as part of your investment portfolio

Remember the 3 tenet in financial planning?

a) Prepare a few months (Depending on your job security and financial state) of emergency fund
b) Buy insurance to protect any downfall
c) Invest your money for future use

After paying for your insurance at the minimum premium level, anything extra is all for investments.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 30 2014, 08:58 PM
wild_card_my
post May 30 2014, 09:41 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 30 2014, 09:18 PM)
Some insurance company hire really good investment ppl. They can perform as well or better than UT companies.

Just saying... Though i agree not insurance is meant for protection
This is true. If you look at the performance table below, the Investment-linked funds have comparable performances as the unit trust funds. But my professional opinion is for you to keep your financial baskets as diversified as possible

Sorry for the large sizes, if it is any smaller you wouldnt be able to see:

Investment-linked perforamance

Unit trust performance (1)

Unit trust performance (2)

wild_card_my
post Jun 18 2014, 06:54 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 18 2014, 08:33 AM)
Sorry bro, please don't disregard the cash value/investment value in insurance are all your money which can paid for the premium as well (as long have enough).

We all know, the main purpose of Insurance is risk management and protection. And also for wealth planning for family, especially those own a business. When a person decease, all his/her asset will frozen, the only liquid asset will give to family is insurance (maybe you can also argue those cash under the pillow).
How much cash do you need when you are already liquid with insurance payout?

The premium should be minimized and an extra cash that can be used to pay the premium should be invested in other schemes that focus on investments like the unit trust.

I am quite disgusted with some of my fellow agents who go about selling expensive premium insurance by increasing the cash value.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 18 2014, 07:01 PM
wild_card_my
post Nov 22 2014, 04:16 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(henshin7 @ Nov 22 2014, 02:02 PM)

I'm new to this topic. Please advise.
1. Medical Card; is it enough 100k annual limit or should I opt for a highest plan of 200k?
2. Is women specific illness is really needed? I'm thinking of taking a cancer rider which include CIS gender specific instead of taking women rider. Is this ok?
3. For life insurance, for a new graduate like me who's income will increase in future,  is it recommended to take term life compared to investment linked? What I understand, term life is cheaper, but in investment linked,  you could increase your BSA  in the future.
1. It depends. Different medical cards have different terms of coverage, and it is not so black-and-white as each company formats their quotation somewhat differently. One company may have lower per-annum coverage but has better terms of coverage (take-home medicine can be claimed for example). As it is, RM100k should be enough for typical operations and stay in some of the better private hospitals.

2. In my opinion, the women-specific riders are way too expensive. This is due to the law of large numbers in that, only half of the population are women so only half of the population is eligible to take the rider, and from that already small number, only a few are taking those riders thus making it expensive for everyone. A question though, is the coverage meant for medical costs or a pay-out in lump-sum? Because if it is the latter, you are simply wasting money. The rider is too expensive for such a small s um.

3. This matter is up for debate, but I find investment-linked is much more flexible. You need a good agent who will sit down with you with the computer and design the policy for you though. Remember to keep the premium as LOW as the computer software allows you to do it. Look up for the term "policy slack" or something like that. The bigger the slack, the more you are OVERPAYING for your policy. Here's an illustration:

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Nov 22 2014, 04:45 PM
wild_card_my
post Nov 30 2014, 02:50 PM

6,562 posts

Hey guys, I am just sharing what I drew and shared with my client. A client was asking for an MLTA quotation because someone quoted him an RM6000/year policy that covers RM500k death/disability/critical-illness. He asked if I could lower his premium cost because I claimed that I could. So I would like to share it with you guys. The reason I could do it is because when quoting a policy, not many agents would admit to this, but there is a disconnect between the COST OF INSURANCE (COI) and the PREMIUM PAID. A few things the clients need to understand:

a. The COI is fixed cost to the type of protection you are getting. So if you are taking RM500k for death/disability/critical-illness at the age of 30, the PREMIUM can be set by the insurance agent at RM2500, or RM3500, or RM6000, all depending on how much PREMIUM the agent is setting.

b. Keep in mind that the agents are being paid commissions based on the PREMIUM that you pay, as such he/she is inclined to increase it to the levels high enough for them to enjoy a good commission, and to a low enough levels that the clients are comfortable of paying.

c. The extra (unnecessary) premium paid by the client would go into the cash-out portion, but not before being cut off to pay the agents' commission and company cut. Wouldn't it be prudent for you to minimize the amount of premium paid and use the savings to directly invest in an investment company?

Anyone can ask me for any quotations and I can assure you that the premium would be the lowest the software would allow me to set, while keeping the type/amount of protection that you need. I can help with policy review as well, just let me know the type/amount of protection you are getting, and premium paid and I believe I could save your costs.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Nov 30 2014, 03:14 PM
wild_card_my
post Dec 1 2014, 06:51 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(64bit @ Dec 1 2014, 01:15 AM)
Hi guys, an agent has proposed a medical card plan, highlighting the importance of annual claim limit for medical card, based on my existing plan, would appreciate your advice on this.

Based on previous posts, I noticed many mentioned about max 10% on total income for insurance. Should I be focusing more on medical card? Should I get a better medical card? Should I cancel my existing medical card?

28 yo, non smoker, mthly income ~ 3.3k, plan to get married in a year or 2

Proposed PRU Medical Card Plan:
Monthly Premium: RM160 (till 70 yo) or RM220 (till 80 yo)
Life: 15k
Hospital Room: 200
No Annual Limit, Lifetime limit: 750k

Existing GE All-in-1 Plan:
Monthly Premium: RM200
Life: 95k
CI: 80k
Accident: 30k
Hospital Room: 150
Medical Card Annual Limit: 90k, Lifetime Limit: 720k
Hi, look at my sig... ok now look back at me.

Please take a look at the illustration below, I have helped a number of forummers reduce their premium while maintaining the coverage:

I've also created a GE quotation as per linked below, with these details. Keep note that as far as any insurance plan is concerned, every other rider are just bell and whistles that you have to pay for. As for life and critical illness coverage, you should get a separate one as you should not combine medical cards that you would need beyond retirement age WITH life policy that should be stopped (because it gets too expensive) beyond retirement age:

Monthly Premium: RM140
Life: 12k
CI: nil
Accident: nil
Hospital Room: 200
Medical Card Annual Limit: 120k, Lifetime Limit: 1,200,000

Link to quotation: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xrmtkobgvtut11e/Q...246584.pdf?dl=0

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 1 2014, 06:52 AM
wild_card_my
post Dec 1 2014, 09:56 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 1 2014, 08:19 AM)
why u chose sell GE bro?

I thought u can be independently carry many life insurance company product such as how u carry mortgage.
Nope, GE does not license its product to external providers like other smaller insurance companies. The same way Public Mutual does not allow 3rd party agencies to sell their products.

This is because these 2 companies are the strongest companies in the market and they do not need to leverage on multi-product agencies, unlike other insurance and unit trust providers.

wild_card_my
post Dec 4 2014, 01:54 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 3 2014, 10:14 PM)
Hi hi insurance sifu, I would like to get advise on difference on policy fee, stamp duti, and premium charges on below scenario.

A. 800k sum covered for dth, tpd, ci from single investment link policy
B. Each 400k sum covered for dth, tpd, ci from 2 difference investment link policies

I understand that policy fee is charge by policy, even total sum covered is same, but scenario B may have to pay double policy fee?
Yes, each policy comes with its own policy fee (or service charge for takaful), totalling about RM72 a year..

Most agents try to create 2 policies to avoid the first policy from going through medical checkup (low enough coverage according to age that it dosn't trigger the medical checkup requirement). Also some agents have a minimum number of cases that they need to get so it would be wise for them to divide the clients' policy into 2.

Depending on your health, and the results of your medical checkup it may or may not be beneficial to get 2 policies instead of 1.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 4 2014, 01:57 AM
wild_card_my
post Dec 4 2014, 01:31 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Dec 4 2014, 01:10 PM)
Hello all sifu, I'm really need advice from you all...
I'm 27 yrs old, income ~RM2.8K, non smoker...
About last week I had signed for a SmartProtect Essential Insurance 2 with monthly premium of RM300...

lump sum death and tpd = 360K
U100 IL Critical Illness Benefit Rider (IL CIBR) = 360K
U119 SmartMedic Xtra (SMX150) = 150 (room) + 90K (annual) + 900K (lifetime)
U75 IL Hospitalisation Benefits Rider (IL HB) = 50 per day
U102 IL Premium Waiver Extra Rider (IL PWE)
U133 Smart Extender (SE90K) = 900K (annual) + unlimited (life time)

My questions:
1. Is that the premium too much for my income?
2. If there is too much, any suggestion on the change of the plan? My 1st concern is medical card, follow by CI and lastly death and tpd...
3. Can I change/cancel the insurance now as I ady signed the insurance for 1 week++??

1 of my fren said the room and board RM150 is far not enough me...  doh.gif
1. Maximum that I would recommend for an individual or paying for his or her own immediate family is 8% of their net income. Clearly you are over paying a little.

2. The death and tpd protection is way too high for someone who says that he wants to prioritize hospitalization. You should get at least RM200 of hospitalization and be prepared to share the rooms.

Essentially if you dont have any dependents and unbacked loans, you dont need the RM360k

3. You have 2 week free look period before you can cancel it

Get an agent that will ask you about your lifestyle commitments, suggest a set of protection, and then minimize the premium paid as low as possible. For example, I ran your numbers on my system and I could get the same policy for RM3300 a year. Obviously I still wouldnt recommend that to you because this policy-protection is unbalanced.

Link to the quotation with the same protection but cheaper premium: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6rmhwz7a1jpkluh/Q...053264.pdf?dl=0

What I would recommend though, even without thoroughly understanding your commitments. The idea is that you should reduce your total protection because you dont need that much. Reduce the premium but increase the hospitality: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qsmg743s7mz4bj0/Q...34147a.pdf?dl=0

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 4 2014, 01:36 PM
wild_card_my
post Dec 4 2014, 02:17 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ Dec 4 2014, 02:12 PM)
Seem like my insurance is very unbalance...
After I read your opinion, I think that I should adjust my premium to RM200 - 250 and
1. death and tpd = 0~120K (considering I have car loan and ptptn loan)
2. CI = 120K~240K
3. medical remain same

however, the GE Smart Medic Xtra (SMX) and Smart Extender (SE) got 1 problem is I cannot top up my room and board SMX without affected SE...
For example I take SMX200 (Room = 200), then I cannot get SE90K but need to change to SE100K, which may increase the insurance charge..
That's the reason that agent add a Hospitalisation Benefits Rider to cover this issue...
All these riders are so confusing. The price of riders are also very unclear even if you look into the policy. The only thing you can see are the cost of insurance for "BASIC" and "RIDERS' which means the price of the riders are already added together.

Take a look at the quotation that I made, mine is as simply as a policy can be. Not evena hospitalization benefits rider since those things are too expensive and not worth it. You got into a hospital, so what? Be glad that you dont have to pay 90+++% of the cost, get RM50 a day extra for what?

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Dec 4 2014, 02:26 PM
wild_card_my
post Dec 5 2014, 10:07 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(QQHTJ @ Dec 5 2014, 12:42 AM)
Hi sifus,
My father possess few insurance and not sure with the policies and what is the consequent after termination.
Where should i seek for help?
And what is the consequent after terminate before due date. Will it lost ?
Best you gather all the policies and investment statements from each insurance policies and study them.

There are many types of insurances and each may have different clauses in terms of termination; being that these policies may be old, their termination clause may be very well different than the current ILPs.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 04:08 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 9 2014, 04:05 PM)
Hi all sifu, may I ask ur advice on protection on CI?
Beside 36CI, female CI, what are the other protection or benefit is a must? And what's the benefit?

Eg. Early stage, occurrence CI etc
I would say nothing is a must, it all depends on your situation. Do note that these early protection CI and female CI all have costs and they can be expensive.

Do you really think that you would need them? Your medical bills are already being paid for by the medical cards, these early protection CI draws from the lump sum payment that would be reduced during your total disability, total CI, and death anyway.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 05:13 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 9 2014, 04:21 PM)
y? Because I heard a case with kidney failure even 3rd stage also can't claim on CI.
Must do dialysis then can claim...
I just wanna be protected and my agent didn't tell me only end stage CI can claim when I sign up the policy 7 years ago!
That's true, without the early critical illness payout rider, you cannot clain parts of the CI lump sum payment.

But the question is, is the cost of the rider worth the parts of the rider? The dialisis part is to confirm that your illness has reached stage 3 and 4. But with this early pay-out scheme, you will be able to claim your CI lump sump payment while your illness is still in stage 1 and 2, but depending on the rider's terms and condition.

If you were to add this rider, your cost of insurance would go up and so will your premium (well it depends). In the end of the day, it really does depend on the client, but sometimes when they are not sure, I guide them from wasting their money.

wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 05:15 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 9 2014, 05:06 PM)
Although i already open thread b4, but still need more advices  tongue.gif
I get invited to upgrade my medical card, from RM200 room to RM250, lifetime from 1m to 1.25m, annual premium increase RM260.
As stated by other member b4 the benefit actually has no diff upgrade through invitation or client request, the only exclusion part medical check up.
IMO nothing big diff or affection from the upgrade, but in ur guys opinion is this rare occasion or offer to grab since not everyone are entitled for this hassle-free upgrade?  icon_question.gif
Is room RM250 enough? It's too small a jump from RM200 to RM250. The lifetime limit sounds high enough that you shouldnt worry for the next decade or so.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 05:23 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 9 2014, 05:20 PM)
The diff of the room as i know is just the lower cost room u have to share the room with more people and medical treatment is the same, right? . Basically I'm fine with sharing room.

And one more thing, I'm 26 now the premium increment is RM260, if i reject this time and upgrade few years later all the price will be higher right?
Yes it will be higher, but you have saved over the years by not paying more each year too. The idea is, once you do get an illness, there is no upgrading or getting a new policy. That is all.

As for the room charges, different company has different policies, like if you upgrade too much (RM200 room medical card, but you stay is RM300 room), you would have to pay an increased co-insurance, etc. Check your policies and calculate to see if it is worth it to upgrade.

Rm20 incriment a month, isnt that bad, you spend more money eating at McD, but as with all things, calculate and see if it is worth it or not.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 05:36 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 9 2014, 05:31 PM)
Oh ya my room will get upgraded for free every 3 (or 5 doesn't remember clearly need to re-check policy) years too if didn't claim it within the period. Considering I'm still in my young age and *touch wood* high chance i wont use it soon so i think it's good enough?
Perhaps, looks good. Just, dont worry about using the policy ya, you bought it to use it when you need it. No point in "saving" the policy for later use.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 05:49 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Dec 9 2014, 05:46 PM)
haha sure, medical treatment is so expensive i want to save also cannot if i really masuk hospital. My OKU sister cant buy insurance, she masuk hopistal few months ago, that's cost us a price of a car  sweat.gif
Sorry to hear that. But that's why I stress on getting the core of the medical card policy only. The bells and whistles like Daily ALlowance only increases the premium and make insurance agents become richer :|

You dont need those riders. Just get a basic medical card, Death, CI, TPD. Enough.
wild_card_my
post Dec 9 2014, 07:43 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Dragonfly2014 @ Dec 9 2014, 07:32 PM)
I really surprise and impress for an agent telling getting early CI is waste of money...
End of the day, insurance is waste of money for someone not claim at all, dono happy or unhappy haha
If you read a few posts above you will find soem of my postings that talk about the basics of insurance... essentially, the premium paid has nothing to do with the protection you are getting.

THe premium can be set by the agent however he/she wants. The number you should be looking for is the cost-of-insurance (COI). COI directly correlate with the protection+riders that you are getting.

I try to be as honest as possible when dealing with my clients. I want them to know everything I know.

0.0495sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:42 AM